Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 24, 2010
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 153 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
94
Mixed:
43
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
DarkCriticSep 24, 2010
I like the owls,well everybody loves the owls. This is the movie that the brave owl must journey away to the guardians of Ga'Hoole with the greatest owls and he must fight against those evil owls that controls The Pure Ones and this is a goodI like the owls,well everybody loves the owls. This is the movie that the brave owl must journey away to the guardians of Ga'Hoole with the greatest owls and he must fight against those evil owls that controls The Pure Ones and this is a good movie that the owls are so bravery and more interesting for the entire family. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheUnpaidCriticSep 24, 2010
Star Wars, Avatar, Lord Of The Rings all rolled up into one grand epic. 5 stars doesn't do it justice! I loved every frame of this film. Magnificently beautiful, spellbinding, exiciting to the nth degree and finally getting 3D right. Don'tStar Wars, Avatar, Lord Of The Rings all rolled up into one grand epic. 5 stars doesn't do it justice! I loved every frame of this film. Magnificently beautiful, spellbinding, exiciting to the nth degree and finally getting 3D right. Don't miss it! [However, not a children's tale!] Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SmellyCatSep 29, 2010
Probably the single most stunning film in terms of visual effects so far this year, Legend of the Guardians is not only a visual treat but also a surprisingly well done animated epic. I've heard a lot of people writing about how this is 'tooProbably the single most stunning film in terms of visual effects so far this year, Legend of the Guardians is not only a visual treat but also a surprisingly well done animated epic. I've heard a lot of people writing about how this is 'too dark' for children, but come on: this film is no darker or scarier than Nightmare Before Christmas, the second or third Harry Potter, or The Corpse Bride. It really is an amazing animated film that I think children will love, with a good message and amazing visuals. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
movielover64Sep 24, 2010
It has a great, very epic, story, with some great 3D. It is definitely worth a see, even if the only reason you go is to see the awesome 3D. A little dark, so it may not be appropriate for smaller kids.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SteforianSep 25, 2010
It was a great movie. Plain and simple, with lots of lessons learned and thrilling action. The only reason why the movie was not 'too' popular was because of the 'unrealistic' factor of the movie, all i can say to that is that this movieIt was a great movie. Plain and simple, with lots of lessons learned and thrilling action. The only reason why the movie was not 'too' popular was because of the 'unrealistic' factor of the movie, all i can say to that is that this movie falls under the fantasy genre so you get what you pay for. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LAughing863Sep 28, 2010
I am so glad that I got foiled in my attempt to lift this movie. The less people in the theater who don't know how to watch a movie, the better! This movie is both stunning and poinient, and entertainment rather than fact or history, butI am so glad that I got foiled in my attempt to lift this movie. The less people in the theater who don't know how to watch a movie, the better! This movie is both stunning and poinient, and entertainment rather than fact or history, but accourding to time is the best way to watch this movie, except for the cut and paste at the end, which is good and should be kept. The best a movie can be! I will, FOR sure try to buy this movie on DVD. I wanted to buy it on order, then torrent it, but it didn't work, good job entertainment industry! PG means, STRONG PARENTAL GUIDANCE, this should be rated in the 17 category, but high school can be very difficult! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
GooseOct 5, 2010
My son and I really enjoyed this movie. The 3D effects were beautiful, and the story was great! I would have liked to see more "training" scenes, but the movie definitely met my expectations!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
drajferOct 12, 2010
As my first review, I felt that the critics may have been a little harsh on this movie. As a 32 year old I found that this movie was a wonderful breath of fresh air. More serious and intense than the average animated fare, this movieAs my first review, I felt that the critics may have been a little harsh on this movie. As a 32 year old I found that this movie was a wonderful breath of fresh air. More serious and intense than the average animated fare, this movie tackled some interesting issues quite well as well as delivering an epic movie feel throughout that genuinely captured my interest through the whole move. Of course I would have like a bit more character development (which I'm sure the books do better justice), but I must say I was very pleasantly surprised and highly recommend this movie to anyone over the age to 12. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
It is very hard to say no to this movie due to its fantastic animation, action, dark tone, and voice performances and it even has a bit of humor and succeeds well enough even though the story isn't told very well. I give this film 82% of aIt is very hard to say no to this movie due to its fantastic animation, action, dark tone, and voice performances and it even has a bit of humor and succeeds well enough even though the story isn't told very well. I give this film 82% of a good movie. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 20, 2010
Star Wars and The Lord of the Rings all mixed together into one huge CGI epic hit. though, it has a dark tone and it may not be suitable for kids, but despite that, it has nice character development, great visuals, and awesome butt-kickingStar Wars and The Lord of the Rings all mixed together into one huge CGI epic hit. though, it has a dark tone and it may not be suitable for kids, but despite that, it has nice character development, great visuals, and awesome butt-kicking action scenes. Legend of the Guardians is an excellent CGI movie of the year. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
MissBattyOct 7, 2010
I've read reviews saying that some people don't understand the movie at all. It sounded more like they either haven't read the books or just don't have an imagination at all. Beautiful animation aside, the plot is simple and understandable.I've read reviews saying that some people don't understand the movie at all. It sounded more like they either haven't read the books or just don't have an imagination at all. Beautiful animation aside, the plot is simple and understandable. It goes a bit quick, but once you watch the movie a second time. you tend to take in the gorgeous views instead. Some parts even made me tear up a bit...
Adding also, the movie isn't so terrifying that children won't be able to see it. It's more of a mild terrifying. If you like old stories told new, then I believe you will enjoy this.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RazvDec 18, 2010
A very good movie. The characters are funny, the plot is very interesting and the graphics are absolutely amazing and outstanding. A movie worth seeing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ESS180Nov 5, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this was pretty cool, the animation was remarkable.

The ending was pretty sweet, the fighting and all that was so epic.

My only problem is that the opening of the movie picked up a slow pace and it was boring at the begining but it picked it up really well.

Also I wouldn't call this a kid's film I should say this movie would be for ages 10+
This was pretty violent for a PG.

So there we have it I thought it was good
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AndrewUltimateOct 20, 2010
Some genius directors and producers have come up with the rare eye delight, or astonishing visual effects. Perhaps the greatest of the year so far. Just that adds one star to this movie. Overall, I thought it jumped around at times, but aSome genius directors and producers have come up with the rare eye delight, or astonishing visual effects. Perhaps the greatest of the year so far. Just that adds one star to this movie. Overall, I thought it jumped around at times, but a cute movie with nice owls anyway. It kind of reminds me of Lord of the Rings and Star Wars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Blu_BirdApr 17, 2011
the movie was made epicly, the storyline kept me and some of my friends entertained for the entire movie, and some more talking about it. it was a great movie, and i wont regret giving it a 9
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ShappersApr 25, 2011
Absolutely brilliant. My 11year old daughter was routed to her seat and me along side her. Best animation I have ever seen. My daughter gave it 10 out of 10, I would have given it 11 if it were possible!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
livia89Mar 6, 2012
Just amazing!! It is an animation, but its not just for kids! I loved it! I cannot really describe more, i suggest to everybody watch minimum once. Lovely and full of with action :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lahjaunelmiaSep 1, 2014
This movie was just so much better than I expected. I love this film. *SPOILER* Only things I didn't like was how Soren didn't care that his brother died and the story was a bit confusing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GriffinJan 28, 2013
The makers of Happy Feet takes an interestingly dark turn in storytelling with this movie adaption to the best selling book series. The characters are enjoyable, the animation is fantastic, the soundtrack is beautiful, & the action is epic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MarkMusicMar 26, 2013
Easily one of the best animated films ever, great action, production, voice over, everything was top nouch in this. Better animation then other films probably the best effects in a motion picture. Better then (Toy Story, Avatar, Harry Potter,Easily one of the best animated films ever, great action, production, voice over, everything was top nouch in this. Better animation then other films probably the best effects in a motion picture. Better then (Toy Story, Avatar, Harry Potter, Narnia, Despicable, Rise of the Gaurdian) animation. Story was pretty good as well. Im upset that it took me almost 2 years to watch it but Im glad I did A+. The story isn't told perfectly but the dark tone, and bit of humor makes up for it. This is a movie for 9-10 and up. I know you saw the trailer with the beautiful scenes and the amazing song choice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Zack Snyder making a movie about owls wasn't so sure about it. I liked his other films but was surprised about how much i enjoyed it. The animation was amazing even in 2013 it could still stand up to movies like brave and wreck-it ralph. TheZack Snyder making a movie about owls wasn't so sure about it. I liked his other films but was surprised about how much i enjoyed it. The animation was amazing even in 2013 it could still stand up to movies like brave and wreck-it ralph. The story was nothing really great though i felt like it being only 1 hour 30 minutes really made it seem like the film could have gone at least another 30 minutes but i understand why they shortened it. The action was cool seeing the birds fight but with Snyder's style behind it the story was a bit more darker then what i thought it was going to be and i really liked that.

Overall i give it a 7.0 when you can make a film about owls enjoyable i have to give you credit for that
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersNov 26, 2016
"Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole" should win the award for longest, most-drawn out title of 2010. Couldn't they just call it "The Guardians of Ga'Hoole" or something like that? Either way, let's just call it "Legend of the"Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole" should win the award for longest, most-drawn out title of 2010. Couldn't they just call it "The Guardians of Ga'Hoole" or something like that? Either way, let's just call it "Legend of the Guardians" for the review. Now, beyond winning the award for longest title, "Legend of the Guardians" was DEFINITELY in the running for most polarizing film of 2010. Was it a fantastic, darker animated film? Or was it typical Zack Snyder preferring style over substance? The debate rages on, but I personally loved the film. It's epic, it's action-packed, it's gorgeously-animated, well-acted, and extremely wondrous. It's not for everyone (some might be disappointed if they expect it to be "The Lord of the Rings" of animation), and you'll hate it if you really enjoyed the books, but all things told, "Legend of the Guardians" is a fantastic animated film that I'll definitely continue to enjoy for many years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Aug 29, 2016
If there is any proof that Zach Snyder can make movies and be a decent director in Hollywood, its Legend of the Guardians. Not only just a visual treat but its also a surprisingly well done animated epic with eye popping visuals and a storyIf there is any proof that Zach Snyder can make movies and be a decent director in Hollywood, its Legend of the Guardians. Not only just a visual treat but its also a surprisingly well done animated epic with eye popping visuals and a story with many treats and thrilling action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HISHEhebAug 10, 2014
better than Lion King, this movie is so underated. if you haven't seen it yet... why???? this is the best movie for your children. the movie won't make your kids dumb
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 29, 2015
Whilst the voice performances were brilliant and the visual effects were absolutely stunning, the story just doesn't take off. It's very simple, common and predictable. Nothing new was added to take the story of a young and inexperienced butWhilst the voice performances were brilliant and the visual effects were absolutely stunning, the story just doesn't take off. It's very simple, common and predictable. Nothing new was added to take the story of a young and inexperienced but talented boy that goes on a journey of courage and growth to become a hero into anything more than what we've seen countless times in children's and teens movies. Generic but beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 4, 2016
This (along with 300) are the only good films I enjoyed from Zack Snyder. Any other films out there involved in "Zack Snyder" is not worth defending such as Man of Steel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gameguardian21Sep 17, 2016
I was invested in this book to movie adaptation that surprised me. It had a great idea and does a good job in its characters, storytelling, and the animation. One zack snyder film that I actually surprised me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Soren420Jan 30, 2016
Brilliant animation, awesome voice acting. this review is completely unbiased despite username...
sure it's not necessarily the best movie based on story, but it's certainly better than much of what's on the horizon
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews