Land of the Dead

Land of the Dead Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. The latest installment could well be Romero's masterpiece. Taking full advantage of state-of-the-art makeup and visual effects, he has a more vivid canvas at his disposal, not to mention two decades worth of pent-up observations about American society.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    100
    Land of the Dead is Romero's long-awaited masterpiece, a slyly suspenseful and droll thrill-ride that expounds on both the highbrow and the chewed-off-brow concepts of his previous trilogy, then flippantly dismisses the cheap scare tactics of the control-pad generation's gimmicky genre knockoffs.
  3. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    90
    As the ghouls evolve toward humanity and the humans toward ghouldom, we can appreciate Romero for using horror to show us How We Live Now, and How We're Living Dead now, too.
  4. Land of the Dead is a horror flick, but not a screamy one -- the booming soundtrack pumps up the drama, and the gore induces squirms, but zombies more titillate than anything.
  5. 75
    Brains! Brains! Why can't they make a zombie movie with brains? This is one. Romero has given us, as well as the zombies, a lot to chew on.
  6. 63
    It's not startling or frightening enough.
  7. Too bad the plot held no surprises and the acting no revelations. No actor could be said to stand out and the movie never acquires much tension or momentum.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 79
  2. Negative: 16 out of 79
  1. Aug 18, 2014
    10
    holly **** When romero makes a comeback damn he makes it big time. yeah the characters can be boring but the great blood effects and the factholly **** When romero makes a comeback damn he makes it big time. yeah the characters can be boring but the great blood effects and the fact that zombies can think makes zombie fresh again. i wanna see another movie like this. please romero please Expand
  2. m
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    I'm glad it got good reviews i was reallt surprised that it got all good reviews its a horror movie. better than the boring day of the I'm glad it got good reviews i was reallt surprised that it got all good reviews its a horror movie. better than the boring day of the dead and definetly more action than day of the dead. Expand
  3. May 3, 2013
    9
    A solid zombie film and one of my personal favourites, even though most say this is probably Romero's worst. I loved the concept and I thoughtA solid zombie film and one of my personal favourites, even though most say this is probably Romero's worst. I loved the concept and I thought it was clever having a few storylines worked in together, as well as being one of the first film to really focus on some of the zombies themselves. Simon Baker leads a talented cast that all play their parts well, as well as Dennis Hopper doing a great job as the head honcho. Overall a great film and zombie fans should be impressed! Expand
  4. SamV.
    Nov 27, 2005
    7
    In his first movie, "Night of the Living Dead" (1968), Romero made an allusion to the imbecility of the war in Vietnam. In 1979, "Dawn of the In his first movie, "Night of the Living Dead" (1968), Romero made an allusion to the imbecility of the war in Vietnam. In 1979, "Dawn of the Dead" showed the idiotic consumption society of the country. "Land of the Dead" now criticizes the diferences betwenn the social classes and the indifference that the human beigns show when dealing with the reality that surround them. But, above all this, the end of the movie can disappoint, it's a little empty and the character of the zombie lidder isn't well explored. About the cast, only the interpretation of the actors Dennis Hopper as the powerful Kauffman and John Leguizamo as the mercenary Cholo (with his sarcastic latin accent) impress in this movie. "Land of the Dead" brought back that old and good inteligente horror from George A. Romero. But it's still far away from being the best movie about living deads! Expand
  5. Cyco
    Oct 18, 2005
    6
    I very much agree with chuck 76, movie had moments of genius tempered with a Hollywood type of gloss. I also agree that I think both 28 Days I very much agree with chuck 76, movie had moments of genius tempered with a Hollywood type of gloss. I also agree that I think both 28 Days Later and the remake of Dawn of the Dead were in fact better movies, though nowhere as good as as Romero's previous efforts. Anyone who even compares this with the origional Night of the Living Dead or Dawn of the dead just does not understand the significance of those movies. Expand
  6. May 3, 2012
    2
    If you're looking for fun **** this is your zombie movie. If you want decent film-making, stay away. This movie is garbage to anyone expectingIf you're looking for fun **** this is your zombie movie. If you want decent film-making, stay away. This movie is garbage to anyone expecting anything remotely serious. Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2015
    0
    Terrible terrible terrible movie, don't watch it. I know you are here because you love walking dead and you are looking for zombie movies toTerrible terrible terrible movie, don't watch it. I know you are here because you love walking dead and you are looking for zombie movies to hold you over for the next season but DON"T WATCH THIS MOVE. Its stupid and not in a fun way. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000

    Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000 Image
    Published: October 28, 2010
    From Sam Raimi's "Drag Me to Hell" to more comedic efforts like "Shaun of the Dead," the past decade has seen a number of solid new entries in the horror canon. We run down the 15 best-reviewed horror movies from the past ten years.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  6. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.