Universal Pictures | Release Date: January 8, 2010
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 64 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
16
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
KenCJan 8, 2010
Just saw Leap Year. While it was pretty predictable, I love Amy Adams and Matthew Goode was a fresh face. Now I want to visit Ireland!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadSJan 10, 2010
Boy gets girl, it's the rule of thumb in romantic comedy, which is why Marc Webb's "(500) Days of Summer" stands out: boy doesn't get girl, and boy, did this genre abberation hurt so good. Hollywood should take note of this Boy gets girl, it's the rule of thumb in romantic comedy, which is why Marc Webb's "(500) Days of Summer" stands out: boy doesn't get girl, and boy, did this genre abberation hurt so good. Hollywood should take note of this absolutely winning indie, and consider incorporating the unhappy ending, every so often, to help revive this ailing genre, made moribund by its utter predictability. Far from being the nadir of the bunch(that honor goes to "The Ugly Truth"), the worst label you could slap on "Leap Year" is that it's "bland". As Anna(Amy Adams) and Declan(Matthew Goode) go through the motions of courtship in the same dramatic setting(Ireland) that Hillary Swank and Gerard Butler managed in "P.S. I Love You", the moviegoer may wonder: "Haven't I seen 500, or at least, 55 versions of this same film?" Conditioned by countless rom-coms where the inevitable uniting of star-crossed lovers send droves of moviegoers home, theoretically, happy; for the jaded, those obstacles which delay the simultaneous epiphany of love among lovers just before that clinching kiss, doesn't necessarily build drama, it builds tedium. To make a routine rom-com like "Leap Year" watchable again, some degree of doubt has to encroach on the moviegoer's expectations, in regard to the major studio-sanctioned screenplay. Does boy always have to get girl? In "(500) Days of Summer", The Smiths fan's life turned back into "There Is A Light That Never Goes Out" after 500 days of "You Make My Dreams", because the screenwriter gives Summer(Zooey Deschanel) the freedom to be more than a girlfriend sentenced to impending matrimony; she gets to be the boy's antagonist. In "Leap Year", Declan blows it, but Anna gives him a second chance, since genre requirements dictate that she do so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BobWJan 14, 2010
300 is a cinematic piece of artistry, focusing more on cinematography than story. Surprisingly, it works very well. The basic story line serves as the spine of the film; merely there to support the glorified action. It's this visceral 300 is a cinematic piece of artistry, focusing more on cinematography than story. Surprisingly, it works very well. The basic story line serves as the spine of the film; merely there to support the glorified action. It's this visceral beauty that makes it watchable, more so than a film that focuses on the fundamental story. 300 applies to males; those of you who don't appreciate slaughter and gore will not find it appealing. It's a movie that you have to watch without criticising, because you will surely find a fallacy within its simplicity and emphasis on visuals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamesHJan 19, 2010
Unlike most guys, I like a good romantic comedy and this is ALMOST a good one. What downgrades it for me are the the many "sit-com" moments (all by the Amy Adams character). On the plus side, Amy Adams and Matthew Goode are very good in this Unlike most guys, I like a good romantic comedy and this is ALMOST a good one. What downgrades it for me are the the many "sit-com" moments (all by the Amy Adams character). On the plus side, Amy Adams and Matthew Goode are very good in this movie and have a good chemistry, and the movie is shot in the beautiful Ireland countryside. If only there weren't all those eye-rolling sitcom moments! Still, not horrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CarolynMJan 9, 2010
No big highs, no low lows, not very original, average acting without much chemistry between the principles. The photography in Ireland was gorgeous, so we didn't walk out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TonyDec 26, 2010
Although predictable and a little dry, it does display Ireland's beautiful countryside and Adams and Goode are charming in their roles but deserve better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
While I'm okay with this film and Amy Adams is my favorite actress, I must admit that this is not one of her best films. It's okay at best, typical rom-com.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews