Magnet Releasing | Release Date: October 24, 2008
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 505 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
460
Mixed:
15
Negative:
30
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
arianejlFeb 1, 2011
This is perhaps the best movie I've seen in the past two years.. It is sober and powerful, beautifully acted and directed, everything is just right. Absolutely not to be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EdwinApr 9, 2014
A crisp, tasteful adaptation of a vastly layered story. Simply told and smoothly acted, Let The Right One In is the perfect companion piece to the original book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
rotkuNov 3, 2011
Original and well acted with strong character development. The fact that the storyline didn't fantasise and made you feel that the story was set in a real situation with real people meant that this movie made a mockery of most of the vampireOriginal and well acted with strong character development. The fact that the storyline didn't fantasise and made you feel that the story was set in a real situation with real people meant that this movie made a mockery of most of the vampire movies released in the past few years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CharlottePApr 13, 2011
Creepy, ethereal and peculiarly moving tale of pre-adolescent revenge, a blood-sucking superannuated 12 year old (brilliantly played by a real 12 year old), extreme cold (debuting as an additional character here) and first love. Free of theCreepy, ethereal and peculiarly moving tale of pre-adolescent revenge, a blood-sucking superannuated 12 year old (brilliantly played by a real 12 year old), extreme cold (debuting as an additional character here) and first love. Free of the the burden of superstylisation and the glossy pretensions which have spoiled vampire films since time began, this is, refreshingly, a story as much about love and loneliness as it is about vampires. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanFeb 29, 2012
Let the Right One In not only re-invents and updates the vampire genre, but uses it as a tool to tackle some really quite complex and heady themes. Though his film is heavy in symbolism and subtext, director Tomas Alfredson never loses sightLet the Right One In not only re-invents and updates the vampire genre, but uses it as a tool to tackle some really quite complex and heady themes. Though his film is heavy in symbolism and subtext, director Tomas Alfredson never loses sight of what really matters - his characters and their relationship. The lonely, bullied 12 year-old boy Oskar and the mysterious "more or less" 12 year-old vampire Eli, both roles exceptionally performed by the young actors Kare Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson. Hedebrant makes young Oskar an undeniably odd but likeable protagonist, and Leandersson (with the help of the more androgynous-sounding Elif Ceylan's dubbing) brilliantly embodies Eli with ambiguity - she's equal parts vulnerable and threatening, caring and manipulative, animalistic and human. Per Ragnar is also good as Hakan, Eli's guardian, though I personally prefer Richard Jenkins' far more empathetic portrayal of the character in Matt Reeves' remake of the film. The film is effective as a horror, with the constant feeling of tension and unease it maintains throughout, as a social drama with its story of Oskar finding the courage to stand up to his tormentors and escape his unhappy life at home, and as a love story (though a highly unconventional one). I praise Alfredson and writer John Ajvide Lindqvist (the same writer of the novel on which the film is based) for keeping the vast majority of the film's events, and character motivations up to viewer interpretation - we never quite know the extent of Hakan's relationship with Eli, other than bringing her food, nor do we know what Eli's real intentions for Oskar are, as he clearly loves her, but it's difficult to tell whether she has any real affection for him or whether she is simply grooming him to become her new guardian in case of Hakan's demise. Where the ambiguity works less well is in terms of plot-holes - it's not really clearly explained how the vengeful Lacke (Peter Carlberg) manages to piece together where Eli lives, nor why Hakan would take such a big risk by attacking a boy in a school gym changing room (the fact that it was during a night-time class and he might have been a little bit desperate don't quite seem to cover it). In the grand scheme of things, though, these are extremely minor annoyances. When a film looks this good, is so thematically rich and well performed, and keeps you engaged throughout, you'll come away thoroughly satisfied. Let the Right One In is not only a great vampire film, but an involving drama and an equal parts sinister and sweet love story - a true rarity! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cabritaAug 8, 2011
Although Let The Right One In is a struggle to sit through if you have the patience you will be pleasantly surprised to find a deeply moving love story of two kids who find refuge in there relationship when the only thing their lives know is chaos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jordan_SeymoreJun 27, 2011
I can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the AmericanI can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the American version ("Let Me In"), and hearing great things about the original Swedish version. I thought I'd give it a go considering I'd been studying the Swedish language anyway. So I took up the task of watching the film without English subtitles. I do NOT regret it. Never in any film I had witnessed prior to viewing "Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' had I seen two polar opposites such as death and love combined in such a magnificent way that it almost brought me to tears. I've watched the film three times since my original viewing and it only gets better each time. The performance(s) of Kåre Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson were simply stunning. All in all, ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' takes the classic vampire story and turns it into a beautifully woven modern tale of love, death, and adolescent challenges faced by people everyday. I would say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' is one of (if not the) greatest film(s) I have seen in the past twenty years. I wholeheartedly recommend it to everyone, and I truly say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' (Or ''Let the Right One In,'' as Americans have come to know it as) is a film you need to see before you die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MattMintageJan 13, 2012
I have a question for you all. What other vampire movie has a better ending than this one? Think long and hard, because I haven't been able to think of any other since I watched this beautifully cold Swedish film! It captures the rawness theI have a question for you all. What other vampire movie has a better ending than this one? Think long and hard, because I haven't been able to think of any other since I watched this beautifully cold Swedish film! It captures the rawness the book had, and layers a thick blue and white coating over it while it gets sprinkled with a little blood. Its characters are painfully realistic, and you can't help but cheer for the vampire girl, even though she's a "monster" inside, as well as the ever bullied Oskar, whom you cheer for when he's bullied and hope the bastards get what's coming. And the payoff, is well over any expectation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
farknashAug 19, 2011
http://mikesharkey.blogspot.com/2009/04/lat-den-ratte-komma-in-let-right-one-in.html
Hoyte van Hoytema
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bram29Dec 8, 2012
this movie is brilliant. it is unique, and good at it, and those factors totally sold it to me. the best thing about it is the dynamic between the 2 main characters. the movie is also deeply disturbing like no movie i have seen in a longthis movie is brilliant. it is unique, and good at it, and those factors totally sold it to me. the best thing about it is the dynamic between the 2 main characters. the movie is also deeply disturbing like no movie i have seen in a long time, truly befitting of the title of horror. the fact alone that this was all happening to children adds an extra layer of the deep disturbance but it is not only a horror movie! the movie works great in general, and the drama was so real. lovers of drama will love this movie the most. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hoops2448Mar 1, 2012
Calling Let The Right One In a vampire movie is insulting really because not only is it so much more than that, it also implies that Eli (Lina Leandersson) is a vampire, something the film tries very hard to avoid saying. At its heart, LetCalling Let The Right One In a vampire movie is insulting really because not only is it so much more than that, it also implies that Eli (Lina Leandersson) is a vampire, something the film tries very hard to avoid saying. At its heart, Let The Right One In is a dark, twisted story of a budding relationship between lonely, bullied Oskar (Kare Hedebrant) and blood feeding 12 year old Eli. While not as ground-breaking as people suggest, Let the Right One In is no less emotionally fulfilling. The film is mainly shown by Oskarâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91May 9, 2013
What can I say except that I was happy to see him. One of the most beautiful films I've ever seen. Made in a simple way, it came out a masterpiece (and this shows that we should not spend many millions to make a great movie). No exaggerationWhat can I say except that I was happy to see him. One of the most beautiful films I've ever seen. Made in a simple way, it came out a masterpiece (and this shows that we should not spend many millions to make a great movie). No exaggeration with special effects or other gestures that make the characters say much more than words (the best scenes are the scene of the glass and that of the pool) and an innocent love and tender that is able to kneel horror. This movie should have been paid a lot and we should not consider it as twilight because this film is much, much better than the "story" of love. This movie makes you feel wonderful emotions and recommend it to everyone, absolutely everyone to watch it because it's worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZalJan 11, 2012
I adored this movie. It's not quite as dark as the book, but it's dark enough. The acting is pretty good. The two leads are very likable and relatable and their romance feels legitimate. This is something I rarely say about movies but I wasI adored this movie. It's not quite as dark as the book, but it's dark enough. The acting is pretty good. The two leads are very likable and relatable and their romance feels legitimate. This is something I rarely say about movies but I was really able to connect with both these characters. Is it the most original story ever told? No. But it takes a premise that has been beaten to death and turns it into something simple yet effective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CoriolanusJan 25, 2015
Hands down one of my favorite films since 2000. It's slow bubbly revelation gets creepier and creepier with each moment and just allows my imagination (more than lots of gory schlock) to feed on itself until the end and by then I've terrifiedHands down one of my favorite films since 2000. It's slow bubbly revelation gets creepier and creepier with each moment and just allows my imagination (more than lots of gory schlock) to feed on itself until the end and by then I've terrified myself out of my wits. Loved everything about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleOct 26, 2015
Let the Right One In is not so much scary, as it is unsettling. An at times truly disturbing film, Let the Right One In also manages to be very emotionally impactful as you watch this relationship blossom between a lonely 12-year-old boy andLet the Right One In is not so much scary, as it is unsettling. An at times truly disturbing film, Let the Right One In also manages to be very emotionally impactful as you watch this relationship blossom between a lonely 12-year-old boy and a vampire girl. Very well-written, Let the Right One In treats both its subjects with incredible respect and extends the same respect to vampires and the genre it sits in. It may not be the scariest horror movie ever, but it definitely is a horror movie that has a deep respect for the genre. Tomas Alfredson does a fantastic job with the direction of this one, crafting a film that rides on atmosphere and tension when it does create scares, but he also shows a great non-reliance on scaring his audience outright. Rather, he is willing let you into the world's of the protagonists and see them for the disturbing (yet innocent) individuals they truly are. For a vampire movie, it also managed to not be very gory, which I appreciate. There is some blood obviously and some pretty gruesome scenes, but they are minimal and do not last long. Finally, the cinematography and imagery here are impeccable. Truly a beautiful made film that shows a mastery of the art, Let the Right One In is a horror film of the highest order. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeriosityOct 14, 2012
My favorite movie of all time. I saw it on my birthday the year it came out and it has stuck with me since. Never have I been so connected to characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CynicalJohnsonNov 16, 2012
A good film. Not a brilliant one, but a good one. It has a strange sort of pace to it, it seems to drag at times but it makes sense, in a way it adds to the tense atmosphere of it all but it can get slightly boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Expertly shot and acted, "Let The Right One In" breathes new life into the vampire genre; adding a compassionately human story of love and friendship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Honest-reviewsJun 8, 2014
Good movie, but overrated in my opinion. Ensure you get the theatrical subtitles as well, as the DVD release has awful subtitles (google the controversy to find out more info). If you don't listen to the hype surrounding this movie, I thinkGood movie, but overrated in my opinion. Ensure you get the theatrical subtitles as well, as the DVD release has awful subtitles (google the controversy to find out more info). If you don't listen to the hype surrounding this movie, I think you'll enjoy in. But don't expect the masterpiece everyone keeps banging on about! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AaronCraterJul 24, 2014
When i imagine vampires, this is exactly the type I picture. Tormented, lonely, in conflict with the nature of its own existence. The subtle use of special effects brings to mind the phrase; when you do something right, people wont be sureWhen i imagine vampires, this is exactly the type I picture. Tormented, lonely, in conflict with the nature of its own existence. The subtle use of special effects brings to mind the phrase; when you do something right, people wont be sure you did anything at all. Not to mention a beautiful depiction of young love between two lost souls so well done it makes my heart ache. By far my favorite vampire flick to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BigZOct 6, 2014
Had doubts considering this was a Swedish film. I started off by watching it dubbed over in english...I made a huge mistake. I saw about 15 minutes in that these characters were actually very well versed and perfectly cast and not listeningHad doubts considering this was a Swedish film. I started off by watching it dubbed over in english...I made a huge mistake. I saw about 15 minutes in that these characters were actually very well versed and perfectly cast and not listening to their real voices only made the full experience suffer. It's a rare occasion when you are so intrigued by a movie that you don't even mind reading subtitles the whole time. It was beautiful. I was so relived to watch this movie utterly dispel the Twilight perimeters of a vampire romance movie. Feels good. It creates a feeling of something dark and mysterious and brooding taking slow step after step into the shadows. The scary aspect was more in the disturbing reality of being a vampire than anything else. The development of the love between Eli and Oskar is bloody and odd but convincing. I really like how Oskar is not exactly a geek or nerd in appearance, just on the weird side, who when pushed in the right direction, becomes strong and assertive. I like how Eli is not particularly a give away as a vampire. She appears initially to be a normal innocent girl with a few weird tendencies, but even in her real element as a vampire, who needs to drink blood to live, doesn't carry the demeanor of a killer or maniac. She just does what she has to, while not really enjoying it. And linking them together with genuine love for each other, without conditions or anterior motives is just...awesome. These characters are just so well defined and seeing their love unfold was definitely a treat. Instant favorite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Q8MarrongGlaceAug 26, 2016
Never trust the rating score and review I'm sure there are some people who got paid for that . Ok this movie is so boring that makes me yawn classic like 80's style yet the makeup is kinda funny in some scene the plot is typical nothing newNever trust the rating score and review I'm sure there are some people who got paid for that . Ok this movie is so boring that makes me yawn classic like 80's style yet the makeup is kinda funny in some scene the plot is typical nothing new to it a vampire kind of creature blah blah blah what a waste ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WJSOct 3, 2015
Although based on a horrific premise, "Let the Right One In" is a beautiful film shot in a luscious style that perfectly capture the chilling undertones of the movie. It is violent and gory but doesn't dwell on that. It explores its horrorAlthough based on a horrific premise, "Let the Right One In" is a beautiful film shot in a luscious style that perfectly capture the chilling undertones of the movie. It is violent and gory but doesn't dwell on that. It explores its horror through the real life situations of young love, bullying and loneliness. The two young leads are quite compelling in their performances and it's directed at a pace that perfectly complements the story telling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews