Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 338 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A fragile, anxious boy, 12-year-old Oskar is regularly bullied by his stronger classmates but never strikes back. The lonely boy's wish for a friend seems to come true when he meets Eli, also 12, who moves in next door to him with her father. A pale, serious young girl, she only comes out atA fragile, anxious boy, 12-year-old Oskar is regularly bullied by his stronger classmates but never strikes back. The lonely boy's wish for a friend seems to come true when he meets Eli, also 12, who moves in next door to him with her father. A pale, serious young girl, she only comes out at night and doesn't seem affected by the freezing temperatures. Coinciding with Eli's arrival is a series of inexplicable disappearances and murders. One man is found tied to a tree, another frozen in the lake, a woman bitten in the neck. Blood seems to be the common denominator. But by now a subtle romance has blossomed between Oskar and Eli, and she gives him the strength to fight back against his aggressors. (Magnolia Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    100
    In the basest of terms, a horror flick. But it's also a spectacularly moving and elegant movie, and to dismiss it into genre-hood, to mentally stuff it into the horror pigeonhole, is to overlook a remarkable film.
  2. It's one of the great horror films of recent years -- and a welcome antidote to the in-your-face sonic assaults that all too often pass for genre fare.
  3. 88
    Stick your neck out for this Swedish horror show. It's a winner, full of mirth and malice, plus a young romance you'll never see on the Disney Channel.
  4. It's a genuine genre vampire picture; and it's Swedish, winter-lit, Bergmanesque.
  5. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    80
    Let the Right One In unfolds with quiet, masterly assurance.
  6. In this sinister but gorgeous and compelling film by director Tomas Alfredson, being human and acting human don't always go together.
  7. If random arty blood thrills are your cup of fear, perhaps you'll enjoy Let the Right One In, a Swedish head-scratcher that has a few creepy images but very little holding them together.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 120
  1. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    One of the most refreshing vampire films you'll see this decade. The story is poetic yet disturbing and the leads are well cast. Watching itOne of the most refreshing vampire films you'll see this decade. The story is poetic yet disturbing and the leads are well cast. Watching it with good friends will only improve the experience. Expand
  2. JuanJ
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Pacing, script, cinematography... everything that could possibly go right in a production did in this one. My favourite movie of all time.
  3. AlbertP.
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    I walked out of the movie, looked at my buddy Bobby, and said "that may have been the best movie I've ever seen". First off, I I walked out of the movie, looked at my buddy Bobby, and said "that may have been the best movie I've ever seen". First off, I didn't know it was a vampire flick. I just thought it was a movie about bullies & subsequent revenge. But man, it was so much more. A coming of age, romance, revenge, vampire flick may come close to describing it. The pace of the movie, the direction, the cinematography, the acting, the set pieces - all top-notch. To be a classic a movie must have an amazing ending. Think Butch Cassidy, The Graduate, Planet of the Apes, The Sixth Sense. On that standard alone, this movie is an instant classic. Nothing else this year will come close. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out ofI can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the American version ("Let Me In"), and hearing great things about the original Swedish version. I thought I'd give it a go considering I'd been studying the Swedish language anyway. So I took up the task of watching the film without English subtitles. I do NOT regret it. Never in any film I had witnessed prior to viewing "Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' had I seen two polar opposites such as death and love combined in such a magnificent way that it almost brought me to tears. I've watched the film three times since my original viewing and it only gets better each time. The performance(s) of Kåre Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson were simply stunning. All in all, ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' takes the classic vampire story and turns it into a beautifully woven modern tale of love, death, and adolescent challenges faced by people everyday. I would say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' is one of (if not the) greatest film(s) I have seen in the past twenty years. I wholeheartedly recommend it to everyone, and I truly say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' (Or ''Let the Right One In,'' as Americans have come to know it as) is a film you need to see before you die. Expand
  5. DavidV
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    This movie is the alternative to Twilight that actually pays off! The movie is brilliantly written and is indescribable in various instances. This movie is the alternative to Twilight that actually pays off! The movie is brilliantly written and is indescribable in various instances. I think this movie will introduce many people to the concept of love from another point of view. In our society we have too many love stories about upholding the human spirit and beating all the odds; superhero sort of love. This movie will introduce people to the world of tragic love. It teaches us how being broken doesn't mean we are incomplete. That love can complete one another and can overcome true psychological barriers. A must see. Expand
  6. SeanF.
    Jan 17, 2010
    7
    Definitely the right one to let in. I
  7. BenB
    Jan 11, 2010
    0
    Horrible movie, no value whatsoever. The only movie I've ever seen that's as bad as this is Clockwork Orange. Both were foreign, Horrible movie, no value whatsoever. The only movie I've ever seen that's as bad as this is Clockwork Orange. Both were foreign, they have no continuity or surface meaning. It's just random ridiculous nonsense. I HATED this movie! Expand

See all 120 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Foreign Horror Films Since 2000

    Ranked: The Best Foreign Horror Films Since 2000 Image
    Published: October 27, 2010
    Yesterday, we looked at the worst horror films of the past decade; today, we begin our look at the best. Up first: the best foreign-language horror movies -- a list that includes cult hits like Sweden's "Let the Right One In" as well as more esoteric fare.
  2. Ranked: The Best and Worst Vampire Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Vampire Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: June 28, 2010
    While it's unlikely that this week's "The Twilight Saga: Eclipse" will merit consideration on our list, here are the ten movies it would have to beat out to be considered the top vampire film since 1980. We've added five additional vampire movies from the other end of the quality spectrum, but there aren't any "Twilight" films among them ... yet.