Life of Pi Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 777 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Based on the best-selling novel by Yann Martel, is a magical adventure story centering on Pi Patel, the precocious son of a zookeeper. Dwellers in Pondicherry, India, the family decides to move to Canada, hitching a ride on a huge freighter. After a shipwreck, Pi is found adrift in theBased on the best-selling novel by Yann Martel, is a magical adventure story centering on Pi Patel, the precocious son of a zookeeper. Dwellers in Pondicherry, India, the family decides to move to Canada, hitching a ride on a huge freighter. After a shipwreck, Pi is found adrift in the Pacific Ocean on a 26-foot lifeboat with a zebra, a hyena, an orangutan and a 450-pound Bengal tiger named Richard Parker, all fighting for survival. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Dec 17, 2012
    100
    To produce a coherent film from Martel's tricky novel would be achievement enough, but Ang Lee has extracted something beautiful, wise and, at times, miraculous.
  2. 100
    Pi has designed his own terrarium to keep from staring directly into the abyss. It's not denial. It's faith in something else: the transformative power of storytelling. The film is transcendent.
  3. Reviewed by: Rodrigo Perez
    Sep 28, 2012
    91
    Deeply resonant and soulful, Life Of Pi, is a harrowing journey of survival, self-discovery and connection that both inspires and awes in equal measure.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 21, 2012
    80
    The result is a movie built upon big ideas -- and timely ones, too, delivering a message of understanding in this frustrating age of great intolerance -- but also a great story and, thanks to Lee, a wonderfully satisfying cinematic journey.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Nov 23, 2012
    75
    It proves the power of a good story, both to entertain us and to allow us to process unpleasant truths.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Nov 20, 2012
    75
    Life of Pi is spellbinding while it lasts. Lee's film can be appreciated as many things -- a post-Darwinian meditation on coexistence as the key to survival, a reflection on the spiritual nature of suffering and transcendence, a beguiling bait-and-switch on the vagaries of belief itself.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Nov 20, 2012
    40
    Life of Pi manages occasional spiritual wonder through its 3-D visuals but otherwise sinks like a stone.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 186
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I honestly didn't expect to say this again in the current calendar year but "this is probably the best movie I have seen this year". Yes, I think this is probably even a better movie that The Dark Knight Rises which I was all but certain would be my personal Picture of the Year winner. Life of Pi was simply amazing. The story is incredible and the way the film is delivered couldn't be better. You truly go on this story with Pi Patel and Richard Parker. The acting by Suraj Sharma is surprisingly fantastic as well. Some people will surely call this movie boring because it has a slow pace to it but Tom Hanks' Castaway film was also on the slower side and as that movie showed, if a film is well done the slow pace allows for more emotion and connection to the characters. Shoot, I got watery eyes when Hanks' character lost Wilson and that was a stinking volleyball, lol. This movie plays along that same style of a slow paced story of survival but is done even better due to the incredible cinematography that rivals Avatar in terms of magnificence. Another thing Life of Pi did remarkably well was end without disappointment. By that, I do not mean that the ending isn't sad, I mean that the ending lives up to the film. Again, take Castaway for example. That movie was great but its ending was quick and left a lot to be desired. The ending for Life of Pi throws a subtle twist that is sort of a mind blowing moment. That subtle twist leaves you pondering the events of the film well after it ends. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    I'm still mulling through the writer's and director's meaning for this film. I was spellbound by the cinematography, the acting, and theI'm still mulling through the writer's and director's meaning for this film. I was spellbound by the cinematography, the acting, and the story.
    Without the 3 D, it would have been just as wonderful.
    Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    This movie is extraordinary. The effects, the plot, the acting, the drama, the humor, "the everything" is perfect. To put this book on the bigThis movie is extraordinary. The effects, the plot, the acting, the drama, the humor, "the everything" is perfect. To put this book on the big screen is a difficult task but Ang Lee tried and he succeeded. I recommend this movie to every living soul out there! Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Having not read the book but hearing rave reviews about it and being compelled to view the film on the strength of these reviews alone, I wentHaving not read the book but hearing rave reviews about it and being compelled to view the film on the strength of these reviews alone, I went into the cinema not really knowing what to expect. But I am pleased to report that this was a wonderful film filled with beauty and emotion. Hardcore animal lovers may find it difficult to maintain dry eyes at some points but this is a stunning film that expresses the enchanting bonds between human and animal and the strength of the human spirit. Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2016
    8
    Life of Pi isn't what you're thinking (except if you're thinking what I'm thinking), Life of Pi is more like the Life of Everything, not justLife of Pi isn't what you're thinking (except if you're thinking what I'm thinking), Life of Pi is more like the Life of Everything, not just Pi and that's how I began to enjoy Life of Pi without any interruptions. Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2016
    7
    Life of Pi is an undeniably good film that is certainly not as good as its visuals. Those special effects when Pi is in the middle of theLife of Pi is an undeniably good film that is certainly not as good as its visuals. Those special effects when Pi is in the middle of the ocean are absolutely stunning and really steal the show. The plot is imaginative, emotional, and a powerful look at human survival. That said, Life of Pi is not without its problems. The beginning, with Pi's backstory and how they get into the story, is not great. None of it is wrapped up by the end anyways and it ultimately just feels like filler because Ang Lee could not figure out another way to jump into the story. If it started with brief backstory on the boy, his family, his girl, and the zoo, then it would be better. Instead, we get the entire etymology of his name. Additionally, towards the middle, the ocean parts do drag a bit in spots. At a certain point, you want him to get saved just so we can get on with proceedings. That said, Life of P is a pretty impressive film, particularly visually. I can only imagine seeing this one in 3D, it had to have been a spectacular viewing experience. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    0
    Boring, stupid, more boring. I can't believe this movie was even made. Ang Lee needs to stop making films, he's a terrible director.

See all 186 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show

    2013 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show Image
    Published: February 25, 2013
    Find reviews for last night's Oscars broadcast (and host Seth MacFarlane), see which experts were the most accurate in their predictions, and get a full list of this year's winners.
  2. 2013 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2013 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 10, 2013
    Lincoln dominated the nominations for the 85th annual Academy Awards on Thursday morning, while one of its major competitors had a rougher go of it. Inside, get a complete list of all of this year's nominees and a look at the snubs and favorites in each category.
  3. 2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 13, 2012
    Nominees for the 70th annual Golden Globe Awards were announced Thursday morning, with Lincoln, Argo, and Django Unchained leading the film nominees and Homeland and Modern Family among the TV leaders. Inside, get a full list of this year's nominees, and a look at major snubs and surprises.
  4. Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too) Image
    Published: November 7, 2012
    The holiday movie season kicks off this weekend with what could be the best James Bond film yet, but there are plenty more treats in store over the coming weeks, including new films from Quentin Tarantino, Kathryn Bigelow, Michael Haneke, David O. Russell, and Judd Apatow and the first of three Hobbit films.