Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 9, 2012
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 689 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
521
Mixed:
105
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MarcDoyleNov 20, 2012
The movie is saved by outstanding performances by the supporting cast, including some moments of humor by James Spader. It's a good movie, but not the type of historical account that you'll return to like you would Schindler's List. DDL is,The movie is saved by outstanding performances by the supporting cast, including some moments of humor by James Spader. It's a good movie, but not the type of historical account that you'll return to like you would Schindler's List. DDL is, of course, excellent, but the movie as a whole is essentially solid work. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
smijatovJan 16, 2013
I do not know what it is, but "Lincoln" just did not quite do it for me. I felt bored throughout, except of the actual voting (possibly because I am not American and know very little of this history, so I was not sure whether it passed orI do not know what it is, but "Lincoln" just did not quite do it for me. I felt bored throughout, except of the actual voting (possibly because I am not American and know very little of this history, so I was not sure whether it passed or not), and kept on dozing off every once in a while. However, Lincoln is not all bad. The cast is superb, and Daniel Day-Lewis, yet again, performs his magic to quite an amazing result. Sally Field is also excellent, as are the supporting actors, led by Spader and Strathairn. Honestly, nothing bad can be said of the cast. The art design and costumes were very well done, as was the cinematography. Technically overall the film looks good. But the issue is with the script. It was just not so engaging. I am a sucker for drama, and a sucker for history (I got a degree in it!) but this was just not very entertainingly done. And mind you, I was thoroughly entertained and enjoyed "The Hours," arguably one of the most depressing films in the past decade. "Lincoln" just does not do it for me. This may be my least favourite Spielberg film, which doesn't mean it's bad. It's a good film, just a bit boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryNov 10, 2012
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
BKMNov 19, 2012
Lincoln will likely appeal to political junkies above all others thanks to its complex and in-depth examination of the painstaking process of passing legislation through a gridlocked congress-which has eerie parallels to our current politicalLincoln will likely appeal to political junkies above all others thanks to its complex and in-depth examination of the painstaking process of passing legislation through a gridlocked congress-which has eerie parallels to our current political climate. But the remainder of viewers will have to be satisfied with an expertly crafted, albeit somewhat creaky, historical drama fueled by a career capping turn from Daniel Day-Lewis and an excellent supporting performance from Tommy Lee Jones. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
LynDec 30, 2012
"Team of Rivals" was totally engrossing, but somehow this excellent production does not quite capture the complex, conflicted personalities of Lincoln's cohorts. Daniel Day-Lewis is, of course, amazing, but his wit & wisdom here often match"Team of Rivals" was totally engrossing, but somehow this excellent production does not quite capture the complex, conflicted personalities of Lincoln's cohorts. Daniel Day-Lewis is, of course, amazing, but his wit & wisdom here often match the overall preachy tone of the film. (Is DDL ever going to be sexy again, as he was in "The Unbearable Lightness of Being"???) It's fun to catch so many great character actors, though everyone in the movie has kind of a dark and gritty look -- like they just came back from working in an Appalachian coal mine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DMWillJul 14, 2013
I really don't think anyone really needs any kind of lengthy review of this movie at this point. You know what it's about, or at least you should.

Exceptional acting from the entire cast; a very well written script and great directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nauticoNov 17, 2012
Three things struck me about this excellent movie. First, at times I thought I was watching a play, not a flick. Lots of set pieces shot on sound stages. 90% dialogue, 10% action. Secondly, I found that dialogue to be self-consciouslyThree things struck me about this excellent movie. First, at times I thought I was watching a play, not a flick. Lots of set pieces shot on sound stages. 90% dialogue, 10% action. Secondly, I found that dialogue to be self-consciously archaic, sometimes almost Shakespearian in syntax and dialect. (That always makes me wonder how close screenwriters and directors really come to the speech patterns that actually existed back in the day. Since we have no recordings from that era, movie makers must use diaries for clues and examples. That said, I suspect that a) the written word was different from the spoken and b) oratorical speech more different from conversational speech than it is today.)

Thirdly, I thought Speilberg's tone to be a bit didactic, as if he wanted to educate all of us on the mechanics of what it took Abe to get the 13th amendment passed. I found this to be neither good nor bad, just noticeable.
Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
7
JacobMar 30, 2013
So overall I liked Lincoln and found it interesting. I liked the characters especially Daniel Day Lewis as Lincoln. I found the story somewhat interesting. Having said that a lot of my interest comes from my interest in history. I feel likeSo overall I liked Lincoln and found it interesting. I liked the characters especially Daniel Day Lewis as Lincoln. I found the story somewhat interesting. Having said that a lot of my interest comes from my interest in history. I feel like if you aren’t into history or politics and you really don’t like dialogue heavy movies you really aren’t going ot get into this film. And even I am going to admit that yeah this film did not really hold my interest and that if it weren’t for the critical praise I’d give this film an eh rating. But because of critical praise and my interest in history I’m seeing this movie in a somewhat positive light. If you like history, you like politics, and you like Lincoln your probably like the movie Lincoln ok but just like it ok. Not as overrated as Argo but still kind of overrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gunnyartNov 26, 2012
I'd give it a ten except I am not a Lincoln scholar and can't attest to the historical accuracy. I was moved. There hasn't been a movie about a floor fight in congress since Mr. Smith Goes to Washington that is so engaging and compelling.I'd give it a ten except I am not a Lincoln scholar and can't attest to the historical accuracy. I was moved. There hasn't been a movie about a floor fight in congress since Mr. Smith Goes to Washington that is so engaging and compelling. And to top it off everyone knew how this one was going to end before they stepped into the theater and yet it was riveting. Being a political ideologue myself I left the movie feeling ashamed of myself for my personal intransigence. I have always believed political compromise was a sign of weakness. Shelby Foote in Ken Burns "Civil War" makes the statement that the "genius of the American political system was for compromise and it utterly failed." Post election 2012 we are a divided country again but this time we had better learn to compromise for the good of the country and posterity. The sky is not falling and this country has endured far darker days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JamesLNov 29, 2012
This is the best movie I have seen so far this year. It was entertaining, thoughtful, intellectual, and informative. When I got home, I looked up so many historical issues that the film brought to my attention. I really liked the acting asThis is the best movie I have seen so far this year. It was entertaining, thoughtful, intellectual, and informative. When I got home, I looked up so many historical issues that the film brought to my attention. I really liked the acting as well and the fact that the characters were developed. It would have been so easy to have just resorted to battlefield scenes and blood to make your point. It was well timed as well since so many of the arguments were similar to what I had just heard in our election. Well worth the time and investment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryNov 16, 2012
The latest from Spielberg examines the great president's last 4 months, when he struggled to pass the 13th Amendment to end slavery. Tony Kushner ("Angels in America") wrote the screenplay, so it's wordy and eloquent. In the title role,The latest from Spielberg examines the great president's last 4 months, when he struggled to pass the 13th Amendment to end slavery. Tony Kushner ("Angels in America") wrote the screenplay, so it's wordy and eloquent. In the title role, Daniel Day Lewis is simply amazing: creating a character who's not only imposing, but wise and down-to-earth. Sally Field and Tommy Lee Jones also turn in great performances and the entire cast is outstanding. Visually, it's attractive and full of period eloquence. Don't expect this to be a big hit, the seriousness of the subject and constant conversation renders it too inaccessible. It is a solid history lesson in a beautifully made and intelligent package. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesDec 17, 2012
At first Daniel Day-Lewis's performance came across as a caricature, but after about 15 minutes he won me over completely. A fascinating look at the political process of the time, some of which is still relevant today. Well written andAt first Daniel Day-Lewis's performance came across as a caricature, but after about 15 minutes he won me over completely. A fascinating look at the political process of the time, some of which is still relevant today. Well written and acted with great supporting roles, it never bored me. They use some of the dialect of the time so I didn't always understand what was said, but it isn't hard to follow. Tommy Lee Jones was great as usual. I'm sure there will be lots of buzz at Oscar time. The best Spielberg movie in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ScrawnyPunkApr 9, 2013
Not exactly a "must-watch" on the level of Schindler's list, but Spielberg manages to bring topical relevance to a historical subject, while making it an engaging view. You can switch the topic and the characters, and it is still a powerfulNot exactly a "must-watch" on the level of Schindler's list, but Spielberg manages to bring topical relevance to a historical subject, while making it an engaging view. You can switch the topic and the characters, and it is still a powerful study of human behavior what kind of man does it take to make a difficult decision, against all practical odds, with little-to-no support, while balancing "right" against "expedience" over the long term? As with all Spielberg movies, it is well-written, well-filmed, and well-acted (with the exception of Sally Fields, whom I found to be over the top in a needless way).

This should be watched by our high school students perhaps this will bring some life to a number of subjects they find boring (e.g. government, politics, parliamentary procedure, compromise, ethics, etc.).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BartNov 23, 2012
In this movie Spielberg does to history what John Wilkes Booth did to Lincoln. Everyone knows how Spielberg voted, but just in case you were wondering, see this film. Slow and plodding at best, and for those who like history, it is a trainIn this movie Spielberg does to history what John Wilkes Booth did to Lincoln. Everyone knows how Spielberg voted, but just in case you were wondering, see this film. Slow and plodding at best, and for those who like history, it is a train wreck. DDL does a great performance, but Spielberg's politically motivated style kills what could have been a good film, and does a great disservice to a great man. While they got DDL spot on casting wise for Lincoln, did the casting people ever look at a picture of Mary Todd Lincoln? Pass this movie by and take the time to read a good book on Lincoln, you will be better off. Saying this movie is based on historical events is like saying Twilight is a documentary. Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
10
NazguleroMar 15, 2013
There is no way this movie did not win 'Best Picture' at the Academy awards. Truly fascinating It kept me glued to the screen. Congratulations to everyone involved here to make such a masterpiece. Daniel Day Lewis is truly an exceptional actor.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
podunk411Nov 28, 2012
Reminded me of Sorkin's West Wing, except better written and set in the Lincoln White House. As others have mentioned, this is an intimate look at Lincoln's struggle (indeed, our nations struggle) to get the 13th Amendment passed. DefinitelyReminded me of Sorkin's West Wing, except better written and set in the Lincoln White House. As others have mentioned, this is an intimate look at Lincoln's struggle (indeed, our nations struggle) to get the 13th Amendment passed. Definitely a movie for political junkies and history buffs, with some stellar acting by Daniel Day Lewis and a great (and large!) cast of a supporting actors. I didn't realize how long the film was--truly enjoyed it all the way through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
evancusterNov 24, 2012
I must be in the minority, but I was very disappointed with "Lincoln". I really enjoy history and biography, had read Goodwin's book and had heard almost unanimous praise for the movie. However, I thought the film was tedious, the scriptI must be in the minority, but I was very disappointed with "Lincoln". I really enjoy history and biography, had read Goodwin's book and had heard almost unanimous praise for the movie. However, I thought the film was tedious, the script very stilted, and the acting rather mundane. If this had been a movie without the hype, the well known cast and director, and the subject, I am sure more of the critics would have panned it. I kept looking at my watch and wondering when it was going to show all the great things that had been written about it. A real disappointment. Expand
13 of 25 users found this helpful1312
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuOct 14, 2013
Lincoln is a great historical political film from Spielberg. Day-Lewis is absolutely perfect as Lincoln (when is he not perfect?) and the acting throughout is excellent. That said, there are a few niggles. The prime one being that Lincoln'sLincoln is a great historical political film from Spielberg. Day-Lewis is absolutely perfect as Lincoln (when is he not perfect?) and the acting throughout is excellent. That said, there are a few niggles. The prime one being that Lincoln's death is not really gone into. I understand the artistic reasons for going in that direction, but it's still disappointing to be deprived of such a famous and dramatic moment in history. Otherwise, it's a great slice of film-making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
David_HFeb 4, 2013
Fairly useful and brute force historical depiction of the civil war. it shows how even back in the 1800s, the U.S. congress was all about back room deal-making, but at least then they weren't able to make a career out of being in congress.Fairly useful and brute force historical depiction of the civil war. it shows how even back in the 1800s, the U.S. congress was all about back room deal-making, but at least then they weren't able to make a career out of being in congress. Though Steven Spielberg obviously has made some blockbusters, you still have to wonder with a topic like this; how much of the subtleties were created by the "world according to Spielberg"...? Its also a bit depressing to be so blatantly reminded that our country has not learned from history and in fact has gone backwards in terms of degrading and disrespecting the constitution. You can't walk out of Lincoln without feeling that this country used to have such promise and prosperity... and now it is so deeply bogged down with a bloated federal government, thousands of laws and taxes, and power-hungry career politicians that care only about their next election cycle... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moviemongerNov 25, 2012
Lincoln's kindness, quietness and generosity can translate to film in one and only one way if staying true to the man - in a slow boring way. Daniel Day Lewis did a fantastic job playing a non-flashy, quiet, almost emotionless "character".Lincoln's kindness, quietness and generosity can translate to film in one and only one way if staying true to the man - in a slow boring way. Daniel Day Lewis did a fantastic job playing a non-flashy, quiet, almost emotionless "character". I feel quite a few critics have overstated the "thriller" aspect of this film. I felt none. Day Lewis, Tommy Lee Jones and James Spader were top notch. Good acting kept this movie afloat. Like "Titanic", I knew the ending....but, unlike "Titanic" this film did not have me leaving the theater surprised or energized by what I saw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
papaiNov 24, 2012
Lincoln is one of the greatest biopics of all time.Steven spielberg has done an incredible job.this movie is grand.the cinematography is amazing.All the performances are astonishing.daniel day lewis delivers the performance of a lifetime.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
jluaJan 27, 2013
In my opinion, the script during the first half of this film reads like an entry in Wikipedia. And the second half lacks soul. In part, because the -much acclaimed- acting of Daniel Day-Lewis seems to me lacking in spirit; it seemed to meIn my opinion, the script during the first half of this film reads like an entry in Wikipedia. And the second half lacks soul. In part, because the -much acclaimed- acting of Daniel Day-Lewis seems to me lacking in spirit; it seemed to me that he has half asleep and bored. I think that many of the glowing opinions may have more to do with the theme, than with the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gfnyNov 16, 2012
If you are looking for action pass this by. The movie is like watching a chess game. Slow thinking, planning and timing
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
LeftyyDec 29, 2012
A joyous bundle of history and excellence. The movie plays out in a slow and slightly reserved fashion, rewarding those who pay close attention to the details of the well-versed dialogue. The acting on all fronts in spectacular, and it notA joyous bundle of history and excellence. The movie plays out in a slow and slightly reserved fashion, rewarding those who pay close attention to the details of the well-versed dialogue. The acting on all fronts in spectacular, and it not only paints a detailed and acute description of one of the most important pieces of American history, but does well in honoring the great United States President and showing you a great depiction of his life and those around him. By the end, you'll feel your own sense of emotional accomplishment and maybe even feel smarter. Overall, a glorious film, and my personal movie of the year. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Khunter4382Dec 3, 2012
It's hard not to give this film the highest marks. Daniel Day-Lewis is amazing and so perfect. That's no surprise. What surprised me was the fact that so many other great performers were not overshadowed. Tommy Lee Jones nearly steals theIt's hard not to give this film the highest marks. Daniel Day-Lewis is amazing and so perfect. That's no surprise. What surprised me was the fact that so many other great performers were not overshadowed. Tommy Lee Jones nearly steals the show as Thaddeus Stevens, and Sally Field commands her role as Mary Todd Lincoln. Every character gets plenty of screen-time, all the while we are served up a buffet of the greatest portrayal of a US President in the history of cinema. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RedfordstoFeb 1, 2014
Movie making at its finest. Daniel Day-Lewis' performance will be how a generation pictures the character of President Lincoln. What is compelling about this story is that it takes place in a moment in time rather than attempting to cover theMovie making at its finest. Daniel Day-Lewis' performance will be how a generation pictures the character of President Lincoln. What is compelling about this story is that it takes place in a moment in time rather than attempting to cover the entirety of the President's life. Instead, Spielberg captures the spirit of the President in his attempts to having a new constitutional amendment ratified. The script is well written, the acting is inspired, and the cinematography is near perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
foundationcitizNov 27, 2012
If you look at many of the good reviews, you will see the problem, in my mind, with this movie. It is a bit too slow, too monotone, and simply too stuffy. There could have been so much more color and life. I think we should have seenIf you look at many of the good reviews, you will see the problem, in my mind, with this movie. It is a bit too slow, too monotone, and simply too stuffy. There could have been so much more color and life. I think we should have seen different perspectives, such as from the angle of a simple working person and from the angle of the south. The movie leaves out Lincoln's great speeches, making only brief references. The movie leaves out the assassination, and what we know about who did it and why. The real death blow to the movie, for me, was the lack of vigor in why and what they were fighting for. After all, huge numbers of americans died. So, for me the movie was a dud. I think a lot of people are caught up in the moment. By the way, the supporting acting was GREAT, and I would give an award to Sally Fields. Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
9
cboltDec 3, 2012
I thought the movie was good. the performances were good and the look of the film was spot on. It was a little confusing keeping track of who everyone was. I really liked Lewis as Lincoln. I want to see it again and I think I will get moreI thought the movie was good. the performances were good and the look of the film was spot on. It was a little confusing keeping track of who everyone was. I really liked Lewis as Lincoln. I want to see it again and I think I will get more out of it. overall 9/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DukeJonFeb 3, 2013
I can understand why the critics might heap accolades upon this film but I have to say I was very disappointed. The film is like an average episode of "The West Wing". A cataclysmic event is happening but you never see it, the whole thing isI can understand why the critics might heap accolades upon this film but I have to say I was very disappointed. The film is like an average episode of "The West Wing". A cataclysmic event is happening but you never see it, the whole thing is like watching a drawn out town hall meeting. Characters are introduced without any explanation as to who they are or their influence on the story. The Civil War is merely "Bad slaveowners versus noble crusaders" when we know it was much more complex than that. You'd think the union army was comprised entirely out of black people. Day-Lewis is a subdued presence in the film though Sally Field puts in a strong performance. Overall the whole film felt like a made for Tv movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DQ_SlotkinsDec 19, 2012
When the lights came up after Spielberg's Lincoln the packed audience began exiting in an overly courteous and orderly manner. It was eerie. It felt like we were playing a formally dressed audience leaving an opera house after a beautifulWhen the lights came up after Spielberg's Lincoln the packed audience began exiting in an overly courteous and orderly manner. It was eerie. It felt like we were playing a formally dressed audience leaving an opera house after a beautiful ceremony. But it wasn't until I was walking up to my car that I remembered we had come for a movie. I remembered being excited about the movie. I remember 30 minutes of horrendous previews. I remember the opening credits and the low murmurings of the Chicago Symphony's brass section improvising Aaron Copland riffs. I remember Abraham Lincoln telling me to relax ... relax ... count backwards from ten ... then the feeling that I'm floating somewhere above the mid 19th Century. James Spader floats by eating crabs, and then David Strathairn in a Chinese robe. In the parking lot I have a faint feeling that I had just enjoyed myself. I think I ate a piece of hard candy Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
m_eldersDec 16, 2012
This is a really solid movie. The acting is superb, the story is interesting, and the writing is good. However, it felt oddly short. There were all these interesting characters, but not enough time to develop any of them completely. ItThis is a really solid movie. The acting is superb, the story is interesting, and the writing is good. However, it felt oddly short. There were all these interesting characters, but not enough time to develop any of them completely. It felt like it should have been a TV miniseries. One other thing really stood out to me for some reason. I'm not one to let profanity affect how much I like a movie (The Wire is one of my favorite TV shows), but this had more profanity than I would have expected from a movie set in the 1800s. Even Lincoln said "sh*t" at one point. It just really caught me off guard. Other than that, this is a great movie that tells the story of Lincoln as you've probably never heard it told. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Aug 30, 2015
"Lincoln" might get a little boring from some people with its long running time, but the film is a marvelous movie that benefits from a strong script by Tony Kushner and a oscar-deserved performance from Daniel Day Lewis.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
frozenpinkyNov 9, 2012
Who is this R. Kurt Osenlund of Slant Magazine that writes, "Steven Spielberg's LINCOLN film may further the heroism so associated with its subject, and favor a liberal viewpoint that leers down at the Confederates, but it's no bleeding-heartWho is this R. Kurt Osenlund of Slant Magazine that writes, "Steven Spielberg's LINCOLN film may further the heroism so associated with its subject, and favor a liberal viewpoint that leers down at the Confederates, but it's no bleeding-heart glamorization." ? Who says conservatives were in favor of the Confederates? Lincoln was a conservative Republican, and most of the Confederates were Southern Democrats. People don't seem to realize that it's Republicans who were and still are the true "liberals": those in favor of liberty, freedom, and self-determinism (the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness) for all people. The movie is good, though. Just ignore Slant Magazine. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
hoops2448Feb 26, 2013
Trying to faithfully depict a larger (literally) figure than most can fail spectacularly, just ask Sasha Gervasi, the director of the recent Lincoln starts as the civil war is coming to a close and Abraham Lincoln's (Daniel Day Lewis) windowTrying to faithfully depict a larger (literally) figure than most can fail spectacularly, just ask Sasha Gervasi, the director of the recent Lincoln starts as the civil war is coming to a close and Abraham Lincoln's (Daniel Day Lewis) window to pass the 14th amendment is quickly closing. Battling a hostile house of representatives as he tries to rally votes he must also cope with a grieving wife, a naive patriotic son and his own personal grief. Lincoln is completely unlike anything you would expect it to be much like the Lincoln displayed in the picture. This Lincoln is old, not due to his age but his responsibilities, he has aged quicker than most because of the events he himself has orchestrated yet he doesn't blame anyone, in fact he sees his choices not as choices at all but as necessities that have unfortunately taken what little was left of a man following the death of his son. However the film shows him as a man with a lot of fight still in him, a fight that is fast approaching. Director Steven Spielberg and writer Tony Kushner are clever to concentrate the film on Lincoln's last battle to emancipate the slaves as not only does it emphasize progress to a modern audience, especially when you consider that Lincoln's counterpart today is African American, but it also shows a man of great conviction, a man who stood out from the pack for all the right reasons and prevailed because people trusted in the man. The choice of Daniel Day Lewis was a perfect one with an early choice of Liam Neeson being in my opinion, way off base. There isn't a moment in the film where you don't believe he is Lincoln, that he isn't this great man. He completely encompasses the character. The film wouldn't be the film it is without the superb supporting cast it has, from a delightfully grumpy Tommy Lee Jones to a emotionally affecting Sally Field as Mary Todd. Even James Spader is a joy as he infuses the film with some much needed comedy instead of dropping his pants as he seems to do in most his movies. The only real weak link is Joseph Gordon Levitt who isn't so much a character but a plot point to be slotted into scenes where needed to serve a theme or a sub plot. It's not that he gives a bad performance, its just that he is ever so irrelevant. Overall its a near perfect Biopic of someone well worth doing a Biopic about. Not just a fine president but a rule breaker and a cheat, a flawed man who achieved greatness by merely expecting better from those around him and treating all he met as equals, a wonderful portrait of a man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusApr 1, 2013
I love movies, that, make you think and get you sucked into that world. This movie had none of that.
I found this movie, extermely boring. So much pointless talking, all they do is talk. total bore of a movie.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
UnclearImageJan 2, 2013
A wonderful movie, it tells the part of the story that wasn't told- the struggles Lincoln had to deal with in his fight versus the Democrats and even within his own party. It's a compelling drama, in the spirit of "The King's Speech" afterA wonderful movie, it tells the part of the story that wasn't told- the struggles Lincoln had to deal with in his fight versus the Democrats and even within his own party. It's a compelling drama, in the spirit of "The King's Speech" after watching this movie I admired Lincoln, and wished I had been around to hear one of his "stories" Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
jlplattenNov 26, 2012
The best aspect of this film is that you see Lincoln the person and not Lincoln the hero. The acting was so superb that you forget you're watching actors. Also, had a great blend of political humor. Amazing film! The only reason I didn't giveThe best aspect of this film is that you see Lincoln the person and not Lincoln the hero. The acting was so superb that you forget you're watching actors. Also, had a great blend of political humor. Amazing film! The only reason I didn't give this movie a ten, was for the fact that it was a bit dialogue heavy, which made it hard to follow sometimes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HappymonkApr 19, 2013
This movie succeeds where all films should but often don't: it wholly sucks you in to it's world and story with such finesse that you think you are actually there. The film achieves this in several key areas, firstly, the acting is trulyThis movie succeeds where all films should but often don't: it wholly sucks you in to it's world and story with such finesse that you think you are actually there. The film achieves this in several key areas, firstly, the acting is truly fantastic from everyone involved, not enough credit goes to all the more minor roles in the film who truly transport us into their world. Second, it is beautifully shot and very well choreographed, especially considering it is a film in which people talk in rooms for over 2 hours, this is impressive. Third, the script is great, it is gripping, sometimes funny and it really sets the mood of the film as one not to be missed. All in all though, if what you want in a film is action, this film is not for you, if you're looking for drama, intrigue and suspense to entertain, this film is for you. An expertly crafted film from Spielberg that really puts you in the world of the characters, especially impressive considering the world of the film is history. If you like slow moving character films, great. If not, do yourself a favour and look elsewhere. Fantastic, 90/100. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJan 1, 2013
Lincoln is one of Spielberg's better efforts in the last couple of years, a film designed to 'win' lots of Oscars. Despite its slower pace, the film is buoyed completely by Daniel Day Lewis' mesmerizing performance as 'Honest Abe', one ofLincoln is one of Spielberg's better efforts in the last couple of years, a film designed to 'win' lots of Oscars. Despite its slower pace, the film is buoyed completely by Daniel Day Lewis' mesmerizing performance as 'Honest Abe', one of the greatest US President of all time. Ensemble casts are also excellent, with stand outs performance by Tommy Lee Jones and Sally Field. A great portrait of this historical figure and while it is not the best film of the year, it is one of those films that both Critics and Audiences like. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aozetaJan 24, 2013
This film has the best Lincoln as perfectly portrayed by Daniel Day-Lewis. While the performances are trophy-worthy along with production design, the screenplay enjoys the benefit of the doubt. Nevertheless, this one deserves to join the rollThis film has the best Lincoln as perfectly portrayed by Daniel Day-Lewis. While the performances are trophy-worthy along with production design, the screenplay enjoys the benefit of the doubt. Nevertheless, this one deserves to join the roll of best history movies. Worth-watching.

http://movienotesbook.blogspot.com/2013/01/movies-2012-lincoln-2012.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFSep 29, 2013
It's clear throughout 'Lincoln' that the man himself was not a man of means, he didn't come from money nor did he have much of an educational background, he learned about life through living it, rising the ranks with popularity amongst theIt's clear throughout 'Lincoln' that the man himself was not a man of means, he didn't come from money nor did he have much of an educational background, he learned about life through living it, rising the ranks with popularity amongst the people he served, Daniel Day-Lewis delivers a dazzling and powerful performance as the 16th President of the United States, a man with countless stories and a calm and collective attitude that resonates throughout the film, a film that breathes a sombre breath, yet it accomplishes an impressive feat of pivotal speeches, interesting characters and a story intertwined with the politics that surrounds Lincoln and his family. We pick up out story in the closing month of Lincoln's fruitful life and as he attempts to push through 13th Amendment with the aid of Thaddeus Stevens (Tommy Lee Jones) and William Seward (David Strathairn) amongst others. The detail and careful consideration put into each political moment of this historic amendment is quite astonishing, an ensemble cast full the shoes of various figures in the life of Lincoln as he attempts to be the driving force in the abolishment of slavery in the United States, but the opportunity to break away the financial roots of the Confederacy also played a major factor in an attempt to end civil war. The film doesn't have the typical blockbuster and big-budget effect that director Steven Spielberg creates, but instead we have gatherings of important people in dark, candlelit rooms as they argue for themselves but also what truly matters, peace, there isn't epic portions of flying flags, but instead there are intensely flawed characters, never really sure of loyalty or allegiance, equality plays a major factor in the film, not just amongst the people, but for the President himself, who is often held accountable for his past as a man not coming from a privileged life, but it also fits well with a film that wants to show the real side, as Lincoln himself uses tactics, as any politician does, to sway voters, using negotiators (James Spader, John Hawkes and Blake Nelson) to change the minds of a few Democrats. The performances are the true heart and brilliance of the film, Daniel Day-Lewis captures the mannerisms of what we perceive to be the man in the top hat, a soft spoken individual but one who seems tired and endlessly in thought, often brought back down by his passionate and forthright wife, Mary Todd Lincoln (Sally Field), and his stubborn son Robert (Joseph Gordon-Levitt).
Writer Tony Kushner has managed to make the politics enthralling by working pivotal moments into passing parables, no fireworks or streamers necessary, it feels more real and candid when it is played out in this way, which Spielberg perfectly portrays onscreen.
The film really should have ended five minutes earlier than it did, although we all know how the end of the sorry goes, many people probably still want to see, but a much better close happened a little earlier. Even so, this is quite an engrossing and dramatic piece, expert direction, writing and performances, sheer brilliance throughout.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Calzo777Feb 16, 2013
Lincoln, from the title you would assume is a film about Lincoln, however you may be disappointed to find that its more to do with the passing of the 13th Amendment. This is a problem purely due to the fact that everyone knows what came toLincoln, from the title you would assume is a film about Lincoln, however you may be disappointed to find that its more to do with the passing of the 13th Amendment. This is a problem purely due to the fact that everyone knows what came to pass in history or even take a guess as to what happened making long scenes of politicians talking about the amendment and discussing racial issues and war with seemingly no progression all the more tiresome. However there is some saving grace in its monotonous dialogue which is the acting. The actors and actresses really bring out the roles they play most notably Daniel Day-Lewis but also Tommy Lee Jones and Sally Field. Their interactions and dialogue are easily the most interesting part in the story which leads back to Lincoln's main problem. There's a lack of balance between the parts about the 13th amendment and the life of Lincoln and his family which were very dramatic. Its a long film so both parts are attempted in depth making the story convoluted and sometimes difficult to follow. Though at least the visual style and lighting of scenes add at least some flavor to the scenes. It has a very gritty style suiting the era while also seeming fresh.

By the end, and I honestly wouldn't call this a spoiler, when the amendments been passed and Lincoln is dead we really haven't been able to get to know the characters well enough to really care that this great leader has died. Take for instance the classic "Amadeus", in the poster it tells us that he dies but even at the end in knowing this its sad to see him die because we got to know him and got to connect with his character. Lincoln however fails to be "about" Lincoln.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
heyitsmegrif4Apr 2, 2013
Daniel Day-Lewis does a fantastic mjob undeniably. However, I was bored with the repetition of dialogue, the length of the film, and the consistent dark lighting. It is great on performance and technical level for the most part but when itDaniel Day-Lewis does a fantastic mjob undeniably. However, I was bored with the repetition of dialogue, the length of the film, and the consistent dark lighting. It is great on performance and technical level for the most part but when it comes to other thing sit is far from good. I give this film 48%. Spieberg disappoints two years in a row for me. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Dec 8, 2012
This was a very good movie. Daniel Day-Lewis does an incredible job as he portrays Abraham Lincoln and the rest of the impressive cast does just as well. Truthfully, this was a character and acting driven movie and it had to have been inThis was a very good movie. Daniel Day-Lewis does an incredible job as he portrays Abraham Lincoln and the rest of the impressive cast does just as well. Truthfully, this was a character and acting driven movie and it had to have been in order to work. The only real negatives to the film, in my opinion, were the length and the slightly misleading name. Regarding the length of the movie, don't get me wrong, I LOVE long films IF they're done well (Lord of the Rings, Braveheart, etc.). While this movie was done well, it easily could've been 15-20 minutes shorter without missing anything critical (which cannot necessarily be said by LOTR or Braveheart). The other thing I mentioned was the misleading name. Obviously Lincoln is still the protagonist but a more accurate title to the movie would've been "The 13th Amendment" because that's the entire focus of the film. Personally, I expected this film to be more like a condensed version of the John Adams mini-series and the title and previews are the reason why. Nonetheless, this was a good movie with fantastic acting and cinematography and I think most people would really enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EdeltraudDec 24, 2012
I fell asleep three times the tone is so monotonous.Old Honest Abe was a wily fellow and in fact Old "technically" Honest Abe. Sally Field is believable and has some life in her performance. Speillie should have developed the Tommy Lee JonesI fell asleep three times the tone is so monotonous.Old Honest Abe was a wily fellow and in fact Old "technically" Honest Abe. Sally Field is believable and has some life in her performance. Speillie should have developed the Tommy Lee Jones "surprise" story throughout the script...this would have added tension and another layer of humanity. Same with the Bobby story...there's no real insight into that relationship. So instead there's just politics is like making sausage, only more boring. There was no point in ending with the "Titanic sinking" - that was pandering to our scant knowlege and added nothing to the film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
panderson1988Nov 25, 2012
This is one of Steven Spielberg's best films this year, and in my opinion the best so far this year. The movie does a great job capturing Lincoln's personality during a turbulent time in America's history. Furthermore, the acting by DanielThis is one of Steven Spielberg's best films this year, and in my opinion the best so far this year. The movie does a great job capturing Lincoln's personality during a turbulent time in America's history. Furthermore, the acting by Daniel Day Lewis to Tommy Lee Jones was excellent. Daniel Day Lewis is a great actor, and he deserves another best actor nomination for his performance. I believe Tommy Lee Jones has given one of his best performances in a long time, and I hope he gets nominated for best supporting actor as he gave a great performance to the radical Republican Thaddeus Stevens. Finally the writing is incredible along with some excellent dry humor. I highly recommend everyone check this movie out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lasttimeisawJan 30, 2013
Last year USA-born Meryl Streep won her third Oscar for the portrayal of Margaret Thatcher in THE IRON LADY (2011, 7/10), this year the academy will (seemingly) reciprocate a third Oscar to Brit Daniel Day-Lewis in his rendition of AbrahamLast year USA-born Meryl Streep won her third Oscar for the portrayal of Margaret Thatcher in THE IRON LADY (2011, 7/10), this year the academy will (seemingly) reciprocate a third Oscar to Brit Daniel Day-Lewis in his rendition of Abraham Lincoln. It Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Critic2012Nov 22, 2012
Lincoln presents the characters' conflicts without taking sides, but still manages to pull off a perfect historical film that, with the absolutely flawless performance of Daniel Day-Lewis, is sure to be an Oscar contender and remain one ofLincoln presents the characters' conflicts without taking sides, but still manages to pull off a perfect historical film that, with the absolutely flawless performance of Daniel Day-Lewis, is sure to be an Oscar contender and remain one of the best films of 2012. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jimboesqDec 1, 2012
A grand sweeping historical epic that illuminates the passing of the 13 th amendment. The story is, of course, political but like Lincoln, Stephen Spielberg tells stories of deep human significance laced with humor. I wondered if theA grand sweeping historical epic that illuminates the passing of the 13 th amendment. The story is, of course, political but like Lincoln, Stephen Spielberg tells stories of deep human significance laced with humor. I wondered if the smallish Daniel Day Lewis could fully inhabit the great man the way that Raymond Massey did. He mostly succeeded but perhaps more importantly Day-Lewis gives Lincoln the soul that Massey attempted. This is due in significant part to the words-the great script- by Tony Kushner who brings the book by Doris Kearns Goodwin upon which the movie is based-to full life-and empathetic and plausible psychological insight into Mary Todd Lincoln (Sally Field) and her troubled marriage to the President. Hal Holbrook, James Spader, David Strathairn and Tommy Lee Jones are excellent in support-as are the many, many unknown character actors in this film. Finally, as in all (?) Spielberg films the score is by John Williams and is excellent. The only reason I did not give this movie a 10 was the calculated attempt at a tear-jerking ending needlessly followed by an extraneous 2 minute speech. A mere quibble. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GabrielaRodBMay 7, 2013
Steven Spielberg can't go wrong. I've got to say I'm Latina, I already knew Lincolns story but this film is so meaningful and powerful that it made me realize the point of the whole historic event. Daniel Day-Lewis was Brilliant and Tommy LeeSteven Spielberg can't go wrong. I've got to say I'm Latina, I already knew Lincolns story but this film is so meaningful and powerful that it made me realize the point of the whole historic event. Daniel Day-Lewis was Brilliant and Tommy Lee Jones was splendid. This movie is one of the Best movies i've seen in a while. Bravo Steven! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KJJNov 10, 2012
First rate look at the personal side of real people written about so much as "legend" that you forget. Is Rex Reed serious about this being a "bore"? When is he going to retire and stop boring us?
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Through the direction of Steven Spielberg, Daniel Day-Lewis brings us on an incredible journey through the mind and intimacy of Abraham Lincoln. Lincoln is a focus on the person as well as the accomplishments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Jan 9, 2013
Lincoln is deprived of emotion, comedy, action and music that makes a film come alive. Even with a interesting time in our history the movie is a total bore with a pace unimaginably slow. It tries to come alive in the end but with a rushedLincoln is deprived of emotion, comedy, action and music that makes a film come alive. Even with a interesting time in our history the movie is a total bore with a pace unimaginably slow. It tries to come alive in the end but with a rushed ending the movie falls apart. A disgraceful film by Spielberg. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
2
Trev29Jan 9, 2013
No academy award winning directors or actors could save this tediously long debacle of a film. This movie seemed longer than the Civil War. It is neither engaging, entertaining, or thought provoking. Completely overrated.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
9
A_NorthernerFeb 18, 2013
Don't let the above plot put you off. Yes, its politics but it's so much more. It's a character study of the highest order. We get to see Lincoln's political machinations, frustrations with public office, as well as his personal strife behindDon't let the above plot put you off. Yes, its politics but it's so much more. It's a character study of the highest order. We get to see Lincoln's political machinations, frustrations with public office, as well as his personal strife behind the White House's doors. The narrative never feels dull or anything other than monumentous. I haven't seen any of the films featuring other nominees for Academy Best Actor but I just cannot imagine that any of the performances come close to Daniel Day-Lewis' as Lincoln. Just when you think the guy can't get any better (There Will Be Blood), he steps up to another level. His performance as Lincoln is simply wonderful. Patient, stoic, inspirational, determined, regretful, melancholy, Day-Lewis manages to capture everything.

To heap all the praise on Day-Lewis would be disrespectful to the rest of the cast. Credit where due, Sally Fields is excellent as the Mary Lincoln, Tommy Lee Jones turns in a strong, sombre performance and with the cast on offer I could go on all day.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dblaze889Mar 17, 2013
This movie is deserved everything not just Best Actor. Spielberg beautifully directs and make deep research about Lincoln. Yeah this is still movie, not documentary, so you'll find some dramatize scenes. But it's okay.
Compare with the
This movie is deserved everything not just Best Actor. Spielberg beautifully directs and make deep research about Lincoln. Yeah this is still movie, not documentary, so you'll find some dramatize scenes. But it's okay.
Compare with the shi*ty Argo, this movie is a masterpiece. I just don't know why Argo can grab Oscar? What's wrong with you American citizens? You don't like and proud with your own president?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
theofficeNov 21, 2012
A drama movie laden with history and political theater. The pacing starts off a little slow but picks up nicely at the end. I will admit it was hard to understand all the references at times but the movie does a great job of keeping youA drama movie laden with history and political theater. The pacing starts off a little slow but picks up nicely at the end. I will admit it was hard to understand all the references at times but the movie does a great job of keeping you engrossed in the time period. I highly suggest you read about the history of the 13th amendment to understand the film better as I think you'll get more enjoyment from it. I will watch this again for sure. Turned out to be pretty powerful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
amboyDec 20, 2012
It's a serious film, all right, and professional in every way--it's also a bit plodding and didactic. Daniel Day Lewis again gives the kind of performance that wins awards, but as always he seems to be standing alongside theIt's a serious film, all right, and professional in every way--it's also a bit plodding and didactic. Daniel Day Lewis again gives the kind of performance that wins awards, but as always he seems to be standing alongside the character--thinking about him, solving acting problems, but never jumping inside his skin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GreatMartinNov 16, 2012
Daniel Day-Lewis IS Abraham Lincoln in Steven Spielberg
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
8
TheMovieCriticDec 30, 2012
A superb movie with great acting by Daniel Day Lewis, this is a movie worth seeing. Even though at times the dialogue is pretty heavy, and seems to go on and on, the story is well told, and it's a movie you wouldn't be disappointed with.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
noco71Jan 10, 2013
I can understand why on the surface alot of people may have found this movie to be boring. But when you give it a chance and look and enjoy the performances of all the leads , I found it anything but boring. Daniel Day Lewis is incredible andI can understand why on the surface alot of people may have found this movie to be boring. But when you give it a chance and look and enjoy the performances of all the leads , I found it anything but boring. Daniel Day Lewis is incredible and James Spader was surprisingly good too. I think it was a great choice not to include any real action sequences in the movie , as I feel they would have felt completely out of place and fo4ced in a movie like this. Overall I was glued from start to finish. Wonderful stuff. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
lahaine2012Dec 27, 2012
Not for the impatient; Lincoln triumphs as one of the finest movies in Steven Spielberg
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
mrmonsterApr 23, 2013
This is Steven Spielberg's worst movie. It is boring, it has no action, it has no suspense, it has no story, it really has nothing. It was just one VERY long story of Lincoln's last few months, which are not very exciting at all. A HistoryThis is Steven Spielberg's worst movie. It is boring, it has no action, it has no suspense, it has no story, it really has nothing. It was just one VERY long story of Lincoln's last few months, which are not very exciting at all. A History Channel documentary on Lincoln would have been 10 times better. Trust me, halfway through this movie, you will want to see Lincoln assassinated. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
seancriswellDec 9, 2012
I get so excited when a movie actually lives up to my expectations, and Lincoln does. I have been trying to temper them ever since I found out our greatest actor would be playing our most popular president in a movie written and directed byI get so excited when a movie actually lives up to my expectations, and Lincoln does. I have been trying to temper them ever since I found out our greatest actor would be playing our most popular president in a movie written and directed by one of the greatest film makers ever. Thankfully this film lives up to every bit of the hype. First off this movie is absolutely gorgeous. The feel of the era comes through in every single frame. Spielberg captures the image we have of Lincoln as a man perfectly. There are so many shots that we get of Lincoln's profile or where he is walking out of a room and his presence is captured perfectly. This is also a perfectly written script. Again the language is written perfectly for the era and events that we are witnessing. Last but certainly not least the acting is superb across the board. Lewis is every bit of Lincoln that we expect him to be, he captures the image we have of Lincoln in every single scene. Maybe most amazing is that all the other actors never seem dwarfed by Lewis's presence. Whether this is from great casting, acting, or writing doesn't matter, all that matters is that it all works seamlessly. The only reason this movie doesn't get a perfect 10 from me is that there are a few scenes with the "Spielberg cheese". Thankfully they are very minimal, but they will take you out of the film for a moment or two. Otherwise this is a perfect movie, probably my favorite of the last two years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Welterweight426Nov 26, 2012
A fantastic movie. I cannot say enough good things. The acting was amazing, especially Daniel Day Lewis and Tommy Lee Jones. However, the entire cast is great. The soundtrack is fantastic and the cinematography is great too. This is one ofA fantastic movie. I cannot say enough good things. The acting was amazing, especially Daniel Day Lewis and Tommy Lee Jones. However, the entire cast is great. The soundtrack is fantastic and the cinematography is great too. This is one of the few movies I have seen that left me in tears. If you dont see this movie, you should never watch another movie again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Apemonkey666Mar 31, 2013
Daniel Day-Lewis outperforms himself again this time as Lincoln. The film focuses heavily on Amendment 13 which gets rid of slavery but serves mainly as a device to end the war. There's endless political blabbering (well written mind you)Daniel Day-Lewis outperforms himself again this time as Lincoln. The film focuses heavily on Amendment 13 which gets rid of slavery but serves mainly as a device to end the war. There's endless political blabbering (well written mind you) concerning the passing of this amendment and the behind-the-scenes mechanics of it. You'll get some insight into Lincoln's personal life but unexpectedly he's portrayed as a man who kicks ass for goodness, a veritable saint. As much as I enjoyed this well made film I couldn't help but think that this was a product of the Americans obsession with their own culture and history, and for me as a European it just doesn't seem all that important. We know all how it turned out in the end, didn't we Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jball359Nov 26, 2012
It was an enjoyable historic drama. I think the movie should have been called the "13th Amendment" considering that is really the only aspect of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
theahsanhaseebDec 29, 2012
Lincoln is exactly just the right amount of how I was expecting this film to be. I can't argue with people who keep on claiming what was really done at that time and what was not. The work of Tony Kushner and Steven Spielberg may base on theLincoln is exactly just the right amount of how I was expecting this film to be. I can't argue with people who keep on claiming what was really done at that time and what was not. The work of Tony Kushner and Steven Spielberg may base on the real events but it also incorporates a little bit of fiction because it is necessary to keep the film in the right direction. Screenplay is superb and so is the direction. The major plus points of this film are its brilliant photography, production design and breathtaking performances by a stellar cast especially Daniel Day-Lewis. That is one hell of an exceptional portrayal of one of the most important historical figures in the history of the United States of America, Abraham Lincoln. Day-Lewis totally stunned me with his performance and I really do want him to win all the major awards this season. Here's why people won't like this film. There is no action in this film whatsoever, and all of the scenes are based on the dialogues. In addition, the run-time of the film is 2 hours and 20 minutes which seems way more than it should be, in the case of a drama film (NOT if you love watching slow paced, dialogues oriented drama films).
Lincoln may not be one of the best films of the year and it might not win the major awards (i.e. Best Director and Best Picture) but it sure as hell deserves all these nominations because that's how great it is which can't be ignored. Lincoln is not just a film, it is an effort by Spielberg to refresh people's history lessons and with that, deliver an important message of equality to our generation. Films like Lincoln should be strongly appreciated because they transform the art in a perfect manner that not only you enjoy it but it also raises a lot of questions in your mind.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BVGNOfficialMar 1, 2013
The real-life characters from the time then are brought back to life, and it feels like you are in the 19th century. However, a lot of the scenes dragged out too long and I found myself drifting away at the theater because I was so bored.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheDRauchJan 1, 2013
A riveting portrait of the last few days of the late president, 'Lincoln' is a highly-tuned piece of historical drama that works almost the same way as a blockbuster thriller, mostly thanks to Daniel Day-Lewis (who presents us with aA riveting portrait of the last few days of the late president, 'Lincoln' is a highly-tuned piece of historical drama that works almost the same way as a blockbuster thriller, mostly thanks to Daniel Day-Lewis (who presents us with a typically masterful performance), Tony Kushners dense, historically accurate script, and Spielberg's willingness to hold off of sentiment and keep it realistic. In fact, this movie barely feels at all like a work from Steven Spielberg. It feels more like a Sidney Lumet courtroom drama, with occasional blips of Spielberg's touch feeding through. I would have to say that, thanks to this display of restraint, 'Lincoln' marks his best film since 1998's war masterpiece 'Saving Private Ryan'. The entire cast is put to great use, even those actors who might not seem like the right choice for a role that may demand a southern accent and donning a wig (James Spader I'm looking at you). While Daniel Day-Lewis captures with absolute clarity Lincoln's steady mannerisms and droll sense of humor, Tommy Lee Jones provides an antithesis as the spitfire, strongly-voiced abolitionist Stevens. Sally Field also makes a strong return to the screen as Mary Todd Lincoln, perfectly capturing the frantic melodramatic fits that the role requires, while also not submitting to a shallow interpretation of her vibrant character. The rest of the cast shines as well, giving the look of the film the sense of being thoroughly lived-in. While we may never be able to get a 100% valid look into the life of the great man, 'Lincoln' represents the most accurate and engaging exploration of his life ever transmitted to the silver screen and it stands as a hard-won tribute to his accomplishments as well. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
geedupFeb 11, 2013
Such a historical time in US history is a hard story to tell on its own, much less the man in charge of the whole mess. I think Speilberg does a great job in creating the mood, distractions, oppositions, co-conspirators and even Lincoln'sSuch a historical time in US history is a hard story to tell on its own, much less the man in charge of the whole mess. I think Speilberg does a great job in creating the mood, distractions, oppositions, co-conspirators and even Lincoln's characters/values become a definition of the film. So many underrated actors play the politicians to perfection-Halbrook (playing Preston), Levitt playing Lincoln's son, Stuhlbarg as Yeaman...so many more. But Day-Lewis is the film as Lincoln, and (of all people) Sally Field as Ms. Lincoln.. Of course, 90% of the film is dialog-mostly related to the politics of the time/amendment-sometimes hard to follow. Only reason I didn't give this a "10" as it seems to be a bit too "heroic" when this time was not "heroic" but rather tragic-which is conveyed thru the colors and tone of the film very well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
wvmoviefanDec 5, 2012
Too political and too talkative! Stellar performances elevate this film and make it appear much better than it is. It's typical Spielberg......history as he wants us to remember it.....all the characters are literally black or white. EvenToo political and too talkative! Stellar performances elevate this film and make it appear much better than it is. It's typical Spielberg......history as he wants us to remember it.....all the characters are literally black or white. Even the "lobbyists" are good despite devious methods used because they're on the right side. Smacks of Spielberg's earlier work Amistad where he didn't acknowledge that slavery began with people being captured and sold by members of their own race. The only real moments of connection are made in scenes with Sally Field and Lincoln's interactions with his older son. The opening scene gives us a compass as to where we're headed....these "real" soldiers can remember the Gettysburg address word for word after hearing it once? reading it where? having time to memorize it when? Even those of us who were around in the Kennedy years are forturnate to remember one, maybe two lines of a famous speech. Spielberg needs to leave history alone if he's not really interested in giving us the true picture. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
jedijared182Apr 17, 2013
Being a US History major, I loved Lincoln. Anytime I get to see a movie about US History, I get really excited. And Lincoln did not let me down. While some (or many) would call this movie slow and boring, it was quite the opposite. I wasBeing a US History major, I loved Lincoln. Anytime I get to see a movie about US History, I get really excited. And Lincoln did not let me down. While some (or many) would call this movie slow and boring, it was quite the opposite. I was thoroughly entertained by Daniel Day-Lewis (as always) and Spielberg delivered once again. The scenes in Congress were great because it seemed to mock today's government/congress and made political parties look absolutely ridiculous. Go watch this film if you have the time and want to watch a great acting performance by Day-Lewis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nickgreene11Dec 19, 2012
The strength of this film lies in the golden script, and wonderful cast. Daniel Day Lewis brings a certain livelihood, and genuine charm to Lincoln that makes you disappointed in current politics. It brings the same love for a classic hero ofThe strength of this film lies in the golden script, and wonderful cast. Daniel Day Lewis brings a certain livelihood, and genuine charm to Lincoln that makes you disappointed in current politics. It brings the same love for a classic hero of American folklore, but at the intimate level, where you love the man, not just his words. I give the writers absolute credit for focusing on the messy way slavery was eliminated. Not in an epic battle of good and evil, but through messy politicking. Also, there is nothing quite like hearing congressmen dishing out insults in 1860's American speech. There is a certain distance in the film which prevents it from being this year's best, but nonetheless this is a rare, charming, gem that should not be passed up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
reddave2Feb 25, 2013
I find this a very hard movie to judge. It's lacking in any real drama or suspense, has a mostly plodding script and there is no real visual excitement either from set design, set pieces or even camera work. Spielbergs work of lot (anythingI find this a very hard movie to judge. It's lacking in any real drama or suspense, has a mostly plodding script and there is no real visual excitement either from set design, set pieces or even camera work. Spielbergs work of lot (anything after Saving Private Ryan) has had a mostly sterile feel for me very well executed but nothing special and Lincoln falls into that as a film overall. Yes, Day Lewis is strangely captivating as Lincoln but only in some scenes where he gets to cut loss. The film seems to hold the Lincoln character on too high a pedestal. We only get glimpses into what may be a slightly more selfish side to him. When it comes to the messy side of politics, the film keeps Lincoln at very much an arms length approach. This may or may not be true, I'm no history buff but I would have thought it unlikely that any high ranking politician would be able to keep such a distance. The other characters really only work as plot points. There's no bad acting but its all so dull and, well, predictable (I know odd for a true story). Granted, the film cant change what happened but the South are predictable drawn as out and out bad guys. General Ulysses is, like Lincoln, far too upstanding. There's no surprises anywhere and the film wont question any views you may have going in. Not that it has to but when the main flow of the film is, essentially, very dull lobbying it would be nice to have something else to keep the attention.

As it is, I feel this follows many of Spielbergs other works into the "fine, but nothing more" column for me. Worth a look? Maybe, but don't expect too much to amaze you.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleAug 26, 2014
Damn, what a cast. I love films like this that have these huge casts and I keep seeing all these character actors who I recognize from other films or television shows. Daniel Day-Lewis was great (though I prefer him in Gangs of New York andDamn, what a cast. I love films like this that have these huge casts and I keep seeing all these character actors who I recognize from other films or television shows. Daniel Day-Lewis was great (though I prefer him in Gangs of New York and There Will Be Blood, personally). Tommy Lee Jones, David Strathairn, and David Costabile, are also major bright spots. As a whole, this is an at times very interesting film about Lincoln himself, as well as everything he went through trying to get the 13th amendment passed. The performances, direction, and costume design, are all major pluses to this historical film. However, it felt a little long. Some of it could have been trimmed and the final product would have benefited from it. On top of that, Mary Todd Lincoln was almost exclusively portrayed as a total b****, while Robert Lincoln was almost exclusively shown as a wannabe soldier. Thus, I almost think Jospeh Gordon-Levitt's portion could be trimmed significantly, though his performance was fine. I also wish they either showed more elements of Mary Lincoln or trimmed her down and focused exclusively on Lincoln, his Cabinet, and the House. The ending is also poor, as it does not even show anything. While I am not a huge fan of gore, at least hearing a gunshot would have been an added plus. The way they did it felt as if they were purposely keeping us at a distance, which is annoying. The film can also be a little tedious at times and fails to hold your interest throughout the entire run time (largely thanks to the parts that add nothing much to the film as a whole). However, as a whole, the film is very well made and very well done from all parties and stands as a great look at history and is poignant even today, as though the issues are different, the divide between parties and the way votes work is all too similar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tropicAcesNov 21, 2012
Before you see this you have to know this isn't about Lincoln as much as it is about passing the 13th amendment. While it does drag (it's 2.5 hours) it's never boring and it's filled with plenty chuckles to carry it along. Day-Lewis ISBefore you see this you have to know this isn't about Lincoln as much as it is about passing the 13th amendment. While it does drag (it's 2.5 hours) it's never boring and it's filled with plenty chuckles to carry it along. Day-Lewis IS Lincoln and is sure to win the Oscar. Much like Ledger and the Joker, I could not imagine anyone else in the role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
axelkochFeb 17, 2014
Having Steven Spielberg, the mastermind behind many of the films with the highest budget and the biggest scale in the last 40 years, direct an entirely dialogue-centred portrayal of Abraham Lincoln doesn’t seem like your first choice.Having Steven Spielberg, the mastermind behind many of the films with the highest budget and the biggest scale in the last 40 years, direct an entirely dialogue-centred portrayal of Abraham Lincoln doesn’t seem like your first choice. However, it proved to be an excellent one, as Spielberg’s vogue attracted some of the most talented people currently in the business to his project, both in the acting and general filmmaking cast, and thereby obtained twelve much deserved Academy Award nominations. Lincoln is an excellent biographical film, informative due to the information it brings up about the real-life figures working as supporting characters in the film and entertaining with an immensely talented acting ensemble and an enthralling way of storytelling, even though we’re all familiar to the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DudefromTulsaDec 25, 2012
If you are a southern apologist who lives in the delusion they were fighting for anything other than slavery, you will hate this film. It puts the historical cards on the table and shows the south's refusal to give up on a war that wasIf you are a southern apologist who lives in the delusion they were fighting for anything other than slavery, you will hate this film. It puts the historical cards on the table and shows the south's refusal to give up on a war that was already lost because they would not agree to end slavery. Plain and simple, they were fighting for that reason and no other. If you prefer anachronistic dialogue, with persons from history sounding like NYC cab drivers, you will hate this film. Kushner's script follows the best recollections of those who were present. With the forgivable exception of allowing the change of "Now he belongs to the angels." to become the far better "Now he belongs to the ages." If you want to see CGI recreations of Gettysburg and Antietam, you're in the wrong theater. This film is about Lincoln and his growing conviction that the war was never just about preserving the union. That his fate was to be the man who led this country to the end of slavery. Seen for what it is, that often the hand of God moves history with the least likely vessels, a prophet with a speech impediment, a carpenter's son born in poverty or that a man who had failed at nearly everything, whose family life was coming unhinged, should lead a reluctant, spiteful nation to end the babrbarism of slavery, this film is a triumph. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
glemonApr 21, 2013
Lincoln was one of those movies that is very well done, it appears to capture the period with historical accuracy, the acting is very good, the story historically and socially significant. But it was rather slow moving and not particularlyLincoln was one of those movies that is very well done, it appears to capture the period with historical accuracy, the acting is very good, the story historically and socially significant. But it was rather slow moving and not particularly compelling given the compelling subject matter, and I like both politics and history.

I watched it, I can't say it wasn't a good movie, but there is really nothing about it that would make me want to sit through it again.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
coreyg007Nov 26, 2012
Very good movie! I watched the weekend after THanksgiving, and what a treat! It really captures some of Spielberg's best work in quite a while. The actors were all on point and I am happy that the movie did not focus on those moments inVery good movie! I watched the weekend after THanksgiving, and what a treat! It really captures some of Spielberg's best work in quite a while. The actors were all on point and I am happy that the movie did not focus on those moments in Lincoln's presidency that we all study in some length at school, i.e., the civil war, his election campaign, and the moment of his death, but rather, focused more on the pivotal act of his presidency, the process by which the Eman. Proc. came about, and the real person Lincoln was with his wit, compassion, and humility. This is a movie I will most definitely buy the first day it is out on Blu. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MouthofSauronDec 5, 2012
"Lincoln" is a triumph. Here is a historical film that is heavy in dialogue, but never strays into idleness or melodrama. Intelligent and powerful filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
poetreviewerDec 29, 2012
This movie is worth seeing for the acting alone. Daniel Day Lewis becomes Lincoln. Sally Field shows Mary Todd's humane rather than crazy side. Realizing all the historical facts the film's creators had to sort through and choose between,This movie is worth seeing for the acting alone. Daniel Day Lewis becomes Lincoln. Sally Field shows Mary Todd's humane rather than crazy side. Realizing all the historical facts the film's creators had to sort through and choose between, makes the movie even more amazing. Some might find it a tad slow, but it's worth every detail. The movie is a masterpiece. After seeing it is, one may become more aware of the spineless leadership our country has today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PaganostaghettiNov 26, 2012
With most biopics, the reason we are so interested in them is because they threaten to take their star down from his powerful placement in history, and show him as human rather than god. This year we get two hotly anticipated films which willWith most biopics, the reason we are so interested in them is because they threaten to take their star down from his powerful placement in history, and show him as human rather than god. This year we get two hotly anticipated films which will attempt to do just that: **** and Lincoln. Both men have contributed so much in their respective fields that they are rarely seen in a bad light, nor are people ecstatic to see them portrayed as mere men. However, I can definitely say Lincoln attempts to show Abraham Lincoln as one of us, and not merely an icon placed upon an unreachable pedestal. With incredible acting on the part of everyone, but especially Sally Field and Daniel Day-Lewis, and writing by Tony Kushner that is both enticing and fitting for the period, Lincoln is a concrete example of how to make a biopic flourish while still being faithful and engrossing. Read the rest of the review at http://independentcinema.wordpress.com/2012/11/09/lincoln-scratches-his-beard-just-like-any-other-man/ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DjkotsiosMar 16, 2013
I mostly enjoyed this movie, however I did find some things which I disliked. For the first hour or something, you get a monotonous story, and a bit slow in pace. You get bombarded with tons of names of different people throughout historyI mostly enjoyed this movie, however I did find some things which I disliked. For the first hour or something, you get a monotonous story, and a bit slow in pace. You get bombarded with tons of names of different people throughout history that is impossible to remember after some time, and I will admit I did feel bored multiple times through the first 1 and a half hours.
In the last hour though, i really enjoyed the movie. From the point when the preparations for the voting of the Amendment began, my attention was fully on the movie and I really enjoyed it from that point on.
Steven Spielberg has his way to tell stories, and this movie proved it, with a unique way of showing the life and character of the President of the United States, Abraham Lincoln during the American Civil War.
What really amazed me though was the acting of Daniel Day-Lewis, which was simply amazing throughout. I kept thinking how this guy deserved his Oscar award!
Generally, I did enjoy this movie, but where some points I disliked, but it is definitely one worth watching.
Detailed rating: 7.9/10.
Watched on March 15th 2013.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
catcarloFeb 6, 2013
Era un film a rischio, ‘Lincoln’, così a rischio di scivolare nella retorica da farsi prendere con le molle malgrado il plauso generale. Sia la retorica statunitense in generale la tendenza a stelle e strisce a lodarsi, e pure imbrodarsi,Era un film a rischio, ‘Lincoln’, così a rischio di scivolare nella retorica da farsi prendere con le molle malgrado il plauso generale. Sia la retorica statunitense in generale la tendenza a stelle e strisce a lodarsi, e pure imbrodarsi, conosciuta sia quella di Spielberg in particolare, regista che ha tra i suoi non molti difetti proprio il calcare la mano in materia finendo a volte per perdere il controllo. Per evitare la trappola, il buon Steven e il suo sceneggiatore Tony Kushner scelgono di concentrare l’attenzione sugli ultimi mesi di vita del sedicesimo Presidente e sulla sua battaglia per il Tredicesimo Emendamento riguardante l’abolizione della schiavitù: l’antidoto il racconto della politica politicante che può non essere bella da vedere, ma a volte necessaria e, grazie a una regia che sfiora la perfezione, i suoi intrighi rendono appassionante una pellicola di oltre due ore e e mezza (con in più il regalo almeno per me che nell’immaginazione il ‘giovane mr. Lincoln’ continua a essere Henry Fonda). Con tali premesse, pare superflua la considerazione che ci troviamo davanti a un film di parola e non d’azione, a volte quasi teatrale nel suo svolgersi in gran parte in interni rifatti con cura e con una certa predilezione per le luci fioche (ma era proprio così buia la Casa Bianca?). La scrittura non accusa mai battute a vuoto, tanto che sono i dialoghi stessi a dare alla pellicola il suo ritmo, certo lento ma mai noioso. A Washington si incrociano politici che non vogliono perdere il seggio o aspirano a piccoli privilegi come il Clay Hawkins di Walton Goggins e trafficoni incaricati di ammorbidirli (il volutamente volgare Bilbo di James Spader), vecchi patriarchi che annusano il futuro (Hal Holbrook Preston Blair) e uomini arroccati sulle loro posizioni capaci di giungere fino all’insulto personale, incarnati dal Fernando Wood di Lee Pace: fra tutti costoro, Lincoln procede sicuro (delle proprie idee) verso l’obbiettivo che si prefissato, malgrado ci sia l’esigenza di cercare una pace con la Confederazione che vede l’emendamento come fumo negli occhi. Ad interpretarlo, uno splendido Daniel Day-Lewis che –oltre alla mimesi fisica capace di rendere la decisione politica di un uomo ‘investito di un potere immenso’ e, allo stesso tempo, le sofferenze interiori di un padre che ha perso un figlio e vuole evitare la guerra all’altro (tanto da riuscire a imboscare al Quartier Generale lo scalpitante Robert Joseph Gordon-Levitt quando quest’ultimo veste infine la divisa). Ne esce un personaggio sfaccettato a cui la voce di Pierfrancesco Favino rende (o pare rendere, non avendo io sentito la versione originale) un buon servizio: altrettanto non si può dire del doppiaggio di Sally Field che, per il resto, riesce a essere credibile come moglio di Lincoln pur avendo dieci anni più di Day-Lewis. Un voto qui e uno là, il Presidente vince il braccio di ferro in una tesissima seduta alla Camera, giocata sui primi piani dei deputati e alternata alle immagini di Lincoln che aspetta la notizia giocando con il figlio più piccolo: la schiavitù abolita per la commozione di Thaddeus Stevens, un bravissimo Tommy Lee Jones, che vede realizzarsi il sogno di una vita e il cui ritorno a casa regala uno dei pochi sorrisi sereni del film resta solo da fermare la guerra. Forse si poteva chiudere qui, in un momento di grande pathos, però la lenta cavalcata del Presidente sul campo di battaglia di Petersburg (che potrebbe essere Passchendaele, o Omaha Beach) consente a Spielberg di mettere ancora una volta per immagini l’orrore della guerra. Dopo il colpo di pistola di Booth (fuori scena), la retorica ritorna con le immagini del secondo discorso d’insediamento sul prato della Casa Bianca, ma la dose quella giusta e la scena si rivela essere l’ultimo colpo d’ala grazie alle parole di Lincoln, ma anche per i volti di una folla in cui ogni singolo ha la sua personalità (peccato solo per quella anacronistica bandiera a cinquanta stelle…). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
scriptsmotionNov 9, 2012
I was enthralled from the start.
http://scriptsmotion.wordpress.com/2012/11/09/lincoln/

While it isn
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
xFezziwigNov 26, 2012
This is defiantly an interesting movie. I enjoyed it very much because I am the type of person who can sit there and enjoy learning about something I only knew a little bit about. This is defiantly not the type of movie for people who willThis is defiantly an interesting movie. I enjoyed it very much because I am the type of person who can sit there and enjoy learning about something I only knew a little bit about. This is defiantly not the type of movie for people who will want to be at the edge of their seat the whole time. If you enjoy learning about history and see what it was like for these people, this is defiantly a great movie to go see, but if you want a movie that has people running around constantly and shooting each other, you will probably want to pass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DarthSidious63Apr 9, 2013
Lincoln is basically a two and a half hour play and although Daniel Day Lewis was amazing as Lincoln it is difficult to watch at one sitting cause it gets boring. I believe that this is the reason that it wasn't the best picture of 2012. TheLincoln is basically a two and a half hour play and although Daniel Day Lewis was amazing as Lincoln it is difficult to watch at one sitting cause it gets boring. I believe that this is the reason that it wasn't the best picture of 2012. The movie basically about the passing of the 13 amendment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ClayMerrittJan 26, 2013
The history in this film was such an amazing view on the world in the civil war era. It really captured the struggle it took for Lincoln to get the slavery bill passed. This will probably go down as the greatest Lincoln film to ever beThe history in this film was such an amazing view on the world in the civil war era. It really captured the struggle it took for Lincoln to get the slavery bill passed. This will probably go down as the greatest Lincoln film to ever be produced. Spielberg couldn't have picked a better Lincoln than Daniel Day Lewis. Lewis really let Lincoln consume him because he perfected the man that was Abraham Lincoln. What made me not give this movie a 9 was the ending. The ending was purely a let down. It would have been nice to see Lincoln get assassinated, and I know that sounds hateful in a way, but that is my only criticism. Many Lincoln movies have been made and they never show Lincoln getting shot in the back of the head. Capturing that part in the movie would have been pivotal in such an already great movie. Close the book! Show the assassination. I just hope this movie ends the infatuation of Abraham Lincoln. Nobody could have made this movie better than Stephen Spielberg. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dante_finnNov 17, 2012
Steven Spielberg's movie made a huge impression in theators. With a blazing $85,846. The movie has such a great cast. This is what a biography film should be like.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 20, 2012
The ingenuity of the script in impeccable. Never has a film payed such careful attention to the details of politics. Yet even through all the detail, and all the material covered, Speilberg's Lincoln is compulsively watchable. The result is aThe ingenuity of the script in impeccable. Never has a film payed such careful attention to the details of politics. Yet even through all the detail, and all the material covered, Speilberg's Lincoln is compulsively watchable. The result is a great American movie. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Dec 31, 2013
Certamente foi um filme bem interessante, graças a genialidade de Steven Spielberg e a atuação hipnótica de Daniel Day-Lewis e de todo seu elenco que foi magnífico.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Darkjoker28Nov 9, 2012
Oh, this is beautiful film-making. Spielberg takes you on a ride inside Lincoln's mind and his intimate conflicts, in such a pretty and touching way...
DDL is outstanding once again, and this will be seriously a big contender to the award
Oh, this is beautiful film-making. Spielberg takes you on a ride inside Lincoln's mind and his intimate conflicts, in such a pretty and touching way...
DDL is outstanding once again, and this will be seriously a big contender to the award season. I bet .
Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
5
YoursTrulyJan 1, 2013
I was very disappointed. Daniel Day-Lewis was his usual amazing self. And the acting as a whole was top notch. But other than that, I found Lincoln to be severely lacking. There was no portrayal of Abraham Lincoln the man. There was noI was very disappointed. Daniel Day-Lewis was his usual amazing self. And the acting as a whole was top notch. But other than that, I found Lincoln to be severely lacking. There was no portrayal of Abraham Lincoln the man. There was no examination of his heavily documented depression, his unstable marriage, his tumultuous family life, his suicidal thoughts, his emotions, his demons, his joys, his passions, his personality, his psyche or his existence as a human being. There was no portrait of life in America during the civil war. No representation of the state, it's people or the condition that it was in during this historic period. In fact, the war only appeared in the form of quick mentions here and there. It was, essentially, a play-by-play analysis for the political struggle to pass the 13th amendment. A play-by-play analysis which was rather hard to follow and frankly, quite boring at times. Overall, I was upset that this movie did not have more depth, did not have more wonder and did not have more life. It's worth a watch, but thoroughly unfulfilling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CBNNov 21, 2012
Day-Lewis proves once again he is the best actor of his generation. Spielberg's touch and mastery are all over the film, yet a bit hard to follow at time with the onslaught of new characters and dialogue. Overall, a wonderful movie experience.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
OroiaelNov 22, 2012
If you want a constant reminder of how Spielberg voted in the last election, then watch this movie. Otherwise, read a solid biography on Lincoln. Spielberg's movie making is about as subtle as a five year-old screaming for candy in your ear.If you want a constant reminder of how Spielberg voted in the last election, then watch this movie. Otherwise, read a solid biography on Lincoln. Spielberg's movie making is about as subtle as a five year-old screaming for candy in your ear. Most of the movie feels wooden and plastic, if that is even possible. On the up side, it is a movie about Lincoln, so there is a fair amount of feel-good American jingoism. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
kubr1ckNov 11, 2012
they might as well give day-lewis the oscar now. he outdoes even himself here. a truly lived-in character right from the start. and kushner's script is unbelievable. bravo
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
JribsNov 19, 2012
My girlfriend fell asleep during this movie, but I sure didn't. It is dialogue heavy which I'm sure everybody has heard. The screenplay is excellent though, allowing for moments of subtlety where other movies would be afraid to bore theMy girlfriend fell asleep during this movie, but I sure didn't. It is dialogue heavy which I'm sure everybody has heard. The screenplay is excellent though, allowing for moments of subtlety where other movies would be afraid to bore the audience. The acting accompanying the screenplay works perfectly as every character seemed to be cast perfectly to suite their role. Great supporting roles in this movie go even further than Tommy Lee Jones and Sally Field. James Spader is a surprisingly hilarious addition to the cast and Joseph Gordon-Levitt brought added drama to the film. See it if you are slightly educated in Civil War history, and can enjoy a well-written film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Makaliah18Nov 18, 2012
Interesting movie. It prompted me to read Ms. Goodwin's book. There were several actors that I absolutely loved seeing and they all did an amazing job.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews