Law Abiding Citizen

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 269

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. DanielS.
    May 6, 2010
    0
    Awesome movie...but the ending RUINS IT.
  2. DylanB.
    Feb 20, 2010
    0
    This would be one of the greatest movies in the world if only they didnt fuck up the ending the way they did. I almost threw my pc out the door when i saw it end. if you must watch the movie turn if off when there is only 20 minutes left. truly truly disappointing
  3. PriscillaG.
    Oct 19, 2009
    1
    Just finished watching it. This is the kind of testosterone festival that makes troglodytes cry "YEAH!" Synopsis: Stock characters follow predictable plot devices and present the fantasy of limitless financial resources as "cunning intellect".
  4. Jul 15, 2012
    3
    Clyde (Gerard Butler) had a reason to kill the people who killed his family: REVENGE but why was he killing Police and FBI agents just to make Nick Rice (Jamie Foxx) mad? They didn't do much to Clyde and already got his revenge which was enough. And you know what would of been a better ending? Clyde could of committed suicide and admitted his reason.
  5. Feb 19, 2012
    2
    This movie disgusts me, if I am being honest. The violence was without meaning, and it seemed spliced in for the sake of satisfying a bloodthirsty crowd. It has its enjoyable moments, and for that I give it a 2, but it is recycled garbage.
  6. sLm
    Oct 14, 2012
    3
    Meeeeeeeh... It started very, very good, at first revenge was justified, but then it just became into a non-sense murdering. At the end of the film, all I wanted was the "bad" guy to win at least, not the moron lawyer, but neither that happened. It was totally anticlimactic... Seriously, if you want a good version for this movie, watch "V for Vendetta" and stay away from this.
  7. ChadC.
    Jun 17, 2010
    1
    This movie had potential. It kept me interested up until they revealed the how he managed to rig and terrorize people. It immediately dropped from possibly being a 7 or an 8 to a firm 1.
  8. ChrisVD
    Dec 10, 2009
    1
    Totally unengaging and ridiculous flic. Manages to be repulsive AND boring at the same time. Quite unique actually, if you put it like that. Still, don't go and see, believe me. It's for your own good.
  9. JoJ.
    Oct 26, 2009
    0
    Can you say "ridiculously impossible" ? So unrealistic as to be cartoonish! Please! I love the critic who said "Saw with a conscience"!! How stupid do we moviegoers seem??! I'm insulted by this movie. The premise was realistic. They could have done great things with it. Too bad.
  10. RichardW.
    Oct 16, 2009
    0
    Yuch. What were a fine group actors thinking? Paycheck, maybe?
  11. Jun 24, 2013
    3
    This is what happens when the dig through John Grisham's garbage. It has a lot of inaccuracies with the federal law of the state of Philadelphia. Both Jamie Foxx and Gerard Butler are miscast and don't provide energy in their roles. Their characters are poorly developed and the other characters don't have much focus, and on some occasions stupid And the ending is a big 180 to a decent resolution.
  12. Jan 26, 2012
    0
    bad writing, bad acting, bad everything. Gerard Butler should never try to pull off another American accent again...awful, just awful. Ridiculos premise, but lots of stuff blows up so it likely kept American audiences happy. When foreigners put down Americans for their cinematic stupidity, this movie is Exhibit A.
  13. Dec 19, 2011
    2
    Its so generic, straight forward, and predictable that it ruins the movie. Jamie Foxx is a terrible lead as well, The rest of the cast was ok. Gerald Butler is good though and the only reason to watch the film. The action was ok as well but the entire script was just terrible. A lot of ruined potential here.
  14. Nov 2, 2011
    2
    I had to check to make sure it was the same movie by the end, because it wasn't nothing like the first half hour.
    What a complete disaster for a movie that started so strong, could have easily been an 8.
  15. TimH
    Mar 1, 2010
    0
    A Horible Movie that shys away at the good parts, and during its "revelations" in the plot was found to be HILARIOUS. Not what they were going for I think. I wasted 2 hours of my life watching this crap and I hope there aren't many others as unfortunate as me.
  16. Sep 12, 2010
    2
    This movie is what I imagine getting a colonoscopy is like. The acting was what you would expect from a middle school play, not a multi million dollar feature film. I would not recommend this to anyone.
  17. Nov 24, 2010
    3
    A poor man's "Seven." Gerard Butler is so unappealing on screen, but combined with the personality-less Jamie Foxx, it doesn't matter how on-edge some of the scenes are. It still comes across like a B movie.
  18. BenB
    Oct 20, 2009
    3
    By all accounts this is something that started out as a great idea in someones head which ended up being an absolute failure by the time someone tried to turn it into a 90 minute feature film. The decides to rather than create a character that's extraordinary yet still believable, to create a character that defies all belief and as such, create a series of scenarios that leaves the By all accounts this is something that started out as a great idea in someones head which ended up being an absolute failure by the time someone tried to turn it into a 90 minute feature film. The decides to rather than create a character that's extraordinary yet still believable, to create a character that defies all belief and as such, create a series of scenarios that leaves the audience frustrated with being force fed hole filled plots, rather than leaving them impressed at the main characters ingenuity. Jamie Foxx also delivers an extremely dry performance. With no characters to love or to hate, and no plot to entertain, you will just want this movie to end so you can go home and watch paint dry. Expand
  19. DQS
    Mar 11, 2010
    1
    Horrible, horrible, horrible. Crap piece of hack work made for the money. The message of this film is that in the end Law is worthless. Do you believe that? Do the people who made this crap believe it? No, it's simply a cool way to show off special effects. Sad.
  20. kgm.
    Oct 26, 2009
    2
    The first 10-15 minutes are interesting and engaging but unlike
  21. Jan 30, 2013
    3
    Una lástima el final, termina significando q la corrupción de la justicia al final gana. Como un juez puede decir hago lo q quiero? que se creen? dioses? no creo q con la muerte, pero un cambio de sangre dentro de ese poder miserable es necesario. Uno tiene q pasar por un asesinato y después por la ley y ver lo sucia q es y como todo se compra, y como las vidas noUna lástima el final, termina significando q la corrupción de la justicia al final gana. Como un juez puede decir hago lo q quiero? que se creen? dioses? no creo q con la muerte, pero un cambio de sangre dentro de ese poder miserable es necesario. Uno tiene q pasar por un asesinato y después por la ley y ver lo sucia q es y como todo se compra, y como las vidas no valen nada, para poder ver q en esta película el principio es perfecto, tal cual como debería ser. El final desastroso. Solo lo liberan de la tristeza que es perder seres amados de la manera más violenta, sin q a nadie le importe. Solo somos un número.

    Too bad the end, meaning q corruption ends of justice at the end wins. As a judge I can say what I q? to be created? gods? q I do not believe in the death, but a change of blood within that wretched power needed. Q One has to go through a murder and then by the law and see how dirty and q is as everything is bought, and how lives are worthless, q to see this movie in the beginning is perfect, as it should be. The disastrous end. Only the release of the sorrow of losing loved ones in the most violent, no one cares qa. We're just a number.
    Expand
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 26
  2. Negative: 12 out of 26
  1. 30
    If the filmmakers meant a word of it, they'd quit making films and do something more useful. "Saw" with a conscience is not what the world needs.
  2. Clyde is meant to be nuts, but too often it's Law Abiding Citizen that checks rationality at the door.
  3. A vigilante/torture-porn potpourri, is particularly toxic because it's scented with phony importance.