Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 25, 2003
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 223 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
162
Mixed:
34
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ThegodfathersonMay 19, 2013
But a movie has to be judged on its own merits, and Cradle of Life is executed in a sort of workman like fashion. It's a tad slow and overlong mainly because the plot is so thin, but the action sequences have their moments. It derails whenBut a movie has to be judged on its own merits, and Cradle of Life is executed in a sort of workman like fashion. It's a tad slow and overlong mainly because the plot is so thin, but the action sequences have their moments. It derails when the gang reaches the title Cradle of Life, where they encounter shadow demons and a realm where physics don't apply. The ending is lifted almost entirely from Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, including the decision about what to do with Pandora's Box. And in the end, Lara Croft, just like the audience, doesn't really care what's happened, who's been hurt or if the world has been saved. It was just another day at the office for this video game heroine. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
SamJul 7, 2005
I actually liked the first one better, but they're both fun films. I hate village voice, from this to spider-man 2 and tons of other movies, they usually give good movies bad reviews. Both 1 and 2 need improvement, but if there I actually liked the first one better, but they're both fun films. I hate village voice, from this to spider-man 2 and tons of other movies, they usually give good movies bad reviews. Both 1 and 2 need improvement, but if there isn't a sequel i'll be happy with what i got. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
christiansAug 8, 2009
A disappointment that has a terrible conclusion and a flimsy script. the first is better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Jul 26, 2003
"Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life" comes alive for a brief moment when our heroine speaks Chinese to a boat-dwelling family. It's the only time Jolie looks like she's having any fun. Couldn't the writers give her "Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life" comes alive for a brief moment when our heroine speaks Chinese to a boat-dwelling family. It's the only time Jolie looks like she's having any fun. Couldn't the writers give her some wise-crackin' one-liners or playful banter with the romantic interest? At least Arnold has "Talk to the hand." If personalities don't emerge, you sit and stifle a yawn while waiting for the next action sequence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RonJ.Dec 5, 2003
I'm a Lara Croft fan, but finished this movie wondering when it was going to start. Technically it was good, Jolie was good, but it didn't capture my attention like the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LouC.Jul 29, 2003
I haven't seen the movie yet but if Ciaran HInds is in it, I will. The score I give the movie is for him alone. I'm just waiting for Hollywood to realize Mr. Hinds is the sexist man on this planet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DavidL.Aug 19, 2003
A lot more plausible than the first movie. Though it still reaches into its unrealisitic video game roots during a few scenes. (I thought the shark scene was kind of stupid) The movie does not deserve all of the bad reviews above. The movie A lot more plausible than the first movie. Though it still reaches into its unrealisitic video game roots during a few scenes. (I thought the shark scene was kind of stupid) The movie does not deserve all of the bad reviews above. The movie has a lot of action (enough for a second viewing because it was to hard to catch the first time) and AJ was enjoyable to watch all the way through. Still a lot of people will feel this is a rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JustinM.Sep 21, 2003
A fun movie. A big step forward from its predecessor, though that's not such a difficult thing to achieve. See it in theatres if you're a Lara Croft fan, but it also makes a good rent for action fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful