Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 17, 2004
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 239 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
150
Mixed:
50
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
eagleeyevikingOct 5, 2016
Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events completely misses the dark tone of its source materials although Jim Carrey is terrific as Count Olaf and the visuals are brilliant. 5.5/10
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Oct 23, 2011
"A Series of Unfortunate Events" is a decent kid-block buster with a average story line with a monotonous tone. But as always, its Jim Carrey (the veteran actor) the saves the screen.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
YellowKirbyNov 30, 2015
While certainly enjoyable, most of this movie is quite forgettable, and Jim Carrey was the only thing really carrying the movie (and of course, the few minutes we got of Meryl Streep).
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
JohnR.Dec 4, 2005
Jim Carey, like Robin Williams, is best when constrained by the director. Brad Silberling gives him his head and what could have been a super movie turns second-rate. A send-up of a caricature of a grotesque. Your initials may be JC but this Jim Carey, like Robin Williams, is best when constrained by the director. Brad Silberling gives him his head and what could have been a super movie turns second-rate. A send-up of a caricature of a grotesque. Your initials may be JC but this film is not all about you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
lizkMar 14, 2005
It was a nice moive because i read all the books so i understood it, but when i asked my dad if he liked it he said it had to many holes and it made him feel like he would not like the books! please do not see it if you have not read the It was a nice moive because i read all the books so i understood it, but when i asked my dad if he liked it he said it had to many holes and it made him feel like he would not like the books! please do not see it if you have not read the books and if you have prepare to be dissapointed!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PaxsterOct 17, 2010
It was a little better than Ok but it isn't the first kids film I think of when I'm feeling nostaligic. The children are quite weak and I'd prefer to read the books. The whole thing did the job but it wasn't anything to rant and rave about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
Cramming 3 books into 1 short film isnt a good idea, Especially when Lemony Snicket books are filled with countless details that the film left out. The cast was good and Jim Carrey is at his best in this film. I was a huge fan of the booksCramming 3 books into 1 short film isnt a good idea, Especially when Lemony Snicket books are filled with countless details that the film left out. The cast was good and Jim Carrey is at his best in this film. I was a huge fan of the books and I was excited for this film but it was just a major disapointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CRLAug 27, 2011
There really is no reason that this movie shouldn't be an 8, 9, or even a 10. The acting is great, and Jim Carey makes a perfect Count Olaf. The plot follows the first three books pretty well... while admittedly pulling an ending from oneThere really is no reason that this movie shouldn't be an 8, 9, or even a 10. The acting is great, and Jim Carey makes a perfect Count Olaf. The plot follows the first three books pretty well... while admittedly pulling an ending from one and sticking it on another to give the movie a real ending. The script is good. The cinematography is good. It's just... there's something that existed in the books that the movie failed to recreate. Maybe it's simply the fact that it's a visual experience instead of a mental one, and in that light everything 'unfortunate' happening to Violet, Klaus, and Sunny seems almost cruel when it's mean to be darkly humorous. The books were a comedy. The movie plays more like a drama, and that's it's weakness. It doesn't embrace the weirdness that Snicket embodies so well in his books, instead trying to play off of it for suspense, which ultimately ends in the near-waste of a talented cast and wonderful plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
spadenxJan 1, 2012
It was decent but the huge flaw of this film is that they tried to cram 3 books into one short film and they left out so much because of it as well. Jim Carrey was amazing in it and he was perfect for the part imo and he definently made itIt was decent but the huge flaw of this film is that they tried to cram 3 books into one short film and they left out so much because of it as well. Jim Carrey was amazing in it and he was perfect for the part imo and he definently made it worth watching for him alone. It was ok but not as good asit could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
A Series of Unfortunate Events is how it sounds.
With somewhat of a hodgepodge of the first three books in the series. A Series of Unfortunate Events fails to capture the eyes of its book readers but is successful in being entertaining with
A Series of Unfortunate Events is how it sounds.
With somewhat of a hodgepodge of the first three books in the series. A Series of Unfortunate Events fails to capture the eyes of its book readers but is successful in being entertaining with a great Jim Carey performance; despite its monotonous pacing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
kw36Mar 5, 2014
This is a movie for all ages. Jim Carey is amazing in this film and shows his comedic range as an actor. Only negative is the length of the movie. I realize that it can be no other way, but just feels stretched and after a while a little boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews