Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: October 12, 2007
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 205 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
178
Mixed:
12
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
BillTJ.Nov 8, 2007
One of the worst films I've ever sat through. It was ugly t olook at - the situations implausibility not so much the problem as was the abvsolutely mawkish and easy solutions the town and family found to resolve their feelings about One of the worst films I've ever sat through. It was ugly t olook at - the situations implausibility not so much the problem as was the abvsolutely mawkish and easy solutions the town and family found to resolve their feelings about Lars' experience. Another absolutely phony movie that didn't have the guts to go for something real and in all likelihood a lot darker ie real than what they sheepishly settled on. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MikeD.Apr 28, 2008
This movie was sooo boring! I had high expectations given the glowing reviews and the premise seemed interesting but it just wasn't. Basically, this desperate lonely loser gets a sex doll and has a relationship with it meanwhile This movie was sooo boring! I had high expectations given the glowing reviews and the premise seemed interesting but it just wasn't. Basically, this desperate lonely loser gets a sex doll and has a relationship with it meanwhile everyone around him feels compelled to play along. The overall tone of this film is somewhere between depressing and gloomy. I couldn't send this one back to Netflix fast enough. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
OlivierI.Mar 22, 2008
This review is therapy after what must be one of the worst film experiences I've ever had. It was so bad, I can't understand how anyone can fall for this kind of tripe. Honestly, the only way I could review this film is with an This review is therapy after what must be one of the worst film experiences I've ever had. It was so bad, I can't understand how anyone can fall for this kind of tripe. Honestly, the only way I could review this film is with an audio file, microphone and a can of hormel chili. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JacksonF.May 5, 2008
Absolutely horrid. There is no way on this green earth that a small town, or larger one for that matter would support someone's delusions. Secondly, he seemed to recover rather quickly after having a 'Real' social outing; the Absolutely horrid. There is no way on this green earth that a small town, or larger one for that matter would support someone's delusions. Secondly, he seemed to recover rather quickly after having a 'Real' social outing; the bowling episode. Those two points make this depressing movie unrealistic. I guarantee I could have made a better flick, having no background whatsoever in film. I give 1 point for the doll having nice cans. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
frankyfeatherstoofaMay 7, 2008
Cloying and precious life time channel garbage. so unrealistic and cowardly that it makes the relationship with the doll chaste. unrealistic people, dialog, and portrayal of mental illness. takes a premise that has potential and just takes Cloying and precious life time channel garbage. so unrealistic and cowardly that it makes the relationship with the doll chaste. unrealistic people, dialog, and portrayal of mental illness. takes a premise that has potential and just takes the stupid way and safe feel good way out. its predictable and worst of all boring. truly monotonous when you watch scenes that are like something a child would write. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ElliottMOct 11, 2007
Saw it at the Boston Film Festival -- didn't laugh once. The addition of a blow-up doll doesn't make this premise feel any less trite, ridiculous, or annoying.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MeeC.Mar 22, 2008
Worst movie I've ever seen! I'm quite disgusted by Ryan Gosling whom I thought was a pretty promising young actor.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
PatrickR.Apr 23, 2008
I'd have to agree with Oliver L. for the most part. The movie was was completely unrealistic. It just goes through the formula without taking risks. A risky move would have made Lars actually be the type of person that would resort to I'd have to agree with Oliver L. for the most part. The movie was was completely unrealistic. It just goes through the formula without taking risks. A risky move would have made Lars actually be the type of person that would resort to getting a real doll; even weirder in other words. And they just had to find a good looking actor to play Lars that just happened to be the love interest of a female. Lar's friends and family would have ignored the problem because he would really just be a lost hope. It would have been a good movie if Lars was about to kill himself and instead settled for a real doll even though he knew completely how pathetic that was. Just imagine the plot of the movie with the intent of trying to impress the masses and thats what it was. If you liked it you were fooled! Watch the movie as if you've never lived a day in your life and you'll love it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ciarocks4Mar 4, 2017
I don't really understand whats so great about the movie. I mean the town as a whole coming and supporting a guys who is dellusional is beautiful. However there are other ways to depict it. Ryan Gosling falls in love with a sex doll and thenI don't really understand whats so great about the movie. I mean the town as a whole coming and supporting a guys who is dellusional is beautiful. However there are other ways to depict it. Ryan Gosling falls in love with a sex doll and then the doll dies and his dillusion breaks gradually.I Know its stupid, "no this was not worth it" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews