Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: March 7, 2003
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 49 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
5
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
PhantomFrameMay 7, 2003
Frances McD is brilliant!! Worth the price of admission just to see her, but I enjoyed the film overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ThewisekingMar 17, 2003
An amateurish mess. this film very clearly represents a freshman effort of a not very sharp director. the film is trite, full of hollywood cliche, and embarassing attempts at symbolism. although much of the acting is awful, and the 2 femaleAn amateurish mess. this film very clearly represents a freshman effort of a not very sharp director. the film is trite, full of hollywood cliche, and embarassing attempts at symbolism. although much of the acting is awful, and the 2 female leads portraying physicians were laughingly miscast, frances mcdormand did turn in a pretty good performance. i fear this director is just another trust fund kiddie wasting time in hollywood, who ought to give it up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieJul 6, 2005
Best movie I've seen in years! Brilliant performances by Alessandro Nivola, Kate Beckinsale and Frances McDormand. I never get tired of watching this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
StephenS.Nov 10, 2003
Having almost sabotaged her film, Cholodenko redeems herself with two "money shots" carrying genuine emotional impact. That is to say, when the wife and mother of the male lead (Christian Bale) declare their true feelings for him. Having almost sabotaged her film, Cholodenko redeems herself with two "money shots" carrying genuine emotional impact. That is to say, when the wife and mother of the male lead (Christian Bale) declare their true feelings for him. There's nothing intrinsically wrong with the concept. A serious young med student gets into all kinds of emotional strife by taking his serious young bride to stay with his embarrassingly louche record-producer mother. Problem one is casting. Frances McDormand is great as mother Jane, a difficult role combining heart, intelligence and lust. Alessandro Nivola coolly plays the cocky Brit pop singer having the affair with her. But how could anyone put Kate Beckinsale up against a trouper like McDormand, especially as Alex, super-brain scrabble player and genetics researcher? When we're still in recovery from Nicole Kidman's weird concept of Virginia Woolf? Problem two is motivation. No sooner arrived at Jane's house, our budding PhD files away her inhibitions and unwraps a remarkably eclectic Laurel Canyon libido. This complete behavioural U-turn is accompanied by scarcely any demonstration that Alex would actually have any such leanings. Then there's the cinematic style, oscillating between Junior Auteur and Sex in the City meets E.R. Finally, there's the finale, where Cholodenko simply closes up shop abruptly. I might buy this kind of anticlimax from someone like John Sayles, but only just. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarcK.Apr 12, 2003
This film wasn't bad, but nowhere near what I see some of these critics are giving it. Frances McDormand is a favorite of mine, but I fail to see the incredible performance that all these critics have seen. Most interesting performance? This film wasn't bad, but nowhere near what I see some of these critics are giving it. Frances McDormand is a favorite of mine, but I fail to see the incredible performance that all these critics have seen. Most interesting performance? Definitely Natascha McElhone. However, the worst casting is Kate Beckinsale. She is far too hot to be playing a moussy, naive geek. She does a good American accent though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.May 18, 2003
Christian Bale and Kate Beckinsale are good here, but only when they're in the same scene with Frances McDormand. "Laurel Canyon" gets deadly boring when Bale's paired up with Natascha McElhone. We don't care at all about Christian Bale and Kate Beckinsale are good here, but only when they're in the same scene with Frances McDormand. "Laurel Canyon" gets deadly boring when Bale's paired up with Natascha McElhone. We don't care at all about their affair. We love McDormand at the controls during the recording sessions and her feuds with the label. As Alex, Beckinsale has a tin ear for not liking the great Sparklehorse song. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SashaB.Jul 25, 2003
Laurel Canyon had me drawn in from the get-go. Fans of High Art will appreciate Lisa Cholodenko's second take on Love, obsession, art, and the subculture of a generation. Frances McDormand's performance was captivating as well as Laurel Canyon had me drawn in from the get-go. Fans of High Art will appreciate Lisa Cholodenko's second take on Love, obsession, art, and the subculture of a generation. Frances McDormand's performance was captivating as well as the rest of the supporting cast. The music was excellent and I will definately go out and buy this soundtrack. This movie is not directed at the mainstream audience however if your like me, and appreciate moody, psychologically complex films, you'll like this one too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
J.RyanG.Jun 17, 2005
Films shouldn't have to try this hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful