Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 9, 2012
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 694 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
528
Mixed:
105
Negative:
61
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
worleyjamersDec 5, 2012
Lincoln is a really good film! Not a brilliant film, but it's extremely well done. Daniel Day-Lewis is terrific, he truly disappears into the role/character and gives a fantastic (Oscar worthy) performance. The screenplay by Tony Kushner isLincoln is a really good film! Not a brilliant film, but it's extremely well done. Daniel Day-Lewis is terrific, he truly disappears into the role/character and gives a fantastic (Oscar worthy) performance. The screenplay by Tony Kushner is outstanding. Heavy on the politics, but moving and humorous at all the right moments; it will definitely be nominated for an Oscar. The film is rounded off by a perfect supporting cast, dotted with many well-known/renowned actors, and none of them disappoint. Tommy Lee Jones and Sally Field stand out. Overall, Lincoln is a great biopic about a great American figure. The film captures the conflict of the era, as well as the humanity of good ole' Abe. I think I like Spielberg's War Horse a little better, but this is a really good film, worthy of a lot of praise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
storyhobbitJan 15, 2013
Daniel Day Lewis is a perfectly cut glittering diamond in this beautifully crafted setting. Spielberg has renewed my trust in him, since this is easily the best film he's made since Saving Private Ryan.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
natashJan 3, 2013
I like the movie. Maybe, because I am too spoiled with action movies, this one seems slow, almost like a reading book. I found the structure to be interesting, - arguments over a passing 13 amendment has almost took entire movie, buildingI like the movie. Maybe, because I am too spoiled with action movies, this one seems slow, almost like a reading book. I found the structure to be interesting, - arguments over a passing 13 amendment has almost took entire movie, building the culmination bust in the end. The characters were deep and passionate. Overall good movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
FrostyReviewsJan 13, 2013
If you want to know and learn how Abraham Lincoln abolished slavery once and for all, see this movie immediately. I seriously do not know why this movie is getting such bad reviews. The only reason I am giving this a nine instead of a ten isIf you want to know and learn how Abraham Lincoln abolished slavery once and for all, see this movie immediately. I seriously do not know why this movie is getting such bad reviews. The only reason I am giving this a nine instead of a ten is because it mainly focused on Lincoln talking back and forth with delegates and such. There was really no "action" involved in the movie. Daniel Day Lewis and Tommy Lee Jones both did an amazing job in the movie, as I figured they would. I saw one review on here that had a one, and it said "this movie is a total bore", the movie was not a bore. It was both suspenseful, and tense. There were some parts of the movie where I just didn't think things were going to work out. If you want to see a real movie about Lincoln, see this one. I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SkydogJan 14, 2013
Although the film is a little slow at times, the acting is superb. The beginning scene is one of the best as well as the telegraphers speaking to Lincoln. Anyone who calls this movie or acting mundane, i just don't get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aldebaran937Jan 24, 2013
On some level I can relate to comments about the slow pace of the movie, especially in the beginning. I agree that the pace was slower than I expected, but it was not too slow. It was perhaps the appropriate pace to gather in the facets thatOn some level I can relate to comments about the slow pace of the movie, especially in the beginning. I agree that the pace was slower than I expected, but it was not too slow. It was perhaps the appropriate pace to gather in the facets that were needed to relate the urgency and polarization of that time. There are plenty of scenes to make the blood race, not because of battles or other action sequences, but because of the opposing views that were being spewed out with such venom. To see a president in the midst of such turmoil, apart from the battlefields of which we have all seen and read plenty of documentaries and dramatizations, was riveting. On this side of the historical time line, we can look back, knowing that the 13th Amendment was passed. Yet this movie was able to take me to a place where I experienced how impossible it seemed then, and to experience the relief, even more than triumph, that the feat was accomplished. The film's deft script and inspired acting showed what a delicate tightrope the President had to walk to make this happen and how very close it came to failing. Then the war would have ended, and the states remain united, but the slavery issue would have remained unresolved.
That Daniel Day-Lewis took the time needed to wait on the "voice" of Lincoln to grow within him and come forth from him with such an impact of authenticity is one of the things that moved and impressed me the most about LINCOLN. David Strathaim and Sally Field also gave powerful and eloquent performances, as well as several others, but my favorite supporting actor was Tommy Lee Jones. His Thaddeus Stevens lumbered about with a pronounced limp from a childhood bout with polio, providing a much needed counter-point to the congressional members who venomously opposed the passing of the 13th Amendment. Their loud, jeering racial put-downs sound shocking today but are revealed to have been perceived as reasonable and accepted to many in the North at that time. Jones' delivery of Stevens' rejoinders helped to balance out the harshness of the prejudices of that time, giving us some space to laugh with him at their narrow-minded stupidity. At the same time it is sobering to think Stevens" views would have been considered the radical ones to many of that day.
I highly recommend this film as an opportunity to connect with a moment in history and experience the people and happenings of that time come to life. I have not seen a film that has done this better.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
NavQJan 30, 2013
Storyline: President Lincoln, played brilliantly by Daniel Day-Lewis struggles to gain enough votes to allow the 13th Amendment to pass. Even knowing the outcome still didn't stop me from holding my breath at the end .

Acting: First off,
Storyline: President Lincoln, played brilliantly by Daniel Day-Lewis struggles to gain enough votes to allow the 13th Amendment to pass. Even knowing the outcome still didn't stop me from holding my breath at the end .

Acting: First off, Daniel Day-Lewis became Lincoln. It could have been played well by a few others but when DDL puts on the famous hat he actually becomes. Powerful stuff. Sally Field was not bad as Mrs Lincoln but for me Tommy Lee Jones was a huge surprise as Thaddeus Stevens with one of his best performances. Joseph Gordon-Levitt did a good job as well playing Lincolns son.

Direction: Stephen Spielburg at his best telling us an important story in America's history and telling it well. He rarely gets it wrong but when it's right it's amazing.

Production: $65 million was put to excellent use because actors flock to these projects so more money probably goes on sound stages and props. It shows here as you are taken back to 1865 and honestly you can almost smell the horse dung and death the detail is so good. The highest quality.

Conclusion: Spielberg in full swing with a brilliantly done Historical Drama that had me glued to the screen. Highly Recommended.

Score: 9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Wes_BrewerJan 20, 2013
Lincoln is unquestionably one of Hollywood's top three films of 2013; Spielberg's direction and Day-Lewis' performance are more than just noteworthy. This is an effective and fairly displayed period piece that can only be criticized for itLincoln is unquestionably one of Hollywood's top three films of 2013; Spielberg's direction and Day-Lewis' performance are more than just noteworthy. This is an effective and fairly displayed period piece that can only be criticized for it accurate display of a slower time and its artistry prevents any other negative honesty. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
tomboskettFeb 13, 2013
Lincoln simply put is a brilliant film. For a film that is 2 hours and 30 mins of talking and politics it makes a thoroughly engaging and thoroughly interesting story. It is an important story in American history and captures the issue andLincoln simply put is a brilliant film. For a film that is 2 hours and 30 mins of talking and politics it makes a thoroughly engaging and thoroughly interesting story. It is an important story in American history and captures the issue and era magnificently. Daniel Day-Lewis would fully deserve the Oscar for his performance, it was flawless. He is also matched by an equally fantastic cast. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shpreaJun 28, 2013
I'm not really into biographies or historical films, however Lincoln just fascinated me. The movie was set at the apex of his career and the film really never got boring. The acting was amazing, the narrative was well told, and it was anI'm not really into biographies or historical films, however Lincoln just fascinated me. The movie was set at the apex of his career and the film really never got boring. The acting was amazing, the narrative was well told, and it was an extremely memorable movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ScorpionMay 19, 2013
It's confusing and a little tiring, but satisfying and therefore the performance of its cast saves the film from any negative review, apart from a policy, the film runs smoothly and its soundtrack brings an air of sweetness, which helps inIt's confusing and a little tiring, but satisfying and therefore the performance of its cast saves the film from any negative review, apart from a policy, the film runs smoothly and its soundtrack brings an air of sweetness, which helps in the important parts of the movie and this establishes the film as one of Spielberg's best, even if he goes out of style movie director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 22, 2013
The real masterpiece comes from Daniel Day-Lewis' climactic performance, as well as his dead on portrayal of our greatest president. Tommy Lee Jones as the cynical Thaddeus Stevens gives us a laugh with his sardonic humor. And Sally FieldThe real masterpiece comes from Daniel Day-Lewis' climactic performance, as well as his dead on portrayal of our greatest president. Tommy Lee Jones as the cynical Thaddeus Stevens gives us a laugh with his sardonic humor. And Sally Field scores again as the emotionally traumatized Mary Todd. The story-line is brief considering their history altogether, but "Lincoln" is a gut-wrenching memoir of the 13th Amendment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
audreythomas25Jan 19, 2016
This is a wonderful film, full of detail and behavior, and one that lifts broadened historical details into a poetic marriage of humanity and triumph.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-78234-Lincoln-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrailesqueJan 23, 2017
This does not relate the myth of young Abe Lincoln. There are no stories of long walks thru the snow to get to the courthouse, or him splitting wood for a living, or whatever the heck. No this jumps right into the politics of the LincolnThis does not relate the myth of young Abe Lincoln. There are no stories of long walks thru the snow to get to the courthouse, or him splitting wood for a living, or whatever the heck. No this jumps right into the politics of the Lincoln presidency, and focuses especially on the issue of the repeal of slavery, which was apparently a difficult political struggle despite the fact that the Civil War was raging all around. This shows us Lincoln the master politician and negotiator. Lewis is brilliant as usual and some of the other actors are fine too, like Strathairn as Seward. The look is gloomy, sombre, and astonishingly believable. I felt like this is the closest to sitting down at a table with Abraham Lincoln as anyone could ever experience. No doubt some fidgety viewers will have a hard time taking in the whole thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryNov 10, 2012
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
nauticoNov 17, 2012
Three things struck me about this excellent movie. First, at times I thought I was watching a play, not a flick. Lots of set pieces shot on sound stages. 90% dialogue, 10% action. Secondly, I found that dialogue to be self-consciouslyThree things struck me about this excellent movie. First, at times I thought I was watching a play, not a flick. Lots of set pieces shot on sound stages. 90% dialogue, 10% action. Secondly, I found that dialogue to be self-consciously archaic, sometimes almost Shakespearian in syntax and dialect. (That always makes me wonder how close screenwriters and directors really come to the speech patterns that actually existed back in the day. Since we have no recordings from that era, movie makers must use diaries for clues and examples. That said, I suspect that a) the written word was different from the spoken and b) oratorical speech more different from conversational speech than it is today.)

Thirdly, I thought Speilberg's tone to be a bit didactic, as if he wanted to educate all of us on the mechanics of what it took Abe to get the 13th amendment passed. I found this to be neither good nor bad, just noticeable.
Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
JamesLNov 29, 2012
This is the best movie I have seen so far this year. It was entertaining, thoughtful, intellectual, and informative. When I got home, I looked up so many historical issues that the film brought to my attention. I really liked the acting asThis is the best movie I have seen so far this year. It was entertaining, thoughtful, intellectual, and informative. When I got home, I looked up so many historical issues that the film brought to my attention. I really liked the acting as well and the fact that the characters were developed. It would have been so easy to have just resorted to battlefield scenes and blood to make your point. It was well timed as well since so many of the arguments were similar to what I had just heard in our election. Well worth the time and investment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesDec 17, 2012
At first Daniel Day-Lewis's performance came across as a caricature, but after about 15 minutes he won me over completely. A fascinating look at the political process of the time, some of which is still relevant today. Well written andAt first Daniel Day-Lewis's performance came across as a caricature, but after about 15 minutes he won me over completely. A fascinating look at the political process of the time, some of which is still relevant today. Well written and acted with great supporting roles, it never bored me. They use some of the dialect of the time so I didn't always understand what was said, but it isn't hard to follow. Tommy Lee Jones was great as usual. I'm sure there will be lots of buzz at Oscar time. The best Spielberg movie in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ScrawnyPunkApr 9, 2013
Not exactly a "must-watch" on the level of Schindler's list, but Spielberg manages to bring topical relevance to a historical subject, while making it an engaging view. You can switch the topic and the characters, and it is still a powerfulNot exactly a "must-watch" on the level of Schindler's list, but Spielberg manages to bring topical relevance to a historical subject, while making it an engaging view. You can switch the topic and the characters, and it is still a powerful study of human behavior what kind of man does it take to make a difficult decision, against all practical odds, with little-to-no support, while balancing "right" against "expedience" over the long term? As with all Spielberg movies, it is well-written, well-filmed, and well-acted (with the exception of Sally Fields, whom I found to be over the top in a needless way).

This should be watched by our high school students perhaps this will bring some life to a number of subjects they find boring (e.g. government, politics, parliamentary procedure, compromise, ethics, etc.).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
podunk411Nov 28, 2012
Reminded me of Sorkin's West Wing, except better written and set in the Lincoln White House. As others have mentioned, this is an intimate look at Lincoln's struggle (indeed, our nations struggle) to get the 13th Amendment passed. DefinitelyReminded me of Sorkin's West Wing, except better written and set in the Lincoln White House. As others have mentioned, this is an intimate look at Lincoln's struggle (indeed, our nations struggle) to get the 13th Amendment passed. Definitely a movie for political junkies and history buffs, with some stellar acting by Daniel Day Lewis and a great (and large!) cast of a supporting actors. I didn't realize how long the film was--truly enjoyed it all the way through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gfnyNov 16, 2012
If you are looking for action pass this by. The movie is like watching a chess game. Slow thinking, planning and timing
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
m_eldersDec 16, 2012
This is a really solid movie. The acting is superb, the story is interesting, and the writing is good. However, it felt oddly short. There were all these interesting characters, but not enough time to develop any of them completely. ItThis is a really solid movie. The acting is superb, the story is interesting, and the writing is good. However, it felt oddly short. There were all these interesting characters, but not enough time to develop any of them completely. It felt like it should have been a TV miniseries. One other thing really stood out to me for some reason. I'm not one to let profanity affect how much I like a movie (The Wire is one of my favorite TV shows), but this had more profanity than I would have expected from a movie set in the 1800s. Even Lincoln said "sh*t" at one point. It just really caught me off guard. Other than that, this is a great movie that tells the story of Lincoln as you've probably never heard it told. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Aug 30, 2015
"Lincoln" might get a little boring from some people with its long running time, but the film is a marvelous movie that benefits from a strong script by Tony Kushner and a oscar-deserved performance from Daniel Day Lewis.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
frozenpinkyNov 9, 2012
Who is this R. Kurt Osenlund of Slant Magazine that writes, "Steven Spielberg's LINCOLN film may further the heroism so associated with its subject, and favor a liberal viewpoint that leers down at the Confederates, but it's no bleeding-heartWho is this R. Kurt Osenlund of Slant Magazine that writes, "Steven Spielberg's LINCOLN film may further the heroism so associated with its subject, and favor a liberal viewpoint that leers down at the Confederates, but it's no bleeding-heart glamorization." ? Who says conservatives were in favor of the Confederates? Lincoln was a conservative Republican, and most of the Confederates were Southern Democrats. People don't seem to realize that it's Republicans who were and still are the true "liberals": those in favor of liberty, freedom, and self-determinism (the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness) for all people. The movie is good, though. Just ignore Slant Magazine. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJan 1, 2013
Lincoln is one of Spielberg's better efforts in the last couple of years, a film designed to 'win' lots of Oscars. Despite its slower pace, the film is buoyed completely by Daniel Day Lewis' mesmerizing performance as 'Honest Abe', one ofLincoln is one of Spielberg's better efforts in the last couple of years, a film designed to 'win' lots of Oscars. Despite its slower pace, the film is buoyed completely by Daniel Day Lewis' mesmerizing performance as 'Honest Abe', one of the greatest US President of all time. Ensemble casts are also excellent, with stand outs performance by Tommy Lee Jones and Sally Field. A great portrait of this historical figure and while it is not the best film of the year, it is one of those films that both Critics and Audiences like. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Dec 8, 2012
This was a very good movie. Daniel Day-Lewis does an incredible job as he portrays Abraham Lincoln and the rest of the impressive cast does just as well. Truthfully, this was a character and acting driven movie and it had to have been inThis was a very good movie. Daniel Day-Lewis does an incredible job as he portrays Abraham Lincoln and the rest of the impressive cast does just as well. Truthfully, this was a character and acting driven movie and it had to have been in order to work. The only real negatives to the film, in my opinion, were the length and the slightly misleading name. Regarding the length of the movie, don't get me wrong, I LOVE long films IF they're done well (Lord of the Rings, Braveheart, etc.). While this movie was done well, it easily could've been 15-20 minutes shorter without missing anything critical (which cannot necessarily be said by LOTR or Braveheart). The other thing I mentioned was the misleading name. Obviously Lincoln is still the protagonist but a more accurate title to the movie would've been "The 13th Amendment" because that's the entire focus of the film. Personally, I expected this film to be more like a condensed version of the John Adams mini-series and the title and previews are the reason why. Nonetheless, this was a good movie with fantastic acting and cinematography and I think most people would really enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Through the direction of Steven Spielberg, Daniel Day-Lewis brings us on an incredible journey through the mind and intimacy of Abraham Lincoln. Lincoln is a focus on the person as well as the accomplishments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dblaze889Mar 17, 2013
This movie is deserved everything not just Best Actor. Spielberg beautifully directs and make deep research about Lincoln. Yeah this is still movie, not documentary, so you'll find some dramatize scenes. But it's okay.
Compare with the
This movie is deserved everything not just Best Actor. Spielberg beautifully directs and make deep research about Lincoln. Yeah this is still movie, not documentary, so you'll find some dramatize scenes. But it's okay.
Compare with the shi*ty Argo, this movie is a masterpiece. I just don't know why Argo can grab Oscar? What's wrong with you American citizens? You don't like and proud with your own president?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheMovieCriticDec 30, 2012
A superb movie with great acting by Daniel Day Lewis, this is a movie worth seeing. Even though at times the dialogue is pretty heavy, and seems to go on and on, the story is well told, and it's a movie you wouldn't be disappointed with.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
jball359Nov 26, 2012
It was an enjoyable historic drama. I think the movie should have been called the "13th Amendment" considering that is really the only aspect of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews