Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 75
    There is nothing dry about Last Call at the Oasis, Jessica Yu's engaging, informative and fast-flowing documentary exploring the global water crisis.
  2. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    May 11, 2012
    75
    As a lucid, emotionally involving portrait of the looming crisis surrounding water - supplies of which are dwindling as contamination rises - Jessica Yu's smartly constructed argument works less as a tutorial than as an infectiously impassioned call to arms.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    May 10, 2012
    75
    One can argue the movie's finer points, but in the end, there's no escaping its creeping pile-up of evidence that Mother Earth is critically dehydrated - and we need to do something, fast.
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    May 4, 2012
    75
    The most engaging is straight-shooting Erin Brockovich (whom you'll remember from that Julia Roberts pic), still helping average Joes fight uphill battles against corporate toxin-dumping.
  5. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 3, 2012
    70
    However frustrated they may be by political paralysis, corporate trickery or plain human stupidity, none of them seem inclined to give up. When they do, we really will be screwed, and we won't have or need movies like this to tell us so.
  6. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    May 3, 2012
    70
    Last Call at the Oasis makes a convincing case that we're on the verge of both "Waterworld" and large scale Erin Brockovich-style scenarios.
  7. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    May 1, 2012
    70
    Ultimately, it's all connected, and with as fascinating and far-ranging an issue as this one, you can't fault the director for wanting to fit it all in.
  8. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Apr 30, 2012
    70
    Following the template of documentaries bent on scaring viewers silly, Oasis winds up with a segment pointing to glimmers of hope, one of which addresses the marketing challenge of convincing citizens that recycled waste water is safe for drinking.
  9. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Apr 30, 2012
    70
    Whether the glass is half full or half empty isn't the point of the effervescent Last Call at the Oasis: It's whether there'll be anything in the glass at all.
  10. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 3, 2012
    60
    Oasis also takes aim at the bottled-water industry, entertainingly calling in psychologists to break down our fears of what is - or isn't - contaminating what we drink.
  11. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    May 1, 2012
    60
    Still, the problem that often fells these documentaries - humorlessness - has been licked: Jack Black makes an exuberant cameo pitching recycled toilet water (his fake brand is called Porcelain Springs). Sound gross? Open wide, because it's on the menu for all of us.
  12. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    May 2, 2012
    58
    It's true that Americans contribute disproportionately to the problem, but catering to the idea that we're separate from the rest of the world isn't part of the solution.
  13. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    May 8, 2012
    50
    The movie presents grim assessments from such experts as the Pacific Institute's Peter Gleick and professor and author Robert Glennon, yet it ends with a flurry of hopeful notes.
  14. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Apr 30, 2012
    50
    Both an informative bit of agitprop and an ultra slick and slightly self-satisfied bit of entertainment.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    Documentaries, at least to me, are rated using a modified 10 scale. The quality and "watchability" of the film are of course important, butDocumentaries, at least to me, are rated using a modified 10 scale. The quality and "watchability" of the film are of course important, but with a documentary, the relevance of the subject matter is critical. The issue of global fresh water depletion and pollution is a serious issue that most Americans are completely oblivious to, but that matter is as important as anything you need to consider as a concerned adult. This film does a superior job of explaining this issue in terms that most anyone can comprehend. You should watch this film. Full Review »