Life of Crime

Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Patrick Gamble
    Sep 4, 2014
    60
    Schechter's latest marks its arrival with a fanfare of style and sass, but lacks the necessary bite to leave a lasting impression.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Sep 4, 2014
    60
    If you’re in the market for a workaday crime story, Schechter’s film fulfills some of its obligations. You might just wish it had more life.
  3. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Sep 1, 2014
    60
    Missing the punchy plotting of the Coens thriller it resembles, the early chuckles don't quite translate into a satisfying whole.
  4. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Aug 31, 2014
    60
    If Life of Crime transcends its lightheartedness to actually make us care for what happens to its characters, it doesn’t quite transcend its own haphazard, impoverished story.
  5. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Aug 29, 2014
    60
    Mostly, it's fine. The acting is fine. The writing is fine. The story is fine. There are a few laughs. And that should be fine enough. But with material as rich as Leonard's serving as the foundation, just fine is a disappointment.
  6. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Aug 28, 2014
    60
    One of the brighter aspects of Life of Crime, which otherwise ambles along good naturedly, is the casting.
  7. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Aug 26, 2014
    60
    This one belongs to the women: As a gold-digging mistress, Isla Fisher does half-smart expertly, while Jennifer Aniston demonstrates her underrated timing as a wealthy kidnapping victim turned confidante.
  8. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Aug 26, 2014
    60
    A solid, middle-of-the-road Leonard adaptation that lacks the singularity to be something more.
  9. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Sep 16, 2013
    60
    Daniel Schechter's Life of Crime starts promisingly and ends with a smile but underwhelms in between.
  10. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Aug 29, 2014
    50
    Life of Crime is like an errant golf putt that appears headed for the hole, but just keeps rolling and rolling, all the way off the green. In other words, just missed . . . by a mile.
  11. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Aug 28, 2014
    50
    Life of Crime feels like a rambling car ride through the countryside with friends. The scenery is great, and the passengers are diverting, but you keep wondering where the driver is headed.
  12. Reviewed by: Steve Macfarlane
    Aug 28, 2014
    50
    Down to its too-crisp rubber Nixon masks, Daniel Schechter's film revels in obnoxiously self-aware period detail.
  13. Reviewed by: Michael Ordona
    Aug 28, 2014
    50
    Well-made and -acted, especially by Hawkes and Fisher, if it's not exactly gripping or noir-ish.
  14. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Aug 27, 2014
    50
    The comedy's too broad to take the characters seriously, and the vibe is breezily aimless, a mistake in a story about anxious waiting.
  15. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Aug 28, 2014
    40
    Ultimately it’s the cast, more than the crime, that gives this story life.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 24, 2016
    6
    If you want to laugh, go see The Hangover, because here you will not find. The film survives because of its cast and some jokes (poor).If you want to laugh, go see The Hangover, because here you will not find. The film survives because of its cast and some jokes (poor). Overall, the movie is good, but not as comedy. Full Review »
  2. May 25, 2015
    4
    The plan was simple, kidnap a rich suburban woman, while her husband and son are out of town. The husband is corrupt, so he will be more thanThe plan was simple, kidnap a rich suburban woman, while her husband and son are out of town. The husband is corrupt, so he will be more than willing to pay a ransom, in order to keep them quiet, and to get his wife back, right? This group of bumbling, life-long criminals thought they had it all figured out, except for one small problem, Frank Dawson (Tim Robbins) isn't really interested in getting his wife back. This strange film, based on the novel, Switch by Elmore Leonard, takes place in the late 70's, and had critics raving, but after seeing it for myself, I'm left with one question, why? After the kidnapping takes place, the film moves at a snails pace, with criminals arguing, and phone calls back and fourth, nothing happens for the majority of the film. Jennifer Aniston stars and gives probably the worst performance I've ever seen her give. She is this spoiled, whiny, rich **** who just doesn't know when to keep her mouth shut. It really got to the point where every time she spoke I cringed. On the other hand, Tim Robbins, who plays her husband, was hilarious, but not in the film nearly enough. One of my favorite young actors, Charlie Tahan, also has a role in the film, as their son. In the brief amount of screen time he has, we see a very troubled and confused kid, an angle that could have helped the story, but he too was hardly used. The majority of the film features Jennifer Aniston interacting with her kidnappers and trying to form a bond with the bumbling idiots. I'm not sure if this was supposed to be a comedy or just a comedy of errors wrapped up in a dramatic theme, but either way it doesn't work. Most of the cast is absolutely horrible, the majority of the film is unbelievably slow, and the parts that aren't, just don't make a whole lot of sense. Life of Crime had quite a few side stories that could have been utilized to fill up the space and break up the monotony, but it was all left on the cutting room floor, leaving us with a film that could be used as a method of torture at Guantanamo Bay. Full Review »
  3. Dec 28, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I thought it was an excellent movie honestly. The movie has good acting, great story line and a good cast. The only problems I had with the movie were:
    1) It took a little while to catch up to being a good movie. I do admit I was bored at first and thought it was getting nowhere but hey.. I thought the movie The Giver got nowhere at first either but was an amazing movie.
    2) I thought it was pretty **** that Louis and Mickey didn't get together. He saved her from one of the guys that tried to rape her and he was so nice and he cared about her. Just like that scene where Mickey (Aniston) and Louis (Hawkes) were in the hotel room and Mickey put her arm under her head and closed her eyes and then Louis copied her and closed his eyes too. He then looked at her and smiled. I felt like he liked her. Maybe even loved her. You can tell by how he treats her and stuff.

    So as you can tell.. My main disappointment was #2. Such a shame. If they would have gotten together.. It would have been on my favorite movie list. But its still an amazing movie. Go watch it and see if there's the same problems or MAIN problem I had. :)
    Full Review »