Lions Gate Films | Release Date: June 21, 2006
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 11 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
7
Mixed:
1
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MaryB.Jul 10, 2006
Amazing movie ..Don't miss it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilR.Jul 9, 2006
if you're a fan this is a must see!! superb performances and great leonard clips of his life. very, very well done. i had a big smile on my face throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EnnisD.Jul 21, 2006
Basic, simple unpretentious. Though many of the interspersed interviews were either extraneous or a little trite, the simplicity and directness of the performancess were almost entirely all very moving. I didn't like Nick Cave that Basic, simple unpretentious. Though many of the interspersed interviews were either extraneous or a little trite, the simplicity and directness of the performancess were almost entirely all very moving. I didn't like Nick Cave that much. And, watching Rufus Wainright struggling to see the teleprompter on one song, was distracting. But all in all, Rufus and the rest of the gang all did very well on everything else. Cohen's experiences at the zen monastery were very interesting. More on this rather than the more mundane of the interviews would have been interesting. Cohen's songs are incredible and the interpretations are genuinely stirring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AdamM.Nov 16, 2006
I consider myself a Leonard Cohen fan, but this film was tedious at best. I mean no disrespect to artists like Teddy Thompson, Martha Wainwright and Beth Orton, but surely they could have done better for a tribute concert to one of the I consider myself a Leonard Cohen fan, but this film was tedious at best. I mean no disrespect to artists like Teddy Thompson, Martha Wainwright and Beth Orton, but surely they could have done better for a tribute concert to one of the greatest songwriters of all-time. But the fact that this tribute concert is the centrepeice of the film is part of the problem; I think a more effective documentary would have focused on interviews with Cohen interspersed with his own definitive performances of his own songs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Dec 7, 2006
I am a Cohen fan, but this film embarrassing. I am not sure what the director was trying to do, but she failed miserably (what was the deal with the random waitress with the red sparkling dress??). Bono, the Edge and company get their greasy I am a Cohen fan, but this film embarrassing. I am not sure what the director was trying to do, but she failed miserably (what was the deal with the random waitress with the red sparkling dress??). Bono, the Edge and company get their greasy finger in this one too. Aside from a few good performances this film offers not but frustration to Cohen fans. Save your money and go listen to 'Songs of Love & Hate', or read 'Parasites of Heaven.' Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmaC.Jul 27, 2006
Big smile on face here too! - Tears too. The Leonard Cohen who comes across as a wry 71-year-old fully at peace with not taking himself seriously is MY man.... U2, Nick Cave, Rufus, Antony, Cocker and the others are passionate, humble and Big smile on face here too! - Tears too. The Leonard Cohen who comes across as a wry 71-year-old fully at peace with not taking himself seriously is MY man.... U2, Nick Cave, Rufus, Antony, Cocker and the others are passionate, humble and sincereand magnificent overall. The female voices and passion out of this world. whatever the sour grapes (& political??) critics say, this is an important documentary for those of us with a soul and a heart. It should rate much higher with the critics...but who believes them anyway! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WolfiefishSep 15, 2006
I'm not a major fan, but I do own 2 Cohen cd's and think that he is a great song writer. I had my reservations about seeing this film, thinking it might be a dull affair. So I decided to check out the critics, and more importantly, I'm not a major fan, but I do own 2 Cohen cd's and think that he is a great song writer. I had my reservations about seeing this film, thinking it might be a dull affair. So I decided to check out the critics, and more importantly, the user reviews. I became interested after such positive comments and decided to go and see it. Metacritic! You let me down! I cannot believe there were no real bad reviews! This film stinks. It should have been called Leonard Cohens works get butchered in the style of a pub singer. (Nick Cave). Only Jarvis Cocker held his own on stage, and everyone else looked and sounded second rate. Maybe it's just my taste in music, but after I got back home I had to put some Cohen on again just to remind me what it was that I liked about the guy in the first place. Ok, the interviews with Cohen were interesting, at times inaudiable, but the comments by the "So called musicians" (Bono and the Edge) made me want to throw up. I fell asleep twice through this movie, and it was in an open air cinema. Don't see the film. Instead buy a bottle of wine, invite friends over and have a Cohen night in with your cd collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful