Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Last Vegas tells the story of Billy, Paddy, Archie and Sam, best friends since childhood. When Billy, the group's sworn bachelor, finally proposes to his thirty-something (of course) girlfriend, the four head to Las Vegas with a plan to stop acting their age and relive their glory days. However, upon arriving, the four quickly realize that the decades have transformed Sin City and tested their friendship in ways they never imagined. The Rat Pack may have once played the Sands and Cirque du Soleil may now rule the Strip, but it's these four who are taking over Vegas. [CBS Films] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Oct 31, 2013
    75
    Last Vegas is an entertaining movie with a lot of integrity, and it gives all of its actors - all heavyweights and Oscar winners - real moments to dig in and play something.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 31, 2013
    67
    Nostalgia counts a lot and needs to, with this sitcom-level material and Jon Turteltaub's uninspired direction.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Oct 31, 2013
    63
    It’s the actors, plus an exuberant Mary Steenburgen as quick-witted lounge singer Diana, who make the movie more than a middling copycat.
  4. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Oct 28, 2013
    58
    Yes, it's uneven, more jokes miss than hit, and it winds up taking easy dramatic shortcuts from the more interesting avenues that the script presents, but it's thanks to the lead quartet that the comedy is as engaging at it is.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Oct 31, 2013
    50
    The film at least achieves the level of mediocrity thanks to the professionalism of two slightly younger participants — Kline and Mary Steenburgen, who also have Oscars on their mantels but go well beyond phoning it in here.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Oct 31, 2013
    40
    Though coming off at times like Adam Sandler’s “Grown-ups,” only with Oscar winners, Last Vegas is a genial little comedy for the crowd it’s intended for.
  7. Reviewed by: Abhimanyu Das
    Oct 28, 2013
    12
    The film is depressing, sub-sitcom fodder that will dull whatever affection you may still harbor for these legendary actors.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    its cool rembering what you did as a child back in the day i love this movie it is funny and great . it is just like grown ups movie expect its about old people . Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Anybody who doesn't find this movie marginally short of excellent has no sense of humour whatever their age. I feel sorry for csw12 and more so for Proteus who must be sad and boring soles. Take my advice and see this movie, it is well worth the entrance money. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    This film was one of the best times I have had at the movies recently. I'm a 19 year old student filmmaker that's been studying film, analyzing it, making it, but through all of that I forgot what going to the movies is really about; having a good entertaining time. I believe movies should do several things; have a great story: this one's story was not AMAZING but the background the characters had with each other played a huge part in the film's story. A good film should have great messages; this one had some of the best messages I have seen in recent films, something that actually made me feel so much better and just all around happy; and the film should be entertaining. The jokes were laugh out loud funny (I won class clown and my father is a stand up comedian, it's not easy to make me laugh) but the humor in this movie was great. Although older audiences might get more from it, it made me so appreciative to have my whole life ahead of me, and know that I will never be too old to have a dumb good time with my buddies. The film also captured Vegas pretty well, maybe not every aspect, but enough to the point where it made you feel like you were there. I'm sick of critics only giving good scores to these long boring movies like Gravity, or Prisoners, because it's "more intelligent" or whatever. Screw that, I would take this film over films like that any day, because this is what going to the movies is about; laughs, cries, heartbreaks, in this case some awkward groaning and moaning sounds (I was the only non-grey haired person in the audience) but this film did it's job. The cast was hilarious together, I'd say this is one of the funniest films of the year, one of the funniest films about Vegas (yes, funnier than the Hangover) and a film for ALL ages. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2013
    7
    Although the movie lacks many things a good comedy should be, our four musketeers make a satisfying appearance. Recommended for anyone that enjoys old fashioned comedy movies Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    Michael Douglas is getting married, so his 3 childhood buddies (Robert De Niro, Morgan Freeman, Kevin Kline) travel to Vegas for the bachelor party. Those expecting the geriatric version of "The Hangover" will be disappointed…nothing remotely outrageous happens. Instead, there are basically 2 movies: Douglas & De Niro have a relationship drama, while Freeman & Kline provide the gentle humor. Almost all of the jokes rely on old age insults with lots of trite heartfelt hogwash to make it heartwarming. While it's fun to watch these stars poke fun at their age and there's energy in the filmmaking, this is a pretty tame comedy. Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2014
    5
    First question... why? Why did they have to do this?
    I will try to remember these really good actors for the great movies they've done and
    not for this one.
    Ok it's not totally boring but it's predictable and not funny and it looks like a tons of other movies, I'll give it a 5 only because you can still see some (really short) good moments of acting.
    Expand
  7. Jan 30, 2014
    0
    This movie is awful, a complete waste of talent. Douglas, DeNiro, Freeman and Kline are so much better than this puerile garbage. Totally predictable. Totally overdone plot (think of Hangover and so many other "group of buddies go to Vegas" type movies) and old jokes and scenarios. Why do they have to continually make movies that show old guys going through a mid-life crisis and lusting after young women? Us old guys are NOT all like this. Some of us a very happy with our lives and our wives. Avoid this movie like the plague. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers