User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 345 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 345
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    One of the most refreshing vampire films you'll see this decade. The story is poetic yet disturbing and the leads are well cast. Watching it with good friends will only improve the experience.
  2. DaleW
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    Fantastic re-invention of the vampire tale. Leaves you debating and talking about it for days after. A few camp moments, but overall a great success.
  3. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    I can't say enough good things about this film, so I guess I'll just say one. The main reason this movie worked so well for me is quite simple: I have never (and likely will never) have a stronger emotional connection with the characters. Too many films rely on things like SFX, creative camera-work, bright colors and flashy visuals to draw audiences into the film's world. Here, there'sI can't say enough good things about this film, so I guess I'll just say one. The main reason this movie worked so well for me is quite simple: I have never (and likely will never) have a stronger emotional connection with the characters. Too many films rely on things like SFX, creative camera-work, bright colors and flashy visuals to draw audiences into the film's world. Here, there's almost none of that. All you have is the writing and the characters. And, shockingly, those two things alone amount to, literally, the best film than I have ever seen. No joke. Expand
  4. May 31, 2011
    10
    I'll not dare try to do this film justice with words. It is only one of two movies I will rate a 10. Spooky, tasteful, alarming, wonderful. Let the Right One In is all of those things. It has the soul that Hollywood seems to have lost in its attempt for bigger, better action and special effects. All the actors and actresses in this work of art (yes, it is literally that and much more)I'll not dare try to do this film justice with words. It is only one of two movies I will rate a 10. Spooky, tasteful, alarming, wonderful. Let the Right One In is all of those things. It has the soul that Hollywood seems to have lost in its attempt for bigger, better action and special effects. All the actors and actresses in this work of art (yes, it is literally that and much more) are superb, but the best? Lina Leandersson. The girl can project more emotion with her eyes than most can using speech and every other tool. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Hands down for the best film of 2008. I really liked this movie, and it is a big comeback to the vampire movies. Today we have "The Vampire Diaries", "True Blood" and "Twilight". But forget them, because "Let The Right One In" is a movie that shows that just because a vampire and a human can become friends and later on lovers, dosen´t mean that it must be a boring and stupid romantic movieHands down for the best film of 2008. I really liked this movie, and it is a big comeback to the vampire movies. Today we have "The Vampire Diaries", "True Blood" and "Twilight". But forget them, because "Let The Right One In" is a movie that shows that just because a vampire and a human can become friends and later on lovers, dosen´t mean that it must be a boring and stupid romantic movie (like Twilight). "Let The Right One In" does feature a little romance, but its also a disturbing and a scary movie. Expand
  6. BobN
    May 7, 2009
    9
    It is best to know something about a reviewer in order to judge the relevance of their view. I am not a horror fan. Well, not American horror at least. The decent foriegn films that make their way into the states typically are subtle and psychological as opposed to the violence porn we Americans have come to expect. This is a prime example. Subtle, minimal, brooding, and great. Please, It is best to know something about a reviewer in order to judge the relevance of their view. I am not a horror fan. Well, not American horror at least. The decent foriegn films that make their way into the states typically are subtle and psychological as opposed to the violence porn we Americans have come to expect. This is a prime example. Subtle, minimal, brooding, and great. Please, spare the Bergman comparisons (who I hold to be overrated, but still a great director.) This film is not "deep." It is good. Is it scary? Yes and no. Is it different? Yes. Is it worth seeing? Absolutely. I despise vampire films due to their stupidity and overt morbid sexuality. This is a film about loneliness and childhood. Simple as that. Simplicity is the KEY to making a good film i.e. Akira Kurosawa and Kiyoshi Kurosawa. Great scenes, good acting, great film score, respect for the intelligence of the viewer = Great movie. And yes, the pool scene at the end of the film is one of the best I have seen in years. Expand
  7. TamaraC
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    A fantastically new take on an old idea. The setting is as familiar, but strange, as are the characters and concept. Very interesting to see how the writer spun in the traditional "rules" of vampire, but managed to create a very unique story. A must-see.
  8. SamB
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    I first heard about this story when I read about a little budget film in Empire magazine, I'm a Vamp fan and love the genre. Its dark and moody, but the friendship and possibly love that forms between Oskar and Eli just shines and makes this a magical movie. Violent in some scenes although not as much as the novel (A must read btw) but it works amazingly well. MY best film of the I first heard about this story when I read about a little budget film in Empire magazine, I'm a Vamp fan and love the genre. Its dark and moody, but the friendship and possibly love that forms between Oskar and Eli just shines and makes this a magical movie. Violent in some scenes although not as much as the novel (A must read btw) but it works amazingly well. MY best film of the year thus far and now one of my all time top 10. Expand
  9. JeffF.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Saw this movie on Friday and must say it is the most unique, and brilliant film I have seen in a long time. I love the quote from the critic that says that you won't see this kind of romance in a Disney movie. This film is probably the antithesis of the Disney film yet just as powerful in its imagery and ideas while being less heavyhanded and melodramatic. I haven't been able to Saw this movie on Friday and must say it is the most unique, and brilliant film I have seen in a long time. I love the quote from the critic that says that you won't see this kind of romance in a Disney movie. This film is probably the antithesis of the Disney film yet just as powerful in its imagery and ideas while being less heavyhanded and melodramatic. I haven't been able to quit thinking about how great it was for 3 days now. Expand
  10. KennyW.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Best movie I've seen in ages. Direction, acting, pacing, cinematography - genius. The use of effects was restrained and seamless and only used when it suited the story. This movie is now in my All-Time Top 5.
  11. MatthewF
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    I love that this movie does not explore every element of the plot, details, and character relationships. It allows the film to serve as a window to a familiar but imaginary world and lets the viewer use their own imagination to fill in all sorts of things, be it the nature of Eli's relationship w the man she lives with, Oskars father and his friend, the future of Oskar and Eli, etc. I love that this movie does not explore every element of the plot, details, and character relationships. It allows the film to serve as a window to a familiar but imaginary world and lets the viewer use their own imagination to fill in all sorts of things, be it the nature of Eli's relationship w the man she lives with, Oskars father and his friend, the future of Oskar and Eli, etc. These loose ends allow me to stay in the story, rather than it being just a cut and dry 2 hr experience. Expand
  12. TerryA.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Actual score would be 9.6. should have received award nominations. This a transcedent film.
  13. HollyC.
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    Wow. this film was almost perfect. I went in expecting a slight horror/thriller--and instead got a rather touching romance and allegory on the horror of childhood. What a brilliant surprise. As others have pointed out, the level of craft involved here is stellar in just about every aspect: direction, acting, cinematography, score, screenplay etc. It is in Swedish, but there's not a Wow. this film was almost perfect. I went in expecting a slight horror/thriller--and instead got a rather touching romance and allegory on the horror of childhood. What a brilliant surprise. As others have pointed out, the level of craft involved here is stellar in just about every aspect: direction, acting, cinematography, score, screenplay etc. It is in Swedish, but there's not a lot of dialog to begin with. I was a bit shocked to find there might be an american remake in the works as it seems unnesessary given how great this one is (& likely to turn out worse). If you can't find this in theaters, rent it as soon as you can. Just a great little film. Expand
  14. RobC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Transcends genre barriers and a hauntingly beautiful film about sacrifice, love, trust, and companionship.
  15. KM
    Mar 22, 2009
    10
    Starts off kind of slow, but eventually goes somewhere. Horror fan or not, watch it.
  16. DarrellP
    Mar 24, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece. Tremendous acting, great score and some stunning shots, the scene where she jumps out the window or even the scene where the kid is being drowned and the body parts etc all fall in, no sound... the film is just a cinematic masterpiece. No REMAKE is needed! I will not see it, and nobody else should either, they should see this film only. Tomas Alfredson directed this film to A masterpiece. Tremendous acting, great score and some stunning shots, the scene where she jumps out the window or even the scene where the kid is being drowned and the body parts etc all fall in, no sound... the film is just a cinematic masterpiece. No REMAKE is needed! I will not see it, and nobody else should either, they should see this film only. Tomas Alfredson directed this film to such a high point that i can't even think for a second that somebody can even touch it. Expand
  17. ClaraL.
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    This is a really thought-provoking film! The cast of actors were good and i loved it.
  18. PaulM
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    Stunning slow burning film. Very reminiscint of Lost in Translation with er vampires. Wonderfully acted, great cinematography... loved every bit of it.
  19. DoctorMontalban
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    This movie is brilliant. It's telling that you have to go to foreign cinema to see something made with quality and depth, rather than the hacked McDonald's-esque crap that Hollywood churns out for the teeny boppers (looking right at you Twilight). Definitely follow other reviewers advice and watch it in Swedish with English subs. This movie is stirring on a number of levels, This movie is brilliant. It's telling that you have to go to foreign cinema to see something made with quality and depth, rather than the hacked McDonald's-esque crap that Hollywood churns out for the teeny boppers (looking right at you Twilight). Definitely follow other reviewers advice and watch it in Swedish with English subs. This movie is stirring on a number of levels, I'll leave it at that. To the guy saying it lacked depth and intensity, I'll just say that it was there and then some, but it was clearly lost on you. Just one piece, that I'll keep spoiler-free, is the juxtaposition of Oskar and Eli's companion/guardian/EX?!?!....i.e. a glimpse of Oskar's future state.....anyhow, Twilight's there for those that prefer to be unchallenged. Anyhow, I'm glad it's getting so much critical respect, b/c it's well deserved. Expand
  20. JuanJ
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Pacing, script, cinematography... everything that could possibly go right in a production did in this one. My favourite movie of all time.
  21. adamh
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    I personally loved the film the scors for the film are amazing osker in love and the farther are me personal favs i found the film gripping and i have seen it 5 times in 4 days day 1 i seen it on comp then bought the dvd getting the book cant weight to read it gr8 film 10/10 one of the best vampire movies in a ages.
  22. RicoL
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    Disappointed by Twilight? Watch this and find out how good a vampire movie can be. (Although its so much more than just a vampire movie.)
  23. BruceN.
    Dec 25, 2008
    9
    They always talk as if it's happened in reviews but here art truly collides with horror and what results is another dimension in the genre - maybe a little of what Carrie was after - but here horror is let loose in the sensitivity of youth and makes for an amazing movie as it play across the face of Oscar. Brings to mind the Oscar in the Tin Drum (very similar).
  24. JangraB.
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    Autentic and chilling, the atmosphere and attention to detail is impressive.
  25. JonR.
    Dec 7, 2008
    10
    Masterful. The movie had no in-your-face scenes, no jump-out-of your-seat scares, and no scenes that weren't exquisitely composed and beautifully timed. It was good to see a movie that deserved its critical adulation. I was beginning to worry about them.
  26. AndrewK.
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    Owen Gleiberman never actually saw this movie. At least not sober.
  27. DavidG
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    Poignant in the it portrays the moral dilemma of a 12-year old around good and evil, does anyone deserve death as punishment, revenge and who can protect you when adults cannot empathize or understand you? Truly erie without being gorey and sinister while simultaneously touching.
  28. JonJ
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    It's very rare indeed that the supernatural is woven into the everyday so believably.The most enjoyable film I've had the absolute pleasure of seeing for ages.
  29. RestyM.
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    I saw this film and I say that this is one of the best films of 2008, and the best thing is this film is not from the US. Awesome movie!!!
  30. ThomasC
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    Perfect! If you only have $10 to watch a movie. This is the ticket! The one film You must see this year.
  31. DavidP.
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    Recommend this to your friends - they will thank you.
  32. Andrew
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    I was watching in it the middle of the night, while my roommate was sleeping. A few scenes had already brought me to the edge of tears and then something so shocking happened that I just inhaled, loudly. I didn't realize what had happened, but it just goes to show that it's a movie that grabs you emotionally and doesn't let go.
  33. StuV.
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Beautiful movie. Not a perfect 10, but for all pretense and purposes I give it one.
  34. bradr
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    Best. Movie. Ever. Created. On. The. Face. Of. The. Earth.
  35. MatiasC
    Apr 17, 2009
    10
    This film represent what a good terror film should be: blood, scary people, great atmosphere and an excelent story! I can't describe how impress I am about this 90 min thiller makes me feel. Impressive ending!! Just watch it.
  36. PaulD
    Apr 2, 2009
    10
    This is the best movie of 2008 in my opinion. A dark and haunting fairy tale that has an ending for the ages. One of the absolute best endings I have ever seen in a movie. You will be thinking about it for days if not weeks. The use of music is incredible in this movie and was the best use of music last year. The young actors are perfect in their roles. The film will no doubt be butchered This is the best movie of 2008 in my opinion. A dark and haunting fairy tale that has an ending for the ages. One of the absolute best endings I have ever seen in a movie. You will be thinking about it for days if not weeks. The use of music is incredible in this movie and was the best use of music last year. The young actors are perfect in their roles. The film will no doubt be butchered by it's Americanized remake, but this nearly flawless swedish version deserves to be seen by everyone that considers themselves a movie person. Expand
  37. AnneR
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    One of the best horror films ever made. This could just as easily be a story of an innocent boy or girl who is abused or ignored by their parents and hence become enslaved by the evil of the world under the guise of friendship. I see no love story here. it seems obvious to me that the little vampire, who needs a replacement for her now incompetent familiar , sets her designs on the boy One of the best horror films ever made. This could just as easily be a story of an innocent boy or girl who is abused or ignored by their parents and hence become enslaved by the evil of the world under the guise of friendship. I see no love story here. it seems obvious to me that the little vampire, who needs a replacement for her now incompetent familiar , sets her designs on the boy from the beginning. The story revolves upon itself. As the familiar was so will the boy become and vice versa. Superb film. Chilling and haunting. Expand
  38. CS
    May 10, 2009
    10
    It took a while to get goin but when it did it was a real suprise. I truley loved this movie. Wasn't sure what it was about when I first started watching it but it turned out to be an original yet familiar take on a vampire love story between two young children. Brilliantly dark and moving right to the end, watch and enjoy
  39. Martin
    May 6, 2009
    10
    This is such a beautiful film. It's dark and sad but at the same time it's warm in a special kind of way and there were some moments that made me smile a bit.
  40. MikeN
    May 7, 2009
    9
    This is a good film IF YOU WATCH IT IN ITS ORIGINAL LANGUAGE WITH SUBTITLES. Do not, I repeat, do not watch this with the horribe english dub. Why would you watch that anyways? Haven't you learned by now that all dubs ruin films? Nothing philosophical here, just a simple good film. Watch it on DVD and switch the audio to swedish with eng subtitles and enjoy something different.
  41. Dale
    Jun 21, 2009
    10
    Finally watched this last night, and its quickly went into my list of favorite films. A classic.
  42. Burger
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Spellbinding and the swimming pool scene is pure genius.
  43. MikeMike
    Nov 30, 2008
    9
    !! Sort of a spoiler warning !! This movie would get a 10 from me were it not for the overdone ending. That aside this is a wonderful movie. Ah if Hollywood would pay this much attention to the CRAFT of moviemaking. Go to this movie and drink in the wonderful camerawork, setting, STORY and attention to detail. What a magical mixture of horror and coming-of-age. Where do they find these !! Sort of a spoiler warning !! This movie would get a 10 from me were it not for the overdone ending. That aside this is a wonderful movie. Ah if Hollywood would pay this much attention to the CRAFT of moviemaking. Go to this movie and drink in the wonderful camerawork, setting, STORY and attention to detail. What a magical mixture of horror and coming-of-age. Where do they find these great young actors? Hollywood eat your bloody hearts out. Expand
  44. TerenceS
    Dec 11, 2008
    9
    I can't quite give it a perfect 10, because it is not the perfect movie. However, the movie is a heck of a lot more promising than Twilight. The movie tells like a vampire movie, but the whole time keeps you in ambiguity. You can't decide if she is, or is not a vampire till the end. All the while, the movie explorers early adolescence and sexuality to a T. It is a great film and I can't quite give it a perfect 10, because it is not the perfect movie. However, the movie is a heck of a lot more promising than Twilight. The movie tells like a vampire movie, but the whole time keeps you in ambiguity. You can't decide if she is, or is not a vampire till the end. All the while, the movie explorers early adolescence and sexuality to a T. It is a great film and is on my top 10 for 2008. Expand
  45. GeorgeM
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    This is/is not a horror movie. This is/is not a coming of age story. This is/is not a story about outsiders. This IS one of the most intriguing, thought provoking films you will see this year. You will be talking about it for days afterward. First class film-making.
  46. NateH.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Best movie of 2008, it is gruesome, scary, profoundly movie, and has an amazing charm. I couldn't find a single flaw.
  47. AlbertP.
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    I walked out of the movie, looked at my buddy Bobby, and said "that may have been the best movie I've ever seen". First off, I didn't know it was a vampire flick. I just thought it was a movie about bullies & subsequent revenge. But man, it was so much more. A coming of age, romance, revenge, vampire flick may come close to describing it. The pace of the movie, the direction, I walked out of the movie, looked at my buddy Bobby, and said "that may have been the best movie I've ever seen". First off, I didn't know it was a vampire flick. I just thought it was a movie about bullies & subsequent revenge. But man, it was so much more. A coming of age, romance, revenge, vampire flick may come close to describing it. The pace of the movie, the direction, the cinematography, the acting, the set pieces - all top-notch. To be a classic a movie must have an amazing ending. Think Butch Cassidy, The Graduate, Planet of the Apes, The Sixth Sense. On that standard alone, this movie is an instant classic. Nothing else this year will come close. Expand
  48. DavidV
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    This movie is the alternative to Twilight that actually pays off! The movie is brilliantly written and is indescribable in various instances. I think this movie will introduce many people to the concept of love from another point of view. In our society we have too many love stories about upholding the human spirit and beating all the odds; superhero sort of love. This movie will This movie is the alternative to Twilight that actually pays off! The movie is brilliantly written and is indescribable in various instances. I think this movie will introduce many people to the concept of love from another point of view. In our society we have too many love stories about upholding the human spirit and beating all the odds; superhero sort of love. This movie will introduce people to the world of tragic love. It teaches us how being broken doesn't mean we are incomplete. That love can complete one another and can overcome true psychological barriers. A must see. Collapse
  49. RM
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    One of my favourite films in recent memory. The relationship between the two lead characters moved even my stone heart, and had me thinking for sometime after it finished - trying to figure out Eli's exact attitude or intentions toward Oscar but then taking some comfort in the fact that, even if the intentions were darker than I would ideally like them to be, they both need and fit One of my favourite films in recent memory. The relationship between the two lead characters moved even my stone heart, and had me thinking for sometime after it finished - trying to figure out Eli's exact attitude or intentions toward Oscar but then taking some comfort in the fact that, even if the intentions were darker than I would ideally like them to be, they both need and fit with each other. Don't mean to lose anyone there. This is quite a bizarre film but one that I would highly recommend, as somebody once recommended to me. The film was stunningly bleak to look at and its slow pace went down well with me. The two twelve year-old actors, playing twelve year-old characters, were incredible and it was crucial that this was the case because child actors can be pretty banal sometimes. I hear Hollywood are doing a remake but plan to call it "Let me in" because that is more catchy. Sounds like a tragedy already. Expand
  50. JF
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    Perfect. The young actors are brilliant, the story is intriguing, and there's a constant stream of anxiety and paranoia. The sounds that curdle when Eli gets hungry; the pale and muted color pallet; it all combines to make a twisted but absolutely beautiful film. It is more about these two young kids and their inevitable relationship. They relate on the fact that they are lonely in Perfect. The young actors are brilliant, the story is intriguing, and there's a constant stream of anxiety and paranoia. The sounds that curdle when Eli gets hungry; the pale and muted color pallet; it all combines to make a twisted but absolutely beautiful film. It is more about these two young kids and their inevitable relationship. They relate on the fact that they are lonely in this world. The vampire myths are played to full, dramatic effect here, yet some how render more realistic than they would in say, Buffy. Also, the side-plots about his parents are interesting and sad. His mom hardly ever talks to him unless he's being yelled at, and his father gets his hopes up on togetherness but just throws it all away for a few shots. This movie is amazing, with gore that is not really unnecessarily gory, and violence that only helps seam together the film. A+. Expand
  51. RickL.
    Feb 13, 2009
    10
    Amazing movie. I am shocked that it wasn't nominated for any Academy Awards. It should have been nominated in at least three catagories... I will at least give it the award for "Best Movie I've Seen In A Very Long Time".
  52. EricZ
    Mar 19, 2009
    10
    This is one of the most affecting and fascinating movies I have ever seen. Hopefully it's cult will continue to grow.
  53. MistaJ
    Mar 23, 2009
    10
    My top pick of 2008, regardless of genre. Elegant, maddening and moving: the most frightening characters were all too human.
  54. MikaelH
    May 25, 2009
    10
    Awesome movie ! ! !
  55. Dcraft
    Jun 21, 2009
    10
    A vampire film with as much heart as gore. No patent leather, slick-fashion-wear, or uber-cool characters turn this into a puberty-struck superhero fantasy. The casting and acting is superb. There is a real sense of intimacy and empathy for the young characters. Occasional, but awesome special effects add little shocks in this minimalist treatment. The director's use of mise-in-scene A vampire film with as much heart as gore. No patent leather, slick-fashion-wear, or uber-cool characters turn this into a puberty-struck superhero fantasy. The casting and acting is superb. There is a real sense of intimacy and empathy for the young characters. Occasional, but awesome special effects add little shocks in this minimalist treatment. The director's use of mise-in-scene is all the more artistic when coupled with the stark scenery. This is the best vampire film I've seen. Due to language patterns, hearing the original Swedish with English subtitles sounds more emotive than the dubbing. Expand
  56. GeorgeG
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    Gems like these are a dime a dozen. A title worthy of universal acclaim. Who would have thought that two 12 year old lovers could possess the intensity to surpass adult dramas.
  57. CourtneyB
    Aug 11, 2009
    10
    I can't explain how it did it, but this film completely drew me into the quiet atmosphere and it really moved me emotionally. I was thinking about it for days afterward. So beautiful.
  58. MicaM
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    It's one of the most beautiful movies I've ever seen. And touching. I wasn't expecting it when I watched but I was really surprised and pleased with this movie and specially with the actors. they were brilliant.
  59. JohnM.
    Dec 11, 2008
    10
    One of the best love stories, one of the best vampire movies, and it is beautifully crafted.
  60. ShaunM.
    Dec 12, 2008
    9
    Great movie... well-done in its conception, but of course, misses on using a lot of potential. Depending on how good your imagination is this will either affect your opinion a lot or not at all. Still highly recommended viewing.
  61. ThomasS.
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    I'm speechless........so beautiful, sad and touching. Especially Lina Leandersson's performance is sensational.
  62. JackP
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Simply put, one of the most engaging movie experiences of the decade, even if it moves at a pace that some may describe as glacial, and leaves many questions unanswered. Which is part of its power. The stunning contrast of the wintry stillness and the sudden bursts of red-blooded violence brings to mind the sometimes surreal world of pre-adolescence, where the extraordinary coexists with Simply put, one of the most engaging movie experiences of the decade, even if it moves at a pace that some may describe as glacial, and leaves many questions unanswered. Which is part of its power. The stunning contrast of the wintry stillness and the sudden bursts of red-blooded violence brings to mind the sometimes surreal world of pre-adolescence, where the extraordinary coexists with the dullness of the world of the adults. An instant classic if there ever was one, it dwarfs all recent efforts in the genre, and once its subtle but powerful fangs sink in your mind you may find yourself haunted for a very long time. Expand
  63. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Captures the quiet eeriness and beauty of the Swedish landscape just as well as it confidently maps the contours of human sociality. The combination of the two geographies sears itself more deeply into memory than the pomp and circumstance of more ambitious (but less effective) films. Redeems chocolate as a symbol for love.
  64. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    A perfect movie. Went in expecting a decent vampire flick. Was totally blown away. It wasn't just a great vampire movie, it was a great movie in general. I highly recommend this to any cinema lovers out there.
  65. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    Overall, this was truly a story for the intellect, after watching I sat for days unable to watch another movie, or even think about anything else really. The movie was a haunting, original take on vampires, which is refreshing in light of the new "Teen Vampire" fad. It was a beautiful movie about companionship and the true nature of evil. Could not have been a better cast selected forOverall, this was truly a story for the intellect, after watching I sat for days unable to watch another movie, or even think about anything else really. The movie was a haunting, original take on vampires, which is refreshing in light of the new "Teen Vampire" fad. It was a beautiful movie about companionship and the true nature of evil. Could not have been a better cast selected for these children. Everyone should see this movie, because it's difficult to describe what it makes you feel. Definitely a unique experience. Expand
  66. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    As a fan of the book this has to be the best adaptation of a horror novel since The Exorcist. The child actors act like real kids instead of 20 somethings pretending to be teenagers. It has marvelous cinematography and sticks closer to the vampire mythology and this puts Stephanie Meyer's Twilight to shame since both the book and film were released after Let The Right One In. It provesAs a fan of the book this has to be the best adaptation of a horror novel since The Exorcist. The child actors act like real kids instead of 20 somethings pretending to be teenagers. It has marvelous cinematography and sticks closer to the vampire mythology and this puts Stephanie Meyer's Twilight to shame since both the book and film were released after Let The Right One In. It proves that international features are fresh. Expand
  67. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    It achieves not only the implementation of vampires without roaming superfluously -- unlike the frivolous notion of aggregating werewolves, vampires, and a teenage girl with the oh so excruciating dilemma of a fetish pertaining to either necrophilia or bestiality -- but also artistically and masterfully elicits the subjects of loneliness, romance, and horror. From the vista that is theIt achieves not only the implementation of vampires without roaming superfluously -- unlike the frivolous notion of aggregating werewolves, vampires, and a teenage girl with the oh so excruciating dilemma of a fetish pertaining to either necrophilia or bestiality -- but also artistically and masterfully elicits the subjects of loneliness, romance, and horror. From the vista that is the cinematography ubiquitous in black nights and white snow, to the authentic performances displayed therein, Let The Right One In, again, is a masterful film. Expand
  68. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    The first time I saw this film I was all alone in an art cinema in Copenhagen. And I was completely baffled. The main characters took me in in a way that I hadn't thought possible whilst putting the word horror and vampire flick together in my head. The settings for the film are so bleak in that 70'ies building complex, in the dead of winter and so completely devout of colors that it can'tThe first time I saw this film I was all alone in an art cinema in Copenhagen. And I was completely baffled. The main characters took me in in a way that I hadn't thought possible whilst putting the word horror and vampire flick together in my head. The settings for the film are so bleak in that 70'ies building complex, in the dead of winter and so completely devout of colors that it can't but make an impression. The feeling of impending doom is everywhere from the start - first in Oskar being followed and bullied, then in a young vampire's struggle for survival and even in her helper's struggle to help her. And this feeling of doom that stuck with me throughout the film stayed with me afterwords. I keep reading that the Swedish director knows exactly what childhood is all about and that his way of portraying this is without comparison - I'm happy to say that my childhood was nothing like what is portrayed in this film and keeping the feeling this film installed in me in mind, I'm very grateful for this. I quite simply love this film. Expand
  69. Feb 1, 2011
    9
    This is perhaps the best movie I've seen in the past two years.. It is sober and powerful, beautifully acted and directed, everything is just right. Absolutely not to be missed.
  70. Apr 9, 2014
    9
    A crisp, tasteful adaptation of a vastly layered story. Simply told and smoothly acted, Let The Right One In is the perfect companion piece to the original book.
  71. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    Creepy, ethereal and peculiarly moving tale of pre-adolescent revenge, a blood-sucking superannuated 12 year old (brilliantly played by a real 12 year old), extreme cold (debuting as an additional character here) and first love. Free of the the burden of superstylisation and the glossy pretensions which have spoiled vampire films since time began, this is, refreshingly, a story as muchCreepy, ethereal and peculiarly moving tale of pre-adolescent revenge, a blood-sucking superannuated 12 year old (brilliantly played by a real 12 year old), extreme cold (debuting as an additional character here) and first love. Free of the the burden of superstylisation and the glossy pretensions which have spoiled vampire films since time began, this is, refreshingly, a story as much about love and loneliness as it is about vampires. Expand
  72. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the American version ("Let Me In"), and hearing great things about the original Swedish version. I thought I'd give it a go considering I'd been studying the SwedishI can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the American version ("Let Me In"), and hearing great things about the original Swedish version. I thought I'd give it a go considering I'd been studying the Swedish language anyway. So I took up the task of watching the film without English subtitles. I do NOT regret it. Never in any film I had witnessed prior to viewing "Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' had I seen two polar opposites such as death and love combined in such a magnificent way that it almost brought me to tears. I've watched the film three times since my original viewing and it only gets better each time. The performance(s) of Kåre Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson were simply stunning. All in all, ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' takes the classic vampire story and turns it into a beautifully woven modern tale of love, death, and adolescent challenges faced by people everyday. I would say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' is one of (if not the) greatest film(s) I have seen in the past twenty years. I wholeheartedly recommend it to everyone, and I truly say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' (Or ''Let the Right One In,'' as Americans have come to know it as) is a film you need to see before you die. Expand
  73. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    I have a question for you all. What other vampire movie has a better ending than this one? Think long and hard, because I haven't been able to think of any other since I watched this beautifully cold Swedish film! It captures the rawness the book had, and layers a thick blue and white coating over it while it gets sprinkled with a little blood. Its characters are painfully realistic, andI have a question for you all. What other vampire movie has a better ending than this one? Think long and hard, because I haven't been able to think of any other since I watched this beautifully cold Swedish film! It captures the rawness the book had, and layers a thick blue and white coating over it while it gets sprinkled with a little blood. Its characters are painfully realistic, and you can't help but cheer for the vampire girl, even though she's a "monster" inside, as well as the ever bullied Oskar, whom you cheer for when he's bullied and hope the bastards get what's coming. And the payoff, is well over any expectation. Expand
  74. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    http://mikesharkey.blogspot.com/2009/04/lat-den-ratte-komma-in-let-right-one-in.html
    Hoyte van Hoytema
  75. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    this movie is brilliant. it is unique, and good at it, and those factors totally sold it to me. the best thing about it is the dynamic between the 2 main characters. the movie is also deeply disturbing like no movie i have seen in a long time, truly befitting of the title of horror. the fact alone that this was all happening to children adds an extra layer of the deep disturbance but it isthis movie is brilliant. it is unique, and good at it, and those factors totally sold it to me. the best thing about it is the dynamic between the 2 main characters. the movie is also deeply disturbing like no movie i have seen in a long time, truly befitting of the title of horror. the fact alone that this was all happening to children adds an extra layer of the deep disturbance but it is not only a horror movie! the movie works great in general, and the drama was so real. lovers of drama will love this movie the most. Expand
  76. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    Calling Let The Right One In a vampire movie is insulting really because not only is it so much more than that, it also implies that Eli (Lina Leandersson) is a vampire, something the film tries very hard to avoid saying. At its heart, Let The Right One In is a dark, twisted story of a budding relationship between lonely, bullied Oskar (Kare Hedebrant) and blood feeding 12 year old Eli.Calling Let The Right One In a vampire movie is insulting really because not only is it so much more than that, it also implies that Eli (Lina Leandersson) is a vampire, something the film tries very hard to avoid saying. At its heart, Let The Right One In is a dark, twisted story of a budding relationship between lonely, bullied Oskar (Kare Hedebrant) and blood feeding 12 year old Eli. While not as ground-breaking as people suggest, Let the Right One In is no less emotionally fulfilling. The film is mainly shown by Oskarâ Expand
  77. May 9, 2013
    10
    What can I say except that I was happy to see him. One of the most beautiful films I've ever seen. Made in a simple way, it came out a masterpiece (and this shows that we should not spend many millions to make a great movie). No exaggeration with special effects or other gestures that make the characters say much more than words (the best scenes are the scene of the glass and that of theWhat can I say except that I was happy to see him. One of the most beautiful films I've ever seen. Made in a simple way, it came out a masterpiece (and this shows that we should not spend many millions to make a great movie). No exaggeration with special effects or other gestures that make the characters say much more than words (the best scenes are the scene of the glass and that of the pool) and an innocent love and tender that is able to kneel horror. This movie should have been paid a lot and we should not consider it as twilight because this film is much, much better than the "story" of love. This movie makes you feel wonderful emotions and recommend it to everyone, absolutely everyone to watch it because it's worth it. Expand
  78. Zal
    Jan 11, 2012
    10
    I adored this movie. It's not quite as dark as the book, but it's dark enough. The acting is pretty good. The two leads are very likable and relatable and their romance feels legitimate. This is something I rarely say about movies but I was really able to connect with both these characters. Is it the most original story ever told? No. But it takes a premise that has been beaten to deathI adored this movie. It's not quite as dark as the book, but it's dark enough. The acting is pretty good. The two leads are very likable and relatable and their romance feels legitimate. This is something I rarely say about movies but I was really able to connect with both these characters. Is it the most original story ever told? No. But it takes a premise that has been beaten to death and turns it into something simple yet effective. Expand
  79. Jan 25, 2015
    10
    Hands down one of my favorite films since 2000. It's slow bubbly revelation gets creepier and creepier with each moment and just allows my imagination (more than lots of gory schlock) to feed on itself until the end and by then I've terrified myself out of my wits. Loved everything about it.
  80. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    My favorite movie of all time. I saw it on my birthday the year it came out and it has stuck with me since. Never have I been so connected to characters.
  81. Jul 24, 2014
    10
    When i imagine vampires, this is exactly the type I picture. Tormented, lonely, in conflict with the nature of its own existence. The subtle use of special effects brings to mind the phrase; when you do something right, people wont be sure you did anything at all. Not to mention a beautiful depiction of young love between two lost souls so well done it makes my heart ache. By far myWhen i imagine vampires, this is exactly the type I picture. Tormented, lonely, in conflict with the nature of its own existence. The subtle use of special effects brings to mind the phrase; when you do something right, people wont be sure you did anything at all. Not to mention a beautiful depiction of young love between two lost souls so well done it makes my heart ache. By far my favorite vampire flick to date. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Elena Oumano
    80
    A coolly balanced and utterly compelling examination of alienation and love.
  2. If random arty blood thrills are your cup of fear, perhaps you'll enjoy Let the Right One In, a Swedish head-scratcher that has a few creepy images but very little holding them together.
  3. Reviewed by: Alissa Simon
    70
    Calling to mind the work of Anne Rice and Stephen King, atmospheric adaptation of Swedish author John Ajvide Lindqvist's bestseller is well directed by his countryman Tomas Alfredson ("Four Shades of Brown") and should click with cult and arthouse auds.