Magnet Releasing | Release Date: October 24, 2008
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 497 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
452
Mixed:
16
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Debaser7Oct 8, 2016
In my top five favorite films of all time. A modern horror masterpiece, beautiful cinematography, great child acting, an eerie and creepy tone. A very poetic, engaging, tho disturbing tale. Anyone who dislikes this obviously doesn'tIn my top five favorite films of all time. A modern horror masterpiece, beautiful cinematography, great child acting, an eerie and creepy tone. A very poetic, engaging, tho disturbing tale. Anyone who dislikes this obviously doesn't understand the art of film making, because this film is art. It's American remake Let Me In heavy pales in comparison. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Q8MarrongGlaceAug 26, 2016
Never trust the rating score and review I'm sure there are some people who got paid for that . Ok this movie is so boring that makes me yawn classic like 80's style yet the makeup is kinda funny in some scene the plot is typical nothing newNever trust the rating score and review I'm sure there are some people who got paid for that . Ok this movie is so boring that makes me yawn classic like 80's style yet the makeup is kinda funny in some scene the plot is typical nothing new to it a vampire kind of creature blah blah blah what a waste ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleOct 26, 2015
Let the Right One In is not so much scary, as it is unsettling. An at times truly disturbing film, Let the Right One In also manages to be very emotionally impactful as you watch this relationship blossom between a lonely 12-year-old boy andLet the Right One In is not so much scary, as it is unsettling. An at times truly disturbing film, Let the Right One In also manages to be very emotionally impactful as you watch this relationship blossom between a lonely 12-year-old boy and a vampire girl. Very well-written, Let the Right One In treats both its subjects with incredible respect and extends the same respect to vampires and the genre it sits in. It may not be the scariest horror movie ever, but it definitely is a horror movie that has a deep respect for the genre. Tomas Alfredson does a fantastic job with the direction of this one, crafting a film that rides on atmosphere and tension when it does create scares, but he also shows a great non-reliance on scaring his audience outright. Rather, he is willing let you into the world's of the protagonists and see them for the disturbing (yet innocent) individuals they truly are. For a vampire movie, it also managed to not be very gory, which I appreciate. There is some blood obviously and some pretty gruesome scenes, but they are minimal and do not last long. Finally, the cinematography and imagery here are impeccable. Truly a beautiful made film that shows a mastery of the art, Let the Right One In is a horror film of the highest order. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WJSOct 3, 2015
Although based on a horrific premise, "Let the Right One In" is a beautiful film shot in a luscious style that perfectly capture the chilling undertones of the movie. It is violent and gory but doesn't dwell on that. It explores its horrorAlthough based on a horrific premise, "Let the Right One In" is a beautiful film shot in a luscious style that perfectly capture the chilling undertones of the movie. It is violent and gory but doesn't dwell on that. It explores its horror through the real life situations of young love, bullying and loneliness. The two young leads are quite compelling in their performances and it's directed at a pace that perfectly complements the story telling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CoriolanusJan 25, 2015
Hands down one of my favorite films since 2000. It's slow bubbly revelation gets creepier and creepier with each moment and just allows my imagination (more than lots of gory schlock) to feed on itself until the end and by then I've terrifiedHands down one of my favorite films since 2000. It's slow bubbly revelation gets creepier and creepier with each moment and just allows my imagination (more than lots of gory schlock) to feed on itself until the end and by then I've terrified myself out of my wits. Loved everything about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BigZOct 6, 2014
Had doubts considering this was a Swedish film. I started off by watching it dubbed over in english...I made a huge mistake. I saw about 15 minutes in that these characters were actually very well versed and perfectly cast and not listeningHad doubts considering this was a Swedish film. I started off by watching it dubbed over in english...I made a huge mistake. I saw about 15 minutes in that these characters were actually very well versed and perfectly cast and not listening to their real voices only made the full experience suffer. It's a rare occasion when you are so intrigued by a movie that you don't even mind reading subtitles the whole time. It was beautiful. I was so relived to watch this movie utterly dispel the Twilight perimeters of a vampire romance movie. Feels good. It creates a feeling of something dark and mysterious and brooding taking slow step after step into the shadows. The scary aspect was more in the disturbing reality of being a vampire than anything else. The development of the love between Eli and Oskar is bloody and odd but convincing. I really like how Oskar is not exactly a geek or nerd in appearance, just on the weird side, who when pushed in the right direction, becomes strong and assertive. I like how Eli is not particularly a give away as a vampire. She appears initially to be a normal innocent girl with a few weird tendencies, but even in her real element as a vampire, who needs to drink blood to live, doesn't carry the demeanor of a killer or maniac. She just does what she has to, while not really enjoying it. And linking them together with genuine love for each other, without conditions or anterior motives is just...awesome. These characters are just so well defined and seeing their love unfold was definitely a treat. Instant favorite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AaronCraterJul 24, 2014
When i imagine vampires, this is exactly the type I picture. Tormented, lonely, in conflict with the nature of its own existence. The subtle use of special effects brings to mind the phrase; when you do something right, people wont be sureWhen i imagine vampires, this is exactly the type I picture. Tormented, lonely, in conflict with the nature of its own existence. The subtle use of special effects brings to mind the phrase; when you do something right, people wont be sure you did anything at all. Not to mention a beautiful depiction of young love between two lost souls so well done it makes my heart ache. By far my favorite vampire flick to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Honest-reviewsJun 8, 2014
Good movie, but overrated in my opinion. Ensure you get the theatrical subtitles as well, as the DVD release has awful subtitles (google the controversy to find out more info). If you don't listen to the hype surrounding this movie, I thinkGood movie, but overrated in my opinion. Ensure you get the theatrical subtitles as well, as the DVD release has awful subtitles (google the controversy to find out more info). If you don't listen to the hype surrounding this movie, I think you'll enjoy in. But don't expect the masterpiece everyone keeps banging on about! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EdwinApr 9, 2014
A crisp, tasteful adaptation of a vastly layered story. Simply told and smoothly acted, Let The Right One In is the perfect companion piece to the original book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MissDraeMar 22, 2014
A fan of this movie I was not. Eww, Let the right one in , more like no. I was just done with this movie right from the beginning. Save *you're money, betch!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
axelkochNov 2, 2013
Gory thrillers are basically all that Scandinavian movies are famous for worldwide and Tomas Alfredson doesn’t want to share away from this with his vampire flick Let the Right One In (Låt den rätte komma in). But the Swedish production thatGory thrillers are basically all that Scandinavian movies are famous for worldwide and Tomas Alfredson doesn’t want to share away from this with his vampire flick Let the Right One In (Låt den rätte komma in). But the Swedish production that has been showed at pretty much any film festival imaginable still isn’t what you’d call mainstream. The main characters are a twelve-year-old bullying victim and a vampiress of the same age just that she’s been twelve for a longer time. Now does that sound odd to you? Well, it is. Damn right it is.
To spice up the somberly snowed landscape of the northernmost part of Europe with some blood is a great idea stylistically and the Dutch cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema knows exactly how can he make the murder scenes rememberable. However, he’s quite a singularity with this in the cast of Let the Right One In. One could pick on the fact that the child actors don’t feel genuine, the director has a way too austere approach to an unbelievable story, or that there isn’t any suspense at all, but eventually, all boils down to the mixture of horror, drama, romance, and coming-of-age story that just doesn’t work. For example, one scene shows a man brutally slaughtering another man, and the next shows the flirtation of two kids. But that alone wouldn’t have ruined the movie for me it’s a handful of plainly ridiculous scenes that made it impossible for me to take Let the Right One In seriously. In one, a woman gets attacked by a dozen cats in a Scary Movie manner, in another one, the same woman ignites herself in a hospital bed, and what we also get to see are the bare nether regions of a twelve-year-old girl a scene that confirms her previous comment, she isn’t a girl. Oh, and the best is yet to come: a close-up shot of a man who’s burned his face with acid! Think of it like The Dar Knight’s Two-Face with worse prosthetics.
If there aren’t any of such idiotic moments, time is bypassed with boring dialogs, which accumulate to a sheerly unendurable sum over the course of almost two hours running time. All of this is disappointing, considering the potential some rare scenes show as in the one, in which protagonist Oskar visits his divorced father and the lovely father-son-ambiance suddenly leaves as a buddy of his father stops by and leads him away from the offspring and to alcohol. This particular scene is short and mostly silent, but still probably the best of the film because it for once manages to emotionally affect the audience.
The overall product though, is really disappointing. You can’t accuse Let the Right One In of using clichés, but that alone doesn’t make a film original in this case, it only makes it to an unfrightening horror film, an unmoving romance, and a drama too ridiculous to take seriously.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ThefilmnerdJul 2, 2013
Hands down for the best film of 2008. I really liked this movie, and it is a big comeback to the vampire movies. Today we have "The Vampire Diaries", "True Blood" and "Twilight". But forget them, because "Let The Right One In" is a movie thatHands down for the best film of 2008. I really liked this movie, and it is a big comeback to the vampire movies. Today we have "The Vampire Diaries", "True Blood" and "Twilight". But forget them, because "Let The Right One In" is a movie that shows that just because a vampire and a human can become friends and later on lovers, dosen´t mean that it must be a boring and stupid romantic movie (like Twilight). "Let The Right One In" does feature a little romance, but its also a disturbing and a scary movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91May 9, 2013
What can I say except that I was happy to see him. One of the most beautiful films I've ever seen. Made in a simple way, it came out a masterpiece (and this shows that we should not spend many millions to make a great movie). No exaggerationWhat can I say except that I was happy to see him. One of the most beautiful films I've ever seen. Made in a simple way, it came out a masterpiece (and this shows that we should not spend many millions to make a great movie). No exaggeration with special effects or other gestures that make the characters say much more than words (the best scenes are the scene of the glass and that of the pool) and an innocent love and tender that is able to kneel horror. This movie should have been paid a lot and we should not consider it as twilight because this film is much, much better than the "story" of love. This movie makes you feel wonderful emotions and recommend it to everyone, absolutely everyone to watch it because it's worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bram29Dec 8, 2012
this movie is brilliant. it is unique, and good at it, and those factors totally sold it to me. the best thing about it is the dynamic between the 2 main characters. the movie is also deeply disturbing like no movie i have seen in a longthis movie is brilliant. it is unique, and good at it, and those factors totally sold it to me. the best thing about it is the dynamic between the 2 main characters. the movie is also deeply disturbing like no movie i have seen in a long time, truly befitting of the title of horror. the fact alone that this was all happening to children adds an extra layer of the deep disturbance but it is not only a horror movie! the movie works great in general, and the drama was so real. lovers of drama will love this movie the most. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Expertly shot and acted, "Let The Right One In" breathes new life into the vampire genre; adding a compassionately human story of love and friendship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CynicalJohnsonNov 16, 2012
A good film. Not a brilliant one, but a good one. It has a strange sort of pace to it, it seems to drag at times but it makes sense, in a way it adds to the tense atmosphere of it all but it can get slightly boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Spot21Oct 30, 2012
A perfect movie. Went in expecting a decent vampire flick. Was totally blown away. It wasn't just a great vampire movie, it was a great movie in general. I highly recommend this to any cinema lovers out there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeriosityOct 14, 2012
My favorite movie of all time. I saw it on my birthday the year it came out and it has stuck with me since. Never have I been so connected to characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hoops2448Mar 1, 2012
Calling Let The Right One In a vampire movie is insulting really because not only is it so much more than that, it also implies that Eli (Lina Leandersson) is a vampire, something the film tries very hard to avoid saying. At its heart, LetCalling Let The Right One In a vampire movie is insulting really because not only is it so much more than that, it also implies that Eli (Lina Leandersson) is a vampire, something the film tries very hard to avoid saying. At its heart, Let The Right One In is a dark, twisted story of a budding relationship between lonely, bullied Oskar (Kare Hedebrant) and blood feeding 12 year old Eli. While not as ground-breaking as people suggest, Let the Right One In is no less emotionally fulfilling. The film is mainly shown by Oskarâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanFeb 29, 2012
Let the Right One In not only re-invents and updates the vampire genre, but uses it as a tool to tackle some really quite complex and heady themes. Though his film is heavy in symbolism and subtext, director Tomas Alfredson never loses sightLet the Right One In not only re-invents and updates the vampire genre, but uses it as a tool to tackle some really quite complex and heady themes. Though his film is heavy in symbolism and subtext, director Tomas Alfredson never loses sight of what really matters - his characters and their relationship. The lonely, bullied 12 year-old boy Oskar and the mysterious "more or less" 12 year-old vampire Eli, both roles exceptionally performed by the young actors Kare Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson. Hedebrant makes young Oskar an undeniably odd but likeable protagonist, and Leandersson (with the help of the more androgynous-sounding Elif Ceylan's dubbing) brilliantly embodies Eli with ambiguity - she's equal parts vulnerable and threatening, caring and manipulative, animalistic and human. Per Ragnar is also good as Hakan, Eli's guardian, though I personally prefer Richard Jenkins' far more empathetic portrayal of the character in Matt Reeves' remake of the film. The film is effective as a horror, with the constant feeling of tension and unease it maintains throughout, as a social drama with its story of Oskar finding the courage to stand up to his tormentors and escape his unhappy life at home, and as a love story (though a highly unconventional one). I praise Alfredson and writer John Ajvide Lindqvist (the same writer of the novel on which the film is based) for keeping the vast majority of the film's events, and character motivations up to viewer interpretation - we never quite know the extent of Hakan's relationship with Eli, other than bringing her food, nor do we know what Eli's real intentions for Oskar are, as he clearly loves her, but it's difficult to tell whether she has any real affection for him or whether she is simply grooming him to become her new guardian in case of Hakan's demise. Where the ambiguity works less well is in terms of plot-holes - it's not really clearly explained how the vengeful Lacke (Peter Carlberg) manages to piece together where Eli lives, nor why Hakan would take such a big risk by attacking a boy in a school gym changing room (the fact that it was during a night-time class and he might have been a little bit desperate don't quite seem to cover it). In the grand scheme of things, though, these are extremely minor annoyances. When a film looks this good, is so thematically rich and well performed, and keeps you engaged throughout, you'll come away thoroughly satisfied. Let the Right One In is not only a great vampire film, but an involving drama and an equal parts sinister and sweet love story - a true rarity! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MattMintageJan 13, 2012
I have a question for you all. What other vampire movie has a better ending than this one? Think long and hard, because I haven't been able to think of any other since I watched this beautifully cold Swedish film! It captures the rawness theI have a question for you all. What other vampire movie has a better ending than this one? Think long and hard, because I haven't been able to think of any other since I watched this beautifully cold Swedish film! It captures the rawness the book had, and layers a thick blue and white coating over it while it gets sprinkled with a little blood. Its characters are painfully realistic, and you can't help but cheer for the vampire girl, even though she's a "monster" inside, as well as the ever bullied Oskar, whom you cheer for when he's bullied and hope the bastards get what's coming. And the payoff, is well over any expectation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZalJan 11, 2012
I adored this movie. It's not quite as dark as the book, but it's dark enough. The acting is pretty good. The two leads are very likable and relatable and their romance feels legitimate. This is something I rarely say about movies but I wasI adored this movie. It's not quite as dark as the book, but it's dark enough. The acting is pretty good. The two leads are very likable and relatable and their romance feels legitimate. This is something I rarely say about movies but I was really able to connect with both these characters. Is it the most original story ever told? No. But it takes a premise that has been beaten to death and turns it into something simple yet effective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
rotkuNov 3, 2011
Original and well acted with strong character development. The fact that the storyline didn't fantasise and made you feel that the story was set in a real situation with real people meant that this movie made a mockery of most of the vampireOriginal and well acted with strong character development. The fact that the storyline didn't fantasise and made you feel that the story was set in a real situation with real people meant that this movie made a mockery of most of the vampire movies released in the past few years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
rnnbrwnOct 12, 2011
Having just read the original book by John Ajvide Lindqvist, I was really looking forward to finally seeing this. I wasn't disappointed, but couldn't help but feel a little underwhelmed due to the amount of plot that didn't make theHaving just read the original book by John Ajvide Lindqvist, I was really looking forward to finally seeing this. I wasn't disappointed, but couldn't help but feel a little underwhelmed due to the amount of plot that didn't make the transition from page to screen.

A good film, but not on a par with the book.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
farknashAug 19, 2011
http://mikesharkey.blogspot.com/2009/04/lat-den-ratte-komma-in-let-right-one-in.html
Hoyte van Hoytema
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cabritaAug 8, 2011
Although Let The Right One In is a struggle to sit through if you have the patience you will be pleasantly surprised to find a deeply moving love story of two kids who find refuge in there relationship when the only thing their lives know is chaos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TetsuoAug 3, 2011
As a fan of the book this has to be the best adaptation of a horror novel since The Exorcist. The child actors act like real kids instead of 20 somethings pretending to be teenagers. It has marvelous cinematography and sticks closer to theAs a fan of the book this has to be the best adaptation of a horror novel since The Exorcist. The child actors act like real kids instead of 20 somethings pretending to be teenagers. It has marvelous cinematography and sticks closer to the vampire mythology and this puts Stephanie Meyer's Twilight to shame since both the book and film were released after Let The Right One In. It proves that international features are fresh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jordan_SeymoreJun 27, 2011
I can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the AmericanI can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the American version ("Let Me In"), and hearing great things about the original Swedish version. I thought I'd give it a go considering I'd been studying the Swedish language anyway. So I took up the task of watching the film without English subtitles. I do NOT regret it. Never in any film I had witnessed prior to viewing "Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' had I seen two polar opposites such as death and love combined in such a magnificent way that it almost brought me to tears. I've watched the film three times since my original viewing and it only gets better each time. The performance(s) of Kåre Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson were simply stunning. All in all, ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' takes the classic vampire story and turns it into a beautifully woven modern tale of love, death, and adolescent challenges faced by people everyday. I would say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' is one of (if not the) greatest film(s) I have seen in the past twenty years. I wholeheartedly recommend it to everyone, and I truly say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' (Or ''Let the Right One In,'' as Americans have come to know it as) is a film you need to see before you die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
google_calasadeMay 31, 2011
I'll not dare try to do this film justice with words. It is only one of two movies I will rate a 10. Spooky, tasteful, alarming, wonderful. Let the Right One In is all of those things. It has the soul that Hollywood seems to have lost inI'll not dare try to do this film justice with words. It is only one of two movies I will rate a 10. Spooky, tasteful, alarming, wonderful. Let the Right One In is all of those things. It has the soul that Hollywood seems to have lost in its attempt for bigger, better action and special effects. All the actors and actresses in this work of art (yes, it is literally that and much more) are superb, but the best? Lina Leandersson. The girl can project more emotion with her eyes than most can using speech and every other tool. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SugargliderApr 22, 2011
I can't say enough good things about this film, so I guess I'll just say one. The main reason this movie worked so well for me is quite simple: I have never (and likely will never) have a stronger emotional connection with the characters. TooI can't say enough good things about this film, so I guess I'll just say one. The main reason this movie worked so well for me is quite simple: I have never (and likely will never) have a stronger emotional connection with the characters. Too many films rely on things like SFX, creative camera-work, bright colors and flashy visuals to draw audiences into the film's world. Here, there's almost none of that. All you have is the writing and the characters. And, shockingly, those two things alone amount to, literally, the best film than I have ever seen. No joke. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CharlottePApr 13, 2011
Creepy, ethereal and peculiarly moving tale of pre-adolescent revenge, a blood-sucking superannuated 12 year old (brilliantly played by a real 12 year old), extreme cold (debuting as an additional character here) and first love. Free of theCreepy, ethereal and peculiarly moving tale of pre-adolescent revenge, a blood-sucking superannuated 12 year old (brilliantly played by a real 12 year old), extreme cold (debuting as an additional character here) and first love. Free of the the burden of superstylisation and the glossy pretensions which have spoiled vampire films since time began, this is, refreshingly, a story as much about love and loneliness as it is about vampires. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
arianejlFeb 1, 2011
This is perhaps the best movie I've seen in the past two years.. It is sober and powerful, beautifully acted and directed, everything is just right. Absolutely not to be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
extextJan 18, 2011
It achieves not only the implementation of vampires without roaming superfluously -- unlike the frivolous notion of aggregating werewolves, vampires, and a teenage girl with the oh so excruciating dilemma of a fetish pertaining to eitherIt achieves not only the implementation of vampires without roaming superfluously -- unlike the frivolous notion of aggregating werewolves, vampires, and a teenage girl with the oh so excruciating dilemma of a fetish pertaining to either necrophilia or bestiality -- but also artistically and masterfully elicits the subjects of loneliness, romance, and horror. From the vista that is the cinematography ubiquitous in black nights and white snow, to the authentic performances displayed therein, Let The Right One In, again, is a masterful film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HelleThJan 17, 2011
The first time I saw this film I was all alone in an art cinema in Copenhagen. And I was completely baffled. The main characters took me in in a way that I hadn't thought possible whilst putting the word horror and vampire flick together inThe first time I saw this film I was all alone in an art cinema in Copenhagen. And I was completely baffled. The main characters took me in in a way that I hadn't thought possible whilst putting the word horror and vampire flick together in my head. The settings for the film are so bleak in that 70'ies building complex, in the dead of winter and so completely devout of colors that it can't but make an impression. The feeling of impending doom is everywhere from the start - first in Oskar being followed and bullied, then in a young vampire's struggle for survival and even in her helper's struggle to help her. And this feeling of doom that stuck with me throughout the film stayed with me afterwords. I keep reading that the Swedish director knows exactly what childhood is all about and that his way of portraying this is without comparison - I'm happy to say that my childhood was nothing like what is portrayed in this film and keeping the feeling this film installed in me in mind, I'm very grateful for this. I quite simply love this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
GusJan 3, 2011
This movie was just not interesting. It bored me half to death. It barely had any good scares. The little boy was annoying. A lot of the scenes could have been brilliant if they were just quicker and more intense, but they weren't. The scenesThis movie was just not interesting. It bored me half to death. It barely had any good scares. The little boy was annoying. A lot of the scenes could have been brilliant if they were just quicker and more intense, but they weren't. The scenes that should've been intense just plodded along endlessly. This is one of those instances where music could have done wonders for a movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
Given that the film is originally from Sweden gives the film edge before even viewing it, but this film is mainly a series of events tied together. It's mainly centered on Oskar, who is being bullied by his classmates but never has theGiven that the film is originally from Sweden gives the film edge before even viewing it, but this film is mainly a series of events tied together. It's mainly centered on Oskar, who is being bullied by his classmates but never has the courage to strike back. Then he meets Eli, a girl who is about his age and they slowly start to fall for each other. But Eli is leaving out one little detail, she is a blood sucking vampire! With an implication that Oskar is lonely, he soons accepts the fact that she is one because he loves her. Eli is tied to bloody deaths around the town, but the director focuses more on Eli's and Oskar's relationship and there sides of the family rather than criminal investigations and the creature feature aspect. He does it simply by positioning the camera's in a wide shot where the action is happening. Unlike American horror, "Let the Right one In" excludes any crescendos and develops a nice storyline that keeps you interested, but everything appears blan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mckillustratorNov 1, 2010
*No spoiler review* An atypical vampire story done right...finally! If you are sick and tired of the sexy and sleak vampire stories of recent times like Twilight or True Blood (and I certainly am) give this movie a watch; I can't see how you*No spoiler review* An atypical vampire story done right...finally! If you are sick and tired of the sexy and sleak vampire stories of recent times like Twilight or True Blood (and I certainly am) give this movie a watch; I can't see how you could possibly be disappointed. For the story/plot I give the movie 8 out of 10. The story has the best of both worlds when it comes to American vs Foreign cinema. While it progresses at a pace that doesn't allow for drowsiness it still unfolds calmly and with a good amount of mystery; and things are not always explicitly explained, which I love. Aesthically/visually I give the movie 8/10. The cinematography is beautiful and there are sometimes some really interesting and creative shots. This movie definitely utilizes the power of visual storytelling. I would also like to point out in this section that the music is awesome! It's a really ambient orchestral score that fits totally well in the context of the movie and also stands on its own at times. Overall this film was top notch and one of the best movies in general I've seen in a while. I was completely engrossed from start to finish and I plan on watching it a second and third time very soon (if that's not a positive review of a movie I don't know what is). I took away 2 points out of 10 from my score because of a certain very silly scene involving some cats (you'll know when you see it) and because while it is freakin' awesome (seriously, see it) it is not so big a revelation as to warrant a 9 or 10 score reserved for the truly best pictures out there. There's no reason to be hesitant or timid about seeing this. It has such a high user AND critical score for a reason. Stop reading reviews and rent or stream this on a night when you can be engaged in a good movie. Don't sacrifice this beauty to that "I'm pretty tired so I'll just throw on this movie until I fall asleep and finish it tomorrow" kind of night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AnthonymeduriOct 9, 2010
One of the most refreshing vampire films you'll see this decade. The story is poetic yet disturbing and the leads are well cast. Watching it with good friends will only improve the experience.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
joshuaberthiaumOct 8, 2010
Overall, this was truly a story for the intellect, after watching I sat for days unable to watch another movie, or even think about anything else really. The movie was a haunting, original take on vampires, which is refreshing in light of theOverall, this was truly a story for the intellect, after watching I sat for days unable to watch another movie, or even think about anything else really. The movie was a haunting, original take on vampires, which is refreshing in light of the new "Teen Vampire" fad. It was a beautiful movie about companionship and the true nature of evil. Could not have been a better cast selected for these children. Everyone should see this movie, because it's difficult to describe what it makes you feel. Definitely a unique experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
PayupSep 29, 2010
I watched an English dubbed version of 'Let the Right One In' and was extremely disappointed. The critics had led me to believe that this was the greatest vampire movie of all time, but whether it was due to the terrible dubbing or not, i didI watched an English dubbed version of 'Let the Right One In' and was extremely disappointed. The critics had led me to believe that this was the greatest vampire movie of all time, but whether it was due to the terrible dubbing or not, i did not see any entertainment value whatsoever in this boring mess of a movie which, i can honestly say, was slightly worse than the atrocious twilight movies. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
sebastianSep 14, 2010
Captures the quiet eeriness and beauty of the Swedish landscape just as well as it confidently maps the contours of human sociality. The combination of the two geographies sears itself more deeply into memory than the pomp and circumstanceCaptures the quiet eeriness and beauty of the Swedish landscape just as well as it confidently maps the contours of human sociality. The combination of the two geographies sears itself more deeply into memory than the pomp and circumstance of more ambitious (but less effective) films. Redeems chocolate as a symbol for love. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
x0laniAug 26, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely one of the most original vampire stories I've seen in a long time, with an odd mixture of childlike innocence and gore. In the end, though, it's not completely compelling and some of the situations require a herculean suspension of disbelief, such as when victims are being killed in what is practically broad daylight... out in the open... with lots of witnesses... and those witness barely register any emotional response or even call the police. On top of that, it's a bit slow. The two young leads act their parts brilliantly, however there rest of the characters are mere caricature. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Boy gets bullied at school, meets strange girl, becomes friends, people get murdered in the town, learns Morse code, hits back at bullies, strange girl isn't what she seems.
Swedish film which is a sort of dark fairytale about adolescence in
Boy gets bullied at school, meets strange girl, becomes friends, people get murdered in the town, learns Morse code, hits back at bullies, strange girl isn't what she seems.
Swedish film which is a sort of dark fairytale about adolescence in a small town.The two main actors are excellent & has some beautiful cinematography & atmospheric music to get the feel of the place.
It is quite slow in parts but overall a lot better than some of the other vampire films that have been made recently.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SeanF.Jan 17, 2010
Definitely the right one to let in. I
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BenBJan 11, 2010
Horrible movie, no value whatsoever. The only movie I've ever seen that's as bad as this is Clockwork Orange. Both were foreign, they have no continuity or surface meaning. It's just random ridiculous nonsense. I HATED this movie!
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JackPNov 12, 2009
Simply put, one of the most engaging movie experiences of the decade, even if it moves at a pace that some may describe as glacial, and leaves many questions unanswered. Which is part of its power. The stunning contrast of the wintry Simply put, one of the most engaging movie experiences of the decade, even if it moves at a pace that some may describe as glacial, and leaves many questions unanswered. Which is part of its power. The stunning contrast of the wintry stillness and the sudden bursts of red-blooded violence brings to mind the sometimes surreal world of pre-adolescence, where the extraordinary coexists with the dullness of the world of the adults. An instant classic if there ever was one, it dwarfs all recent efforts in the genre, and once its subtle but powerful fangs sink in your mind you may find yourself haunted for a very long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewFOct 19, 2009
I love that this movie does not explore every element of the plot, details, and character relationships. It allows the film to serve as a window to a familiar but imaginary world and lets the viewer use their own imagination to fill in all I love that this movie does not explore every element of the plot, details, and character relationships. It allows the film to serve as a window to a familiar but imaginary world and lets the viewer use their own imagination to fill in all sorts of things, be it the nature of Eli's relationship w the man she lives with, Oskars father and his friend, the future of Oskar and Eli, etc. These loose ends allow me to stay in the story, rather than it being just a cut and dry 2 hr experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RMOct 18, 2009
One of my favourite films in recent memory. The relationship between the two lead characters moved even my stone heart, and had me thinking for sometime after it finished - trying to figure out Eli's exact attitude or intentions toward One of my favourite films in recent memory. The relationship between the two lead characters moved even my stone heart, and had me thinking for sometime after it finished - trying to figure out Eli's exact attitude or intentions toward Oscar but then taking some comfort in the fact that, even if the intentions were darker than I would ideally like them to be, they both need and fit with each other. Don't mean to lose anyone there. This is quite a bizarre film but one that I would highly recommend, as somebody once recommended to me. The film was stunningly bleak to look at and its slow pace went down well with me. The two twelve year-old actors, playing twelve year-old characters, were incredible and it was crucial that this was the case because child actors can be pretty banal sometimes. I hear Hollywood are doing a remake but plan to call it "Let me in" because that is more catchy. Sounds like a tragedy already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewK.Oct 17, 2009
Owen Gleiberman never actually saw this movie. At least not sober.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MicaMSep 14, 2009
It's one of the most beautiful movies I've ever seen. And touching. I wasn't expecting it when I watched but I was really surprised and pleased with this movie and specially with the actors. they were brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CourtneyBAug 11, 2009
I can't explain how it did it, but this film completely drew me into the quiet atmosphere and it really moved me emotionally. I was thinking about it for days afterward. So beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
adamhAug 7, 2009
I personally loved the film the scors for the film are amazing osker in love and the farther are me personal favs i found the film gripping and i have seen it 5 times in 4 days day 1 i seen it on comp then bought the dvd getting the book I personally loved the film the scors for the film are amazing osker in love and the farther are me personal favs i found the film gripping and i have seen it 5 times in 4 days day 1 i seen it on comp then bought the dvd getting the book cant weight to read it gr8 film 10/10 one of the best vampire movies in a ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaulWAug 6, 2009
Ponderous and empty, minimalism at its absolute worst. And a big fat lol at the glorifying reviews so many vote bots seem so fit to aim at this exercise in dullness. The acting is bland, very stiff dialog and no progression in either the Ponderous and empty, minimalism at its absolute worst. And a big fat lol at the glorifying reviews so many vote bots seem so fit to aim at this exercise in dullness. The acting is bland, very stiff dialog and no progression in either the development of the characters or the story itself. For a worthwhile outlandish 'horror', I suggest you turn to Korea in stead of Sweden. For drama, anything else will do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeGJul 18, 2009
Gems like these are a dime a dozen. A title worthy of universal acclaim. Who would have thought that two 12 year old lovers could possess the intensity to surpass adult dramas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BurgerJul 13, 2009
Spellbinding and the swimming pool scene is pure genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
C.ChambersJun 22, 2009
Just finished watching this movie...and I have to say I did enjoy the story...I'm a sucker for a good vampire movie...that said, the pace of the movie just didn't do it for me...it was a struggle to keep up with due to the pacing Just finished watching this movie...and I have to say I did enjoy the story...I'm a sucker for a good vampire movie...that said, the pace of the movie just didn't do it for me...it was a struggle to keep up with due to the pacing of the film-very SLOW...loved the little girl who played the vampire! Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful
10
DoctorMontalbanJun 22, 2009
This movie is brilliant. It's telling that you have to go to foreign cinema to see something made with quality and depth, rather than the hacked McDonald's-esque crap that Hollywood churns out for the teeny boppers (looking right This movie is brilliant. It's telling that you have to go to foreign cinema to see something made with quality and depth, rather than the hacked McDonald's-esque crap that Hollywood churns out for the teeny boppers (looking right at you Twilight). Definitely follow other reviewers advice and watch it in Swedish with English subs. This movie is stirring on a number of levels, I'll leave it at that. To the guy saying it lacked depth and intensity, I'll just say that it was there and then some, but it was clearly lost on you. Just one piece, that I'll keep spoiler-free, is the juxtaposition of Oskar and Eli's companion/guardian/EX?!?!....i.e. a glimpse of Oskar's future state.....anyhow, Twilight's there for those that prefer to be unchallenged. Anyhow, I'm glad it's getting so much critical respect, b/c it's well deserved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DcraftJun 21, 2009
A vampire film with as much heart as gore. No patent leather, slick-fashion-wear, or uber-cool characters turn this into a puberty-struck superhero fantasy. The casting and acting is superb. There is a real sense of intimacy and empathy for A vampire film with as much heart as gore. No patent leather, slick-fashion-wear, or uber-cool characters turn this into a puberty-struck superhero fantasy. The casting and acting is superb. There is a real sense of intimacy and empathy for the young characters. Occasional, but awesome special effects add little shocks in this minimalist treatment. The director's use of mise-in-scene is all the more artistic when coupled with the stark scenery. This is the best vampire film I've seen. Due to language patterns, hearing the original Swedish with English subtitles sounds more emotive than the dubbing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaleJun 21, 2009
Finally watched this last night, and its quickly went into my list of favorite films. A classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanJJun 9, 2009
Pacing, script, cinematography... everything that could possibly go right in a production did in this one. My favourite movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikaelHMay 25, 2009
Awesome movie ! ! !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DavidFMay 21, 2009
After shuffling restlessly in my seat waiting for some interest, at last the film began to pick up - as the end credits started to run!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
YR&M-CLMay 20, 2009
This film is way overrated (we give it a generous 6/10) even without considering the poor dubbing. We didn't care for the characters and found the movie was dull. It really lacked depth and any kind of intensity. This film will not This film is way overrated (we give it a generous 6/10) even without considering the poor dubbing. We didn't care for the characters and found the movie was dull. It really lacked depth and any kind of intensity. This film will not please to everybody, despite its consistently good rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkyMarkMay 19, 2009
It's very good, but only in swedish version.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CSMay 10, 2009
It took a while to get goin but when it did it was a real suprise. I truley loved this movie. Wasn't sure what it was about when I first started watching it but it turned out to be an original yet familiar take on a vampire love story It took a while to get goin but when it did it was a real suprise. I truley loved this movie. Wasn't sure what it was about when I first started watching it but it turned out to be an original yet familiar take on a vampire love story between two young children. Brilliantly dark and moving right to the end, watch and enjoy Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeNMay 7, 2009
This is a good film IF YOU WATCH IT IN ITS ORIGINAL LANGUAGE WITH SUBTITLES. Do not, I repeat, do not watch this with the horribe english dub. Why would you watch that anyways? Haven't you learned by now that all dubs ruin films? This is a good film IF YOU WATCH IT IN ITS ORIGINAL LANGUAGE WITH SUBTITLES. Do not, I repeat, do not watch this with the horribe english dub. Why would you watch that anyways? Haven't you learned by now that all dubs ruin films? Nothing philosophical here, just a simple good film. Watch it on DVD and switch the audio to swedish with eng subtitles and enjoy something different. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobNMay 7, 2009
It is best to know something about a reviewer in order to judge the relevance of their view. I am not a horror fan. Well, not American horror at least. The decent foriegn films that make their way into the states typically are subtle and It is best to know something about a reviewer in order to judge the relevance of their view. I am not a horror fan. Well, not American horror at least. The decent foriegn films that make their way into the states typically are subtle and psychological as opposed to the violence porn we Americans have come to expect. This is a prime example. Subtle, minimal, brooding, and great. Please, spare the Bergman comparisons (who I hold to be overrated, but still a great director.) This film is not "deep." It is good. Is it scary? Yes and no. Is it different? Yes. Is it worth seeing? Absolutely. I despise vampire films due to their stupidity and overt morbid sexuality. This is a film about loneliness and childhood. Simple as that. Simplicity is the KEY to making a good film i.e. Akira Kurosawa and Kiyoshi Kurosawa. Great scenes, good acting, great film score, respect for the intelligence of the viewer = Great movie. And yes, the pool scene at the end of the film is one of the best I have seen in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinMay 6, 2009
This is such a beautiful film. It's dark and sad but at the same time it's warm in a special kind of way and there were some moments that made me smile a bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulFMay 5, 2009
Dracula's daughter meets Nietzsche's adolescent angst with a tweeny bit of love thrown in the mix. The film was quite realistic, at least for a 12 year old vampire living in Sweden. Actually all kidding aside Let the Right One In Dracula's daughter meets Nietzsche's adolescent angst with a tweeny bit of love thrown in the mix. The film was quite realistic, at least for a 12 year old vampire living in Sweden. Actually all kidding aside Let the Right One In was superbly acted. The two main child actors were real gems. Let the Right One In was also immensely rich with emotional depth. If this film did have a fault is that it was that it was persistently morose. [***WARNING POTENTIAL SPOILER***] What the director interprets (or tried to project) as a happy ending really was horrifying. Either that or Swedes are more depressive than I thought. OK it could be interpreted that Oskar was not Eli's butt monkey Renfield in that he did not eat bugs and probably wasn't simply being used by her to fulfill a need as her feeling for him seemed genuine. But still he did run away from home to help a serial killer, granted vampire by necessity. Yet vampires need love too, right? I guess the crux of the film was about the powerful mutual connection that evolved be-tween these two even in the mist of the most darkest of contexts, pure unadulterated (another pun) violence. Also that Eli nor Oskar's violent fantasies weren't simply portrayed as evil. There was a certain isness about the film in general that avoided moralistic dualities. In this sense was the strong existential and stoic undercurrents. In short Let the Right One In is the thinking man's/woman's film. Personally I prefer Buffy & Angel which are also highly philosophical yet gave the viewers a much needed breaks using comedy and social drama. However for what it was Let the Right One In was right on the money. If Ingrid Bergman made a film about vampire's this would be pretty darn close to the end product he might create. This is a compliment. But at the same time it's not always easy to stick with a Bergman film. They are the type of films you work at and hopefully come away with something more than just the taste of eye candy. In this case mission accomplished. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulMApr 18, 2009
Stunning slow burning film. Very reminiscint of Lost in Translation with er vampires. Wonderfully acted, great cinematography... loved every bit of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatiasCApr 17, 2009
This film represent what a good terror film should be: blood, scary people, great atmosphere and an excelent story! I can't describe how impress I am about this 90 min thiller makes me feel. Impressive ending!! Just watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatE.Apr 12, 2009
The start of the movie began bland and at first it was hard to tell if it was suppose to be thriller, horror or drama (i wouldn't know since im not swedish) and at first your thinking, this has got to be one of the worst movies The start of the movie began bland and at first it was hard to tell if it was suppose to be thriller, horror or drama (i wouldn't know since im not swedish) and at first your thinking, this has got to be one of the worst movies I've even seen....but then it begins to get better the further into the movie you go. Then you begin to feel sorry for a boy who can't defend himself against a few bullies. Then a boy meets a vamp chick, not a wanna be vamp chick....A REAL VAMPIRE. She just so happens to be his age sorta, which leaves you wondering just when is she gonna turn him? For some reason she has a fondness toward the boy....and what starts a a friendship begins to blossom into a subtle romance. In the end it was a good movie for those who look at the elements. Might not be everyones type of movie. It wasn't a 10 for me....but close enough. Those who like such a subtle not so violent and gore filled move will surely enjoy. I figure if I was swedish there would be more to it that I would understand. As Paul D said, one of the greatest endings in a movie i've ever seen. This is what american film still struggles to get right! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamBApr 9, 2009
I first heard about this story when I read about a little budget film in Empire magazine, I'm a Vamp fan and love the genre. Its dark and moody, but the friendship and possibly love that forms between Oskar and Eli just shines and makes I first heard about this story when I read about a little budget film in Empire magazine, I'm a Vamp fan and love the genre. Its dark and moody, but the friendship and possibly love that forms between Oskar and Eli just shines and makes this a magical movie. Violent in some scenes although not as much as the novel (A must read btw) but it works amazingly well. MY best film of the year thus far and now one of my all time top 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneRApr 7, 2009
One of the best horror films ever made. This could just as easily be a story of an innocent boy or girl who is abused or ignored by their parents and hence become enslaved by the evil of the world under the guise of friendship. I see no love One of the best horror films ever made. This could just as easily be a story of an innocent boy or girl who is abused or ignored by their parents and hence become enslaved by the evil of the world under the guise of friendship. I see no love story here. it seems obvious to me that the little vampire, who needs a replacement for her now incompetent familiar , sets her designs on the boy from the beginning. The story revolves upon itself. As the familiar was so will the boy become and vice versa. Superb film. Chilling and haunting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulDApr 2, 2009
This is the best movie of 2008 in my opinion. A dark and haunting fairy tale that has an ending for the ages. One of the absolute best endings I have ever seen in a movie. You will be thinking about it for days if not weeks. The use of music This is the best movie of 2008 in my opinion. A dark and haunting fairy tale that has an ending for the ages. One of the absolute best endings I have ever seen in a movie. You will be thinking about it for days if not weeks. The use of music is incredible in this movie and was the best use of music last year. The young actors are perfect in their roles. The film will no doubt be butchered by it's Americanized remake, but this nearly flawless swedish version deserves to be seen by everyone that considers themselves a movie person. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SandyHApr 2, 2009
I watch a lot of movies, and I appreciate and very often agree with the reviewers, who reneder us a great service. It's rare I'll take the time to watch a movie that the critics pan, as a matter of fact, unless I have good reason I watch a lot of movies, and I appreciate and very often agree with the reviewers, who reneder us a great service. It's rare I'll take the time to watch a movie that the critics pan, as a matter of fact, unless I have good reason to--recs from friends, genre that isn't about plot and acting, etc. I was, therefore, completely ready to be stunned by the excellence of this film. Wow. Was I underwhelmed! When I was telling a fellow filmophile about it, this morning, I had to acknowledge its debt to Bergmann, in that it is so minimalistic in its plot, dialogue, scenes, and cinematography. The children are pretty and I won't quibble with their acting. But my impression of the movie is that in its attempt at minimalism, it has achieved, instead, shallowness--a very different thing There is no depth to the characters or to the story. In Bergmann films, very often the characters are iconoclastic, representing ideas, principles, psychological states, classic conflicts, etc. It is apparent that this movie aspires to that import, but instead of archetypes, the characters are little more than caricatures. There is just not enough depth and substance to warrant the praise this movie has received--not in my humble opinion, anyway. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PeteWApr 1, 2009
From the reviews I'd read I expected something fresh and interesting from this one, but in the end it did nothing for me. First, the grim aesthetics made me squirm: everything is unremittingly ugly, faded, and bleak, and the characters From the reviews I'd read I expected something fresh and interesting from this one, but in the end it did nothing for me. First, the grim aesthetics made me squirm: everything is unremittingly ugly, faded, and bleak, and the characters show a typical Scandinavian lack of affect or animation (I do realize this is deliberate, but I've never liked the whole Lars von Trier masochism-as-art idea). Second, while the premise was admittedly original (a vampire story told from the perspective of children, without flinching on the violence and gore) the story is actually quite weak, replete with stock characters (the Inattentive Parents, the Bully, the Mysterious Girl Next Door), clumsily engineered twists (the guy brings a jar of acid to splash on his face so the police won't be able to identify him if he gets caught? What century does he think this is?), and a great deal of disturbing and improbable child-on-child violence, even when the vampire girl isn't around. Lastly, while I get that the movie is trying to make a point about how children can be both touchingly innocent and shockingly bloodthirsty (as when the protagonist fantasizes about stabbing the bullies with a hunting knife), I guess I'm just past the point where I think that kind of thing is cool and edgy. I like a nice cathartic bloodbath in a movie as much as anyone (heck, so did Shakespeare), but watching a roomful of scared kids get turned into chum by a creepy little girl left me no wiser about how violence begets violence or what-have-you; It was just disgusting and gratuitous, doubly so when you realize that she "did it out of love" or some such nonsense. Overall, an unsatisfying and pretentious film. I suspect the only reason it's received such good word-of-mouth is that the only people who bother to watch it are the ones who think doing so makes them seem sophisticated and clever. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful
1
DerekMApr 1, 2009
People, stop giving terrible movies, glowing reviews. This movie is terrible. In fact, that's an understatement. Save your precious time and see a different movie: this one is dull beyond belief. You'd actually have more fun People, stop giving terrible movies, glowing reviews. This movie is terrible. In fact, that's an understatement. Save your precious time and see a different movie: this one is dull beyond belief. You'd actually have more fun watching a tulip grow in your garden. So get outside, set up a lawn chair and stare at your beautiful tulip. I saw this movie 2 days ago. The acting is utterly horrible. I watched it to completion, hoping it would get better. Yet with each passing minute, I realized that was a pipe dream. An odd combination of a lonely 12 yr. old befriending a vampire, both of which are painfully boring to watch. I would have had more excitement tipping cows. Oh, I gave this movie 1 point because there was a pretty white cat in the movie that 'acted' quite well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DanJApr 1, 2009
Take away the subtitles and what do you have left? Bland, uninteresting characters, lugubrious pacing, stilted dialogue and a nonsensical plot that manages to go nowhere with a potentially great premise. I'm truly puzzled why this dopey Take away the subtitles and what do you have left? Bland, uninteresting characters, lugubrious pacing, stilted dialogue and a nonsensical plot that manages to go nowhere with a potentially great premise. I'm truly puzzled why this dopey film earned such glowing reviews, but my hunch is that the critics mistook technical skill with "Art." A slick, pretentious exercise in form over substance. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
MatthewMar 31, 2009
This is one of those movies where you try too hard to make it great. Everyone wants to admire it's artsy feel and direction, and like it because it is different, but it's not. It's dull, boring, and doesn't make total This is one of those movies where you try too hard to make it great. Everyone wants to admire it's artsy feel and direction, and like it because it is different, but it's not. It's dull, boring, and doesn't make total sense. It's a very poor excuse for a love story/horror film. It's not beautiful, it's disturbing and boring. Try not to think too hard. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DavidCMar 30, 2009
Alright folks, I just finished watching this movie. I watched it with English audio dubbing. I am convinced that whoever translated this movie from the original to english, just winged it. Terrible voice overs with absolutely no expression Alright folks, I just finished watching this movie. I watched it with English audio dubbing. I am convinced that whoever translated this movie from the original to english, just winged it. Terrible voice overs with absolutely no expression in their voices whatsoever. If the voice overs were an accurate representation of the original language [german etc]. then this has to be the absolute worst movie I have seen in a very long time. No, this movie is not a cinematic masterpiece. It's pure garbage. Yes, I fully understand it is attempting to reflect human nature, both the good/evil sides of all of us. Yet, give me a break. Everyone was completely expressionless. Useless shells of a body walking around blurting out useless garbage. I guarantee I could have acted better than each and every one of these so called actors. The director of this film should retire immediately. I'm so embarrassed to have even watched this movie, that I will never read another hyped up review here again. The marks that people are giving here are astounding. Utterly ridiculous. You should be ashamed of falsely rating movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
barkingelectronMar 28, 2009
This is the movie that will make me completely reevaluate the way I interpret metacritic and rotten tomato ratings. There is absolutely nothing that separates this movie from a million other boring, cheesy vampire movies except for the poor This is the movie that will make me completely reevaluate the way I interpret metacritic and rotten tomato ratings. There is absolutely nothing that separates this movie from a million other boring, cheesy vampire movies except for the poor voice dubbing. For the life of me, I cannot figure out how so many critics can give such a poor movie such high marks. If I could say anything it would be please, please, please don't see this movie. In fact, go to the video store, steal as many copies as possible, and burn them so no one has to go through what I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrellPMar 24, 2009
A masterpiece. Tremendous acting, great score and some stunning shots, the scene where she jumps out the window or even the scene where the kid is being drowned and the body parts etc all fall in, no sound... the film is just a cinematic A masterpiece. Tremendous acting, great score and some stunning shots, the scene where she jumps out the window or even the scene where the kid is being drowned and the body parts etc all fall in, no sound... the film is just a cinematic masterpiece. No REMAKE is needed! I will not see it, and nobody else should either, they should see this film only. Tomas Alfredson directed this film to such a high point that i can't even think for a second that somebody can even touch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MistaJMar 23, 2009
My top pick of 2008, regardless of genre. Elegant, maddening and moving: the most frightening characters were all too human.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KMMar 22, 2009
Starts off kind of slow, but eventually goes somewhere. Horror fan or not, watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaleWMar 20, 2009
Fantastic re-invention of the vampire tale. Leaves you debating and talking about it for days after. A few camp moments, but overall a great success.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EricZMar 19, 2009
This is one of the most affecting and fascinating movies I have ever seen. Hopefully it's cult will continue to grow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobCMar 14, 2009
Transcends genre barriers and a hauntingly beautiful film about sacrifice, love, trust, and companionship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrunoTMar 12, 2009
These votings here seem very fishy to me. (Maybe some people from the production company or from the distributor?). This movie is boring, stupid and absolutely NOT intriguing. Fade and pale characters, a idiotic plot. But above all: boring and dull.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidP.Mar 11, 2009
Recommend this to your friends - they will thank you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bradrMar 9, 2009
Best. Movie. Ever. Created. On. The. Face. Of. The. Earth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaraL.Mar 8, 2009
This is a really thought-provoking film! The cast of actors were good and i loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Mar 4, 2009
Striking cinematography, excellent score. It creates a very eerie atmosphere and is genuinely chilling at times. Very visual and intelligent. I am not a fan of vampire films, but this one is one of the best ones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuV.Mar 4, 2009
Beautiful movie. Not a perfect 10, but for all pretense and purposes I give it one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewMar 3, 2009
I was watching in it the middle of the night, while my roommate was sleeping. A few scenes had already brought me to the edge of tears and then something so shocking happened that I just inhaled, loudly. I didn't realize what had I was watching in it the middle of the night, while my roommate was sleeping. A few scenes had already brought me to the edge of tears and then something so shocking happened that I just inhaled, loudly. I didn't realize what had happened, but it just goes to show that it's a movie that grabs you emotionally and doesn't let go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonJFeb 14, 2009
It's very rare indeed that the supernatural is woven into the everyday so believably.The most enjoyable film I've had the absolute pleasure of seeing for ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickL.Feb 13, 2009
Amazing movie. I am shocked that it wasn't nominated for any Academy Awards. It should have been nominated in at least three catagories... I will at least give it the award for "Best Movie I've Seen In A Very Long Time".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasCFeb 6, 2009
Perfect! If you only have $10 to watch a movie. This is the ticket! The one film You must see this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RestyM.Feb 3, 2009
I saw this film and I say that this is one of the best films of 2008, and the best thing is this film is not from the US. Awesome movie!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryA.Jan 27, 2009
Actual score would be 9.6. should have received award nominations. This a transcedent film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful