Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Nov 21, 2012
    50
    It's a slow-moving fable, with enough story and substance to make for one amazing Imax short. Instead the material is stretched beyond its limits into a long, repetitive and often stagnant 127-minute feature film.
  2. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Nov 20, 2012
    50
    The movie invites you to believe in all kinds of marvelous things, but it also may cause you to doubt what you see with your own eyes - or even to wonder if, in the end, you have seen anything at all.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Nov 19, 2012
    50
    I felt like I'd been invited to a seven-course dinner, and all seven turned out to be cake – and then the host insisted on delivering a lecture about how cake would bring me closer to God.
  4. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Nov 21, 2012
    50
    The movie's energy peters out in a series of book-club conversations about divine will, the power of storytelling, and the resilience of the human spirit. The ending's pious dullness is enough to make you wish you were back on that lifeboat, where the most pressing questions weren't spiritual but gastronomic: What's on the menu for lunch, and what can I do to make sure it isn't me?
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Nov 20, 2012
    40
    Life of Pi manages occasional spiritual wonder through its 3-D visuals but otherwise sinks like a stone.
  6. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Nov 20, 2012
    60
    The story of Pi and Richard Parker already has the clean simplicity of a myth and really doesn't require significant elaboration, but following in the footsteps of the source material, the film provides elaboration anyway, demonstrating a condescension to the audience that dulls the spectacle it punctuates.
  7. Reviewed by: Vadim Rizov
    Sep 30, 2012
    60
    Ang Lee's adaptation of Yann Martel's mega-selling novel Life Of Pi is technically adept, mildly engaging and thematically pedantic.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 727 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 173
  1. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    This movie is extraordinary. The effects, the plot, the acting, the drama, the humor, "the everything" is perfect. To put this book on the bigThis movie is extraordinary. The effects, the plot, the acting, the drama, the humor, "the everything" is perfect. To put this book on the big screen is a difficult task but Ang Lee tried and he succeeded. I recommend this movie to every living soul out there! Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    This was my favorite movie so far this year. While it may not convince you that God does exists it certainly tells a riveting allegorical (orThis was my favorite movie so far this year. While it may not convince you that God does exists it certainly tells a riveting allegorical (or possible allegorical) tale of survival. The music and visuals are sublime and there are moments of real emotional turmoil through the film and exceptional moments of hope. It may not be for everyone but i was certainly willing to go along for the spiritual and philosophical ride. Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Life of Pi and the Utility of Religion:

    It will be fascinating to hear the discussions about spirituality following the film Life of Pi,
    Life of Pi and the Utility of Religion:

    It will be fascinating to hear the discussions about spirituality following the film Life of Pi, directed by Ang Lee and based on Yann Martel
    Full Review »