Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 14 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    May 19, 2014
    60
    Kid-friendly with some neat visuals. Adults will appreciate the dulcet tones of Frasier as the Tin Man.
  2. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    May 9, 2014
    50
    There's barely a trace of the magic of 1939's "The Wizard of Oz"; the bricks are still yellow, but the road doesn't lead anywhere special.
  3. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    May 8, 2014
    50
    All in all, the beloved kingdom of Oz is not well served, though there’s just enough detectable affection to keep it from feeling like a pure cashing-in.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    May 8, 2014
    50
    Yet if you’re old enough to read this and you find yourself at a screening, try thinking about the munchkins who worked so hard on the psychedelic scenery.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 8, 2014
    40
    Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return lacks any sense of magic.
  6. 40
    It’s a loud Oz hodgepodge that never adheres to a prevailing tone long enough to allow viewers to emotionally engage with those characters in spite of some admittedly inspired CG flourishes.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    May 7, 2014
    40
    “Oh, Toto, this doesn’t look like the Oz I remember,” Dorothy murmurs at one point. Truer words were never spoken.
  8. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    May 9, 2014
    38
    A harmless but almost charmless adaptation of a book by L. Frank Baum’s grandson.
  9. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    May 8, 2014
    38
    Maybe this is unreasonable, but I can’t help thinking that if you’re going to make a movie with “Oz” in the title, you’d better be prepared to kick in at least a little inspiration. Yet that’s precisely what’s missing — so utterly absent it’s almost impressive in a way — in the painfully uninspired Legends of Oz.
  10. Reviewed by: Kevin McFarland
    May 10, 2014
    25
    Formidable as the cast list looks on paper, the voice acting reeks of cash grabs, and the performances are way off.
  11. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    May 9, 2014
    25
    This is one of those movies that parents will have to ask themselves if they love their child enough to sit through it. At least "The Nut Job" is off the hook as the worst indie-made animated feature of the year.
  12. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    May 8, 2014
    25
    With dubious scruples, and much Broadway-style caterwauling, the film imagines what The Wizard of Oz would look like with a should-have-gone-straight-to-video chimney on her.
  13. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    May 8, 2014
    25
    All the brains, heart and courage in the world can't save a movie that doesn't have a third act.
  14. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    May 8, 2014
    25
    This is mythology that’s famously transportive in every sense, but the animators struggle to take us anywhere truly captivating, or even clearly defined.
  15. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    May 8, 2014
    25
    Animated in form but completely listless in content.
  16. Reviewed by: Josh Kupecki
    May 14, 2014
    20
    Carping on a film clearly targeted to 5-year-olds might seem unjust, but the filmmakers go about their business in such a lazy fashion that the viewer can’t help but feel irritated by the whole ordeal.
  17. Reviewed by: Martin Tsai
    May 8, 2014
    20
    If it only had a brain, a heart and the nerve.
  18. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    May 8, 2014
    20
    It’s simply tacky consumer product that dishonors the famous name in its title—the same one that’s keeping this film from the direct-to-video burial it deserves.
  19. Reviewed by: Sherilyn Connelly
    May 6, 2014
    20
    Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return fails to make us care about the characters or their journeys, and the animation is shoddy and occasionally creepy.
  20. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    May 8, 2014
    0
    This film is loud, ugly, disrespectful to the spirit of the classic original and far too simplistic for all but the youngest kids. Avoid any brick roads that lead to it.
  21. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    May 7, 2014
    0
    James Franco, all is forgiven. His woebegotten “Oz: The Great and Powerful’’ is practically a masterpiece compared to this eyeball-gougingly ugly, charm-free animated musical sequel.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. May 9, 2014
    10
    I saw the movie and, despite what some of these critics contend, it is a beautiful film that is extremely family friendly with beautiful music. There are at least 3 songs that are memorable and which have market breakout potential. All of the voice actors do an outstanding job with Martin Short being nothing short of inspirational (pun intended). This is a worthy addition to the Oz legacy and story line! Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2014
    10
    I found this movie an inspiring heartfelt story about a young girl dealing with the chaos in the wake of a natural disaster, then being transported back to a magical land where her friends are in trouble. She meets some new friends who have their own flaws to overcome, but through the story they grow and successfully bring order back to their world. On returning home Dorothy then makes things right in the real world. These are the kinds of stories we should be telling more of. Full Review »
  3. May 11, 2014
    10
    If you want to read an unbiased review google Dove, Legends of OZ... They said this movie is good clean family fun and that what I'm looking for when I take my 10 and 3 year old children to the movies. I saw the movie Friday night and I thought it was amazing. The first thing my oldest did (after asking if we could see it again) was download some of the songs. He has been singing them all week and I have been humming right along with him. Do your self a favor and pay no attention to the negative reviews and absolutely go see this movie. Full Review »