Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 17, 2004
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 237 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
148
Mixed:
50
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JoshWMay 7, 2005
Great performances from the actors, great sets, beutiful cinematography and a story line that was beyond ridiculous. Not that there is anything wrong with a ridiculous script, just as long as it isn't boring too.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PatC.Jun 14, 2005
It's not just Carrey - nearly the entire cast overacts their parts. Sunny is the only interesting character in this clumsy pretentious effort.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SeanP.Aug 20, 2006
It was dull and lacking exictment and out of order to the books.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AdamKJun 24, 2005
This movie was really frustrating to watch. First of all its annoyingly stupid that the kids can't communicate that Count Olaf, who is a serial killer, is in disguise. So right that gets annoying and then you just imagine like the rest This movie was really frustrating to watch. First of all its annoyingly stupid that the kids can't communicate that Count Olaf, who is a serial killer, is in disguise. So right that gets annoying and then you just imagine like the rest of the movie does stupid unrealistic things, plus the kids are annoying, Jim Carey is stupid, and the narrator Jude Law is pretty much the only decent thing about the movie but even he gets hackneyed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DamianP.Jan 12, 2005
It looked good, the acting was excellent, but the story was dull and flawed. Maybe it deserves a higher score on its merits as a childrens movie, but I'm not a child.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PaulW.Feb 6, 2005
I found that this movie was so boring that I actually fell asleep in the theater, my girlfriend had to nudge me to wake me up when it was over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
anonymuosjuniorDec 20, 2004
Nothing like the BOOK.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndreaC.Jan 15, 2005
This movie gets a three rating only.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GeraldineJ.Oct 31, 2005
Ring This movie was great, and it couldn't have been better. Movie one is this great, and I can't wait for the really great next movie. None of the parts in this movie sucks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
farhanaza.Feb 1, 2005
I hate this movie. i hate it. It's soooooo gross and it is very hard to understand the things that are said yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KevinY.Feb 7, 2005
I have only walked out of one movie in my life, Caddyshack 2. Jim Carrey gives a very Jackie Mason like performance. A beautiful movie to look at so members of NORML might enjoy but I want 107 minutes of my life back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidH.Apr 5, 2005
So bad, it's unfortunate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GaborA.May 11, 2005
Another episode of Jim Carrey single handedly ruining a movie. Unfortunatly, even withou him this would have been a mediocre effort at best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
T&LS&BMay 15, 2005
This movie SUCKS! Count Olof is supose to be scary not Stupid And Funny! s
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EugeneW.May 17, 2005
When I sat thought this movie I wished I had followed the instructions given at the very beginning by Jude Law the narrator. Its very good advice and well taken. That is you should stop viewing it immediately and go do something else. I also When I sat thought this movie I wished I had followed the instructions given at the very beginning by Jude Law the narrator. Its very good advice and well taken. That is you should stop viewing it immediately and go do something else. I also must say that children may actually enjoy it but as an adult I found it dull and lacking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanielH.Oct 15, 2006
It was the single worst book turned into a film I have ever seen. It put me off reading the books for a week!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Jan 14, 2005
The movie was ok in it's own right, but if you are going to purport to be the same story as something else (aka: a book), then actually be the same. My biggest beef is not that the movie takes a little artistic liberty, but that it The movie was ok in it's own right, but if you are going to purport to be the same story as something else (aka: a book), then actually be the same. My biggest beef is not that the movie takes a little artistic liberty, but that it takes a lot. Entire sections of the plot are changed or rearranged, to no actual benefit. And, picking Jim Carrey to play Count Olaf shows just how little the books were understood by the movie's makers. If you're a fan of the books, you'll be disappointed by the movie; if you're not, or you haven't read them, you'll leave confused by plot holes, but you might enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanielleJan 15, 2005
I can't believe how horrible the movie was. Anyone who is a fan of the book series should not go see this movie. Jim Carey was the worst possible actor they could have gotten to play count Olaf becuase Olaf is supposed to be scarey not I can't believe how horrible the movie was. Anyone who is a fan of the book series should not go see this movie. Jim Carey was the worst possible actor they could have gotten to play count Olaf becuase Olaf is supposed to be scarey not funny. I am completely dissapointed and it's a shame that this movie ever came out. Sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnG.Apr 27, 2005
Right in the midst of parts that seem like they're trying to make you laugh, you suddenly get a sense that the producers are trying to make the movie so believable that you put yourself in the shoes of the kids, and when that happens, Right in the midst of parts that seem like they're trying to make you laugh, you suddenly get a sense that the producers are trying to make the movie so believable that you put yourself in the shoes of the kids, and when that happens, you're filled with a sense of grief at the terrible things thar are happening. This leaves a sour taste in your mouth, unless you have a strong sense of schadenfreude. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TimidFerretMay 29, 2005
How dull, it's like watching paint dry, plenty of money has been thrown at it but to little effect, I was expecting excitment put only found boring monologues, if you suffer from insomnia then this is the movie for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
toms.Sep 26, 2005
At no point in this movie did i think it was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
WillH.Dec 23, 2004
Absoloutley abissmal!!!!!!! Dont go and see it because you would rather pour acid in your eyes!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JackandLynnDec 24, 2004
This movie, while not absolutely horrible, was not worth the admission price at the theatre. It was geared towards children, and as adults, we found ourselves bored and wondering when it would be over!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Jay777Jan 19, 2016
This movie doesn't make sense.
It's not a scary movie but lots of dark scenes.
Its very boring I don't understand what time it's set in.
ITS REALLY WEIRD TO!
Very strange.
I don't recommend anyone should see this
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
WitchyWooWooOct 13, 2016
A disappointment of a movie. Squishing in 3 books into a short run time never bodes well. Looking forward to the new netflix series which can give the amount of detail and love this series deserves to have.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews