Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: David Parkinson
    Jun 17, 2013
    60
    Now practically an exile from his homeland, Kiarostami follows Certified Copy with another film-literate relationship drama with the enigmatic overtones of Hitchcock.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Newcomers may be disappointed by such a slender effort, but fans of revered Iranian director Abbas Kiarostami will find plenty to appreciate in his observant followup to 2010’s acclaimed “Certified Copy.”
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    Jan 18, 2013
    60
    The film constantly toys with the expectations of both its characters and the audience, transforming a classic three-way tale of mistaken identities into something much more mysterious and troubling.
  4. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 26, 2013
    58
    A glimpse into how three different definitions of love can find themselves quietly at odds, the interactions between our three leads are always convincing if not always compelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Mar 8, 2013
    50
    Like Someone in Love is best suited to viewers already familiar with this extraordinary filmmaker's better work.
  6. Reviewed by: Guy Lodge
    Jan 18, 2013
    50
    As it turns out, it's the first, not the last, word of the title that's key to this droll, elegant but faintly trying study in emotional artifice.
  7. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Feb 8, 2013
    42
    There is a fine line between meeting an audience halfway and witholding enough without falling into self-indulgence, but Kiarostami can't make that balance here. Enigmatic and dull to a maddening degree, Like Someone In Love finds Kiarostami spinning his wheels.
  8. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Feb 12, 2013
    40
    The director has made disappointing films before — a more generous word might be transitional — but never one so slight.
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jan 18, 2013
    40
    It is a beautifully shot, and very nicely acted beginning to something: but finally frustrating.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    3
    Iranian filmmaker Abbas Kiarostami travels to Japan for this film about a young hooker who becomes involved with an old professor. Any movieIranian filmmaker Abbas Kiarostami travels to Japan for this film about a young hooker who becomes involved with an old professor. Any movie that starts with a long, inert first scene is gonna be slow, but this one takes the prize. First is a restaurant with 2 locked-down cameras for 10 min. Second is in a cab for 15 min, while listens to 8 voicemail msgs. You get the idea. At one point the old man fell asleep behind the wheel of the car for more than a minute. All sequences take place in real time with static camera and low key performances. I had plenty of time to answer a few emails and not miss a thing (even in subtitles) and may be the only person in Richmond to see this. It does have a pretty surprising shaggy dog ending. Full Review »
  2. Dec 24, 2014
    6
    Again, a weird movie. Not necessarily bad, per say, but definitely not for everyone. I for once, weren't that bothered by the way it was shot.Again, a weird movie. Not necessarily bad, per say, but definitely not for everyone. I for once, weren't that bothered by the way it was shot. I would qualify it as a bit pretentious, lazy kind of scene development. Things like fixed cameras for too long, unnecessary events that take time, prolonged looks and mimics and overall very small total count of scenes. You are going to feel the low budget (scene-wise), but the good news is that the acting is as natural as I can imagine - all the performances are great.

    And while it is definitely a slow movie, it somehow succeed to keep me hooked, probably because of the intense dialog and unexpected developments. So, yes, it was entertaining for me, but there is a BUT and it goes like this:

    I don't like it as a whole, because it didn't really go anywhere. It happens to make a common mistake, similar to other movies - it hooks you with the questions you are going to ask yourself, but never actually bothers to answer any one of them. 6 out of 10 praising the strong acting and character's intensity.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    A Kiarostami Movie I watch 3 times.
    And I like to watch it again.
    I like how the movie tells the story. I like the situation. Showing the
    A Kiarostami Movie I watch 3 times.
    And I like to watch it again.
    I like how the movie tells the story. I like the situation. Showing the pains and bad points of life with Poetry atmosphere. Its in top 10 of best movies i watched in 2013
    Full Review »