User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 117
  2. Negative: 10 out of 117

Where To Watch

Buy On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    My Favorite Python movie, besides Holy Grail and the rest. You'd have to be a total retard not to love this stuff. That's all there is to it. Um, still need more letters.... Trying to post review.... There we go.
  2. Nov 7, 2015
    7
    Silly, witty, bizarre, and timely all at the same time, "Life Of Brian" marks a relatively high point within Monty Python's impressive r comedic ap sheet.
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Widely considered to be one of the most controversial movies of all time, but also considered to be one of the funniest movies of all time. Life of Brian is my second favorite comedy ever. After the earlier Monty Python movie, Monty Python and the Holy Grail. It may not have top class acting or stunning special effects, but it's a masterpiece in it's own way.
  4. Oct 30, 2015
    10
    I absolutely love this movie! It's full of jokes,it poke fun at people's stupidity, especially religious groups. I don't understand why Brian's mother is played by a male actor, but I don't mind it at all, because he was hilarious. Everything in this movie is hilarious and perfect, my favourite part is where they catch Brian writing graffiti on the wall.
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    The absolute pinnacle of Monty Python's career is represented in this zany romp through ancient Judea that runs parallel to the story of Jesus. Holy Grail has nearly all of the classic one-liners, it's still not as funny and certainly much rougher than this polished cousin. While definitely not for those who are unable to laugh at a lampooning of the roots of their Abrahamic faith or whoThe absolute pinnacle of Monty Python's career is represented in this zany romp through ancient Judea that runs parallel to the story of Jesus. Holy Grail has nearly all of the classic one-liners, it's still not as funny and certainly much rougher than this polished cousin. While definitely not for those who are unable to laugh at a lampooning of the roots of their Abrahamic faith or who squirm at the sight of full frontal nudity, Life of Brian is still one of my highest-recommended films of all time. Brilliant! Expand
  6. SkebF.
    Apr 29, 2007
    0
    THE worst movie I have ever seen. I faked laughed a lot cause my friend was laughing. The jokes are sooo terrible. I absolutly HATE this movie.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    3
    Maybe this stuff was funny decades ago, maybe it's because I think tv is funnier than cinema, but either way, this is a poor excuse for a comedy. There are far better ways to kill the length of time that this film runs.
  8. Jul 11, 2014
    3
    I can sense why this Movie is what it is but i couldn´t watch it to the End. Nothing against old Movies but after the modern day standards i got used to it´s just horrific to watch
  9. RickG.
    May 15, 2004
    10
    The scene that cracks me up the most in this very funny movie has to be the Coliseum scene where Brian first meets up with the Judean People's Liberation Front, or whatever they call themselves. Brian is vending food for the handful of spectators in the mostly empty Coliseum. Meanwhile, they boo as they watch a skinny prisoner in loin cloth running around the pit of the Coliseum The scene that cracks me up the most in this very funny movie has to be the Coliseum scene where Brian first meets up with the Judean People's Liberation Front, or whatever they call themselves. Brian is vending food for the handful of spectators in the mostly empty Coliseum. Meanwhile, they boo as they watch a skinny prisoner in loin cloth running around the pit of the Coliseum while being chased by a gladiator, who has a heart attack and dies. Of course, the verbal antics of Pilate and his friend Biggus Dickus is laugh riot as well. One of the funniest films of all time. Catch it on the big screen if and when you can in your town. Collapse
  10. RW
    Dec 22, 2007
    8
    Not as good as The Holy Grail, but still funny none the less.
  11. KentC.
    Apr 6, 2008
    9
    You don't need to understand British humor to laugh here. Although some of the lines are hard to understand because of the heavy accents, This is one of the funniest movies I've seen. I'm not religious at all, so this movie didn't offend me one bit, I'm sure most of the people who gave it bad scores were offended by the religious jokes. I especially loved the You don't need to understand British humor to laugh here. Although some of the lines are hard to understand because of the heavy accents, This is one of the funniest movies I've seen. I'm not religious at all, so this movie didn't offend me one bit, I'm sure most of the people who gave it bad scores were offended by the religious jokes. I especially loved the "Spartacus" reference near the end. The only thing that bogged it down was that lame alien scene. It was pointless and stupid. Expand
  12. NickJ.
    Sep 10, 2009
    8
    Extremely witty references as always, and the spaceship provides a bit of craziness in this Monty Python classic.
  13. DanC.
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    Monty Python proves that they are the Beatles of Comedy with this one. They go on to prove it with Meaning of Life which also deserves a re-release. The movie isn't about Jesus (Brian lives down the street from him). The controversy wasn't deserved. All and all, this movie is one of the funniest of all time.
  14. ColinN.
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    Wonderful.
  15. ChrisP.
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    Great movie.
  16. May 15, 2011
    10
    Classic piece of British cinema, only an idiot could not find this funny... There's not an unfunny moment, it's filled with wit and of course classic Python, and definitely worth a watch
  17. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    My first film with the entire crew from Monty Python (their third feature-length film), whilst I count out Terry Gilliamâ
  18. Apr 12, 2016
    8
    Most certainly an odd film, Monty Python's Life of Brian is a truly hysterical take on the Biblical story of Jesus and his life. Taking risks repeatedly, the film takes the unique approach of following a man named Brian who rises in importance in Jerusalem at the same time of Jesus. Incredibly fresh even though it is 36 years since it came out, Life of Brian is a fast paced ball of energyMost certainly an odd film, Monty Python's Life of Brian is a truly hysterical take on the Biblical story of Jesus and his life. Taking risks repeatedly, the film takes the unique approach of following a man named Brian who rises in importance in Jerusalem at the same time of Jesus. Incredibly fresh even though it is 36 years since it came out, Life of Brian is a fast paced ball of energy that wrings laughs out of nearly every scene in the film, an impressive feat for any comedy film. I have not seen another Monty Python film before, but certainly plan on checking them out, especially after seeing this one. Well written and still quite respectful of the Biblical stories that inspired it, Life of Brian is a truly timeless comedy that may be on the older side, but still feels completely fresh. Expand
  19. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I find this to be one of the funniest movies ever created. It doesn't necessarily attack religion but more it mocks the followers of religion. How something as simple as losing a sandal can be interpreted in a countless number of ways. It takes an original and satirical view on religion that has ever been replicated. And how can anyone forget the most hilarious imagery of a crucifixion ending with "Always Look on the Bright Side of Life" performed by Eric Idle. It is witty, creative, surreal, and of course hilarious. Expand
  20. Feb 1, 2014
    7
    I admit that at the beginning, I found "Life of Brian" a bit inflated, but it managed to pull itself together in a such brilliant, ironic and optimistic way that I would have never expected. Life is kind of sh*t, when you look at it. That's the film's message. "Life of Brian" is not a subtle film, but a forthright one.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. 30
    Sluggish, repetitive, and strangely timorous, with little of the zap and imagination of the Pythons' television work.
  2. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    70
    For all its scruffiness, the lurching strike-rate of its gags, and the unmistakable smell of amateur dramatics given off by its repertory of rotating players with their stick-on Ted Nugent beards, Life of Brian jitters with good will. [3 May 2004, p. 110]
  3. 100
    It has been said that a Monty Python movie is only successful if it offends everyone in the audience at least once. By that measuring stick as well as nearly any other, The Life of Brian is an unqualified triumph. It makes us confront our foibles and laugh at them.