Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Until he was downsized, affable, amiable Larry Crowne was a superstar team leader at the big-box company where he's worked since his time in the Navy. Underwater on his mortgage and unclear on what to do with his suddenly free days, Larry heads to his local college to start over. There heUntil he was downsized, affable, amiable Larry Crowne was a superstar team leader at the big-box company where he's worked since his time in the Navy. Underwater on his mortgage and unclear on what to do with his suddenly free days, Larry heads to his local college to start over. There he becomes part of a colorful community of outcasts, also-rans and the overlooked all trying to find a better future for themselves...often moving around town in a herd of scooters. In his public-speaking class, Larry develops an unexpected crush on his teacher Mercedes Tainot, who has lost as much passion for teaching as she has for her husband. The simple guy who has every reason to think his life has stalled will come to learn an unexpected lesson: when you think everything worth having has passed you by, you just might discover your reason to live. (Universal Pictures)

    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 41
  2. Negative: 9 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jul 2, 2011
    75
    The film seems simple and facile at a glance, but these characters and their dilemmas stay with you. These days, any of us could suddenly be Larry Crowne.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jul 1, 2011
    63
    Breezy but forgettable.
  3. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Jun 27, 2011
    60
    This one coasts by on Hanks' immense appeal and charm, but more focus and a touch more sharpness are needed to make it really come alive.
  4. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 30, 2011
    50
    Inside this film, a poignant and personal story is struggling to get out. But it's couched in such awkward sentiments that it can't emerge.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 30, 2011
    45
    In the early scenes of Larry Crowne, Hanks' Larry is so assertively regular he almost comes off as a special-needs child - grinning into his coffee-cup in the big-box-store break room, he has all the sexual allure of Forrest Gump.
  6. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 28, 2011
    40
    Though both lead actors are able to coast for a while on their natural charm, it's evident by the soppy finale that their "Sleepless in Seattle" and "Pretty Woman" salad days are long past.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 28, 2011
    20
    Movie stars may be less valued than they used to be, but it's still puzzling to see Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts stuck in a romantic comedy as flat-footed and tone deaf as Larry Crowne.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 8 out of 36
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This was a sweet, uplifting, optimistic movie, well-cast and well-acted. It could perhaps have been a little more dynamic, but it wasThis was a sweet, uplifting, optimistic movie, well-cast and well-acted. It could perhaps have been a little more dynamic, but it was entertaining, and I could believe that Tom Hanks would get the girl :) Collapse
  2. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    I kept a smile on my face throughout this movie. While not as bombastic and in-your-face as some of the summer fare this year, this movie isI kept a smile on my face throughout this movie. While not as bombastic and in-your-face as some of the summer fare this year, this movie is soft, heartwarming, and inspiring. I found myself pondering taking a class or two and wishing I had the kind of courage that Lance..err Larry has. I also thought that this movie belonged under something like the Fox Searchlight banner as it is of the same charming vein as several smaller independent films that I can recall seeing in recent times. The soundtrack of Tom Petty and ELO songs really got me going, as well. There are a myriad of excellent casting choices made in this film. I think you could do far, far worse than an afternoon or evening spent with Larry Crowne and friends. In fact, I'd wager to bet that you might just walk out of this movie savoring life just a wee bit more. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    Wonderful entertainment. Refreshing and fun in a world of doom and gloom. I loved it! The story is relavent, down to earth and speaks toWonderful entertainment. Refreshing and fun in a world of doom and gloom. I loved it! The story is relavent, down to earth and speaks to today's populations. The stars and costars are delightful and talented. A must see. Expand
  4. STH
    Jul 8, 2011
    7
    So it's not Forest Gump & won't win awards -- it's still an nice, sweet movie that has great chemistry between the 2 leads. Great movie for aSo it's not Forest Gump & won't win awards -- it's still an nice, sweet movie that has great chemistry between the 2 leads. Great movie for a date or to take your parents to. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2011
    6
    Larry Crowne wasn't much too good, but a little okay for me. Tom Hanks directed this film and he can do what the actor can try somethingLarry Crowne wasn't much too good, but a little okay for me. Tom Hanks directed this film and he can do what the actor can try something better, just like the other actors doing their own direction. In this movie, it does give more credit about a nice guy whose going to college to bring back his own life to be a smart man, so he can pass this college. In the other half, it's nothing quite special because of the dialogue was pretty bland with whimsical lines that Hanks and Roberts combine into cliche, the characters are less forgettable, some other half people weren't that bad including Cedric The Entertainer, Taraji P. Henson, and George Takei are okay, and the premise of plot was average less that belongs to college students to learn about the man needs to be smart to come back for his life which it's closely to the dropout people that doesn't know anything to teach. We prefer only much interesting instead thinking about everything in college. That movie was okay for people who likes or hates it, but for me was much less good and nothing quite special. Hanks is less director that he directed, so you got a C+ on your grade. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2011
    5
    The movie started off hot enough, but by the middle I was hoping that I would not run out of popcorn, I needed something to entertaining! TheThe movie started off hot enough, but by the middle I was hoping that I would not run out of popcorn, I needed something to entertaining! The movie is very light hearted and gentle, but nothing really happens! It has it's funny moments, but you won't be rolling around on the ground laughing! Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    Some films sacrifice realism for action, or vice versa. This endless, pointless, mindless tripe somehow manages to be both as fanciful and asSome films sacrifice realism for action, or vice versa. This endless, pointless, mindless tripe somehow manages to be both as fanciful and as boring as anything I've ever seen. If you haven't left your house or seen a film in several years, maybe you'll be able to tolerate it. I couldn't. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Films about the Ongoing Financial Crisis

    Ranked: Films about the Ongoing Financial Crisis Image
    Published: October 19, 2011
    This week, the ensemble drama "Margin Call" becomes the latest film to tackle the ongoing economic downturn. Where does it rank among the films that came before it? Find out inside.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Directed by Their Stars

    Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Directed by Their Stars Image
    Published: June 28, 2011
    Can actors direct themselves? We reveal the best and worst movies in our database that were directed by one of the film's stars, a list that runs from "Do the Right Thing" to "Miss March."
  3. Dual Threats: Actors Who Direct Movies

    Dual Threats: Actors Who Direct Movies Image
    Published: June 27, 2011
    This week, star Tom Hanks returns to the director's chair with "Larry Crowne." We profile 20 other established actors who have made the leap to film directing, for better or worse.
  4. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.