Larry Crowne

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 88
  2. Negative: 17 out of 88

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    I kept a smile on my face throughout this movie. While not as bombastic and in-your-face as some of the summer fare this year, this movie is soft, heartwarming, and inspiring. I found myself pondering taking a class or two and wishing I had the kind of courage that Lance..err Larry has. I also thought that this movie belonged under something like the Fox Searchlight banner as it is ofI kept a smile on my face throughout this movie. While not as bombastic and in-your-face as some of the summer fare this year, this movie is soft, heartwarming, and inspiring. I found myself pondering taking a class or two and wishing I had the kind of courage that Lance..err Larry has. I also thought that this movie belonged under something like the Fox Searchlight banner as it is of the same charming vein as several smaller independent films that I can recall seeing in recent times. The soundtrack of Tom Petty and ELO songs really got me going, as well. There are a myriad of excellent casting choices made in this film. I think you could do far, far worse than an afternoon or evening spent with Larry Crowne and friends. In fact, I'd wager to bet that you might just walk out of this movie savoring life just a wee bit more. Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    Are you feeling down lately ? Is your boss a complete idiot ? Trouble at work or at school ? The kids down the street are always beating you ? You don't have a job ? Well, you should watch '' Larry Crowne " because this movie will cheer you up. It put me in a very good mood. This is the perfect movie to relax to. Also, I was impressed by the soundtrack. Again, it made me happy. It's veryAre you feeling down lately ? Is your boss a complete idiot ? Trouble at work or at school ? The kids down the street are always beating you ? You don't have a job ? Well, you should watch '' Larry Crowne " because this movie will cheer you up. It put me in a very good mood. This is the perfect movie to relax to. Also, I was impressed by the soundtrack. Again, it made me happy. It's very enjoyable, entertaining and relaxing to watch. You kinda feel bad for Larry (Tom Hanks) when he losses his job and when he gets treated disrespectfully by douchebags, since he's such a nice guy. But his optimistic vision never let him down. I liked the fact that Tom Hanks put some '' heart '' in this movie. It definitely showed. Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2011
    7
    Nice movie, almost two hours of non-boring acting and scenario. I took my wife, without any regret for bad words or actions, we left happy for the whole evening, it is nice to feel that life never stops, and there is always a start, it is never too late. A simple script about an unexpectedly fired employee Larry Crowne (Tom Hanks), down for a while he follows the advice of his neighborNice movie, almost two hours of non-boring acting and scenario. I took my wife, without any regret for bad words or actions, we left happy for the whole evening, it is nice to feel that life never stops, and there is always a start, it is never too late. A simple script about an unexpectedly fired employee Larry Crowne (Tom Hanks), down for a while he follows the advice of his neighbor Lamar (Cedric the Entertainer) and joins college. His first welcome was with Talia (Gugu Mbatha-Raw) a student who finds life an entertainment and business. His classes start with professor Mercedes Tainot (Julia Roberts), distressed in her marriage and bored in her career. Larry Crowne finds new meaning of economics with professor Dr. Matsutani (George Takei), a role that adds smiles. Bit by bit Larry Crowne and Mercedes Tainot get closer, beyond a professor student relation. Simplistic movie, adds fun and relief, that's needed more than anything else. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Larry Crowne is about a man who has been fired from his job because he didn't have a college aducation. After talking to his next door nieghbor played hilariuosly by Cedric the Entertainer he decides to go to college and better his chances of finding a new job. Unexpectedly though, he finds college to his likeing, especially his teacher played by Julia Roberts. Now this is the scond time Hanks and Roberts have starred together. The first being the hugely overlooked movie Charlie Wilsons War. Hanks meets some interesting classmates as well, a young lady named Tatiana, who likes to make over people and she does just that for Larry Crowne. With some realy good charactor acting work from Brian Cranston ,George Takie, Cedric The Entertainer and Wilmer Valdarama Larry Crowne is a delightful surprise in a summer of explosions,sequals, animated kids flicks and comic book movies. Larry Crowne is the fifth movie this year I've seen where a man is going through a midlife crisis and I think the acting in this is what puts it at the for front of the others. It shows the sighn of the times though and people should definately seek out this heart warming little movie. This is Skip From the Fourth Row! Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Two hours of entertainment without bad language, car chases, sex, guns...and you leave the theatre feeling good, having had a few laughs along the way. That is rare in this day and age. It may not be the best movie you see this year but it sure beats most of the super hero, toys gone bad, one joke wonders playing as it's competition.
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This was a sweet, uplifting, optimistic movie, well-cast and well-acted. It could perhaps have been a little more dynamic, but it was entertaining, and I could believe that Tom Hanks would get the girl :)
  7. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    This is a fun, and in a way inspiring movie. It doesn't try to make any statements, or to be something bigger than it is. It is charming with friendships and people rallying around each other. It is fun to see how one guy can help a classroom come alive. It is fun to see how diverse people can accept and support someone just by liking and serving them. Something doesn't have to makeThis is a fun, and in a way inspiring movie. It doesn't try to make any statements, or to be something bigger than it is. It is charming with friendships and people rallying around each other. It is fun to see how one guy can help a classroom come alive. It is fun to see how diverse people can accept and support someone just by liking and serving them. Something doesn't have to make some deep point to be great fun and charming. Tom is an incredibly likable guy and changes the world by making people feel better by seeing him. Expand
  8. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    This movie doesn't have giant robots. There are no dinosaurs. There aren't even any big sharks. If you're looking for these, you're in the wrong theatre. Go back and ask the ticket taker where you should be. There is no spectacle, because this is a movie for adults. There are just ordinary characters struggling to make sense of the curve balls life has thrown them. It's a comedy soThis movie doesn't have giant robots. There are no dinosaurs. There aren't even any big sharks. If you're looking for these, you're in the wrong theatre. Go back and ask the ticket taker where you should be. There is no spectacle, because this is a movie for adults. There are just ordinary characters struggling to make sense of the curve balls life has thrown them. It's a comedy so no one struggles to mightily, but Tom Hanks looks quite nice in his jeans, thank you, provided by one of his new community college cohorts. But what makes him sexy, really sexy? Not the buns as on the throwaway "post-feminist" character of Carly Spencer in Transformers who does less in her role than women having been doing in movies since movies began. What makes him really sexy? He's a genteman. He can keep a secret. And that, just that quiet thing and the things like it are what make this movie tick. The bots are in Theatre 7 and 8 and 9, but Larry is right at home. Expand
  9. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    I just saw this movie and i went into it with low expectations because of the critc's reviews, and i must say i walked out pleased. I won't say it was perfect but it was worth a solid 8. It's hard to not like a film with Tom Hanks. I truly believe he is one of the best actors i have had the pleasure of watching. I enjoy his films. He was great in this movie, my only issues were the storyI just saw this movie and i went into it with low expectations because of the critc's reviews, and i must say i walked out pleased. I won't say it was perfect but it was worth a solid 8. It's hard to not like a film with Tom Hanks. I truly believe he is one of the best actors i have had the pleasure of watching. I enjoy his films. He was great in this movie, my only issues were the story was totally cliche but decent, and it got a little boring at times. Other than that though, the acting was good, and their was quite a bit of comedy in this, i laughed more in this movie than i didnt in the major letdown sequel to the hangover. This was a very enjoyable film. Definitely deserves better from the critics. 8/10 Expand
  10. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    Delightful movie. Against the super hero movies, this movie was real, believable and fun to watch. It made me (and the theatre goers) laugh out loud, be moved and connect to the characters. Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts talented as always as were the rest of the cast. Worth seeing.
  11. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    Wonderful entertainment. Refreshing and fun in a world of doom and gloom. I loved it! The story is relavent, down to earth and speaks to today's populations. The stars and costars are delightful and talented. A must see.
  12. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    Thought this was a very nice movie. It was well acted and the story line was believable and engaging. This is not a film for people that must be entertained by non stop action and unrealistic story lines. It is for folks who would love to see a cute, down-to-earth, very well acted story they can relate too.
  13. Jan 16, 2012
    7
    A pleasure to watch! This film worked for me. It was light, charismatic, and fun. Watching Hanks in this role was entertaining and as you can imagine, nearly all the performances were good and sometimes even great. The film takes itself serious enough without surrendering the laughs and good times. Is it all that original? Not really, but that doesn't matter. What matters most is that thisA pleasure to watch! This film worked for me. It was light, charismatic, and fun. Watching Hanks in this role was entertaining and as you can imagine, nearly all the performances were good and sometimes even great. The film takes itself serious enough without surrendering the laughs and good times. Is it all that original? Not really, but that doesn't matter. What matters most is that this is a fun ride during each character's life changing events. Expand
  14. STH
    Jul 8, 2011
    7
    So it's not Forest Gump & won't win awards -- it's still an nice, sweet movie that has great chemistry between the 2 leads. Great movie for a date or to take your parents to.
  15. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    I do not understand how anyone can give this movie a zero. A zero means that it has no aspects that a moviegoer would like.One good performance or a couple of good scenes constitute at least 3-5 points.
  16. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    My wife & I sat through this - and agreed it is one of the worst movies we have ever seen! Shame on Tom Hanks for producing such a piece of garbage.
  17. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    I found this film really funny and sweet. The actors were brilliantly chosen and you had such a great feeling from Tom Hanks character. His outlook was so positive and optimistic it was a joy to watch. It wasn't overly predictable and left you with a lovely feeling. It was a definite surprise.
  18. Mar 1, 2014
    8
    This is not great movie, but it is definitely good. Nice star chemistry between Hanks and Roberts. There are parts where is runs flat but even the minor characters Cedric the Entertainer and Ian Gomez add a good bit.
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 41
  2. Negative: 9 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 7, 2011
    25
    Larry Crowne is more than a missed opportunity. It's alarmingly, depressingly out of touch.
  2. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jul 5, 2011
    25
    Congenial is the word for Larry Crowne, but it's as flat as an ironing board.
  3. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 4, 2011
    40
    Larry Crowne is worryingly light on laughs, yet it never dares to worry too much about the plight of its central figure. [11 & 18 July 2011, p.100]