Orion Pictures Corporation | Release Date: April 30, 2004
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 127 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
104
Mixed:
13
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SpangleApr 12, 2016
Most certainly an odd film, Monty Python's Life of Brian is a truly hysterical take on the Biblical story of Jesus and his life. Taking risks repeatedly, the film takes the unique approach of following a man named Brian who rises inMost certainly an odd film, Monty Python's Life of Brian is a truly hysterical take on the Biblical story of Jesus and his life. Taking risks repeatedly, the film takes the unique approach of following a man named Brian who rises in importance in Jerusalem at the same time of Jesus. Incredibly fresh even though it is 36 years since it came out, Life of Brian is a fast paced ball of energy that wrings laughs out of nearly every scene in the film, an impressive feat for any comedy film. I have not seen another Monty Python film before, but certainly plan on checking them out, especially after seeing this one. Well written and still quite respectful of the Biblical stories that inspired it, Life of Brian is a truly timeless comedy that may be on the older side, but still feels completely fresh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 7, 2015
Silly, witty, bizarre, and timely all at the same time, "Life Of Brian" marks a relatively high point within Monty Python's impressive r comedic ap sheet.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
lasttimeisawJun 9, 2012
My first film with the entire crew from Monty Python (their third feature-length film), whilst I count out Terry Gilliamâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
python2000Oct 24, 2013
Widely considered to be one of the most controversial movies of all time, but also considered to be one of the funniest movies of all time. Life of Brian is my second favorite comedy ever. After the earlier Monty Python movie, Monty PythonWidely considered to be one of the most controversial movies of all time, but also considered to be one of the funniest movies of all time. Life of Brian is my second favorite comedy ever. After the earlier Monty Python movie, Monty Python and the Holy Grail. It may not have top class acting or stunning special effects, but it's a masterpiece in it's own way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
iCronicJul 11, 2014
I can sense why this Movie is what it is but i couldn´t watch it to the End. Nothing against old Movies but after the modern day standards i got used to it´s just horrific to watch
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FilmQueenOct 30, 2015
I absolutely love this movie! It's full of jokes,it poke fun at people's stupidity, especially religious groups. I don't understand why Brian's mother is played by a male actor, but I don't mind it at all, because he was hilarious. EverythingI absolutely love this movie! It's full of jokes,it poke fun at people's stupidity, especially religious groups. I don't understand why Brian's mother is played by a male actor, but I don't mind it at all, because he was hilarious. Everything in this movie is hilarious and perfect, my favourite part is where they catch Brian writing graffiti on the wall. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
The absolute pinnacle of Monty Python's career is represented in this zany romp through ancient Judea that runs parallel to the story of Jesus. Holy Grail has nearly all of the classic one-liners, it's still not as funny and certainly muchThe absolute pinnacle of Monty Python's career is represented in this zany romp through ancient Judea that runs parallel to the story of Jesus. Holy Grail has nearly all of the classic one-liners, it's still not as funny and certainly much rougher than this polished cousin. While definitely not for those who are unable to laugh at a lampooning of the roots of their Abrahamic faith or who squirm at the sight of full frontal nudity, Life of Brian is still one of my highest-recommended films of all time. Brilliant! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
askewglassesAug 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I find this to be one of the funniest movies ever created. It doesn't necessarily attack religion but more it mocks the followers of religion. How something as simple as losing a sandal can be interpreted in a countless number of ways. It takes an original and satirical view on religion that has ever been replicated. And how can anyone forget the most hilarious imagery of a crucifixion ending with "Always Look on the Bright Side of Life" performed by Eric Idle. It is witty, creative, surreal, and of course hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DamienDarko777May 7, 2011
My Favorite Python movie, besides Holy Grail and the rest. You'd have to be a total retard not to love this stuff. That's all there is to it. Um, still need more letters.... Trying to post review.... There we go.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
UncleEarlDec 2, 2013
Maybe this stuff was funny decades ago, maybe it's because I think tv is funnier than cinema, but either way, this is a poor excuse for a comedy. There are far better ways to kill the length of time that this film runs.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
adalberathFeb 1, 2014
I admit that at the beginning, I found "Life of Brian" a bit inflated, but it managed to pull itself together in a such brilliant, ironic and optimistic way that I would have never expected. Life is kind of sh*t, when you look at it. That'sI admit that at the beginning, I found "Life of Brian" a bit inflated, but it managed to pull itself together in a such brilliant, ironic and optimistic way that I would have never expected. Life is kind of sh*t, when you look at it. That's the film's message. "Life of Brian" is not a subtle film, but a forthright one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JamesStringerMay 15, 2011
Classic piece of British cinema, only an idiot could not find this funny... There's not an unfunny moment, it's filled with wit and of course classic Python, and definitely worth a watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SkebF.Apr 29, 2007
THE worst movie I have ever seen. I faked laughed a lot cause my friend was laughing. The jokes are sooo terrible. I absolutly HATE this movie.
0 of 5 users found this helpful
8
RWDec 22, 2007
Not as good as The Holy Grail, but still funny none the less.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KentC.Apr 6, 2008
You don't need to understand British humor to laugh here. Although some of the lines are hard to understand because of the heavy accents, This is one of the funniest movies I've seen. I'm not religious at all, so this movie You don't need to understand British humor to laugh here. Although some of the lines are hard to understand because of the heavy accents, This is one of the funniest movies I've seen. I'm not religious at all, so this movie didn't offend me one bit, I'm sure most of the people who gave it bad scores were offended by the religious jokes. I especially loved the "Spartacus" reference near the end. The only thing that bogged it down was that lame alien scene. It was pointless and stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickJ.Sep 10, 2009
Extremely witty references as always, and the spaceship provides a bit of craziness in this Monty Python classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful