Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 9, 2012
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 696 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
527
Mixed:
106
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BellinoPSep 7, 2013
Lets get this Bill passed.. find someone to help pass this bill... hey bill will you help me pass this Bill.. wow what a waste of talent. actors were superb sets and direction was excellent. but give me a break the story should have focusedLets get this Bill passed.. find someone to help pass this bill... hey bill will you help me pass this Bill.. wow what a waste of talent. actors were superb sets and direction was excellent. but give me a break the story should have focused much more on personal relationships and how without that bill there lives being affected by it. that would have made a more powerful movie... Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
adolfGarlicApr 6, 2013
Couldn't watch it all it was so dull. Ridiculous facial prosthetics. Watch "Boy with a bike" instead. This is not, as had expected, a biopic, it just focuses on one small piece of legistlation that they're trying to pass. An episode of theCouldn't watch it all it was so dull. Ridiculous facial prosthetics. Watch "Boy with a bike" instead. This is not, as had expected, a biopic, it just focuses on one small piece of legistlation that they're trying to pass. An episode of the West Wing is more entertaining. DDL is good but the rest of the film ducks sonkey sicks. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
thom71gtApr 6, 2013
Yawn!! I can certainly appreciate the artistic talents of the writers and the actors, but when I go to see a movie, I want to be entertained. If I wanted to learn the intricate details of how Lincoln was able to pass the 13th amendment, thenYawn!! I can certainly appreciate the artistic talents of the writers and the actors, but when I go to see a movie, I want to be entertained. If I wanted to learn the intricate details of how Lincoln was able to pass the 13th amendment, then I'd watch a documentary. This movie stretched on for two and a half hours of mostly boring dialog. Yeah, I can appreciate the acting, but this was not what I was expecting. Very disappointing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
hgtrainer74Apr 27, 2013
This movie was like watching C-SPAN from the 1800's. It is EXTREMELY slow and stuffy. Some of the vocabulary is like listening to Shakespeare, you kind of understand what they are saying but it still would be helpful to have a translator toThis movie was like watching C-SPAN from the 1800's. It is EXTREMELY slow and stuffy. Some of the vocabulary is like listening to Shakespeare, you kind of understand what they are saying but it still would be helpful to have a translator to make sure you know what is going on. Abraham Lincoln and his rambling stories....... I wanted to shoot him myself by the end of the movie. He is like that uncle that tells you a 15 minute story that has nothing to do with anything. All that being said, there is great acting and I can see where it would be critically acclaimed. If you are looking for a true look at politics in the 19th century, this movie is for you, but if you want action or anything resembling entertainment, pick a different movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
johnnybegudJan 18, 2015
Not being American and familiar with the story I found this incomprehensible. It does not even seem to be a particularly momentus time in history. Its not as if the Americans were the first to ban slavery !!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
foundationcitizNov 27, 2012
If you look at many of the good reviews, you will see the problem, in my mind, with this movie. It is a bit too slow, too monotone, and simply too stuffy. There could have been so much more color and life. I think we should have seenIf you look at many of the good reviews, you will see the problem, in my mind, with this movie. It is a bit too slow, too monotone, and simply too stuffy. There could have been so much more color and life. I think we should have seen different perspectives, such as from the angle of a simple working person and from the angle of the south. The movie leaves out Lincoln's great speeches, making only brief references. The movie leaves out the assassination, and what we know about who did it and why. The real death blow to the movie, for me, was the lack of vigor in why and what they were fighting for. After all, huge numbers of americans died. So, for me the movie was a dud. I think a lot of people are caught up in the moment. By the way, the supporting acting was GREAT, and I would give an award to Sally Fields. Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
0
mrmonsterApr 23, 2013
This is Steven Spielberg's worst movie. It is boring, it has no action, it has no suspense, it has no story, it really has nothing. It was just one VERY long story of Lincoln's last few months, which are not very exciting at all. A HistoryThis is Steven Spielberg's worst movie. It is boring, it has no action, it has no suspense, it has no story, it really has nothing. It was just one VERY long story of Lincoln's last few months, which are not very exciting at all. A History Channel documentary on Lincoln would have been 10 times better. Trust me, halfway through this movie, you will want to see Lincoln assassinated. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
BartNov 23, 2012
In this movie Spielberg does to history what John Wilkes Booth did to Lincoln. Everyone knows how Spielberg voted, but just in case you were wondering, see this film. Slow and plodding at best, and for those who like history, it is a trainIn this movie Spielberg does to history what John Wilkes Booth did to Lincoln. Everyone knows how Spielberg voted, but just in case you were wondering, see this film. Slow and plodding at best, and for those who like history, it is a train wreck. DDL does a great performance, but Spielberg's politically motivated style kills what could have been a good film, and does a great disservice to a great man. While they got DDL spot on casting wise for Lincoln, did the casting people ever look at a picture of Mary Todd Lincoln? Pass this movie by and take the time to read a good book on Lincoln, you will be better off. Saying this movie is based on historical events is like saying Twilight is a documentary. Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Jan 9, 2013
Lincoln is deprived of emotion, comedy, action and music that makes a film come alive. Even with a interesting time in our history the movie is a total bore with a pace unimaginably slow. It tries to come alive in the end but with a rushedLincoln is deprived of emotion, comedy, action and music that makes a film come alive. Even with a interesting time in our history the movie is a total bore with a pace unimaginably slow. It tries to come alive in the end but with a rushed ending the movie falls apart. A disgraceful film by Spielberg. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
2
ScottishSchemieJan 14, 2013
I am very surprised to see such praise for this film.It is not only too long,but its turgid pace which drags relentlessly make it it appear even longer.Spielberg appears to have thrown away the magic template.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
zedzdedJan 15, 2013
I have to say this was an incredibly dull movie. If you're not american, you'll be scratching your head in bafflement about why there was a need to create a whole movie about a bunch of senators trying to wrangle votes for a bill. The sortI have to say this was an incredibly dull movie. If you're not american, you'll be scratching your head in bafflement about why there was a need to create a whole movie about a bunch of senators trying to wrangle votes for a bill. The sort of stuff you'd avoid on TV nowadays even if you're interested in politics.

From the very first few moments of this banal platitude of a snoozefest, Lincoln is portrayed as some sort of angelic benevolent grandfather who can do no wrong. A bunch of soldiers appear at the base of his pedestal where he is bathed in a glorifying halo and recite verbatim a speech that he gave at some pivotal historical moment. The awe and respect from the soldiers is painful, one dimensional and almost insulting.

So the tone is set. Lincoln is a hero from the outset, a glorified angel, a beatific beaming wise one. Where was the man? The depressed, racist, that is the reality of who he was? There's not a glimpse of it here.

Add to that, the non stop speaking. It's incessant dialogue and not very good dialogue at that. Just because someone speaks fast doesn't make it clever or interesting or persuasive. I can't figure out why Day - Lewis would be involved in this turd. Is he desperate for an Oscar? Because everyone in this movie telegraphed from afar 'Watch this, this is my Oscar moment' I nearly gagged at Sally Field's first scene where she emoted sentimentally claiming she understood the significance of a dream claiming it was to do with a senate bill. She nearly wept. I have to say the cinematography wasn't very interesting either and the lighting was poor at some moments especially outdoor scenes where it was especially weak. And the hackneyed battle scene at the start? Forget about it, I wish I could unsee it.

Turgid, Turgid, Turgid, avoid, avoid, avoid!
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
NicozandbergJun 23, 2013
I am not an American and don't now much about their history. This was a huge disappointment. Tedious and long winding. If you don't care for the intricacies of politics, don't waste your time.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
Trev29Jan 9, 2013
No academy award winning directors or actors could save this tediously long debacle of a film. This movie seemed longer than the Civil War. It is neither engaging, entertaining, or thought provoking. Completely overrated.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusApr 1, 2013
I love movies, that, make you think and get you sucked into that world. This movie had none of that.
I found this movie, extermely boring. So much pointless talking, all they do is talk. total bore of a movie.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
bobbeeDec 21, 2012
This film is a total bore. I had to force myself to sit in my seat for the length of this almost endless movie and left the theater with a pressure on my head. Steven Spielberg just can't handle heavy drama as was proven with "Amistad," "WarThis film is a total bore. I had to force myself to sit in my seat for the length of this almost endless movie and left the theater with a pressure on my head. Steven Spielberg just can't handle heavy drama as was proven with "Amistad," "War Horse," and to some degree "Munich.". His pace is so slow in "Lincoln" that it's maddening. Even Daniel Day Lewis can't save this film. I don't believe that a docudrama has to be boring and slow in order to be a good one. It's the director's role to make his film come to life even if we know how it ends. This film is truly underwhelming. Tony Kushner's script is overpraised, as well as John Williams unimpressive score. There is so much talent in this film that just doesn't even come close to reaching its full potential. As I left the theater I said to a friend of mine, "If you ever want to torture me, force me to sit through that film again." Collapse
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
SHANKROIDFeb 16, 2013
If there was ever a movie that WASN'T what it said on the tin, this is it. It kicks off with yer man from My Left Foot, here with a funny hat and beard for whatever reason, sitting about drinking tea and telling stories. This goes on forIf there was ever a movie that WASN'T what it said on the tin, this is it. It kicks off with yer man from My Left Foot, here with a funny hat and beard for whatever reason, sitting about drinking tea and telling stories. This goes on for quite a bit. Dunno what he was saying. I don't think the other characters were even listening. Half an hour in and still no sign of the vampires, so I fast forwarded a bit (don't ask me how I did this in the cinema). Watched another scene. Tommy Lee Jones out of off of US Marshals pops up with a silly wig. Still no action. Fast forwarded again and the end credits were rolling. Maybe I skipped past the vampire scenes. And this is supposed to win Oscars? Pfft... Expand
2 of 16 users found this helpful214
All this user's reviews
3
dollarsignJan 29, 2013
I wish that Spielberg would have taken a more Hollywood approach with this film. First of all, I feel like I've seen recreations of Lincoln's life and death about a million times bellow the fluorescent lights that projected hours of ho-humI wish that Spielberg would have taken a more Hollywood approach with this film. First of all, I feel like I've seen recreations of Lincoln's life and death about a million times bellow the fluorescent lights that projected hours of ho-hum documentaries in History classes. This film, was no different. I believe that critics were so infatuated with praising this film under the telescope of intellectual scrutiny. I mean, come on, imagine if the Wall Street Journal gave this film a negative review. What "reputable" company would tear apart a film themed around abolition and the Civil War, directed by America's prodigious director, and centered around America's iconic President, Abraham Lincoln? >>Lincoln's death at the end (for people who are angry that I "spoiled" the movie, seriously?) was more of a refreshing release. >>Sally Field's portrayal as Mary Todd Lincoln was so abhorrently hard to watch. The potentially Oscar-winning performance COULD have came from Mr. and Mrs. Lincoln's grand argument about sending their son to war, but it was short lived and BORING since Daniel Day-Lewis was the only one pushing and trying to stimulate tense atmosphere (I can picture Steven Spielberg face palming big time). I almost laughed when Sally Field collapsed onto the ground...I thought the dress was going to eat her. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
KOTCBJan 19, 2013
Spielberg does C-SPAN and, all things being equal, I'll take 3 hours of Brian Lamb over this schmaltzy, simplified hagiography any day. Wonderful performance by DDL, as usual, but the script should have been dispatched in a Ford's theaterSpielberg does C-SPAN and, all things being equal, I'll take 3 hours of Brian Lamb over this schmaltzy, simplified hagiography any day. Wonderful performance by DDL, as usual, but the script should have been dispatched in a Ford's theater (where is belongs) with a very short run. What a waste of time, money and talent - sort of like the civil war - with so little to show for it. This movie was obviously created for the "low information voter" but even they deserve a better effort from the biggest director in Hollywood. Very disappointing and discouraging - I CAN NOT BELIEVE how many positive reviews this film has received. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
Pelen23Jul 19, 2014
The film should be retitled as " Lincoln in Darkness" since our eyes were crying out for a tiny big of light to see lincoln as Daniel Day Lewis's face was in half darkness throughout the film even though we were able to the other starsThe film should be retitled as " Lincoln in Darkness" since our eyes were crying out for a tiny big of light to see lincoln as Daniel Day Lewis's face was in half darkness throughout the film even though we were able to the other stars clearly. Day - Lewis's performance did nothing for me as he was actin in darkness to disguise his heavy make up though Sally Field has still got it. She was excellent. The film is so slow and uninteresting even the last half an hour of the film couldn't save it. We never see lincoln making a public speech in the entire film but Mr Spielberg puts a public speech scene soon after the Lincoln death scene. Give me a bucket because I will throw up. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
3
MrBlackTronJul 28, 2014
Tarihsel gerçekliğe lafım yok o dönemi iyi yansıtıyor oyuncu, yönetmen hatta müzikler çok iyi fakat bir filmi izlerken bu kadar sıkıldığımı az hatırlıyorum.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AngusBarbudezAug 26, 2016
"Como conseguir el oscar facilmente sin hacer mucho esfuerzo por Steven Spielberg"

1- Pones "Steven Spielberg" en la pelicula 2- Cogemos el modelo de guión -"Ganar Oscar modelo 001232"-, del archivador 3-Contratar a un reparto y que
"Como conseguir el oscar facilmente sin hacer mucho esfuerzo por Steven Spielberg"

1- Pones "Steven Spielberg" en la pelicula
2- Cogemos el modelo de guión -"Ganar Oscar modelo 001232"-, del archivador
3-Contratar a un reparto y que suelten discursos ñoños y solemnes que rocen la vergüenza ajena
4-Protagonista caracterizado casi rozando la deformación total del actor y que sobreactue y haga el subnormal lo recargue con actitudes extrañas como lo hizo en la última película que ganó con ella, el Oscar.

Esto sería resumidamente lo que es Lincoln, la última turulez infantil del señor Spielberg. Es lamentable que este señor , que precisamente no es un mindundi en el cine, haya hecho solemne acto de estupidez donde resalta quizás lo peor de él. Aun flipo que esto haya ganado 2 putos Oscars y encima a mejor actor.

¿Por donde empiezo?, la película no se si considerarla un biopic, ya que como tal no es, simplemente la película está contando un hecho crucial y critico de la historia de Estados Unidos, que fue la aprobación de la 13º enmienda, que es la abolición de la esclavitud, de la que Abraham Lincoln fue artífice y de como consigue los apoyos, mientras debe conseguir la paz tras 4 años de Guerra Civil. No cuenta tanto sobre la vida de este señor, ni como consigue ganar las elecciones, o su vida anterior como cazador de vampiro...digo de su vida como abogado.

El gran problema de la película, es que es una película de Spielberg con sus taras potenciadas a cotas que rozan la ñoñería y la mamarrachez, omites desgraciadamente la sobresaliente factura técnica y algunas escenas dirigidas de manera soberbia, (no nos olvidemos que este señor es un buen director) porque tenemos a algunos personajes que se comportan de maneras anómalas como si estuviesen actuando en una obra de Shakespeare o de Lope de Vega, donde les vemos recitando una prosa rematadamente recargada, que te hace pensar dos cosas, o que el señor Spielberg tiene demasiado mitificado a Lincoln o directamente quiere hacernos creer que Abraham Lincoln se creía el mismo que era "un personaje histórico", la escena de la discusión con la mujer es simplemente ridícula, de lo patética que le queda, con esa verborrea tan forzada (luego entrare en detalle con el protagonista y algunos del reparto, que tiene miga), después vemos como muchos actores de la película, se dedican a soltar discursos moñas, moralina de parvulario con intentos de pasar a la posteridad, por supuesto aderezada con una musiquilla acorde, para que quede mas serio y solemne y no parezca una parodia, da la sensación que Spielberg recicló diálogos o añadió diálogos desechados de "Amistad".

Algo hiriente y doloroso que tiene esta película es la manipulación histórica y moral de Spielberg para con Lincoln, todos los personajes están totalmente extremizados, es decir, o son MUY buenos o MUY malos, donde los actos de los buenos se perdonan o se justifican, y el presidente cercano, campechano, pero las cosas malas o corruptas... ¡no son para tanto hombre!, por ejemplo lo de conseguir los 20 senadores que voten si a la enmienda ¡¡¡SOBORNANDOLOS CON TRABAJOS BIEN PAGADOS!!! O ¡EL PRESIDENTE COMETIENDO PERJURIO ANTE LA CÁMARA DEL SENADO!, encima Spielberg lo vende como que lo ha hecho bien, éticamente correcto. Ya sabemos a quien no hay que venderle la historia de Bárcenas o la de los ERES de Andalucía, para que haga una película.

Retomando al personaje de Lincoln, es el mas perjudicado de todo, Daniel Day Lewis ha descubierto como conseguir el Oscar: llenarse de látex y pelucas hasta quedar irreconocible o hacer el anormal, por si acaso, el hace las 2 cosas a la vez. Lewis nos vende a un "Abuelo Cebolleta" que en los momentos mas tensos o de gravedad te cuenta una anécdota chorra, sin venir a cuento o momentos de ridículo donde vemos a un señor de 45 años haciendo a un señor de 55 años comportándose como un señor de 70 años senil y diciendo frases chorras con "profundidad", pero claro Spielberg no se queda ahí, dejándole a Lewis la libertad total de interpretar a su personaje favorito, sino que además lo vende como un señor campechano, padre que tiene ojos para su hijo menor, y sobreprotector con el primogénito, para que no muera en la guerra y su mujer se vuelva loca total.

Conclusión, vergonzosa, ridícula, ñoña, infantil, una película i
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews