Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 15, 2001
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 180 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
86
Mixed:
47
Negative:
47
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
LizH.Jul 25, 2001
Jolie was the one and only actor for this part. Nobody could have done better. The character was very challenging, and the fact that she did her own stunts was amazing, and it gave the movie an extra kick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimberlyM.Oct 1, 2001
Angelina is without a doubt the best actress of our generation and having her portray the most popular video game heroine was genius. I loved this movie, there was lots of action and think they stayed pretty much true to the character. Angie Angelina is without a doubt the best actress of our generation and having her portray the most popular video game heroine was genius. I loved this movie, there was lots of action and think they stayed pretty much true to the character. Angie worked very hard and made many sacrifices, it truly paid off. She's very athletic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinK.Oct 10, 2003
I totally loved this movie! I would rate it hight than 10 because it was funny, action pack, and by the way Daneil Craig is totally hot! Bryce was really funny, and I would give anything to do what Lara can. Hell I would give anything just I totally loved this movie! I would rate it hight than 10 because it was funny, action pack, and by the way Daneil Craig is totally hot! Bryce was really funny, and I would give anything to do what Lara can. Hell I would give anything just to like the way she does! Tomb Raider is by far one of my all time favorite movies!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartaMar 22, 2002
I really enjoyed this movie in all ways: Angelina's performance was outstanding, the movie effects were great and the locations chosen were fascinating. Congratulations to the whole team!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Jul 29, 2007
A fun-thrilled short flick, the ending is stylishly fantasized. The drama is engaging and explains enough character build-up to have an actual action-packed movie with cool stunts. And thats it, finally a movie worth it, only on rental A fun-thrilled short flick, the ending is stylishly fantasized. The drama is engaging and explains enough character build-up to have an actual action-packed movie with cool stunts. And thats it, finally a movie worth it, only on rental though, its not a theatre movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PennyK.Oct 14, 2001
This movie was the best. I am the biggest Angelina Jolie fan. I give the movie two thumps up. Angelina Jolie rocks as Lara Croft. She shood make a second. I will certainly go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PennyK.Oct 14, 2001
This movie was the best. I am the biggest Angelina Jolie fan. I give the movie two thumps up. Angelina Jolie rocks as Lara Croft. She shood make a second. I will certainly go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 28, 2001
VERY COOL movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReginaldS.Aug 1, 2001
I guess the people who dislike the movie never play the game because Tomb Raider is all about adventure, action and sensuality...so is the movie. Angelina Jolie is flawless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraH.Feb 23, 2002
It rocked! The casting was brilliant, the set's were magnificent and the special effects were phenominal. They couldn't have done a better job. Angelina Jolie was THE perfect choice as Lara. mmwwaa
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NestorG.Jun 9, 2002
This is the best movie of the world. I have never seen any movie more perferct than Tomb Raider. Angelina Jolie is so hot, and she is the perfect Lara Croft
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliciaS.Sep 6, 2002
Angelina Jolie was, as always, awesome! The special effects rocked! I rated this movie a ten, and for all of those who rated under a ten: You wouldn't know the first thing about making, performing in, or even rating a movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JJReyesSep 22, 2005
This is a very intersting movie. It is aprearant that much work was put into it and the results are phenomenal. Angelina Jolie fits the part for Lara Croft quite nicely. It is as if she was born to play the roll of Lara.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaylorA.Nov 22, 2001
I think this movie was great. The guys mainly liked it because of her boobs but since I'm a girl, no. The first time I have ever seen it was in the theater with my grandmother and cousin. My grandmother didn't like it, of course, I think this movie was great. The guys mainly liked it because of her boobs but since I'm a girl, no. The first time I have ever seen it was in the theater with my grandmother and cousin. My grandmother didn't like it, of course, and my cousin, Carmen, thought it was okay. But I was hooked on that movie. I loved the effects and all the moves Lara(Jolie) did in the movie. She did great. Simon ( the machine) is one of my favorite characters in the movie but Lara is my favorite. Lara Croft is my ultimate super hero. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleighR.Aug 28, 2001
I love Angelina Jolie to death, she looks hot, and she kicks ass, so what more could any girl or guy want?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KadeemluvmusicAug 9, 2012
I love Lara Croft: Tomb Raider. Now that's what a good video game movie is all about. I know critics are still feeling the hatred of video game movies affecting Hollywood. Take a look at Tomb Raider: a good, successful, film franchise that'sI love Lara Croft: Tomb Raider. Now that's what a good video game movie is all about. I know critics are still feeling the hatred of video game movies affecting Hollywood. Take a look at Tomb Raider: a good, successful, film franchise that's still holding on after all these years and now a reboot is in the works. Although the sequel look a little decent, but I gotta give it up to Ms. Angelina Jolie. She is a phenomenal action star in her own right, marries with Brad Pitt, and of course, she still has the look of a role model. Playing Lara Croft in the movie is just too easy for me to say, but she definitely nailed it. I played all of the Tomb Raider video games, and the original game on PS1 may sorta a lot different than the movie. I really don't trust movie critics and I don't even care what those metascores might say, but can't they get a good and positive reaction, already. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MostFairCriticOct 9, 2015
Best movie game ever made. Lara is amazing, she's badass, she's rich, she's beautiful and most importantly, she's portrayed by Angelina Jolie, who fits the role perfectly. If you're a fan of classic movies, Indiana Jones and Tomb Raider,Best movie game ever made. Lara is amazing, she's badass, she's rich, she's beautiful and most importantly, she's portrayed by Angelina Jolie, who fits the role perfectly. If you're a fan of classic movies, Indiana Jones and Tomb Raider, you'll definitely enjoy this ;) Away with them haters! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KingofdanerdsNov 22, 2016
This is one of the best video game movies that have watched so far. This gets us to know more about Lara than what we know already. I honestly have no complaints about this movie at all. 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JavierF.Nov 25, 2008
I swear, most of the "professional" critics that watched this movie are completely messed up in the head and should be "taken out back and shot," as one of the ignorant critics puts it. This movie was actually pretty good and probably the I swear, most of the "professional" critics that watched this movie are completely messed up in the head and should be "taken out back and shot," as one of the ignorant critics puts it. This movie was actually pretty good and probably the best game to movie production yet. You critics no NOTHING about movies. Get a life. Please. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StephanieD.Jul 12, 2001
This is my all time favorite movie!! I hate football but this movie was a great one. Ryan Hurst was hotter than ever, and I watch this movie every night!! P.S. I am watching it right now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichiG.Jun 25, 2001
A full of adventure exciting movie. Angelina Jolie's performance is breathtaking. The stunts that she performed really seemed to grab the viewers' attention. I loved the characters and the setting of the movie. I also relished the A full of adventure exciting movie. Angelina Jolie's performance is breathtaking. The stunts that she performed really seemed to grab the viewers' attention. I loved the characters and the setting of the movie. I also relished the plot. There was one part that I felt did not belong in the movie, however. I thought that the whole sensitive part of Laura and her father did not go with the exciting and daring plot of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
christiansAug 8, 2009
Angelina Jolie is a perfect Lara Croft and the film is a lot of fun. as for it's sequel, skip it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamJul 7, 2005
It's a fun movie, actually a little better than the 2nd in my opinion, but i'll stick with the games, which are excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RMC.Jul 19, 2001
Hey, what were you expecting? Its got solid FX, action, and enough story to keep you engaged.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RMC.Jul 19, 2001
Hey, what were you expecting? Its got solid FX, action, and enough story to keep you engaged.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
perkjlJan 8, 2016
The film is a guilty pleasure for someone like myself who enjoyed the games growing up. While the film is flawed it's still rather enjoyable and features beautiful scenery from Cambodia, Iceland, Venice, and England. Some of the set piecesThe film is a guilty pleasure for someone like myself who enjoyed the games growing up. While the film is flawed it's still rather enjoyable and features beautiful scenery from Cambodia, Iceland, Venice, and England. Some of the set pieces are spectacular as well! At times some of the scenes feel ripped from Raiders of the Lost Ark, Die Hard or a 007 film, but the clich├ęs work because the viewers eyes will always be on Angelina Jolie and her portrayal of Lara Croft. True fans will notice some similarities between the film & the games on Sony's PlayStation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews