Miramax Films | Release Date: October 23, 1998
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 240 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
184
Mixed:
23
Negative:
33
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MasumA.Oct 17, 2009
This film is like a dream but it is emotional. It's a symble of love, happiness and beauty of life.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DerekR.May 10, 2008
I don't know how this could be anything less than a 9. This is a great movie centering around a loving father protecting his son. I don't know how the critics didn't see this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Nov 15, 2007
This film has been accused of trivialising the holocaust, but what it does is showing what happened as the father tried to get the son to see it not how it actually was.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
A.POct 18, 2008
This movie is one of the greatest movie i've ever seen. It really shows that love and imaginations can conquer everything. I believe all the critics reviews have been very nonsense. THERES NO POINT IN THEIR REVIEWS...BASICALLY this This movie is one of the greatest movie i've ever seen. It really shows that love and imaginations can conquer everything. I believe all the critics reviews have been very nonsense. THERES NO POINT IN THEIR REVIEWS...BASICALLY this movie shows one of the most precious things in life....LOVE. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SEROJJan 10, 2018
No words are necessary. There are few movies that will make you laugh and cry at the same time. Masterpiece. Brilliant performance by Roberto Bennini, both as a director and lead actor.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Amanda2013Apr 29, 2013
“Life is Beautiful” was, for a lack of better words, a beautiful movie, full of love, compassion, and strength. Roberto Benigni was the perfect person to play Guido. His sense of humor was entertaining and the love he had for his wife and“Life is Beautiful” was, for a lack of better words, a beautiful movie, full of love, compassion, and strength. Roberto Benigni was the perfect person to play Guido. His sense of humor was entertaining and the love he had for his wife and son was unbelievable. His personality made for an amazing movie. Guido reminded me of Vladek from Maus in the way that he was always trying to get out of the Holocaust alive, unlike some people who let themselves die. Just like Vladek, he was so incredibly in love with his wife and son and did anything it took to keep them alive. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ajohns12May 2, 2013
In the tragic, but comic movie called “Life is Beautiful” directed by Roberto Benigni shows the life that people lived when the holocaust was happening. The movie takes a tragic event that happened in our history and twists it to seem comicalIn the tragic, but comic movie called “Life is Beautiful” directed by Roberto Benigni shows the life that people lived when the holocaust was happening. The movie takes a tragic event that happened in our history and twists it to seem comical and happy but shows what they had to go through and what they did to elderly people and children. I didn’t expect some things that happened to happen. I thought that when the guard took Guido and we heard the gun shot that he had stolen the gun from the guard and shot him. The movie take twists and turns to throw viewers off and think something else is going to happen. This movie makes the holocaust seem like it is not all bad and it lightens it up a bit when thinking about the holocaust and what they put them through. It shows that even something as tragic as the holocaust can still be portrayed as a comic and happy story. It takes all the bad out of what happened and brings out the good and hopefully puts in the back of your mind that it happened but we can make sure that nothing like this will ever happen again. In the end of the movie, it shows that with all the events Joshua had to go though, from hiding from Nazi’s to knowing his father was killed, he still can have a happy ending to a movie. After reading the book “Maus” and watching this movie, they have similarities that the characters go though. “Maus” shows more tragedy then the movie and it is more straight forward with what happened then the movie is. It’s makes it more difficult to read because it shows a lot more tragedy then the movie does. They both are showing the same story but in different ways so we can see how different people lived during the holocaust. Overall, The movie made something so tragic into a comedy and helped people understand that even though this event was very tragic on our history we can still get something good out of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RyanSolomonMay 4, 2013
The best foreign film ever made by the best foreign director and actor. After seeing this movie, Roberto Beginini has become one of my heroes. I loved that it was all in Italian, and I love the story. I love the humor, the sadness, and theThe best foreign film ever made by the best foreign director and actor. After seeing this movie, Roberto Beginini has become one of my heroes. I loved that it was all in Italian, and I love the story. I love the humor, the sadness, and the truth of this movie. One of my favorites. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BenjaminCerdaMay 20, 2013
Esta película es como indica el titulo,''Bella''.Merecidamente es actualmente la película italiana con mas éxito desde la época dorada de Federico Fellini con su ''La Dulce Vida''.Una obra maestra de todos los tiempos que llegara a todos losEsta película es como indica el titulo,''Bella''.Merecidamente es actualmente la película italiana con mas éxito desde la época dorada de Federico Fellini con su ''La Dulce Vida''.Una obra maestra de todos los tiempos que llegara a todos los corazones que la visionen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
PetitBikiniJan 1, 2016
It's sad to read reviews for this film and see so many people getting upset by approaching this film politically. If you haven't seen "Life Is Beautiful" and you're gonna, here's my advice: take it as a simple movie, because its simplicityIt's sad to read reviews for this film and see so many people getting upset by approaching this film politically. If you haven't seen "Life Is Beautiful" and you're gonna, here's my advice: take it as a simple movie, because its simplicity and childlike giddiness make it one of the most enjoyable film you can ever wish for. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LouZooJan 11, 2011
I'm in my 60's. My daughter her 20's. We listed our favorite all-time films. Life is Beautiful was in both of our top 10 lists. Great film with one of the great scenes of all times. If you've seen this film you know which scene I'm talkingI'm in my 60's. My daughter her 20's. We listed our favorite all-time films. Life is Beautiful was in both of our top 10 lists. Great film with one of the great scenes of all times. If you've seen this film you know which scene I'm talking about. We decided to watch it again soon. The best of film making. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Ridz43Mar 21, 2011
Roberto Benigni brought to the screen a most poignant and comedical film! He flipped around the devastation of the Holocaust and turned into a simple game most craftly. I love this movie and think everyone of all ages should watch thisRoberto Benigni brought to the screen a most poignant and comedical film! He flipped around the devastation of the Holocaust and turned into a simple game most craftly. I love this movie and think everyone of all ages should watch this wonder of cinematic creation. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
TheMovieCriticAug 8, 2012
If you watched the beginning of this movie without knowing what the movie was about, you would think that this was a happy movie about a man who falls in love and raises a family. Well, that is what happens. And it is a happy story, until theIf you watched the beginning of this movie without knowing what the movie was about, you would think that this was a happy movie about a man who falls in love and raises a family. Well, that is what happens. And it is a happy story, until the main character and his son are taken to a concentration camp. Once there the main characters happy fairy tale is over, and he is separated from his princess. But among the gloomy concentration camp where nothing is right, the main character tries to do what any father would do when everything is wrong. Make the situation seem better than what it really is. This is a movie worth seeing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
CritiqueGirlMar 1, 2011
This was the sweetest, funniest and most human story that could have ever come out of the Holocaust. I am in no way the sub-title type and yet it had no negative effect, it may have even been positive because I liked hearing the Italian language.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
TYQBBMay 10, 2006
One of the best films i ever watched! The acting is simply top class from Benigni. The cinematography is brillant. This film has also some really touching moments. Go watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
J.LerryS.Jul 30, 2007
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JMatMay 30, 2003
I absolutely love this movie. This was the best movie that I've seen about the Holocaust. Though the movie is dubbed, Roberto Benigni finds a way to charm the audience, and yet show the seriousness of the situation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessMar 21, 2006
i love life is beautiful. i think it is one of the most amazing movies of all time! Everything in this movie was perfect. it was heart warming, hear breaking, moving touching story. It really is a master piece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewT.Apr 26, 2006
This was an awsome movie i liked all those other critics dont kno crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NateHFeb 13, 2007
Yes, the Holocaust was awful, and it should not be mocked. However, this movie is not about the Holocaust - it is about the triumph of the human spirit, and specifically the ability of the Jewish people to rise above the oppression they have Yes, the Holocaust was awful, and it should not be mocked. However, this movie is not about the Holocaust - it is about the triumph of the human spirit, and specifically the ability of the Jewish people to rise above the oppression they have experienced through the centuries. This has become one of my favorite movies for that reason. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KritzM.Mar 21, 2007
What on earth were half the "professional" reviews watching when they gave this anything less than 80? This movie is the most entertaining, funny and touching movies I've ever watched. It's a brilliant tale about a Father's What on earth were half the "professional" reviews watching when they gave this anything less than 80? This movie is the most entertaining, funny and touching movies I've ever watched. It's a brilliant tale about a Father's love for his son, and how you can always look towards the bright side of life. The use of colours of this film were so great. It starts as a vibrant, colourful comedy and later moves to a dull, bleak and depressing drama. It can play with emotions like no other movie, and is an outstanding example of genius film making. This is, without a doubt, the best movie I've ever watched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinH.Apr 12, 2008
One of the best and most inspiring movies I've seen in recent times, or, ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcoA.Dec 31, 2007
The combination of comedy, romance and drama is as good as it can be. The movie definitely deals more with the power of family's love in the middle of the tragedy of war. This movie doesn't intend to retell what the Holocaust is The combination of comedy, romance and drama is as good as it can be. The movie definitely deals more with the power of family's love in the middle of the tragedy of war. This movie doesn't intend to retell what the Holocaust is about. If some critics want that, well, go and rent Schindler's List again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkG.May 18, 2007
Its times like this I wonder how critics manage to survive in their chosen profession when the vast majority are ignorant bigots with inflated opinions of themselves. Any critic who actually condemned this film needs to go away and think Its times like this I wonder how critics manage to survive in their chosen profession when the vast majority are ignorant bigots with inflated opinions of themselves. Any critic who actually condemned this film needs to go away and think long and hard about why on earth they bother polluting film history with such trashy writing. Please refrain from writing ever again, so as to save yourself unavoidable future humiliation. A Masterpiece in film making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlbertoG.May 26, 2007
Maybe it's hard to get the sense of the film if you are non-italians. Maybe you think Benigni is kidding the Holocaust. But he is not. He's only trying to say that, after all, life goes on. And it's definitely a Masterpiece of Maybe it's hard to get the sense of the film if you are non-italians. Maybe you think Benigni is kidding the Holocaust. But he is not. He's only trying to say that, after all, life goes on. And it's definitely a Masterpiece of international cinema (and italian cinema, of course). This movie deserved his "Best Movie" Oscar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateM.Nov 11, 2007
Anybody who could actually think that this beautiful film makes a mockery of the Holocaust must be either blinded by anger, ignorance or both.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
pasidoJul 1, 2012
And the dad of the year award goes to...

Let's face it, some of the humor can get annoying. The holocaust wasn't realistically portrayed. But that's not the point of the movie. The movie is about an awesome dad who is trying his hardest to
And the dad of the year award goes to...

Let's face it, some of the humor can get annoying. The holocaust wasn't realistically portrayed. But that's not the point of the movie. The movie is about an awesome dad who is trying his hardest to protect his son.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oscarrNov 28, 2011
Incredibly acted, funny as hell, incredibly beautiful picture. Much, much better than Shakespeare in Love. Deserved Best Picture. Didn't deserve Best Supporting Actress, but deserved Best Picture, Best Actor, Best Foreign Language Film, andIncredibly acted, funny as hell, incredibly beautiful picture. Much, much better than Shakespeare in Love. Deserved Best Picture. Didn't deserve Best Supporting Actress, but deserved Best Picture, Best Actor, Best Foreign Language Film, and Best Director. it only won 2 of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleNov 3, 2015
Life Is Beautiful truly shows why life is beautiful. A film about the Holocaust, the film shows how one man's energy and passion for life can shield his young son from the atrocities surrounding him. The film toes the line between tragedy,Life Is Beautiful truly shows why life is beautiful. A film about the Holocaust, the film shows how one man's energy and passion for life can shield his young son from the atrocities surrounding him. The film toes the line between tragedy, comedy, and romance, throughout, but knocks all of them out of the park. It is heart warmingly funny and Roberto Benigni has an absolutely irresistible charm that almost distracts the viewer from the horror they are watching. The romantic element is touching and brilliantly executed (it also has the best non-sex sex scene, I've seen). Finally, the tragedy is hard-hitting. This film will truly break your heart and those last 20 minutes are guaranteed to at least leave you on the brink of tears. As a whole, Life Is Beautiful is a wonderful film that differs from other Holocaust films in that it brings some a different human element to the table, other than despair. Rather, it injects an adrenaline shot of hope and optimism that is largely unmatched in film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Nov 30, 2016
In many ways Life is Beautiful is wonderful but it is not just a melodrama. Roberto Benigni is the great highlight with a beautiful performance. The art direction and soundtrack are wonderful and complete the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews