Lionsgate | Release Date: August 29, 2014
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 29 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
12
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
BHBarrySep 7, 2014
"Life of Crime" stars Jennifer Aniston and an ensemble cast consisting of Isla Fisher, Tim Robbins, John Hawkes, Yasiim Bey (formerly Mos Def) and Will Forte in this film written and directed by Daniel Schechter based on the book "The Switch""Life of Crime" stars Jennifer Aniston and an ensemble cast consisting of Isla Fisher, Tim Robbins, John Hawkes, Yasiim Bey (formerly Mos Def) and Will Forte in this film written and directed by Daniel Schechter based on the book "The Switch" by the late Elmore Leonard. This a crime thriller, sort of a poor man's Fargo, that really doesn’t take itself too seriously although it could because the action is there but somehow, in the 1978 environment in which it all takes place, the film remains uncomplicated and easy to watch. It is light yet serious and made all the better due to the fine performances of Ms. Aniston and her fellow thespians. I give the film a 7.0 rating and suggest that it is a nice way to spend 100 minutes in an air conditioned venue.to view a movie that may not be great but it certainly is good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Tss5078May 25, 2015
The plan was simple, kidnap a rich suburban woman, while her husband and son are out of town. The husband is corrupt, so he will be more than willing to pay a ransom, in order to keep them quiet, and to get his wife back, right? This group ofThe plan was simple, kidnap a rich suburban woman, while her husband and son are out of town. The husband is corrupt, so he will be more than willing to pay a ransom, in order to keep them quiet, and to get his wife back, right? This group of bumbling, life-long criminals thought they had it all figured out, except for one small problem, Frank Dawson (Tim Robbins) isn't really interested in getting his wife back. This strange film, based on the novel, Switch by Elmore Leonard, takes place in the late 70's, and had critics raving, but after seeing it for myself, I'm left with one question, why? After the kidnapping takes place, the film moves at a snails pace, with criminals arguing, and phone calls back and fourth, nothing happens for the majority of the film. Jennifer Aniston stars and gives probably the worst performance I've ever seen her give. She is this spoiled, whiny, rich **** who just doesn't know when to keep her mouth shut. It really got to the point where every time she spoke I cringed. On the other hand, Tim Robbins, who plays her husband, was hilarious, but not in the film nearly enough. One of my favorite young actors, Charlie Tahan, also has a role in the film, as their son. In the brief amount of screen time he has, we see a very troubled and confused kid, an angle that could have helped the story, but he too was hardly used. The majority of the film features Jennifer Aniston interacting with her kidnappers and trying to form a bond with the bumbling idiots. I'm not sure if this was supposed to be a comedy or just a comedy of errors wrapped up in a dramatic theme, but either way it doesn't work. Most of the cast is absolutely horrible, the majority of the film is unbelievably slow, and the parts that aren't, just don't make a whole lot of sense. Life of Crime had quite a few side stories that could have been utilized to fill up the space and break up the monotony, but it was all left on the cutting room floor, leaving us with a film that could be used as a method of torture at Guantanamo Bay. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 4, 2014
In having a compelling premise and written by Elmore Leonard, there's plenty of opportunities for success. Life of Crime manages to take most of them, despite falling short in the third act. Nevertheless, notable performances from both JohnIn having a compelling premise and written by Elmore Leonard, there's plenty of opportunities for success. Life of Crime manages to take most of them, despite falling short in the third act. Nevertheless, notable performances from both John Hawkes and Jennifer Aniston. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LowbrowCinemaAug 31, 2014
LIFE OF CRIME may not be the best Elmore Leonard adaptation but it's certainly not the worst. In face, LIFE has a winning script, a super plot, and a terrific cast. Unfortunately, director Daniel Schechter (who wrote the script) directs theLIFE OF CRIME may not be the best Elmore Leonard adaptation but it's certainly not the worst. In face, LIFE has a winning script, a super plot, and a terrific cast. Unfortunately, director Daniel Schechter (who wrote the script) directs the film like a lead balloon undermining his really super writing. So ultimately, LIFE OF CRIME just isn't as much as it should be and has every right to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HaithamBAug 29, 2014
I was anticipating this movie just because the trailers were good, and I was hoping that this movie would be as good as I want it to be. Eventually, not laugh out loud funny, but it sense of humor and light hearted tone overshadowed some ofI was anticipating this movie just because the trailers were good, and I was hoping that this movie would be as good as I want it to be. Eventually, not laugh out loud funny, but it sense of humor and light hearted tone overshadowed some of the slow parts of the film. Jennifer Aniston is the spot light in this movie and she does a good job, I recommend you see this film if you want to have a good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hopejenSep 16, 2014
it goes a little bit slowly ... i think that it needed to be shaking a little bit ... it may be the type of the movie .... but i don't think that i can see it more than one time .... unlike what i was expecting .... however the cast did ait goes a little bit slowly ... i think that it needed to be shaking a little bit ... it may be the type of the movie .... but i don't think that i can see it more than one time .... unlike what i was expecting .... however the cast did a great job ... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lilyrosemarie00Dec 28, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought it was an excellent movie honestly. The movie has good acting, great story line and a good cast. The only problems I had with the movie were:
1) It took a little while to catch up to being a good movie. I do admit I was bored at first and thought it was getting nowhere but hey.. I thought the movie The Giver got nowhere at first either but was an amazing movie.
2) I thought it was pretty **** that Louis and Mickey didn't get together. He saved her from one of the guys that tried to rape her and he was so nice and he cared about her. Just like that scene where Mickey (Aniston) and Louis (Hawkes) were in the hotel room and Mickey put her arm under her head and closed her eyes and then Louis copied her and closed his eyes too. He then looked at her and smiled. I felt like he liked her. Maybe even loved her. You can tell by how he treats her and stuff.

So as you can tell.. My main disappointment was #2. Such a shame. If they would have gotten together.. It would have been on my favorite movie list. But its still an amazing movie. Go watch it and see if there's the same problems or MAIN problem I had. :)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
smiyamotOct 20, 2016
Kind of a remake of "Ruthless People" but not as good or as funny. The plot gets lost halfway through the movie and leaves a lot of holes towards the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lucbevibrasilApr 24, 2016
If you want to laugh, go see The Hangover, because here you will not find. The film survives because of its cast and some jokes (poor). Overall, the movie is good, but not as comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews