Relativity Media | Release Date: March 18, 2011
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 407 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
300
Mixed:
93
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
The point of this cliched, preposterous movie? Don't do drugs.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
FRancium34Jul 20, 2011
One word, shallow. A shame, since the cool starting concept went to waste.[SPOILERS] The glaring hole in plot/character is: if the drug is all-enabling, what differentiates the central character from the thug and any other person on drugs?One word, shallow. A shame, since the cool starting concept went to waste.[SPOILERS] The glaring hole in plot/character is: if the drug is all-enabling, what differentiates the central character from the thug and any other person on drugs? The answer the movie gave is NOTHING. He didn't have any redeeming qualities, from start to end he was completely reliant on the drug. He may have killed someone, and showed zero remorse or guilt. Aside from running out of the drug, he really didn't run into any problems. I felt the movie had a chance when he was told "you don't have experience, you have talent but you didn't earn it". Unfortunately the director never went down that road. I give the movie 6, because it just doesn't live up to potential. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Btonks1Mar 27, 2011
When I first saw this film I was left with a little pit of disappointment. After patiently waiting for a month to watch, I felt that the pacing of the film seemed to be very uneven and that the ending had such little impact. However, afterWhen I first saw this film I was left with a little pit of disappointment. After patiently waiting for a month to watch, I felt that the pacing of the film seemed to be very uneven and that the ending had such little impact. However, after being given a chance to digest what I'd seen, this film has been able to grow on me. It feels refreshingly original and has some great visual effects, including a fraction zoom which I'm a big fan of. Some interesting characters as well. Overall, Limitless is a very good watch. Collapse
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
FDT44Apr 9, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What do you get when you take an original, novel-inspired premise that has "Limitless" potential and injest it with Hollywood flair? A film engaging enough to make you think differently; atleast until you leave the theater. The popcorn thriller delivers, but not to the level it could have. "Limitless" is a film that falls into the unfortunate trap of overcomplexity. With this entrenching influence, comes gaping flaws. Before we examine such flaws, let's start with what we see on the surface. We are introduced to a charming, amiable protagonist in Cooper, who the viewer, can easily take an affinity towards. He is the vehicle for the film's effectiveness. In his role, Cooper is the "face" of the film's every expression, where we see and feel Morra's dissatisfaction with the status quo, and the urgency to make something of ourselves. This connection between character and self will "do" it for some, but that is just the start. Next is the visuals. Once we are embraced by the presence of NZT-48, the filmmakers' efforts to illustrate the endless capabilities of the drug is impressive to say the least. The world becomes bright, the scenery all makes sense, the sounds more resonant, and life's once grim lenses are now pure as ever. You throw in a couple notable supporters, (Abbie Cornish and Robert De Niro) and you have yourself a pretty enjoyable trip to the theaters, right? Perhaps, for some. This is my problem with "Limitless." Once you make your way past the topical layers of the film, (cast, fast pace, visual effects) which are done tediously, there isn't any substance left, and to fill up time, the filmmakers are forced to add unneeded "fluff" that strays from the effectiveness of the film as in the protagonist's moral and internal struggle to weigh the consequences of power, and a desire to revert to "normal life" and make something of himself naturally. This is almost entirely neglected after the premise, where Hollywood's true colors are readily shown. Here is where I begin to lose the direction of the film. Cooper's girlfriend has clearly left him in the beginning of the film, but comes back to him on a whim once he has taken the drug. Now it seems that a drug, said to allow use to use 100 % of your brain has the power to attract and give of pheremones? Interesting, yet silly. What else is ludicrous is the seeminly unlimited supply of the drug. When Morra's ex-brother-in-law dies he finds one bag of pills, yet it seems another two or three bags are spawned over the course of the film. One of the most moronic of all plot flaws is the unnecessary involvement with the Russian loan-shark. Now, if you had the brilliance of Morra and had earned large sums of money in the stock market (which seems a bit unrealistically whimsical as well) where is the logical practicality in borrowing $100,000, and even so, when he had come out on top of the investment ($2.5 million), why would he fail to pay back the amount. The loan-shark's usage of NZT also has little to offer to the film's direction. Recalling instruction on "how" to fight as in the subway, also seems "far-fetched" when taking into account the pill's function: using all one's brain-not muscle memory. Other instances of absurdity take flight when Morra's girlfriend runs across an ice-rink (in shoes-across ice...) and picks up a child while having the strength and reaction (not traits of the drug) to lift a child up and manuever the blade of a skate flawlessly into the path of an intruder. The film's last 10-15 minutes is what really drove me over the edge of sanity. Where does drinking one's blood become a key to safety in suspense? Now granted it is unique, the logic seems suspect. Just when you thought "Twilight" Series couldn't be more of a pop-culture hit....Aside from the many other plot holes and moral ambiguity, "Limitless" is a fun roller-coaster, thriller of a ride that will make you think......only after the credits have rolled. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
TTW107Dec 25, 2011
Don't get me wrong I was entertained by this movie but there are just too many loopholes in the story and too many convenient things happen to keep the movie going. I wouldn't watch it again.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
jeremypApr 2, 2011
You get to be the smartest guy on the planet and all you want to do is make money? A great premise ruined by Hollywood's catering to the average movie goer. There's a Jekyll and Hyde quality to the movie but it squanders opportunites toYou get to be the smartest guy on the planet and all you want to do is make money? A great premise ruined by Hollywood's catering to the average movie goer. There's a Jekyll and Hyde quality to the movie but it squanders opportunites to really imagine what a super smart guy might get up to. In the end he's going to be POTUS, when he'd be better off hob nobbing with Buffet and Gates and helping the world. Then study epigenetcis and cure diseases, predict health trends. Crank up green energy sources. All this guy does is go back to an old girlfriend, who would now be oh so boring! And if I had bad guys chasing me I'd now how to make them dissappear. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
Jquinn914Mar 29, 2011
I mean, I suppose if you're a child or have an IQ below 100, the plot holes and otherwise sketchy moments that appear, in all seriousness, every 15-20 minutes. A friend, who also thought Battle LA was phenomenal and thinks Transformers 2 isI mean, I suppose if you're a child or have an IQ below 100, the plot holes and otherwise sketchy moments that appear, in all seriousness, every 15-20 minutes. A friend, who also thought Battle LA was phenomenal and thinks Transformers 2 is the best movie to date, said "it's a movie" not able to understand that even fictional movies aren't meant to have a flawed storyline, let alone every other scene being questionable. All logic aside, I found it a very boring movie, the whole premise was a lot like Phenomenon but at least Travolta didn't develop his powers through pharmaceuticals and there was a hint of Wall Street to it. It wasn't original, the plot was just silly, and there wasn't nearly enough mindless action to make it fun. All in all, I've seen far worse, but there is no reason to go out of your way and see this. It was a waste of time. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
MarcDoyleMar 21, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's somewhat entertaining, but feels a little too sterile for lack of a better word. I definitely chuckled throughout. When Cooper "realizes" he can fight in the subway, however, it feels like a bad parody of "Chuck". And the end? Pretty weak. No larger lesson for anyone, and it's going for a "Player" ending, but with no savvy or grace. DeNiro is wasted in this as well. Abbie Cornish is solid, and Anna Friel is pretty courageous in a minor part. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ShiiraMar 29, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let the eye-rolling begin. It's the customary reaction whenever you tell people you that you're writing a novel. Let their eyes roll, you think, because on a good day, you literally feel like a god, as the words congest the previously white spaces of the page teeming with life; the life that you invented from the brain you would kiss on the cerebellum if the law of physics permitted it. But not everyday spent in Bohemia is a happy one. The prospective writer, just like Eddie Morra(Bradley Cooper), can sit at his desk and produce nothing for hours on end, abiding by the "stay in the room" principle to no avail, while people in the outside world with real jobs lead productive and fulfilling lives. An unsuccessful writer can suck the life out of your very being. Tired of being a "cleaning lady" and "bank", the writer's girlfriend, Lindy(Abby Cornish), indicates her preference for those punch the clock types when she dumps him, even though, you would think, an editor would have more patience than most women, since she is in the book biz. Before things can get any worse, Eddie has a fortuitous run-in with his ex-brother-in-law, Vernon(Johnny Whitworth), who gives him a special pill, a black market substance called NZT, which is designed to maximize the brain's potential, and in Eddie's case, cures his writer's block and allows him to finish the novel. "Limitless" should have stayed on this path, a writing path, instead of veering off into more sexy narrative terrain. With all that access to the brain's potential, Eddie could have started a new religion and be its charismatic spokesperson. "Limitless" could have been a treatise about the dangers of rhetoric, but the film is just not that ambitious, so it settles on being a dumb generic thriller about high financing on Wall Street, conspiracies, and who ultimately has control over the magic pills. The moviegoer doesn't care how NZT affects a Russian loan shark, since, in Vernon's words, "it works better if you're already smart." Turning his back on Bohemia, Eddie becomes a financial wizard, in which "Limitless" then gets bogged down with deadly boring talk about corporate mergers, involving Van Loon(Robert DeNiro), who wants this newbie to restructure his deal. "Limitless" forgets that it had the makings of a pretty nifty science-fiction mindbender. Under NZT, large chunks of time go unaccounted for, and as a result, Eddie may or may not have murdered a socialite in a hotel room. A detective questions him, but he is never formally charged. It's as if he's getting away with murder. Since Eddie, at one point, drinks another man's blood laced with NZT, it's hard not to connect "Limitless" with the Christian Bale character in Mary Harron's ultra-violent "American Psycho", whose Patrick Bateman also gets away with murder. Both films touch on the superficial nature of society. Curiously, "Limitless" is quite limited in its scope. Anybody can make a killing on the market, or run for the senate. With a better script, Eddie would rule the world. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
BairdoJul 27, 2011
Wow. A lot of users gave this movie a positive review (users, no doubt). I checked it out because I thought the concept was sort of cool, and because De Niro could release a fart and I'd still take a whiff. What ruined the film, was the factWow. A lot of users gave this movie a positive review (users, no doubt). I checked it out because I thought the concept was sort of cool, and because De Niro could release a fart and I'd still take a whiff. What ruined the film, was the fact that the lovely Abbie Cornish was made to use an ice skate as a weapon (to cut a bad guy)....which is fine, except for the fact that the skate was on the foot of a child - The child which she picked up and swung, cutting said bad guy. A cheesy, cringworthy moment that prepared me for the ridiculous blood-slurping scene. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
JamesLMar 27, 2011
This was simply a cheap movie with limited appeal. I thought it ran out of steam about half way through. The ending was unexpected and weak. Do not waste your time.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
AaronMApr 1, 2011
This movie was entertaining but it falls into its own trap of being about taking a drug. It is nauseating for the viewer to watch a drug user go through highs and lows. It really is a nasty trip to go along for the ride of a user who isThis movie was entertaining but it falls into its own trap of being about taking a drug. It is nauseating for the viewer to watch a drug user go through highs and lows. It really is a nasty trip to go along for the ride of a user who is tripping. So, I enjoyed the highs of this movie... and I hated the lows, which should be expected... but it doesn't make it worth recommending. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ShrdluMar 27, 2011
Not happy with this one. Players fine; effx refreshing and startling at first, then boring; plot flags and eventually peters out. And then it went on. And on. Too long, with nothing new or exciting to say.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Edward9630Jul 23, 2011
Limitless is an alright film. The story is a bit interesting and when he takes the pills and gets knowledge and do what smart people do they were cool scenes. The problems with the film is it could have gone into more detail about how theLimitless is an alright film. The story is a bit interesting and when he takes the pills and gets knowledge and do what smart people do they were cool scenes. The problems with the film is it could have gone into more detail about how the pills came from and alot of the scenes in the film didnt interest me at all. I would give this film a high rental. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysJul 14, 2014
While Limitless definitely has some intelligence, the whole experience of seeing this movie seems fake. There's something about every perfect little plot point, every twist and turn, and even Bradley Cooper's charismatic and risky performanceWhile Limitless definitely has some intelligence, the whole experience of seeing this movie seems fake. There's something about every perfect little plot point, every twist and turn, and even Bradley Cooper's charismatic and risky performance that makes me think there's a side of this movie that isn't being shown. Watching this left me feeling a little uneasy and suspicious, and I didn't believe a second of the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
WinstonoboogieSep 18, 2011
How many times have you heard this before: a thriller featuring an interesting premise (with a dash of sci-fi), a solid cast (Bradley Cooper, Robert DeNiro, Abbie Cornish), some well-staged action scenes...and an ending that makes you wish itHow many times have you heard this before: a thriller featuring an interesting premise (with a dash of sci-fi), a solid cast (Bradley Cooper, Robert DeNiro, Abbie Cornish), some well-staged action scenes...and an ending that makes you wish it all added up to more than it ultimately does. Still worth watching, but this seemed like it could have been great instead of merely decent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BIGREESEApr 4, 2011
well i found this movie to be exausting... and thats not necessarily a good thing. there are a couple of development faults at the beginning that were kinda annoying then after that the movie got ADD. i was never totally sure of what waswell i found this movie to be exausting... and thats not necessarily a good thing. there are a couple of development faults at the beginning that were kinda annoying then after that the movie got ADD. i was never totally sure of what was going on and could only drop my jaw as a women used a little kid as a weapon. some of the stuff was just not that needed. but the acting was good and it was a good story. when it could be followed Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryMar 21, 2011
Bradley Cooper plays a New York writer who can't writeâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MelcherMar 20, 2011
Premise is good, but you really question the characters (especially the protagonist) motivation throughout. There are also a lot of questionable plot elements and gaping logical holes. That said, if you put aside thought and watch this moviePremise is good, but you really question the characters (especially the protagonist) motivation throughout. There are also a lot of questionable plot elements and gaping logical holes. That said, if you put aside thought and watch this movie then it's not too bad, fast paced, interestingly shot and with a unique story line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuyBrianApr 1, 2011
A stylishly paranoid and adrenaline-fueled â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BearDownApr 12, 2011
Limitless was a fantastic idea. Limitless the movie however, came up short for me. The idea of a drug with those kinds of possibilities is a very brilliant idea for a movie. The storyline felt rushed, with too much to explain in too littleLimitless was a fantastic idea. Limitless the movie however, came up short for me. The idea of a drug with those kinds of possibilities is a very brilliant idea for a movie. The storyline felt rushed, with too much to explain in too little time. Bradley Cooper's character seems to bottom out while Robert De Niro's never quite takes off. Never the less, the story line is set for a sequel based on the movie's financial success. Bottom line is while this movie is a great one to see, one will not be blown away by it. The idea had a lot of potential that fell short for me. Rent this one and save a few bucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ImTheOwensApr 15, 2011
Limitless was a decent movie. Obviously going in you are already suspending disbelief so you can't complain if you thought the movie was a little over the top and ridiculous. (Which it was) Overall Bradley Cooper is fun to watch and makes aLimitless was a decent movie. Obviously going in you are already suspending disbelief so you can't complain if you thought the movie was a little over the top and ridiculous. (Which it was) Overall Bradley Cooper is fun to watch and makes a good leading man, Deniro is Deniro, he always brings something to the table. Fast paced, decent suspense/action flick. Whatever you want to call it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Cotts1988Apr 26, 2011
This is an entertaining film, provided that initial expectations of the viewer are not too high. The storyline is relatively predictable, and fails to touch on many of the darker aspects of drug addiction (which is something that this filmThis is an entertaining film, provided that initial expectations of the viewer are not too high. The storyline is relatively predictable, and fails to touch on many of the darker aspects of drug addiction (which is something that this film almost seems destined for). Bradley Cooper is immensely watchable and proves that he is not just a comedy actor, delivering a good performance.

There are a few instances, most notably the opening credits, where a strange camera technique is used to move down a street in a bizarre, flowing motion. This is aimed to show the effect of the drug on the user, yet unfortunately left me feeling sick and dizzy, with the result being that I could not focus on these sections of the film. I should also state that I do not suffer from any illness such as motion sickness that would cause this to occur, so I assume others may be likely to feel the same way when watching these scenes, which can only be described as a horrible design choice.

Despite this, the film is perfect viewing for a relaxed viewer. The dialogue is often snappy, and the storyline is entertaining. Unfortunately Limitless feels like a missed opportunity, as with more work it could have been a very good film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ForestgravyMay 28, 2011
Solid and enjoyable, but too much narration and a slightly flat finale. Nothing wrong with the action scenes and it's ok for a friday night, but could have been more thrilling with the premise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Kamera24Aug 29, 2011
I have to say that I was genuinely excited about the subject of the movie starring a rising star( Cooper) and a old-timey one(De Niro). Ultimately the movie fell flat not to mention the stupidity of the ultimate scene, it should be noted thatI have to say that I was genuinely excited about the subject of the movie starring a rising star( Cooper) and a old-timey one(De Niro). Ultimately the movie fell flat not to mention the stupidity of the ultimate scene, it should be noted that the movie failed due to screenplay. Uneven, filled with holes and lacking realism, it proves to be underwhelming specially in contrast to the directing. The high-point of Limitless are the incredible shots provided by Neil Burger and Jo Willems used to describe the effect of the drug or the sensational lingering non stop zooms of New York City. Another positive point is Bradley Cooper's transformation from a failing unsure of himself writer to a brilliant and **** trader, Cooper shows range as well as emotion as the title character. The rest of the cast is quite unmemorable, filled with uninteresting as well as pointless characters. Limitless could have been a great movie if so many details wouldn't have been overlooked : an unfinished script, failure to find material for the supporting characters and a let's start writing the sequel ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
YossGoldOct 16, 2011
Though the movie has an ok rhythm to it and very nice camerawork, I have to say that it presents a VERY VERY limited idea as to what it could mean to be able to use/access 100% of your brain. The movie might have made a bit more sense if theThough the movie has an ok rhythm to it and very nice camerawork, I have to say that it presents a VERY VERY limited idea as to what it could mean to be able to use/access 100% of your brain. The movie might have made a bit more sense if the pill added lets say an extra 10-20% of brain-potency, which is quite enough to elevate someone to the quite shallow and not that special capabilities portrayed in the movie.

I mean the man can use 100%(!!!!) of his brain and all you could come up with to portray it is great at casinos and stock market, able to charm ladies into bed and can fight well (in certain situations only, in others the story line dictates that he suddenly "forgets" that he's Jet Li due to his memories of a few scenes from a Bruce Lee movie and a self defense clip, thus getting the crap kicked out of him). I'm thinking the writer of this movie (or more accurately, the author of the book it's based on) should have taken a couple of NZT pills himself before he wrote it.

Not only are his "unlimited" abilities so limited, in order to make this "thriller" ... well... thrilling, the main character turns out to be the stupidest "extra-smart" man ever. Most of what gets him in trouble are mistakes that could easily be foreseen by my 5 year old nephew, yet this dude with unlimited smarts seems to fall into every pothole along the way.

In short, enjoyment of this movie all depends on how you approach it. If you're expecting a Friday afternoon no-brainer with ok acting, I'd say this could do the job because from that aspect, it's definitely not bad. On the other hand, if you're expecting what this movie purports to be, you're going to be VERY disappointed (and at some point even quite bored).

I'd say that the look and feel of the movie and that seed of a great idea (Ah, what Ingmar Bergman could have done with this) are what gained all the rating stars from me.

Limitless idea, VERY limited, unimaginative and unintelligent execution. What a shame.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jzmeMay 3, 2013
I love the idea and concept of this movie; about a single drug that produces magic in the brain. Bradley Cooper was perfect for this role. However, this movie could've been better. I don't sense any climax & it ends with such a 'perfect'I love the idea and concept of this movie; about a single drug that produces magic in the brain. Bradley Cooper was perfect for this role. However, this movie could've been better. I don't sense any climax & it ends with such a 'perfect' ending. I mean there's got to be more than that. I was curious to find out the running out of NZTs. It was good movie, but definitely not a wow for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
csw12May 25, 2013
An interesting concept with a good lead by Bradley Cooper but Limitless is certainly nothing to be jumping up and down about. The movie by the mid way point was starting to lose steam and the ending was lazy and weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29May 26, 2013
Interesting premise that dwindles in creativeness and excitement minute by minute. It is an easy movie to watch, but whether it is worth sitting through is a different story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
A_NorthernerFeb 18, 2013
Limitless is an above average thriller, not without its flaws, but nonetheless well anchored by Cooper's versatile performance as both bum and success story. The film earns points for its varied cinematography and effects, giving clearLimitless is an above average thriller, not without its flaws, but nonetheless well anchored by Cooper's versatile performance as both bum and success story. The film earns points for its varied cinematography and effects, giving clear distinction between the times when Eddie is experiencing the drugs illumination and not. The plot is a little thin, the ending feels almost tagged on as an afterthought and while Abbie Cornish doesn't really have much to do, Robert De Niro doesn't bring as much gusto as you would expect to his role as the investment kingpin who takes an interest in Eddie's success. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dev92Aug 25, 2012
This film had so much potential but there were just too many holes in it for me to give it a positive rating. It was pretty much as close as you can get to one and I do believe that most people will be entertained throughout the film as IThis film had so much potential but there were just too many holes in it for me to give it a positive rating. It was pretty much as close as you can get to one and I do believe that most people will be entertained throughout the film as I was. Maybe I just couldn't get behind the idea 100% which would have to be the director's fault (though it could just be me). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
StaticSpineAug 25, 2013
The storyline seems intriguing from the beginning, but later I didn't believe what was happening. It was pretty naive and plain and it was pretty obvious to predict some moments, for example when Eddie gets out of medicine. Cooper and De NiroThe storyline seems intriguing from the beginning, but later I didn't believe what was happening. It was pretty naive and plain and it was pretty obvious to predict some moments, for example when Eddie gets out of medicine. Cooper and De Niro are great though. The ending is way too cheesy. So I wanted to say this move has much more potential than the way it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
A really cool movie with an interesting concept, stylish editing, great cinematography, and an electrifying pace. Still not a Bradley Cooper fan, but he's alright here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
animanfan1Feb 10, 2015
This was a movie that disappoint me a lot i really expect to be some kind of a fresh movie not the best but at least joyful to watch but it's not Neil Burger is not a director of few movies i think 6 or 7 but he fail in every one of them andThis was a movie that disappoint me a lot i really expect to be some kind of a fresh movie not the best but at least joyful to watch but it's not Neil Burger is not a director of few movies i think 6 or 7 but he fail in every one of them and i was sure he will fail again but there was a little hope because of the idea for a guy who take a magic pill that make you super smart .But NO he destroy even this the smartness guy in the word make a simple mistakes that lead him to disasters.The character played by Bradley Cooper was too fake everything in his life goo down and down and in one point HOP!!! There is a guy with a bag of magic pills which i will steal and hide in my pants from the cops who are in the middle of the crime scene . Don't get me wrong the movie was full with that kind of scenes that movie just make you think about a lot of thing like Why the other people who takes pills didn't become millionaires ? Why the drug dealer who has magic pills didn't take pills and fix his life ? Why Carl Van Loon didn't take some pills from the lab that he owns ? Why the smartness guy in the world didn't think it's suspicious to make 2 millions from 10 000$ for 10 days ? Why the smartness guy in the world forgot that he take 100 000$ from russian gangster ? And whats the hole idea with this hidden message in the movie that drugs are good and without them we are nothing ? A smartness guy in the world don't care about people who die from cancer people who are blind or deaf he care about becoming a President of USA ???? WTF ??That kind of a questions that make the movie meaningless.And when when one movie become meaningless you just can't enjoy watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ponderflixMar 22, 2015
Eddie Morra (Bradley Cooper – The Hangover) is a deadbeat writer. His flat is a mess, the rent’s overdue, his girlfriend has given him the boot, his publisher is running out of patience and his hair is all straggly looking. But no wonderEddie Morra (Bradley Cooper – The Hangover) is a deadbeat writer. His flat is a mess, the rent’s overdue, his girlfriend has given him the boot, his publisher is running out of patience and his hair is all straggly looking. But no wonder he’s having such difficulties, like the rest of us buffoons, the buffoon is only using 20% of his brain. Luckily he bumps into his ex brother in law Vernon (Johnny Whitworth – CSI Miami) who has moved on from illegal drug-dealing to illegal pharmaceutical-dealing. Vernon gives Eddie a pill of a drug in development known as MDT that will allow him to use the other 80%. What would a man who could use 100% of his brain be like? What would he do with his enormous mind?

He would get a haircut, figure out how to make loads of money on the stock market, talk his way into the beds of many women and generally be an arrogant so and so. Of course he would. I found that to be a disappointing premise for what a Mr 100% would do with his powers, but perhaps it’s a true and painful insight into the male psyche that all a Limitless man would do is the same as his limited brothers, just more so. You, man out there, hear this: no matter how much of your potential you unlock, you will always at heart be a vain and cruel beast, furthering your own base self-interest at all costs, seeking to dominate your peers and squirt your seed into as many women as you can.

Read full review at ponderflix on wordpress.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SmileATTFeb 10, 2015
This was a movie that disappoint me a lot i really expect to be some kind of a fresh movie not the best but at least joyful to watch but it's not Neil Burger is not a director of few movies i think 6 or 7 but he fail in every one of them andThis was a movie that disappoint me a lot i really expect to be some kind of a fresh movie not the best but at least joyful to watch but it's not Neil Burger is not a director of few movies i think 6 or 7 but he fail in every one of them and i was sure he will fail again but there was a little hope because of the idea for a guy who take a magic pill that make you super smart .But NO he destroy even this the smartness guy in the word make a simple mistakes that lead him to disasters.The character played by Bradley Cooper was too fake everything in his life goo down and down and in one point HOP!!! There is a guy with a bag of magic pills which i will steal and hide in my pants from the cops who are in the middle of the crime scene . Don't get me wrong the movie was full with that kind of scenes that movie just make you think about a lot of thing like Why the other people who takes pills didn't become millionaires ? Why the drug dealer who has magic pills didn't take pills and fix his life ? Why Carl Van Loon didn't take some pills from the lab that he owns ? Why the smartness guy in the world didn't think it's suspicious to make 2 millions from 10 000$ for 10 days ? Why the smartness guy in the world forgot that he take 100 000$ from russian gangster ? And whats the hole idea with this hidden message in the movie that drugs are good and without them we are nothing ? A smartness guy in the world don't care about people who die from cancer people who are blind or deaf he care about becoming a President of USA ???? WTF ??That kind of a questions that make the movie meaningless.And when when one movie become meaningless you just can't enjoy watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
YorkManApr 3, 2016
Limitless is a film with a brilliant premise, with Bradley Cooper as Eddie Morrow, an intelligent but burnt out writer whose life is kind of running away from him. Tied to a deadline to produce the first chapters of a new book (afterLimitless is a film with a brilliant premise, with Bradley Cooper as Eddie Morrow, an intelligent but burnt out writer whose life is kind of running away from him. Tied to a deadline to produce the first chapters of a new book (after receiving an advance payment he's effectively wasted), dumped by his woman Lindy (Abbie Cornish), chased up for rent by his Chinese landlady and effectively getting to his wits end.
Salvation comes in the unlikely form of his ex-brother-in-law Vernon (Johnny Whitworth), a low-life drug dealer who he bumps into whilst on a walk around his neighbourhood. Seemingly well to do with flash clothes and a nice apartment, he gives Eddie a clear looking pill explaining it's an experimental drug which enhances recall.
Eddie, unsure but also running out of options, heads home and takes the pill on the way. He suddenly finds himself able to access every memory in his mind, literally everything that he's ever seen, heard or been exposed to. But not only that, these memories are coherent and accessible with the necessary context, effectively making him super-intelligent. With this massive increase in intellect comes a massive increase in confidence, focus and ability to learn.

He gets back to his apartment building and, using his new abilities, immediately beds the landlady's daughter after briefly spotting an obscure book in her bag that he remembered from his own days in college. He also recalls the background conversations between said book's owner and uses this knowledge (and his increased confidence) to dazzle the woman. He then immediately tidies his apartment, cleans all his clothes, and knocks out the chapters of his book in a few hours.

However, things get complicated when the pill wears off. Eddie goes to see Vernon, but Vernon is shot by those he had stolen the pills from. Eddie locates the pills and begins to take one a day, using them to turn his life around.
In order to secure funds he borrows a substantial amount from an Eastern European loan shark, and invests in the stock exchange, becoming the darling of the financial world. He reconnects with Lindy who is shocked by the transformation and worried about the pills. And he eventually comes into contact with Carl Van Loon (Robert De Niro), a billionaire tycoon who has motives of his own.

Will Eddie come out on top? Watch the film and find out.

But is the film any good?

Well, yes and no. The first 45 minutes is brilliant, setting up the story and displaying the 'power' of the pills, their effect on Eddie, and the transformation of his life. The rest of the movie is like a different film, with the introduction of De Niro's character, and the shift from sci-fi/fantasy and action, into a more dramatic and slower paced, almost 'cat and mouse' thriller. To me it suffered massively because of that, and it's clear that the film is based on a novel. I can imagine the book having a lot more depth and exposition in regard to the set up, as well as a more cogent rationale for characters' actions leading to the ending.
It's no surprise that the television show bases its own narrative more around the action and sci-fi/fantasy elements of the first act of the movie.
Overall the film is very good, but the complete tonal shift does mean the pace becomes almost a crawl (save for a couple of action set-pieces) after that initial 45 minutes.

If it pops up on television, give it a whirl. But it's not a film I'd recommend anyone actively seek out.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews