User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 158
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StevenF.
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    Wonderful, rich, intelligent, reminds us of what we used to think directing was. So many deep and powerful images, wonderful performances, lovely and complex.
  2. ChadS.
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    Just in case you're impervious to irony, "Little Children" gives you one last chance to reconsider that adjective and noun, "little" and "children", when Brad(Patrick Wilson) and his skateboard part ways; when Lucy offers her mother some comforting words and a pat on the back. Yes, "Little Children" has its false moments; none more so than Sarah's insecurity about her beauty in Just in case you're impervious to irony, "Little Children" gives you one last chance to reconsider that adjective and noun, "little" and "children", when Brad(Patrick Wilson) and his skateboard part ways; when Lucy offers her mother some comforting words and a pat on the back. Yes, "Little Children" has its false moments; none more so than Sarah's insecurity about her beauty in comparison to Kathy(Jennifer Connelly), since we can all see that Kate Winslet is in the same ballpark as Connelly, a "knockout"(Brad's description of his wife) in her own right. But for the most part, "Little Children" is a smartly written, smartly acted film about, yes, angsty affluent white people, but the film is never whiny, never static, because the "little children" grow up, especially the "bully" who picks on Ronnie(Jackie Earle Haley). Expand
  3. CuculizaO.
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    Hands down, the best movie of the year. The screenplay is intelligent and well-written, the direction visionary and secure, and the performances are all superb. This movie goes in unexpected ways. Chilling and perfect. Don't miss a chance to see it.
  4. Enrique
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Nothing less than a masterpiece. Wonderful actig and direction.
  5. DougD.
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Wow, I really am surprised to see this movie with such a low user score. I hardly ever give a movie a 10 but Little Children blew me away. It's a character study much like Punch Drunk Love, which specializes in combining melodrama with tense, frightening scenes. Certainly slow to build, but if you appreciate the satire riddled throughout the film you don't mind. The best I saw in 2006.
  6. SilasP.
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    Oh, brother; a couple of the posters here seem to have big, fat chips on their shoulders. This is a gripping, haunting film, exquisitely written, filmed, and performed. It is a fairy tale for adults, with a profound, existential moral. Field, Perrotta, and the actors do a virtuoso job of making these characters sympathetic, hateful, complex - in a word, human.
  7. MikeA.
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    I love this movie and everything about it. Start campaigning for the Oscars!
  8. AvrilK.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Best Performance of the year by far!!! Kate Winslet will blow you away!
  9. MaryG.
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    Masterful and moving, beautiful to watch and remarkably funny.
  10. FelixG.
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    Unflinching in it's satirical approach to suburbia Field has created a character study that resonates long after an initial viewing. Winslet is top-notch in this film and is destined for her 5th nom. Wilson, Emmerich and Haley also add to Todd's tapestry of cinematic genius with career defining performances. This is not a film for everyone but it is definitely one that will stay Unflinching in it's satirical approach to suburbia Field has created a character study that resonates long after an initial viewing. Winslet is top-notch in this film and is destined for her 5th nom. Wilson, Emmerich and Haley also add to Todd's tapestry of cinematic genius with career defining performances. This is not a film for everyone but it is definitely one that will stay in the mind and may even pose questions about perception that we dare not even ask ourselves. A+ Expand
  11. CindyL.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    A gem of a film. Wonderful acting, great direction and cinematography. Richly layered, a sleeper that surprised me as I hadn't really heard any buzz on it. One of the best films I've seen.
  12. RobertI.
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    Unsettling in the way that the best drama can be. Everything in this so-familiar tale seems freshly told and personally resonant. Bold filmmaking, a strong narrative, today's lens.
  13. CurtisS.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    The title of this Kate Winslet movie is a triple pun, and it may take you a while to figure out how... There is "brief simulated and suggested graphic sexuality" in this film, but it is not overlong. While strictly speaking it is unnecessary, artistically it does fit the story. One of the puns, and the great value of this film is to show that committing adultery is immature, sinful, and The title of this Kate Winslet movie is a triple pun, and it may take you a while to figure out how... There is "brief simulated and suggested graphic sexuality" in this film, but it is not overlong. While strictly speaking it is unnecessary, artistically it does fit the story. One of the puns, and the great value of this film is to show that committing adultery is immature, sinful, and *childish.* The use of a narrator makes this film very much like a novel, in that we know the thoughts of the characters. The "childish" theme is a great and original idea, and it is illustrated strongly in the final scenes. This one is worth checking out, and thinking about. The dvd cover proclaims it as the best film of the year. This is one of those films that stays in your head for a few days, and hits you hard as you realize the the implications of the theme and plot. Very dramatic, and really holds your attention. Dramatically, this film could be compared to AMERICAN BEAUTY and CRASH. Strongly recommended, with the above caveat. C The most important truths: "...the Word (Jesus) was God..." "...the Word (Jesus) became flesh..." >>John 1:1;14. "He who believes in the Son (Jesus) *has* everlasting life; and He who does not believe the Son (Jesus) shall not see life, but the wrath of God abides on him." >>John 3:36. For by *grace* you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the *gift* of God, *not* of works, lest anyone should boast. >>Ephesians 2:8,9. Believe in Jesus: that He is God, that He suffered and died on the cross for all of your sins: past, present and future; that He was buried, that He physically rose from death on the third day--and you will be immediately forgiven, saved forever, and go to Heaven the minute you die. Collapse
  14. agusS
    May 16, 2010
    10
    This is a really good movie, idiots!!!!! the end is amazing if you want to see a movie where everything is fucking perfect go see Cinderella.
  15. rob
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Memorable and chilling, kate winslet is perfect.
  16. robertxxx
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    Brilliant; a tale of deception and discontent, made all the more gripping because of the way a single misstep can push someone to the edge....fearless and revealing.
  17. KitchM.
    Dec 12, 2006
    10
    In my mind this is, by far, the best American film of the year. Mr. Field has crafted yet another Masterpeice. A truely engrossing and sobering look into the human condition.
  18. J.R.
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    This is one of my favorite films of all time. Subversive, funny, and full of almost unbearable heart-break.
  19. MichaelH
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    Dense, wonderfully acted. Surprising turns with interesting juxtapositions. Is it perfect? No. There are a pacing problems in certain subplots but the strengths more than make up for them. Winslet is riveting.
  20. Dave
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Excellent performances all around. Definitely no sophomore jinx for Todd Field, I suspect this film will receive many awards at the end of the year.
  21. DeWayneP.
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    This is a film about puzzles, puzzles with emotional pieces where people keep
  22. ChrisU.
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    I saw this movie 2 days ago and can't stop thinking about it. Smart writing and complex characters are brought vividly to life by Director Field and his gifted cast. The end result is a haunting resonance that sticks with you like that sound of an unseen train and its warning whistle rushing somewhere in the dark night.
  23. PaulS.
    Feb 23, 2007
    9
    Excellent look at suburban disfunction. Very good movie. Deserves more play time than it got in the local theathers.
  24. MelissaA.
    May 1, 2007
    10
    A film which reflects the harsh realities of life and everyday society. It shows life from each perspective and leaves you speechless. Little children is one of the rare films that can handle harsh topics and bring them to your attention in a way that only your own experiences could tell.
  25. DanC.
    Jun 23, 2007
    9
    An unusual but very good film. Kate Winslet is subtle and brilliant throughout - yet another reason she's one of my favorite actresses. The strange texture of the characters' lives in handled in a sympathetic but realistic way. They are flawed people searching for happiness, but also capable of much love and understanding. See it.
  26. MichaelL.
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    An astounding schievement. A perfect "10". No one is more surprised than I; halfway through the film, I wasn't sure I liked it. But the gut-wrenching emotion, the true suburban terror, and the implication that we're all simply scared "little children" resonated. By film's end, I was a believer. Emotional, funny, jarring, tense and achingly sad, "Little Children" is the An astounding schievement. A perfect "10". No one is more surprised than I; halfway through the film, I wasn't sure I liked it. But the gut-wrenching emotion, the true suburban terror, and the implication that we're all simply scared "little children" resonated. By film's end, I was a believer. Emotional, funny, jarring, tense and achingly sad, "Little Children" is the year's best so far. From the acting to the cinematography to the soundtrack, it's haunting perfection. Expand
  27. [Anonymous]
    Dec 12, 2006
    10
    A flawlessly calibrated directorial achievement; superb script and performances; complex, haunting, and really riveting. Absolutely one of the two best pictures of the year (the other being 'Half Nelson').
  28. MHS
    Oct 22, 2006
    9
    9.5 (football scenes weak) otherwise a brilliant, deeply moving film. As with all great films it stays with you long after the experience of watching it. I have not seen In the bedroom but will so soon as I am in awe of Mr. Field work here.
  29. FrankD
    Dec 24, 2006
    9
    An amazing achievement! This film gives me tremendous hope for the future of American cinema. A compelling story, masterly woven and executed in direction, writing, performances, and design. A perfectly-tuned ensemble cast. Bravo!
  30. AnneH
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    I heart Kate Winslet! Great performances and this movie is the best picture of the year!
  31. JonathanH.
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    Brilliant expose of postmodern irresponsibility.
  32. ChristopherD.
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    This is a finely woven piece of film. A story with an edge that teases and does not overplay itself. This is how an ensemble piece should be made and the surprise is that Altman did not shoot this film.
  33. MattS.
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    This is one of the most captivating films of the decade. Todd Field has created another masterpiece that is filled to the brim with lush cinematography and some of the best acting this side of the director's other film, In the Bedroom, with especially great performances coming from Jackie Earle Haley, Phyllis Somerville, and Kate Winslet.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 40
    It's an unholy mess, simultaneously too Gothic and too sarcastic, that preaches liberation and delivers only puritanism. It's a craftsmanlike but robotic imitation of "interesting" filmmaking, only in patches, and by accident, the real thing.
  2. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    90
    Providing richness of detail and metaphor, elegantly blueprinted themes and impressive mastery of a constantly shifting tone, Little Children does just that. It is a deeply satisfying film.
  3. 90
    The result is a movie that is challenging, accessible and hard to stop thinking about...But in too many recent movies intelligence is woefully undervalued, and it is this quality -- even more than its considerable beauty -- that distinguishes Little Children from its peers.