Magnet Releasing | Release Date: October 24, 2008
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 499 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
454
Mixed:
16
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AnthonymeduriOct 9, 2010
One of the most refreshing vampire films you'll see this decade. The story is poetic yet disturbing and the leads are well cast. Watching it with good friends will only improve the experience.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
DaleWMar 20, 2009
Fantastic re-invention of the vampire tale. Leaves you debating and talking about it for days after. A few camp moments, but overall a great success.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SeanF.Jan 17, 2010
Definitely the right one to let in. I
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SugargliderApr 22, 2011
I can't say enough good things about this film, so I guess I'll just say one. The main reason this movie worked so well for me is quite simple: I have never (and likely will never) have a stronger emotional connection with the characters. TooI can't say enough good things about this film, so I guess I'll just say one. The main reason this movie worked so well for me is quite simple: I have never (and likely will never) have a stronger emotional connection with the characters. Too many films rely on things like SFX, creative camera-work, bright colors and flashy visuals to draw audiences into the film's world. Here, there's almost none of that. All you have is the writing and the characters. And, shockingly, those two things alone amount to, literally, the best film than I have ever seen. No joke. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
google_calasadeMay 31, 2011
I'll not dare try to do this film justice with words. It is only one of two movies I will rate a 10. Spooky, tasteful, alarming, wonderful. Let the Right One In is all of those things. It has the soul that Hollywood seems to have lost inI'll not dare try to do this film justice with words. It is only one of two movies I will rate a 10. Spooky, tasteful, alarming, wonderful. Let the Right One In is all of those things. It has the soul that Hollywood seems to have lost in its attempt for bigger, better action and special effects. All the actors and actresses in this work of art (yes, it is literally that and much more) are superb, but the best? Lina Leandersson. The girl can project more emotion with her eyes than most can using speech and every other tool. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThefilmnerdJul 2, 2013
Hands down for the best film of 2008. I really liked this movie, and it is a big comeback to the vampire movies. Today we have "The Vampire Diaries", "True Blood" and "Twilight". But forget them, because "Let The Right One In" is a movie thatHands down for the best film of 2008. I really liked this movie, and it is a big comeback to the vampire movies. Today we have "The Vampire Diaries", "True Blood" and "Twilight". But forget them, because "Let The Right One In" is a movie that shows that just because a vampire and a human can become friends and later on lovers, dosenĀ“t mean that it must be a boring and stupid romantic movie (like Twilight). "Let The Right One In" does feature a little romance, but its also a disturbing and a scary movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GeorgeMOct 22, 2008
This is/is not a horror movie. This is/is not a coming of age story. This is/is not a story about outsiders. This IS one of the most intriguing, thought provoking films you will see this year. You will be talking about it for days afterward. This is/is not a horror movie. This is/is not a coming of age story. This is/is not a story about outsiders. This IS one of the most intriguing, thought provoking films you will see this year. You will be talking about it for days afterward. First class film-making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffF.Oct 26, 2008
Saw this movie on Friday and must say it is the most unique, and brilliant film I have seen in a long time. I love the quote from the critic that says that you won't see this kind of romance in a Disney movie. This film is probably the Saw this movie on Friday and must say it is the most unique, and brilliant film I have seen in a long time. I love the quote from the critic that says that you won't see this kind of romance in a Disney movie. This film is probably the antithesis of the Disney film yet just as powerful in its imagery and ideas while being less heavyhanded and melodramatic. I haven't been able to quit thinking about how great it was for 3 days now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyW.Oct 29, 2008
Best movie I've seen in ages. Direction, acting, pacing, cinematography - genius. The use of effects was restrained and seamless and only used when it suited the story. This movie is now in my All-Time Top 5.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeMikeNov 30, 2008
!! Sort of a spoiler warning !! This movie would get a 10 from me were it not for the overdone ending. That aside this is a wonderful movie. Ah if Hollywood would pay this much attention to the CRAFT of moviemaking. Go to this movie and !! Sort of a spoiler warning !! This movie would get a 10 from me were it not for the overdone ending. That aside this is a wonderful movie. Ah if Hollywood would pay this much attention to the CRAFT of moviemaking. Go to this movie and drink in the wonderful camerawork, setting, STORY and attention to detail. What a magical mixture of horror and coming-of-age. Where do they find these great young actors? Hollywood eat your bloody hearts out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdrianaC.Nov 30, 2008
I completely agree with reviewer Ken G. I had read so many incredible reviews for this film and the trailer had me wanting so much more. Then, when I did see it, my final impression was "yeah, it's good but not as good as advertised." I completely agree with reviewer Ken G. I had read so many incredible reviews for this film and the trailer had me wanting so much more. Then, when I did see it, my final impression was "yeah, it's good but not as good as advertised." For me, there were just too many unexplored plot points that would've made this story so much more compelling (i.e. when Oskar is asking Eli about what vampires can/cannot do). I applaud the original take on the vampire genre and the subtle acting (especially from Lina Leandersson as Eli) but it's not the be-all, end-all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RicoLDec 1, 2008
Disappointed by Twilight? Watch this and find out how good a vampire movie can be. (Although its so much more than just a vampire movie.)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateH.Dec 2, 2008
Best movie of 2008, it is gruesome, scary, profoundly movie, and has an amazing charm. I couldn't find a single flaw.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlbertP.Dec 6, 2008
I walked out of the movie, looked at my buddy Bobby, and said "that may have been the best movie I've ever seen". First off, I didn't know it was a vampire flick. I just thought it was a movie about bullies & subsequent revenge. I walked out of the movie, looked at my buddy Bobby, and said "that may have been the best movie I've ever seen". First off, I didn't know it was a vampire flick. I just thought it was a movie about bullies & subsequent revenge. But man, it was so much more. A coming of age, romance, revenge, vampire flick may come close to describing it. The pace of the movie, the direction, the cinematography, the acting, the set pieces - all top-notch. To be a classic a movie must have an amazing ending. Think Butch Cassidy, The Graduate, Planet of the Apes, The Sixth Sense. On that standard alone, this movie is an instant classic. Nothing else this year will come close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonR.Dec 7, 2008
Masterful. The movie had no in-your-face scenes, no jump-out-of your-seat scares, and no scenes that weren't exquisitely composed and beautifully timed. It was good to see a movie that deserved its critical adulation. I was beginning to Masterful. The movie had no in-your-face scenes, no jump-out-of your-seat scares, and no scenes that weren't exquisitely composed and beautifully timed. It was good to see a movie that deserved its critical adulation. I was beginning to worry about them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TerenceSDec 11, 2008
I can't quite give it a perfect 10, because it is not the perfect movie. However, the movie is a heck of a lot more promising than Twilight. The movie tells like a vampire movie, but the whole time keeps you in ambiguity. You can't I can't quite give it a perfect 10, because it is not the perfect movie. However, the movie is a heck of a lot more promising than Twilight. The movie tells like a vampire movie, but the whole time keeps you in ambiguity. You can't decide if she is, or is not a vampire till the end. All the while, the movie explorers early adolescence and sexuality to a T. It is a great film and is on my top 10 for 2008. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Dec 11, 2008
One of the best love stories, one of the best vampire movies, and it is beautifully crafted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaunM.Dec 12, 2008
Great movie... well-done in its conception, but of course, misses on using a lot of potential. Depending on how good your imagination is this will either affect your opinion a lot or not at all. Still highly recommended viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimmyS.Dec 21, 2008
A child falls in love with a vampire in a bloodless, faded town
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasS.Dec 22, 2008
I'm speechless........so beautiful, sad and touching. Especially Lina Leandersson's performance is sensational.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BruceN.Dec 25, 2008
They always talk as if it's happened in reviews but here art truly collides with horror and what results is another dimension in the genre - maybe a little of what Carrie was after - but here horror is let loose in the sensitivity of They always talk as if it's happened in reviews but here art truly collides with horror and what results is another dimension in the genre - maybe a little of what Carrie was after - but here horror is let loose in the sensitivity of youth and makes for an amazing movie as it play across the face of Oscar. Brings to mind the Oscar in the Tin Drum (very similar). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JangraB.Dec 29, 2008
Autentic and chilling, the atmosphere and attention to detail is impressive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveHDec 31, 2008
First of all, I agree with some other critics, this is what Twilight should have been. I liked this movie and its slow but it grows on you. The main character slowly develops a relationship with a 12 year old femaile vampire. At the end we First of all, I agree with some other critics, this is what Twilight should have been. I liked this movie and its slow but it grows on you. The main character slowly develops a relationship with a 12 year old femaile vampire. At the end we realize, the vampire is not a 12 year girl but a very old killer who needs a new guide in this human world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HollyC.Jan 4, 2009
Wow. this film was almost perfect. I went in expecting a slight horror/thriller--and instead got a rather touching romance and allegory on the horror of childhood. What a brilliant surprise. As others have pointed out, the level of craft Wow. this film was almost perfect. I went in expecting a slight horror/thriller--and instead got a rather touching romance and allegory on the horror of childhood. What a brilliant surprise. As others have pointed out, the level of craft involved here is stellar in just about every aspect: direction, acting, cinematography, score, screenplay etc. It is in Swedish, but there's not a lot of dialog to begin with. I was a bit shocked to find there might be an american remake in the works as it seems unnesessary given how great this one is (& likely to turn out worse). If you can't find this in theaters, rent it as soon as you can. Just a great little film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidVJan 14, 2009
This movie is the alternative to Twilight that actually pays off! The movie is brilliantly written and is indescribable in various instances. I think this movie will introduce many people to the concept of love from another point of view. In This movie is the alternative to Twilight that actually pays off! The movie is brilliantly written and is indescribable in various instances. I think this movie will introduce many people to the concept of love from another point of view. In our society we have too many love stories about upholding the human spirit and beating all the odds; superhero sort of love. This movie will introduce people to the world of tragic love. It teaches us how being broken doesn't mean we are incomplete. That love can complete one another and can overcome true psychological barriers. A must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Jan 18, 2009
A dark, brooding vampire film with sub-titles and two 12 year old kids as the leads. Impossible? Friday the 13th Part 27, right? Nothing is impossible. Let The Right One In is one the the best horror movies of the last decade. Be Afraid. Be A dark, brooding vampire film with sub-titles and two 12 year old kids as the leads. Impossible? Friday the 13th Part 27, right? Nothing is impossible. Let The Right One In is one the the best horror movies of the last decade. Be Afraid. Be Very Afraid! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidGJan 19, 2009
Poignant in the it portrays the moral dilemma of a 12-year old around good and evil, does anyone deserve death as punishment, revenge and who can protect you when adults cannot empathize or understand you? Truly erie without being gorey and Poignant in the it portrays the moral dilemma of a 12-year old around good and evil, does anyone deserve death as punishment, revenge and who can protect you when adults cannot empathize or understand you? Truly erie without being gorey and sinister while simultaneously touching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TamaraCJan 25, 2009
A fantastically new take on an old idea. The setting is as familiar, but strange, as are the characters and concept. Very interesting to see how the writer spun in the traditional "rules" of vampire, but managed to create a very unique A fantastically new take on an old idea. The setting is as familiar, but strange, as are the characters and concept. Very interesting to see how the writer spun in the traditional "rules" of vampire, but managed to create a very unique story. A must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JFJan 26, 2009
Perfect. The young actors are brilliant, the story is intriguing, and there's a constant stream of anxiety and paranoia. The sounds that curdle when Eli gets hungry; the pale and muted color pallet; it all combines to make a twisted but Perfect. The young actors are brilliant, the story is intriguing, and there's a constant stream of anxiety and paranoia. The sounds that curdle when Eli gets hungry; the pale and muted color pallet; it all combines to make a twisted but absolutely beautiful film. It is more about these two young kids and their inevitable relationship. They relate on the fact that they are lonely in this world. The vampire myths are played to full, dramatic effect here, yet some how render more realistic than they would in say, Buffy. Also, the side-plots about his parents are interesting and sad. His mom hardly ever talks to him unless he's being yelled at, and his father gets his hopes up on togetherness but just throws it all away for a few shots. This movie is amazing, with gore that is not really unnecessarily gory, and violence that only helps seam together the film. A+. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryA.Jan 27, 2009
Actual score would be 9.6. should have received award nominations. This a transcedent film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RestyM.Feb 3, 2009
I saw this film and I say that this is one of the best films of 2008, and the best thing is this film is not from the US. Awesome movie!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasCFeb 6, 2009
Perfect! If you only have $10 to watch a movie. This is the ticket! The one film You must see this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickL.Feb 13, 2009
Amazing movie. I am shocked that it wasn't nominated for any Academy Awards. It should have been nominated in at least three catagories... I will at least give it the award for "Best Movie I've Seen In A Very Long Time".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonJFeb 14, 2009
It's very rare indeed that the supernatural is woven into the everyday so believably.The most enjoyable film I've had the absolute pleasure of seeing for ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewMar 3, 2009
I was watching in it the middle of the night, while my roommate was sleeping. A few scenes had already brought me to the edge of tears and then something so shocking happened that I just inhaled, loudly. I didn't realize what had I was watching in it the middle of the night, while my roommate was sleeping. A few scenes had already brought me to the edge of tears and then something so shocking happened that I just inhaled, loudly. I didn't realize what had happened, but it just goes to show that it's a movie that grabs you emotionally and doesn't let go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuV.Mar 4, 2009
Beautiful movie. Not a perfect 10, but for all pretense and purposes I give it one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Mar 4, 2009
Striking cinematography, excellent score. It creates a very eerie atmosphere and is genuinely chilling at times. Very visual and intelligent. I am not a fan of vampire films, but this one is one of the best ones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaraL.Mar 8, 2009
This is a really thought-provoking film! The cast of actors were good and i loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bradrMar 9, 2009
Best. Movie. Ever. Created. On. The. Face. Of. The. Earth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidP.Mar 11, 2009
Recommend this to your friends - they will thank you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobCMar 14, 2009
Transcends genre barriers and a hauntingly beautiful film about sacrifice, love, trust, and companionship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricZMar 19, 2009
This is one of the most affecting and fascinating movies I have ever seen. Hopefully it's cult will continue to grow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KMMar 22, 2009
Starts off kind of slow, but eventually goes somewhere. Horror fan or not, watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MistaJMar 23, 2009
My top pick of 2008, regardless of genre. Elegant, maddening and moving: the most frightening characters were all too human.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrellPMar 24, 2009
A masterpiece. Tremendous acting, great score and some stunning shots, the scene where she jumps out the window or even the scene where the kid is being drowned and the body parts etc all fall in, no sound... the film is just a cinematic A masterpiece. Tremendous acting, great score and some stunning shots, the scene where she jumps out the window or even the scene where the kid is being drowned and the body parts etc all fall in, no sound... the film is just a cinematic masterpiece. No REMAKE is needed! I will not see it, and nobody else should either, they should see this film only. Tomas Alfredson directed this film to such a high point that i can't even think for a second that somebody can even touch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulDApr 2, 2009
This is the best movie of 2008 in my opinion. A dark and haunting fairy tale that has an ending for the ages. One of the absolute best endings I have ever seen in a movie. You will be thinking about it for days if not weeks. The use of music This is the best movie of 2008 in my opinion. A dark and haunting fairy tale that has an ending for the ages. One of the absolute best endings I have ever seen in a movie. You will be thinking about it for days if not weeks. The use of music is incredible in this movie and was the best use of music last year. The young actors are perfect in their roles. The film will no doubt be butchered by it's Americanized remake, but this nearly flawless swedish version deserves to be seen by everyone that considers themselves a movie person. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneRApr 7, 2009
One of the best horror films ever made. This could just as easily be a story of an innocent boy or girl who is abused or ignored by their parents and hence become enslaved by the evil of the world under the guise of friendship. I see no love One of the best horror films ever made. This could just as easily be a story of an innocent boy or girl who is abused or ignored by their parents and hence become enslaved by the evil of the world under the guise of friendship. I see no love story here. it seems obvious to me that the little vampire, who needs a replacement for her now incompetent familiar , sets her designs on the boy from the beginning. The story revolves upon itself. As the familiar was so will the boy become and vice versa. Superb film. Chilling and haunting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamBApr 9, 2009
I first heard about this story when I read about a little budget film in Empire magazine, I'm a Vamp fan and love the genre. Its dark and moody, but the friendship and possibly love that forms between Oskar and Eli just shines and makes I first heard about this story when I read about a little budget film in Empire magazine, I'm a Vamp fan and love the genre. Its dark and moody, but the friendship and possibly love that forms between Oskar and Eli just shines and makes this a magical movie. Violent in some scenes although not as much as the novel (A must read btw) but it works amazingly well. MY best film of the year thus far and now one of my all time top 10. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatE.Apr 12, 2009
The start of the movie began bland and at first it was hard to tell if it was suppose to be thriller, horror or drama (i wouldn't know since im not swedish) and at first your thinking, this has got to be one of the worst movies The start of the movie began bland and at first it was hard to tell if it was suppose to be thriller, horror or drama (i wouldn't know since im not swedish) and at first your thinking, this has got to be one of the worst movies I've even seen....but then it begins to get better the further into the movie you go. Then you begin to feel sorry for a boy who can't defend himself against a few bullies. Then a boy meets a vamp chick, not a wanna be vamp chick....A REAL VAMPIRE. She just so happens to be his age sorta, which leaves you wondering just when is she gonna turn him? For some reason she has a fondness toward the boy....and what starts a a friendship begins to blossom into a subtle romance. In the end it was a good movie for those who look at the elements. Might not be everyones type of movie. It wasn't a 10 for me....but close enough. Those who like such a subtle not so violent and gore filled move will surely enjoy. I figure if I was swedish there would be more to it that I would understand. As Paul D said, one of the greatest endings in a movie i've ever seen. This is what american film still struggles to get right! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatiasCApr 17, 2009
This film represent what a good terror film should be: blood, scary people, great atmosphere and an excelent story! I can't describe how impress I am about this 90 min thiller makes me feel. Impressive ending!! Just watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulMApr 18, 2009
Stunning slow burning film. Very reminiscint of Lost in Translation with er vampires. Wonderfully acted, great cinematography... loved every bit of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulFMay 5, 2009
Dracula's daughter meets Nietzsche's adolescent angst with a tweeny bit of love thrown in the mix. The film was quite realistic, at least for a 12 year old vampire living in Sweden. Actually all kidding aside Let the Right One In Dracula's daughter meets Nietzsche's adolescent angst with a tweeny bit of love thrown in the mix. The film was quite realistic, at least for a 12 year old vampire living in Sweden. Actually all kidding aside Let the Right One In was superbly acted. The two main child actors were real gems. Let the Right One In was also immensely rich with emotional depth. If this film did have a fault is that it was that it was persistently morose. [***WARNING POTENTIAL SPOILER***] What the director interprets (or tried to project) as a happy ending really was horrifying. Either that or Swedes are more depressive than I thought. OK it could be interpreted that Oskar was not Eli's butt monkey Renfield in that he did not eat bugs and probably wasn't simply being used by her to fulfill a need as her feeling for him seemed genuine. But still he did run away from home to help a serial killer, granted vampire by necessity. Yet vampires need love too, right? I guess the crux of the film was about the powerful mutual connection that evolved be-tween these two even in the mist of the most darkest of contexts, pure unadulterated (another pun) violence. Also that Eli nor Oskar's violent fantasies weren't simply portrayed as evil. There was a certain isness about the film in general that avoided moralistic dualities. In this sense was the strong existential and stoic undercurrents. In short Let the Right One In is the thinking man's/woman's film. Personally I prefer Buffy & Angel which are also highly philosophical yet gave the viewers a much needed breaks using comedy and social drama. However for what it was Let the Right One In was right on the money. If Ingrid Bergman made a film about vampire's this would be pretty darn close to the end product he might create. This is a compliment. But at the same time it's not always easy to stick with a Bergman film. They are the type of films you work at and hopefully come away with something more than just the taste of eye candy. In this case mission accomplished. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinMay 6, 2009
This is such a beautiful film. It's dark and sad but at the same time it's warm in a special kind of way and there were some moments that made me smile a bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobNMay 7, 2009
It is best to know something about a reviewer in order to judge the relevance of their view. I am not a horror fan. Well, not American horror at least. The decent foriegn films that make their way into the states typically are subtle and It is best to know something about a reviewer in order to judge the relevance of their view. I am not a horror fan. Well, not American horror at least. The decent foriegn films that make their way into the states typically are subtle and psychological as opposed to the violence porn we Americans have come to expect. This is a prime example. Subtle, minimal, brooding, and great. Please, spare the Bergman comparisons (who I hold to be overrated, but still a great director.) This film is not "deep." It is good. Is it scary? Yes and no. Is it different? Yes. Is it worth seeing? Absolutely. I despise vampire films due to their stupidity and overt morbid sexuality. This is a film about loneliness and childhood. Simple as that. Simplicity is the KEY to making a good film i.e. Akira Kurosawa and Kiyoshi Kurosawa. Great scenes, good acting, great film score, respect for the intelligence of the viewer = Great movie. And yes, the pool scene at the end of the film is one of the best I have seen in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeNMay 7, 2009
This is a good film IF YOU WATCH IT IN ITS ORIGINAL LANGUAGE WITH SUBTITLES. Do not, I repeat, do not watch this with the horribe english dub. Why would you watch that anyways? Haven't you learned by now that all dubs ruin films? This is a good film IF YOU WATCH IT IN ITS ORIGINAL LANGUAGE WITH SUBTITLES. Do not, I repeat, do not watch this with the horribe english dub. Why would you watch that anyways? Haven't you learned by now that all dubs ruin films? Nothing philosophical here, just a simple good film. Watch it on DVD and switch the audio to swedish with eng subtitles and enjoy something different. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CSMay 10, 2009
It took a while to get goin but when it did it was a real suprise. I truley loved this movie. Wasn't sure what it was about when I first started watching it but it turned out to be an original yet familiar take on a vampire love story It took a while to get goin but when it did it was a real suprise. I truley loved this movie. Wasn't sure what it was about when I first started watching it but it turned out to be an original yet familiar take on a vampire love story between two young children. Brilliantly dark and moving right to the end, watch and enjoy Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkyMarkMay 19, 2009
It's very good, but only in swedish version.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikaelHMay 25, 2009
Awesome movie ! ! !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanJJun 9, 2009
Pacing, script, cinematography... everything that could possibly go right in a production did in this one. My favourite movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaleJun 21, 2009
Finally watched this last night, and its quickly went into my list of favorite films. A classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DcraftJun 21, 2009
A vampire film with as much heart as gore. No patent leather, slick-fashion-wear, or uber-cool characters turn this into a puberty-struck superhero fantasy. The casting and acting is superb. There is a real sense of intimacy and empathy for A vampire film with as much heart as gore. No patent leather, slick-fashion-wear, or uber-cool characters turn this into a puberty-struck superhero fantasy. The casting and acting is superb. There is a real sense of intimacy and empathy for the young characters. Occasional, but awesome special effects add little shocks in this minimalist treatment. The director's use of mise-in-scene is all the more artistic when coupled with the stark scenery. This is the best vampire film I've seen. Due to language patterns, hearing the original Swedish with English subtitles sounds more emotive than the dubbing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DoctorMontalbanJun 22, 2009
This movie is brilliant. It's telling that you have to go to foreign cinema to see something made with quality and depth, rather than the hacked McDonald's-esque crap that Hollywood churns out for the teeny boppers (looking right This movie is brilliant. It's telling that you have to go to foreign cinema to see something made with quality and depth, rather than the hacked McDonald's-esque crap that Hollywood churns out for the teeny boppers (looking right at you Twilight). Definitely follow other reviewers advice and watch it in Swedish with English subs. This movie is stirring on a number of levels, I'll leave it at that. To the guy saying it lacked depth and intensity, I'll just say that it was there and then some, but it was clearly lost on you. Just one piece, that I'll keep spoiler-free, is the juxtaposition of Oskar and Eli's companion/guardian/EX?!?!....i.e. a glimpse of Oskar's future state.....anyhow, Twilight's there for those that prefer to be unchallenged. Anyhow, I'm glad it's getting so much critical respect, b/c it's well deserved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BurgerJul 13, 2009
Spellbinding and the swimming pool scene is pure genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeGJul 18, 2009
Gems like these are a dime a dozen. A title worthy of universal acclaim. Who would have thought that two 12 year old lovers could possess the intensity to surpass adult dramas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
adamhAug 7, 2009
I personally loved the film the scors for the film are amazing osker in love and the farther are me personal favs i found the film gripping and i have seen it 5 times in 4 days day 1 i seen it on comp then bought the dvd getting the book I personally loved the film the scors for the film are amazing osker in love and the farther are me personal favs i found the film gripping and i have seen it 5 times in 4 days day 1 i seen it on comp then bought the dvd getting the book cant weight to read it gr8 film 10/10 one of the best vampire movies in a ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CourtneyBAug 11, 2009
I can't explain how it did it, but this film completely drew me into the quiet atmosphere and it really moved me emotionally. I was thinking about it for days afterward. So beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MicaMSep 14, 2009
It's one of the most beautiful movies I've ever seen. And touching. I wasn't expecting it when I watched but I was really surprised and pleased with this movie and specially with the actors. they were brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewK.Oct 17, 2009
Owen Gleiberman never actually saw this movie. At least not sober.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RMOct 18, 2009
One of my favourite films in recent memory. The relationship between the two lead characters moved even my stone heart, and had me thinking for sometime after it finished - trying to figure out Eli's exact attitude or intentions toward One of my favourite films in recent memory. The relationship between the two lead characters moved even my stone heart, and had me thinking for sometime after it finished - trying to figure out Eli's exact attitude or intentions toward Oscar but then taking some comfort in the fact that, even if the intentions were darker than I would ideally like them to be, they both need and fit with each other. Don't mean to lose anyone there. This is quite a bizarre film but one that I would highly recommend, as somebody once recommended to me. The film was stunningly bleak to look at and its slow pace went down well with me. The two twelve year-old actors, playing twelve year-old characters, were incredible and it was crucial that this was the case because child actors can be pretty banal sometimes. I hear Hollywood are doing a remake but plan to call it "Let me in" because that is more catchy. Sounds like a tragedy already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewFOct 19, 2009
I love that this movie does not explore every element of the plot, details, and character relationships. It allows the film to serve as a window to a familiar but imaginary world and lets the viewer use their own imagination to fill in all I love that this movie does not explore every element of the plot, details, and character relationships. It allows the film to serve as a window to a familiar but imaginary world and lets the viewer use their own imagination to fill in all sorts of things, be it the nature of Eli's relationship w the man she lives with, Oskars father and his friend, the future of Oskar and Eli, etc. These loose ends allow me to stay in the story, rather than it being just a cut and dry 2 hr experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackPNov 12, 2009
Simply put, one of the most engaging movie experiences of the decade, even if it moves at a pace that some may describe as glacial, and leaves many questions unanswered. Which is part of its power. The stunning contrast of the wintry Simply put, one of the most engaging movie experiences of the decade, even if it moves at a pace that some may describe as glacial, and leaves many questions unanswered. Which is part of its power. The stunning contrast of the wintry stillness and the sudden bursts of red-blooded violence brings to mind the sometimes surreal world of pre-adolescence, where the extraordinary coexists with the dullness of the world of the adults. An instant classic if there ever was one, it dwarfs all recent efforts in the genre, and once its subtle but powerful fangs sink in your mind you may find yourself haunted for a very long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Boy gets bullied at school, meets strange girl, becomes friends, people get murdered in the town, learns Morse code, hits back at bullies, strange girl isn't what she seems.
Swedish film which is a sort of dark fairytale about adolescence in
Boy gets bullied at school, meets strange girl, becomes friends, people get murdered in the town, learns Morse code, hits back at bullies, strange girl isn't what she seems.
Swedish film which is a sort of dark fairytale about adolescence in a small town.The two main actors are excellent & has some beautiful cinematography & atmospheric music to get the feel of the place.
It is quite slow in parts but overall a lot better than some of the other vampire films that have been made recently.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
x0laniAug 26, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely one of the most original vampire stories I've seen in a long time, with an odd mixture of childlike innocence and gore. In the end, though, it's not completely compelling and some of the situations require a herculean suspension of disbelief, such as when victims are being killed in what is practically broad daylight... out in the open... with lots of witnesses... and those witness barely register any emotional response or even call the police. On top of that, it's a bit slow. The two young leads act their parts brilliantly, however there rest of the characters are mere caricature. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sebastianSep 14, 2010
Captures the quiet eeriness and beauty of the Swedish landscape just as well as it confidently maps the contours of human sociality. The combination of the two geographies sears itself more deeply into memory than the pomp and circumstanceCaptures the quiet eeriness and beauty of the Swedish landscape just as well as it confidently maps the contours of human sociality. The combination of the two geographies sears itself more deeply into memory than the pomp and circumstance of more ambitious (but less effective) films. Redeems chocolate as a symbol for love. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joshuaberthiaumOct 8, 2010
Overall, this was truly a story for the intellect, after watching I sat for days unable to watch another movie, or even think about anything else really. The movie was a haunting, original take on vampires, which is refreshing in light of theOverall, this was truly a story for the intellect, after watching I sat for days unable to watch another movie, or even think about anything else really. The movie was a haunting, original take on vampires, which is refreshing in light of the new "Teen Vampire" fad. It was a beautiful movie about companionship and the true nature of evil. Could not have been a better cast selected for these children. Everyone should see this movie, because it's difficult to describe what it makes you feel. Definitely a unique experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mckillustratorNov 1, 2010
*No spoiler review* An atypical vampire story done right...finally! If you are sick and tired of the sexy and sleak vampire stories of recent times like Twilight or True Blood (and I certainly am) give this movie a watch; I can't see how you*No spoiler review* An atypical vampire story done right...finally! If you are sick and tired of the sexy and sleak vampire stories of recent times like Twilight or True Blood (and I certainly am) give this movie a watch; I can't see how you could possibly be disappointed. For the story/plot I give the movie 8 out of 10. The story has the best of both worlds when it comes to American vs Foreign cinema. While it progresses at a pace that doesn't allow for drowsiness it still unfolds calmly and with a good amount of mystery; and things are not always explicitly explained, which I love. Aesthically/visually I give the movie 8/10. The cinematography is beautiful and there are sometimes some really interesting and creative shots. This movie definitely utilizes the power of visual storytelling. I would also like to point out in this section that the music is awesome! It's a really ambient orchestral score that fits totally well in the context of the movie and also stands on its own at times. Overall this film was top notch and one of the best movies in general I've seen in a while. I was completely engrossed from start to finish and I plan on watching it a second and third time very soon (if that's not a positive review of a movie I don't know what is). I took away 2 points out of 10 from my score because of a certain very silly scene involving some cats (you'll know when you see it) and because while it is freakin' awesome (seriously, see it) it is not so big a revelation as to warrant a 9 or 10 score reserved for the truly best pictures out there. There's no reason to be hesitant or timid about seeing this. It has such a high user AND critical score for a reason. Stop reading reviews and rent or stream this on a night when you can be engaged in a good movie. Don't sacrifice this beauty to that "I'm pretty tired so I'll just throw on this movie until I fall asleep and finish it tomorrow" kind of night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
Given that the film is originally from Sweden gives the film edge before even viewing it, but this film is mainly a series of events tied together. It's mainly centered on Oskar, who is being bullied by his classmates but never has theGiven that the film is originally from Sweden gives the film edge before even viewing it, but this film is mainly a series of events tied together. It's mainly centered on Oskar, who is being bullied by his classmates but never has the courage to strike back. Then he meets Eli, a girl who is about his age and they slowly start to fall for each other. But Eli is leaving out one little detail, she is a blood sucking vampire! With an implication that Oskar is lonely, he soons accepts the fact that she is one because he loves her. Eli is tied to bloody deaths around the town, but the director focuses more on Eli's and Oskar's relationship and there sides of the family rather than criminal investigations and the creature feature aspect. He does it simply by positioning the camera's in a wide shot where the action is happening. Unlike American horror, "Let the Right one In" excludes any crescendos and develops a nice storyline that keeps you interested, but everything appears blan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HelleThJan 17, 2011
The first time I saw this film I was all alone in an art cinema in Copenhagen. And I was completely baffled. The main characters took me in in a way that I hadn't thought possible whilst putting the word horror and vampire flick together inThe first time I saw this film I was all alone in an art cinema in Copenhagen. And I was completely baffled. The main characters took me in in a way that I hadn't thought possible whilst putting the word horror and vampire flick together in my head. The settings for the film are so bleak in that 70'ies building complex, in the dead of winter and so completely devout of colors that it can't but make an impression. The feeling of impending doom is everywhere from the start - first in Oskar being followed and bullied, then in a young vampire's struggle for survival and even in her helper's struggle to help her. And this feeling of doom that stuck with me throughout the film stayed with me afterwords. I keep reading that the Swedish director knows exactly what childhood is all about and that his way of portraying this is without comparison - I'm happy to say that my childhood was nothing like what is portrayed in this film and keeping the feeling this film installed in me in mind, I'm very grateful for this. I quite simply love this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
extextJan 18, 2011
It achieves not only the implementation of vampires without roaming superfluously -- unlike the frivolous notion of aggregating werewolves, vampires, and a teenage girl with the oh so excruciating dilemma of a fetish pertaining to eitherIt achieves not only the implementation of vampires without roaming superfluously -- unlike the frivolous notion of aggregating werewolves, vampires, and a teenage girl with the oh so excruciating dilemma of a fetish pertaining to either necrophilia or bestiality -- but also artistically and masterfully elicits the subjects of loneliness, romance, and horror. From the vista that is the cinematography ubiquitous in black nights and white snow, to the authentic performances displayed therein, Let The Right One In, again, is a masterful film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
arianejlFeb 1, 2011
This is perhaps the best movie I've seen in the past two years.. It is sober and powerful, beautifully acted and directed, everything is just right. Absolutely not to be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CharlottePApr 13, 2011
Creepy, ethereal and peculiarly moving tale of pre-adolescent revenge, a blood-sucking superannuated 12 year old (brilliantly played by a real 12 year old), extreme cold (debuting as an additional character here) and first love. Free of theCreepy, ethereal and peculiarly moving tale of pre-adolescent revenge, a blood-sucking superannuated 12 year old (brilliantly played by a real 12 year old), extreme cold (debuting as an additional character here) and first love. Free of the the burden of superstylisation and the glossy pretensions which have spoiled vampire films since time began, this is, refreshingly, a story as much about love and loneliness as it is about vampires. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jordan_SeymoreJun 27, 2011
I can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the AmericanI can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the American version ("Let Me In"), and hearing great things about the original Swedish version. I thought I'd give it a go considering I'd been studying the Swedish language anyway. So I took up the task of watching the film without English subtitles. I do NOT regret it. Never in any film I had witnessed prior to viewing "Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' had I seen two polar opposites such as death and love combined in such a magnificent way that it almost brought me to tears. I've watched the film three times since my original viewing and it only gets better each time. The performance(s) of Kåre Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson were simply stunning. All in all, ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' takes the classic vampire story and turns it into a beautifully woven modern tale of love, death, and adolescent challenges faced by people everyday. I would say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' is one of (if not the) greatest film(s) I have seen in the past twenty years. I wholeheartedly recommend it to everyone, and I truly say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' (Or ''Let the Right One In,'' as Americans have come to know it as) is a film you need to see before you die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TetsuoAug 3, 2011
As a fan of the book this has to be the best adaptation of a horror novel since The Exorcist. The child actors act like real kids instead of 20 somethings pretending to be teenagers. It has marvelous cinematography and sticks closer to theAs a fan of the book this has to be the best adaptation of a horror novel since The Exorcist. The child actors act like real kids instead of 20 somethings pretending to be teenagers. It has marvelous cinematography and sticks closer to the vampire mythology and this puts Stephanie Meyer's Twilight to shame since both the book and film were released after Let The Right One In. It proves that international features are fresh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cabritaAug 8, 2011
Although Let The Right One In is a struggle to sit through if you have the patience you will be pleasantly surprised to find a deeply moving love story of two kids who find refuge in there relationship when the only thing their lives know is chaos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
farknashAug 19, 2011
http://mikesharkey.blogspot.com/2009/04/lat-den-ratte-komma-in-let-right-one-in.html
Hoyte van Hoytema
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
rnnbrwnOct 12, 2011
Having just read the original book by John Ajvide Lindqvist, I was really looking forward to finally seeing this. I wasn't disappointed, but couldn't help but feel a little underwhelmed due to the amount of plot that didn't make theHaving just read the original book by John Ajvide Lindqvist, I was really looking forward to finally seeing this. I wasn't disappointed, but couldn't help but feel a little underwhelmed due to the amount of plot that didn't make the transition from page to screen.

A good film, but not on a par with the book.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
rotkuNov 3, 2011
Original and well acted with strong character development. The fact that the storyline didn't fantasise and made you feel that the story was set in a real situation with real people meant that this movie made a mockery of most of the vampireOriginal and well acted with strong character development. The fact that the storyline didn't fantasise and made you feel that the story was set in a real situation with real people meant that this movie made a mockery of most of the vampire movies released in the past few years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZalJan 11, 2012
I adored this movie. It's not quite as dark as the book, but it's dark enough. The acting is pretty good. The two leads are very likable and relatable and their romance feels legitimate. This is something I rarely say about movies but I wasI adored this movie. It's not quite as dark as the book, but it's dark enough. The acting is pretty good. The two leads are very likable and relatable and their romance feels legitimate. This is something I rarely say about movies but I was really able to connect with both these characters. Is it the most original story ever told? No. But it takes a premise that has been beaten to death and turns it into something simple yet effective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MattMintageJan 13, 2012
I have a question for you all. What other vampire movie has a better ending than this one? Think long and hard, because I haven't been able to think of any other since I watched this beautifully cold Swedish film! It captures the rawness theI have a question for you all. What other vampire movie has a better ending than this one? Think long and hard, because I haven't been able to think of any other since I watched this beautifully cold Swedish film! It captures the rawness the book had, and layers a thick blue and white coating over it while it gets sprinkled with a little blood. Its characters are painfully realistic, and you can't help but cheer for the vampire girl, even though she's a "monster" inside, as well as the ever bullied Oskar, whom you cheer for when he's bullied and hope the bastards get what's coming. And the payoff, is well over any expectation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanFeb 29, 2012
Let the Right One In not only re-invents and updates the vampire genre, but uses it as a tool to tackle some really quite complex and heady themes. Though his film is heavy in symbolism and subtext, director Tomas Alfredson never loses sightLet the Right One In not only re-invents and updates the vampire genre, but uses it as a tool to tackle some really quite complex and heady themes. Though his film is heavy in symbolism and subtext, director Tomas Alfredson never loses sight of what really matters - his characters and their relationship. The lonely, bullied 12 year-old boy Oskar and the mysterious "more or less" 12 year-old vampire Eli, both roles exceptionally performed by the young actors Kare Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson. Hedebrant makes young Oskar an undeniably odd but likeable protagonist, and Leandersson (with the help of the more androgynous-sounding Elif Ceylan's dubbing) brilliantly embodies Eli with ambiguity - she's equal parts vulnerable and threatening, caring and manipulative, animalistic and human. Per Ragnar is also good as Hakan, Eli's guardian, though I personally prefer Richard Jenkins' far more empathetic portrayal of the character in Matt Reeves' remake of the film. The film is effective as a horror, with the constant feeling of tension and unease it maintains throughout, as a social drama with its story of Oskar finding the courage to stand up to his tormentors and escape his unhappy life at home, and as a love story (though a highly unconventional one). I praise Alfredson and writer John Ajvide Lindqvist (the same writer of the novel on which the film is based) for keeping the vast majority of the film's events, and character motivations up to viewer interpretation - we never quite know the extent of Hakan's relationship with Eli, other than bringing her food, nor do we know what Eli's real intentions for Oskar are, as he clearly loves her, but it's difficult to tell whether she has any real affection for him or whether she is simply grooming him to become her new guardian in case of Hakan's demise. Where the ambiguity works less well is in terms of plot-holes - it's not really clearly explained how the vengeful Lacke (Peter Carlberg) manages to piece together where Eli lives, nor why Hakan would take such a big risk by attacking a boy in a school gym changing room (the fact that it was during a night-time class and he might have been a little bit desperate don't quite seem to cover it). In the grand scheme of things, though, these are extremely minor annoyances. When a film looks this good, is so thematically rich and well performed, and keeps you engaged throughout, you'll come away thoroughly satisfied. Let the Right One In is not only a great vampire film, but an involving drama and an equal parts sinister and sweet love story - a true rarity! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hoops2448Mar 1, 2012
Calling Let The Right One In a vampire movie is insulting really because not only is it so much more than that, it also implies that Eli (Lina Leandersson) is a vampire, something the film tries very hard to avoid saying. At its heart, LetCalling Let The Right One In a vampire movie is insulting really because not only is it so much more than that, it also implies that Eli (Lina Leandersson) is a vampire, something the film tries very hard to avoid saying. At its heart, Let The Right One In is a dark, twisted story of a budding relationship between lonely, bullied Oskar (Kare Hedebrant) and blood feeding 12 year old Eli. While not as ground-breaking as people suggest, Let the Right One In is no less emotionally fulfilling. The film is mainly shown by Oskarâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeriosityOct 14, 2012
My favorite movie of all time. I saw it on my birthday the year it came out and it has stuck with me since. Never have I been so connected to characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Spot21Oct 30, 2012
A perfect movie. Went in expecting a decent vampire flick. Was totally blown away. It wasn't just a great vampire movie, it was a great movie in general. I highly recommend this to any cinema lovers out there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CynicalJohnsonNov 16, 2012
A good film. Not a brilliant one, but a good one. It has a strange sort of pace to it, it seems to drag at times but it makes sense, in a way it adds to the tense atmosphere of it all but it can get slightly boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Expertly shot and acted, "Let The Right One In" breathes new life into the vampire genre; adding a compassionately human story of love and friendship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bram29Dec 8, 2012
this movie is brilliant. it is unique, and good at it, and those factors totally sold it to me. the best thing about it is the dynamic between the 2 main characters. the movie is also deeply disturbing like no movie i have seen in a longthis movie is brilliant. it is unique, and good at it, and those factors totally sold it to me. the best thing about it is the dynamic between the 2 main characters. the movie is also deeply disturbing like no movie i have seen in a long time, truly befitting of the title of horror. the fact alone that this was all happening to children adds an extra layer of the deep disturbance but it is not only a horror movie! the movie works great in general, and the drama was so real. lovers of drama will love this movie the most. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91May 9, 2013
What can I say except that I was happy to see him. One of the most beautiful films I've ever seen. Made in a simple way, it came out a masterpiece (and this shows that we should not spend many millions to make a great movie). No exaggerationWhat can I say except that I was happy to see him. One of the most beautiful films I've ever seen. Made in a simple way, it came out a masterpiece (and this shows that we should not spend many millions to make a great movie). No exaggeration with special effects or other gestures that make the characters say much more than words (the best scenes are the scene of the glass and that of the pool) and an innocent love and tender that is able to kneel horror. This movie should have been paid a lot and we should not consider it as twilight because this film is much, much better than the "story" of love. This movie makes you feel wonderful emotions and recommend it to everyone, absolutely everyone to watch it because it's worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EdwinApr 9, 2014
A crisp, tasteful adaptation of a vastly layered story. Simply told and smoothly acted, Let The Right One In is the perfect companion piece to the original book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AaronCraterJul 24, 2014
When i imagine vampires, this is exactly the type I picture. Tormented, lonely, in conflict with the nature of its own existence. The subtle use of special effects brings to mind the phrase; when you do something right, people wont be sureWhen i imagine vampires, this is exactly the type I picture. Tormented, lonely, in conflict with the nature of its own existence. The subtle use of special effects brings to mind the phrase; when you do something right, people wont be sure you did anything at all. Not to mention a beautiful depiction of young love between two lost souls so well done it makes my heart ache. By far my favorite vampire flick to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BigZOct 6, 2014
Had doubts considering this was a Swedish film. I started off by watching it dubbed over in english...I made a huge mistake. I saw about 15 minutes in that these characters were actually very well versed and perfectly cast and not listeningHad doubts considering this was a Swedish film. I started off by watching it dubbed over in english...I made a huge mistake. I saw about 15 minutes in that these characters were actually very well versed and perfectly cast and not listening to their real voices only made the full experience suffer. It's a rare occasion when you are so intrigued by a movie that you don't even mind reading subtitles the whole time. It was beautiful. I was so relived to watch this movie utterly dispel the Twilight perimeters of a vampire romance movie. Feels good. It creates a feeling of something dark and mysterious and brooding taking slow step after step into the shadows. The scary aspect was more in the disturbing reality of being a vampire than anything else. The development of the love between Eli and Oskar is bloody and odd but convincing. I really like how Oskar is not exactly a geek or nerd in appearance, just on the weird side, who when pushed in the right direction, becomes strong and assertive. I like how Eli is not particularly a give away as a vampire. She appears initially to be a normal innocent girl with a few weird tendencies, but even in her real element as a vampire, who needs to drink blood to live, doesn't carry the demeanor of a killer or maniac. She just does what she has to, while not really enjoying it. And linking them together with genuine love for each other, without conditions or anterior motives is just...awesome. These characters are just so well defined and seeing their love unfold was definitely a treat. Instant favorite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews