Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Loren King
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    You don’t have to be Jewish to love borscht belt humor, or gay to love camp, or French to love farce. But when all three are thrown into a blender with a dollop of generic family dysfunction, as is the case in Let My People Go!, oy vey doesn’t begin to address the result.
  2. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Jan 17, 2013
    50
    The road to the inevitable slapsticky Seder is paved with more sweetness than bite, a good deal of frantic foolishness and progressively thinner laughs, all wrapped in a message of acceptance and inclusiveness.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jan 10, 2013
    20
    It would appear that for his first feature, Mikael Buch wanted to leave nothing to chance. So he threw in enough action for five movies, amped the comedy up to frenetic levels and encouraged his cast to play to the rafters.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 11, 2013
    25
    Among gay Jewish French postman movies, Let My People Go! may be a Hall of Fame entry, but alas, by any other standard this would-be sex comedy is a dismal failure.
  5. Reviewed by: Diego Costa
    Jan 9, 2013
    50
    Without a consistent stylistic playfulness to match the histrionic scenarios, the action often feels just plain silly.
  6. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Jan 10, 2013
    40
    Reuben is a whiny and uncoordinated prodigal son. His constant chafing at himself and the world is the film's biggest problem; by the midway point we're all wishing him back in Finland where he belongs.
  7. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 9, 2013
    60
    Ceaselessly upbeat and just short of zany, Let My People Go! will bring smiles of recognition to anyone who hasn't seen early Woody Allen in a while.
  8. Reviewed by: Alissa Simon
    Jan 10, 2013
    40
    Let My People Go! offers an unholy alliance of camp and farce that both celebrates and mocks gay and Jewish stereotypes.
  9. Reviewed by: Jon Frosch
    Jan 8, 2013
    40
    Mikael Buch's debut feature is silly and sweet, but also paper thin and mostly unimaginative: a series of cartoonish vignettes during which a generically eccentric Jewish clan confronts movie-family problems (adultery, divorce, health scares, tense sibling relationships).

There are no user reviews yet.