User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 82
  2. Negative: 16 out of 82

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2014
    8
    This is not great movie, but it is definitely good. Nice star chemistry between Hanks and Roberts. There are parts where is runs flat but even the minor characters Cedric the Entertainer and Ian Gomez add a good bit.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    I found this film really funny and sweet. The actors were brilliantly chosen and you had such a great feeling from Tom Hanks character. His outlook was so positive and optimistic it was a joy to watch. It wasn't overly predictable and left you with a lovely feeling. It was a definite surprise.
  3. Aug 31, 2013
    3
    Not a good movie at all!!! One of Tom Hanks' worst pictures!! Horrible!! Awful! Some time, they have to stop making films like this one. It's only wasting of money!!
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    Some films sacrifice realism for action, or vice versa. This endless, pointless, mindless tripe somehow manages to be both as fanciful and as boring as anything I've ever seen. If you haven't left your house or seen a film in several years, maybe you'll be able to tolerate it. I couldn't.
  5. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    It has a sweet but simple story to tell. This is the best way to tell a story like this, however, and that can be both good and bad. The charm of the film is where its enjoyable.
  6. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    My wife & I sat through this - and agreed it is one of the worst movies we have ever seen! Shame on Tom Hanks for producing such a piece of garbage.
  7. Jan 21, 2012
    0
    Never before has a movie been so lifeless and pointless.
    Nothing happens in this movie, it's a meet-cute scene dragged out for seven and a half hours (however long this movie was - it felt like ten days).

    This movie is made for people who can't be bothered with learning plot details or focus on characterizations. This movie is literally "Tom Hanks playing what we think Tom Hanks is really
    like doing Tom Hanks like activities while occasionally that nice girl from the movie about that hooker shows up"

    It also has a manic pixie girl as a potential love interest misdirect. One you will not fall for because of the entirely not a threat boyfriend who doesn't even pose a speed bump to the plot . This is a movie for people who love all day hour long tv show marathons (like Law and Order.) You literally could come into this movie mid way through and pick up on it without knowing a single thing about it. My grandmother would have loved this movie.

    If you want to see a slightly more daring and enjoyable take on this please check out Will Farrel's Everything Must Go which examines a character at similar crossroads.
    Expand
  8. Jan 16, 2012
    7
    A pleasure to watch! This film worked for me. It was light, charismatic, and fun. Watching Hanks in this role was entertaining and as you can imagine, nearly all the performances were good and sometimes even great. The film takes itself serious enough without surrendering the laughs and good times. Is it all that original? Not really, but that doesn't matter. What matters most is that this is a fun ride during each character's life changing events. Expand
  9. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    Thought this was a very nice movie. It was well acted and the story line was believable and engaging. This is not a film for people that must be entertained by non stop action and unrealistic story lines. It is for folks who would love to see a cute, down-to-earth, very well acted story they can relate too.
  10. Dec 31, 2011
    3
    Hey Julia Roberts and Tom Hanks you already know they'll be good and have chemistry. Yes they had chemistry, but they weren't funny, charming. They were just really boring leads. Which also lead to a boring movie which might have been better if it was in high school with teenagers which it felt like the whole time. I give this movie 29%
  11. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    I don't know how anyone could "dislike" this movie. It's so dang happy all the time. The characters are all pleasant, and Hanks and Roberts seem to have a blast on-screen together. All in all, "Larry Crowne" is the kind of movie that is guaranteed to make you smile. Sure, the movie is about as fluffy as you could possibly get. There's hardly much of a conflict, and a lot of the supporting characters don't have much to do except smile and say some pleasantly funny lines. But I felt like Hanks who wrote and directed this movie had a clear understanding of the kind of movie he was making. He keeps the characters simple and never tries to bite off more than he can chew. As a result, "Larry Crowne" keeps you engaged even when it's not particularly great. All in all, "Larry Crowne" is a safe bet if you want to be entertained. It won't win any awards, but it will certainly deliver if you're a fan of Hanks and Roberts. Expand
  12. Jul 29, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In "Discounted Dreams", the investigative journalist, on assignment at a west coast community college, in his capacity as a monitor, observes a predominant show of indifference among the gathering students in a remedial math class towards the instructor, who is, judging by his unmodulated voice, equally disengaged, not seeming to care one bit that his lecture on the rudiments of algebra is being received as white noise. Does it bother him, the auditor wants to know, that the students in the back-row were text-messaging, and worse, sleeping through his lecture on polynomials? Unapologetically, he answers in the negative. "That's their situation," "their responsibility," claims the untrained abcedary(a transplanted biology teacher), who isn't going to lose any sleep over his 45% passing rate. The burn-out is only there to collect a paycheck. At East Valley CC, the moviegoer catches Ms.Tainot in the midst of an existential crisis. On the first day of a new semester, resignation gets an early start, as the comparative literature major wonders aloud, "Do I make a difference?" It's a rhetorical question, of course, since the jaded educator knows she doesn't, not in a profession where at this level, half the students fail to graduate, so when Mercy counts only nine bodies in the room, there's no hiding her excitement over the morning class' prospective cancellation. It's the first time she smiles. Mercedes Tainot is a bad teacher. And unbeknownst to "Larry Crowne", a bad wife, too. Since instructors at two-year campuses don't have a research component to their job description like their PhD colleagues, Mercy, unhindered by split loyalties, is really in no position to call her novelist husband lazy, when all she's expected to do is teach. The screenplay, co-written by a female, skewers perception by vilifying the blocked writer for his Internet porn addiction, a relatively harmless transgression. Looking at their failed marriage objectively, without the illiberalism of hackneyed feminism, one could adjudge the slightly boozy wife as being unsupportive. That's fine; that's the film's prerogative to paint men in such broad strokes, but what's sloppy, and sometimes unforgivable about this slight comedy is how little it knows about the inner-workings, and economic fate that befalls community colleges right now. Foregoing authenticity, Larry Crowne, a victim of downsizing(and class warfare) at a big box store, enrolls in classes without taking the placement exam that is part and parcel for all incoming students. Even worse, despite all the budget cuts that greatly affect student services and class availability, Larry gets all his first choices, as suggested by a counselor, whom you know is a Hollywood movie counselor, since in real life, most advisers are too busy to approach students in the hallway. Also, questions like: What is Larry majoring in? or, "Does he want his old job back?" go unanswered. The film can't be bothered with details. Community college serves merely as a backdrop in order for Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts to meet-cute. Like most students at these schools, the screenplay has no ambition. It settles for being a rom-com. If that's the case, a more interesting variation on the theme would have been to position Mercy as the cougar, but instead, "Larry Crowne" flits around with the oft-used trope of the older man(normally a professor) and young coed, when the pretty(old) woman mistakenly diagnoses the fast friends as a couple. "Larry Crowne" gets one thing right about community colleges: the racial diversity. As a result, the film employs colorblind casting, assigning the role of the free spirit(the Zooey Deschanel type) to an African-American. Talia is not stereotypically black; she's not a single mother on welfare, a high school dropout, paying the price for getting pregnant with every minute of her waking hours, especially when she rides the bus at night to her dead-end job across town, a grind so taxing, she can't stay awake to do homework and prepare for upcoming tests. This hypothetical black girl, however, is no stereotype. This girl is real; her obstacles, a byproduct of inner-city life. As portrayed in the PBS doc, the black girl doesn't pass remedial math and will never be a vet tech. Talia quits too; she opens up a boutique. "Larry Crowne" puts an optimistic spin on the high dropout rate, suggesting that students move on to become entrepreneurs. As for the boyfriend, by group snapping, the film coyly suggests that he's a former gangbanger by evoking "West Side Story"(the song "Cool"), when the Sharks(Puerto Rican like Dell) and Jets(working-class white like Larry) get set to rumble. Here, the snapping is used as Larry's initiation into a gang of moped riders. It's not cute, just dishonest. Like the film's notion that the students learned something in Ms. Tainot's class. All she does is sit in the back, nursing her hangover. Expand
  13. Jul 23, 2011
    5
    Larry Crowne is an alright film. It had some funny parts in the film and some scenes are enjoyable to watch. The problems with the film is the story is a bit slow to learn and some scenes are not interesting or just stupid. Some of the comedy are also stupid and things we've heard before. I would give this film a high rental.
  14. Jul 15, 2011
    7
    Nice movie, almost two hours of non-boring acting and scenario. I took my wife, without any regret for bad words or actions, we left happy for the whole evening, it is nice to feel that life never stops, and there is always a start, it is never too late. A simple script about an unexpectedly fired employee Larry Crowne (Tom Hanks), down for a while he follows the advice of his neighbor Lamar (Cedric the Entertainer) and joins college. His first welcome was with Talia (Gugu Mbatha-Raw) a student who finds life an entertainment and business. His classes start with professor Mercedes Tainot (Julia Roberts), distressed in her marriage and bored in her career. Larry Crowne finds new meaning of economics with professor Dr. Matsutani (George Takei), a role that adds smiles. Bit by bit Larry Crowne and Mercedes Tainot get closer, beyond a professor student relation. Simplistic movie, adds fun and relief, that's needed more than anything else. Expand
  15. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Two hours of entertainment without bad language, car chases, sex, guns...and you leave the theatre feeling good, having had a few laughs along the way. That is rare in this day and age. It may not be the best movie you see this year but it sure beats most of the super hero, toys gone bad, one joke wonders playing as it's competition.
  16. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    I kept a smile on my face throughout this movie. While not as bombastic and in-your-face as some of the summer fare this year, this movie is soft, heartwarming, and inspiring. I found myself pondering taking a class or two and wishing I had the kind of courage that Lance..err Larry has. I also thought that this movie belonged under something like the Fox Searchlight banner as it is of the same charming vein as several smaller independent films that I can recall seeing in recent times. The soundtrack of Tom Petty and ELO songs really got me going, as well. There are a myriad of excellent casting choices made in this film. I think you could do far, far worse than an afternoon or evening spent with Larry Crowne and friends. In fact, I'd wager to bet that you might just walk out of this movie savoring life just a wee bit more. Expand
  17. Jul 9, 2011
    3
    The plot is a mess, the story is riddled with useless characters, and the movie as a whole is boring. I came into it thinking "Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts, can't be bad." Well, it can.
  18. STH
    Jul 8, 2011
    7
    So it's not Forest Gump & won't win awards -- it's still an nice, sweet movie that has great chemistry between the 2 leads. Great movie for a date or to take your parents to.
  19. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Larry Crowne is about a man who has been fired from his job because he didn't have a college aducation. After talking to his next door nieghbor played hilariuosly by Cedric the Entertainer he decides to go to college and better his chances of finding a new job. Unexpectedly though, he finds college to his likeing, especially his teacher played by Julia Roberts. Now this is the scond time Hanks and Roberts have starred together. The first being the hugely overlooked movie Charlie Wilsons War. Hanks meets some interesting classmates as well, a young lady named Tatiana, who likes to make over people and she does just that for Larry Crowne. With some realy good charactor acting work from Brian Cranston ,George Takie, Cedric The Entertainer and Wilmer Valdarama Larry Crowne is a delightful surprise in a summer of explosions,sequals, animated kids flicks and comic book movies. Larry Crowne is the fifth movie this year I've seen where a man is going through a midlife crisis and I think the acting in this is what puts it at the for front of the others. It shows the sighn of the times though and people should definately seek out this heart warming little movie. This is Skip From the Fourth Row! Expand
  20. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    Are you feeling down lately ? Is your boss a complete idiot ? Trouble at work or at school ? The kids down the street are always beating you ? You don't have a job ? Well, you should watch '' Larry Crowne " because this movie will cheer you up. It put me in a very good mood. This is the perfect movie to relax to. Also, I was impressed by the soundtrack. Again, it made me happy. It's very enjoyable, entertaining and relaxing to watch. You kinda feel bad for Larry (Tom Hanks) when he losses his job and when he gets treated disrespectfully by douchebags, since he's such a nice guy. But his optimistic vision never let him down. I liked the fact that Tom Hanks put some '' heart '' in this movie. It definitely showed. Expand
  21. Jul 6, 2011
    5
    The movie started off hot enough, but by the middle I was hoping that I would not run out of popcorn, I needed something to entertaining! The movie is very light hearted and gentle, but nothing really happens! It has it's funny moments, but you won't be rolling around on the ground laughing!
  22. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    I just saw this movie and i went into it with low expectations because of the critc's reviews, and i must say i walked out pleased. I won't say it was perfect but it was worth a solid 8. It's hard to not like a film with Tom Hanks. I truly believe he is one of the best actors i have had the pleasure of watching. I enjoy his films. He was great in this movie, my only issues were the story was totally cliche but decent, and it got a little boring at times. Other than that though, the acting was good, and their was quite a bit of comedy in this, i laughed more in this movie than i didnt in the major letdown sequel to the hangover. This was a very enjoyable film. Definitely deserves better from the critics. 8/10 Expand
  23. Jul 5, 2011
    3
    Reasons to watch this movie-
    Your dumb
    Your braindead
    Your torturing yourself
    Your high
    Your drunk
    Your torturing yourself
    If you answered none of the above then don't go watch this movie.
  24. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This was a sweet, uplifting, optimistic movie, well-cast and well-acted. It could perhaps have been a little more dynamic, but it was entertaining, and I could believe that Tom Hanks would get the girl :)
  25. Jul 4, 2011
    6
    Tom Hanks type cast himself as a nice guy (he also directed and co-wrote). After losing his job, he decides to go to college, where he takes a course taught by Julia Roberts. His new life includes a scooter gang, an entertaining group of classmates (the film's strongest moments) and a romance (guess who?). While it's sometimes mildly amusing and sufficiently entertaining, the film is never funny or touching enough to raise it above sweet. Director Hanks has cast it well, but writer Hanks just didn't deliver. Expand
  26. Jul 3, 2011
    6
    Larry Crowne wasn't much too good, but a little okay for me. Tom Hanks directed this film and he can do what the actor can try something better, just like the other actors doing their own direction. In this movie, it does give more credit about a nice guy whose going to college to bring back his own life to be a smart man, so he can pass this college. In the other half, it's nothing quite special because of the dialogue was pretty bland with whimsical lines that Hanks and Roberts combine into cliche, the characters are less forgettable, some other half people weren't that bad including Cedric The Entertainer, Taraji P. Henson, and George Takei are okay, and the premise of plot was average less that belongs to college students to learn about the man needs to be smart to come back for his life which it's closely to the dropout people that doesn't know anything to teach. We prefer only much interesting instead thinking about everything in college. That movie was okay for people who likes or hates it, but for me was much less good and nothing quite special. Hanks is less director that he directed, so you got a C+ on your grade. Expand
  27. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    This movie doesn't have giant robots. There are no dinosaurs. There aren't even any big sharks. If you're looking for these, you're in the wrong theatre. Go back and ask the ticket taker where you should be. There is no spectacle, because this is a movie for adults. There are just ordinary characters struggling to make sense of the curve balls life has thrown them. It's a comedy so no one struggles to mightily, but Tom Hanks looks quite nice in his jeans, thank you, provided by one of his new community college cohorts. But what makes him sexy, really sexy? Not the buns as on the throwaway "post-feminist" character of Carly Spencer in Transformers who does less in her role than women having been doing in movies since movies began. What makes him really sexy? He's a genteman. He can keep a secret. And that, just that quiet thing and the things like it are what make this movie tick. The bots are in Theatre 7 and 8 and 9, but Larry is right at home. Expand
  28. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    This is a fun, and in a way inspiring movie. It doesn't try to make any statements, or to be something bigger than it is. It is charming with friendships and people rallying around each other. It is fun to see how one guy can help a classroom come alive. It is fun to see how diverse people can accept and support someone just by liking and serving them. Something doesn't have to make some deep point to be great fun and charming. Tom is an incredibly likable guy and changes the world by making people feel better by seeing him. Expand
  29. Jul 2, 2011
    6
    Larry Crowne is bright, cheerful, has a few laughs, and moves from chapter to chapter effortlessly. Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts, both look great and have terrific chemistry and after all the kind things Iâ
  30. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    I do not understand how anyone can give this movie a zero. A zero means that it has no aspects that a moviegoer would like.One good performance or a couple of good scenes constitute at least 3-5 points.
  31. Jul 2, 2011
    0
    Conventionally dull. "Larry Crowne" attempts to make a statement about the economy, the times, and second time around" relationships,and film fails on almost every level., Straddled with a contrived and shallow script, the cast and crew struggles, and fails, to bring life to an empty vessel. Writer Nia Vardolos may be a "one race pony", but Hanks and Roberts can do so much better than this.
  32. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    Delightful movie. Against the super hero movies, this movie was real, believable and fun to watch. It made me (and the theatre goers) laugh out loud, be moved and connect to the characters. Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts talented as always as were the rest of the cast. Worth seeing.
  33. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    Wonderful entertainment. Refreshing and fun in a world of doom and gloom. I loved it! The story is relavent, down to earth and speaks to today's populations. The stars and costars are delightful and talented. A must see.
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 41
  2. Negative: 9 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 7, 2011
    25
    Larry Crowne is more than a missed opportunity. It's alarmingly, depressingly out of touch.
  2. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jul 5, 2011
    25
    Congenial is the word for Larry Crowne, but it's as flat as an ironing board.
  3. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 4, 2011
    40
    Larry Crowne is worryingly light on laughs, yet it never dares to worry too much about the plight of its central figure. [11 & 18 July 2011, p.100]