Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: July 26, 2006
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 599 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
455
Mixed:
45
Negative:
99
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 30, 2011
"Little Miss Sunshine" is a heart-warm movie. It's well written script delivers that supporting each other as a family, everything is possible. And yes, it is one of the best movies of the year.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
Spielberg00Sep 30, 2011
LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE is an independent film, humorous in its own dark little way. Though the film comes across mostly a drama, it has its funny moments, and all of the humor is either subtle, clever, depressing, or a combination of the three.LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE is an independent film, humorous in its own dark little way. Though the film comes across mostly a drama, it has its funny moments, and all of the humor is either subtle, clever, depressing, or a combination of the three. Though Steve Carrell, now known for his wittingly hilarious role in TV's comedy THE OFFICE, appears as one of the more major characters, Alan Arkin (if any cast member) seems to be the one who draws the most audience laughs. In fact, Carrell delivers most likely the least humorous role. Though he does definitely still have his humor, with a big nod to the scene at the dinner table near the beginning. Other than that, LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE is a heartwarming, sometimes weepy, and ultimately feel-good film. I highly doubt there has been one road movie as good and unpredictable as this since NATIONAL LAMPOON'S VACATION. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
SamSep 7, 2006
One of the best movies I've seen in years. It's a perfect and satisfying blend of bittersweet plot and stinging social commentary. Wonderful performances by everybody, especially Carell.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SherylG.Aug 20, 2006
Loved this film, laughed out loud for the first time in ages in a theater. Steve carell was at his best comic (and understated self). also loved the young actress who played Olive, unaffected charming young child actress.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoeC.Sep 7, 2006
Believe the hype. My girlfriend and I haven't had this much fun at the movies in a long, long time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NatalieP.Sep 2, 2006
hyseterical and heartbreaking at the same time. The performances are pricless.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
AbbyR.Oct 20, 2006
Is winning really everything?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AustinW.Aug 9, 2006
Really fantastic. Great performances, and some great laugh out loud moments. I understand the sitcom comparisons, but there's a subversive undertone that really makes it sing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelH.Feb 5, 2007
I loved it! No, nothing blows up and nobody winds up getting hacked to death but that's half of the appeal of this film. All of us know the wanna-be successful dad. All of us know the chain-smoking mom in denial, pretending that if she I loved it! No, nothing blows up and nobody winds up getting hacked to death but that's half of the appeal of this film. All of us know the wanna-be successful dad. All of us know the chain-smoking mom in denial, pretending that if she doesn't acknowledge that her husband is a failure, her brother is suicidal and her daughter has no chance of winning the pageant that it all doesn't exist. Excellent job by Michael Arndt, the producers and directors. Best of luck to LMS as Best Picture of 2006! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulKaneJul 20, 2006
By far, the best drama/comedy I have seen this year. Everything about this was near perfect: the casting, the acting, the character arcs, the storyline, and even the score/soundtrack. I couldn't stop laughing throughout the entireBy far, the best drama/comedy I have seen this year. Everything about this was near perfect: the casting, the acting, the character arcs, the storyline, and even the score/soundtrack. I couldn't stop laughing throughout the entire movie. If you have an interest in this, you MUST see it in the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaD.Aug 12, 2006
This movie is a wonderful grin! If you need one, go see it. Couldn't find one thing wrong with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NancyHAug 5, 2006
Loved this movie--and I kid you not, one of the best mainstream movies I've seen all year. This quirky, dysfunctional family is not so dysfunctional after all when they come out of their own worlds to rally behind Olive, the youngest inLoved this movie--and I kid you not, one of the best mainstream movies I've seen all year. This quirky, dysfunctional family is not so dysfunctional after all when they come out of their own worlds to rally behind Olive, the youngest in her quest to win Little Miss Sunshine child pageant. The contrast between this kooky family and the pageant enthusiasts will certainly make you question what is normal? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Aug 6, 2006
The trailer made it seem like this movie was going to be some indie, high brow, artsy film but as stated it really was more like a sitcom. Fortunately the comedy though silly is never really juvenile and the drama manages to not be cheasy. The trailer made it seem like this movie was going to be some indie, high brow, artsy film but as stated it really was more like a sitcom. Fortunately the comedy though silly is never really juvenile and the drama manages to not be cheasy. Entertaining but like a sitcom episode easily forgetable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaubiusSep 10, 2006
I laughed out loud quite a bit. Very funny, and highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.W.Sep 15, 2006
This family puts the fun in dysfunctional. Creative, out of the box, and unexpected turns in this movie had us laughing so hard we cried.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CBSep 3, 2006
Owen Gleiberman is retarded. This is one of the best indie comdies since Swingers. I don't know anyone that didn't love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
staubinSep 7, 2006
I'm not one of those people who laughs out-loud in movie theaters, but this movie made me do that... over a dozen times. Awesomely funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KristinP.Jan 13, 2007
Hysterical, heart warming story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesM.Jan 22, 2007
I had heard the critics say how good this movie is so I wantedI enjoyed the movie. I laughed at the funny antics like everyone else but I really started to get interested in it after I began to add up all the pieces of Alan Arkin's I had heard the critics say how good this movie is so I wantedI enjoyed the movie. I laughed at the funny antics like everyone else but I really started to get interested in it after I began to add up all the pieces of Alan Arkin's character and came to the conclusion that he's a child molester. There are so many signals that this might be true through out the movie that it becomes kind of sad. Sad because we, the audience, like the family are totally oblivious to the fact that he is probably molesting her the whole time he's in the movie. Because it's played by Mr. Arkin we think that this character is just a harmless heroin sniffing, foul mouthed porn magazine toting old man that just happens to share the hotel room with his granddaughter. The child is so innocent that she sees nothing wrong with sharing the strip tease he taught her to Rick James' "Super Freak" and the parents had no idea what he was teaching her. Even the shots of the little girls in the pageant remind you of JonBenet Ramsey and make you think "what's going on here?". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BM.Oct 2, 2007
What a refreshing burst of fresh air in the comedy/drama genre. There is not a moment in this movie where the comedy seems forced or the acting overdone. Every ridiculously funny part of this movie is completely believable. Even the script What a refreshing burst of fresh air in the comedy/drama genre. There is not a moment in this movie where the comedy seems forced or the acting overdone. Every ridiculously funny part of this movie is completely believable. Even the script is written and delivered in that rough unpolished way that makes you think these are 'real' people and we are a fly on the wall in there insane lives. Everyone involved in this movie deserves a very big pat on the back. We need more real comedies like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolynS.Jan 8, 2007
Great movie from start to finish. This had me laughing one minute to holding back tears the next. Well-written & acted, I hope this movie gets nominations in every category. A++ all around. Abigail did a wonderful job in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Feb 1, 2007
Good show, almost great. So delicious that one tends to ignore the spillage when it goes over the top. As entertainment that rings true it's immediately gratifying, but the contrivances linger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulioM.Feb 4, 2007
At the end of this movie I felt warmth in my heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElliotP.Feb 4, 2007
A fun movie, well-done, even though the plot has been little over-done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelT.Aug 9, 2009
I am amazed by some of the reviews here. If anyone here trusts user-submitted reviews, I beg you you to ignore any that are full of finger-shaking hyperbole and excessive use of first-year university words. This film is heartwarming, funny I am amazed by some of the reviews here. If anyone here trusts user-submitted reviews, I beg you you to ignore any that are full of finger-shaking hyperbole and excessive use of first-year university words. This film is heartwarming, funny and charming. It's one of the few films I will watch when I want to be cheered up. It's Disney for tax-payers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveP.Dec 7, 2006
Drawn from the same font as Sideways, full of dark humour, revelation, flaw and sunshine. I did not expect to be so drawn in, and the time flew so quickly I had to double-check the time when it finished. And yes, one of the most memorable Drawn from the same font as Sideways, full of dark humour, revelation, flaw and sunshine. I did not expect to be so drawn in, and the time flew so quickly I had to double-check the time when it finished. And yes, one of the most memorable and 'funny' climaxes ever filmed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FreshAug 10, 2006
Best movie I have seen in a few years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinM.Aug 12, 2006
A funny, bittersweet piece with an outstanding ensemble. Extremely enjoyable and quite possibly the best film of 2006. Plenty of hilarious moments right alongside heartfelt family emotions. Highly recommended movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidK.Aug 14, 2006
Without question the best movie I have seen in 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennieAug 14, 2006
Great little pic. Recognizable disfunctional family members with characters that will stay with you and ring true. Not a side splitting laugh riot a minute... that's not what it's about. But it is funny, witty and poignant... in a Great little pic. Recognizable disfunctional family members with characters that will stay with you and ring true. Not a side splitting laugh riot a minute... that's not what it's about. But it is funny, witty and poignant... in a Capraesque sort of way. Fantastic casting! Kudos to all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaleM.Aug 20, 2006
This movie made me laugh so hard that my sides ached. On top of that, it had something to say about what it really means to be a winner. This movie is a winner!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaclynW.Aug 23, 2006
This movie was an extremely good movie. It was a wonderful satirical movie. It was filled with touching moments, hilarious moments, and even sad moments. This movie is a must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DWillyAug 5, 2006
While it teeters at times at the not-so-good edge, there are enough surprises and substantial quality work to make it ultimately gratify. It gets far by jolting the heart with its tried and true theme: family is an insane mess thatWhile it teeters at times at the not-so-good edge, there are enough surprises and substantial quality work to make it ultimately gratify. It gets far by jolting the heart with its tried and true theme: family is an insane mess that nonetheless sustains; the same one that's carried the Simpsons, Malcolm In The Middle, Married With Children, etc. No real standout performances, but everyone holding up their end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TracyB.Aug 6, 2006
Clever and enjoyable film- many twists that I did not see coming. Great cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianJ.Aug 6, 2006
Includes 5 of the most wonderful minutes in film history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonM.Sep 14, 2006
Superb. Charming, witty, biting, funny, moving, a film that brings redemption for a season nearly devoid of inteligent and entertaining film. A delight to watch from first scene to last.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ConradV.Sep 2, 2006
If you take this as light comedy with occasional trenchant satire to give it some depth, it's a lot of fun. If you take it too seriously and try to give it "deep meaning," it's too shallow to support that much weight. No matter; it If you take this as light comedy with occasional trenchant satire to give it some depth, it's a lot of fun. If you take it too seriously and try to give it "deep meaning," it's too shallow to support that much weight. No matter; it needn't be this year's Grand Social Indictment - do you actually KNOW anyone who's deeply involved in little-girl beauty pageants? I don't - and on its own terms it never flags and seldom sashays into cliche. As might be expected, Alan Arkin runs away with the honors, but Abigail Breslin comes awfully close, and there is no weak link anywhere in the ensemble. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrianT.Sep 26, 2006
Well acted and enjoys perfect casting but this movie is vastly overrated. It's funny in parts but just not all that entertaining overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaryESep 27, 2006
Went in expecting the usual American drool however was surprised. Funny yet sad and very well acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianG.Sep 30, 2006
I love this movie because how raw and real it is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenGleasonSep 5, 2006
Maybe it's my love of dyfunctional family movies (makes me feel better about my own), but I thought this movies was well-acted, scripted and heartfelt...and funny. The cast works well together, and, really, is there better overallMaybe it's my love of dyfunctional family movies (makes me feel better about my own), but I thought this movies was well-acted, scripted and heartfelt...and funny. The cast works well together, and, really, is there better overall actress than Toni Collette? Paul Dano, last seen by me in the terrific L.I.E. is a revelation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikSep 5, 2006
MOST PHENOMENAL MOVIE i have seen in a LONG time. I have not laughed so out loud in a theater until i saw this movie. it is so great because its got such great character development and you connect with all of them. i think this movieMOST PHENOMENAL MOVIE i have seen in a LONG time. I have not laughed so out loud in a theater until i saw this movie. it is so great because its got such great character development and you connect with all of them. i think this movie deserves ALOT of credit for doing something genuine and unique. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Rev.RikardSep 9, 2006
At last, a movie that redeems a very ordinary year in film. This is National Lampoons' Vacation with a ton of humanity thrown it. As we witness the agony of dreams crushed by a superficial society, we eventually arrive at the At last, a movie that redeems a very ordinary year in film. This is National Lampoons' Vacation with a ton of humanity thrown it. As we witness the agony of dreams crushed by a superficial society, we eventually arrive at the film's destination: ultimate meaning is experienced in relationships of genuine substance. This is one of the few films that allows us to experience the destruction of the insignificant and realization of the precious as we join a family in a Volkswagon Van. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnymouseJan 1, 2007
Very good film! Good actors, touching story. I loved it for its atmoshere and for its characters. It was worth watching, thought i think, that the ending is a little bit lame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyC.Jan 10, 2007
Over-hyped but still an amazing film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MartinS.Jan 13, 2007
One of the best movies I've seen all year. Would have given it a 10 but found the competition scenes a bit cliched. Excellent performances all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattJan 2, 2007
Best movie of the year and one of my new favorites. It's almost a quest story really, involving a trouble-plagued journy and each character facing their own demons.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BurrrT.Jan 28, 2007
The people who rated this movie lowly either didn't finish watching the film or went in expecting one thing and can't forgive the directors for giving them something else. Yes there were small holes in the plot but each performance The people who rated this movie lowly either didn't finish watching the film or went in expecting one thing and can't forgive the directors for giving them something else. Yes there were small holes in the plot but each performance was excellent, nothing was crammed down your throat, and the ending was one of the funniest in recent memory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkJ.Jan 2, 2007
A truly touching summer film. At its humourous best it had traces of the sibling rivalries of Chevy Chase's National Lampoon Vacation movies, but what makes it great is a superb cast delivering highly personable characters, allowing for A truly touching summer film. At its humourous best it had traces of the sibling rivalries of Chevy Chase's National Lampoon Vacation movies, but what makes it great is a superb cast delivering highly personable characters, allowing for great empathy from all walks of life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NadieFeb 11, 2007
Americans doing what they do best, laughing at themselves. Simple and well acted, this movie reminds us that you can find beauty in low budget films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyRussellFeb 3, 2007
Great movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyH.Feb 6, 2007
Loved the movie. It captures a certain feeling that is timely. I found it to be original and hilarious. Great cast. Each member had an endearing quality (even grandpa!). Frankly I don't understand all of the zeros being given to this Loved the movie. It captures a certain feeling that is timely. I found it to be original and hilarious. Great cast. Each member had an endearing quality (even grandpa!). Frankly I don't understand all of the zeros being given to this movie. I don't know what people expect from a good film. Maybe they're more into your Armageddon-type movie. Who knows. Well to each his own, but I loved this flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradenR.Feb 7, 2007
Classic! It's going to be the next movie that every college kid has on DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyT.Feb 7, 2007
Loved the movie. Could have done without all of the F-bombs. I loved the ending of the pagent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanM.Mar 21, 2007
Heartfelt, satirical and entertaining movie. a masterpiece, no, but it has worth from the dialogue, timing and developed characters. worth seeing but not something to completely wrap your mind around. just a neat little nice movie. as for Heartfelt, satirical and entertaining movie. a masterpiece, no, but it has worth from the dialogue, timing and developed characters. worth seeing but not something to completely wrap your mind around. just a neat little nice movie. as for the bad reviews here, i'd be interested to see how many are men and what age they may be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BorisH.May 31, 2007
Charming, with lots of genuine laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaimepJul 10, 2007
Um good job jess calling a little kid fat. your real nice. i thought this movie was awesome. i believe the people who are looking for genius in the camera or technical things are missing out on why this movie is so great. it gives you a Um good job jess calling a little kid fat. your real nice. i thought this movie was awesome. i believe the people who are looking for genius in the camera or technical things are missing out on why this movie is so great. it gives you a feeling of happiness. isn't that what movie are about? how they make you feel when you stop watching them. I loved it and i think the characters were amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OpalJ.Apr 20, 2008
This is my all-time favorite movie. The acting is great, the storyline is touching and hilarious, and the characters are hilarious though realistic. Yes, you might not find a family like this in the real world, but it's a MOVIE. And a This is my all-time favorite movie. The acting is great, the storyline is touching and hilarious, and the characters are hilarious though realistic. Yes, you might not find a family like this in the real world, but it's a MOVIE. And a great one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshP.May 26, 2008
This film captures everything a family's about. Dysfunctional and sometimes very strange but always honest. I feel sorry for you if you can't enjoy this film, it's the best light hearted comedy I've seen in years. This film captures everything a family's about. Dysfunctional and sometimes very strange but always honest. I feel sorry for you if you can't enjoy this film, it's the best light hearted comedy I've seen in years. Especially since it came out of America. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigASOct 10, 2006
God, how I loved this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenjaminE.Nov 30, 2006
This movie was not a diapointment, the most fun i have had at a movie theater for some time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JPP.Nov 6, 2006
First time directors, Faris and Dayton, have created a remarkably and genuinely excellent film. From the amazing cast and their splendid performances to the hilarious screenplay written by Michael Arndt, 'Little Miss Sunshine' is First time directors, Faris and Dayton, have created a remarkably and genuinely excellent film. From the amazing cast and their splendid performances to the hilarious screenplay written by Michael Arndt, 'Little Miss Sunshine' is hands down one best films of the year. The great thing about each character that is apart of the Hoover family and featured in the movie, is that they're all so very realistic. The most distinctive and memorable members of the family would have to be Olive's older brother, Dwayne and Grandpa. Dwayne presents the characteristics of what many kids today consider themselves today as "emo". As the film advances, we learn he is actually just your average teenager that's simply misunderstood and not "emo" at all. Then there's Grandpa; wisecracking, heroin snorting, kicked out of the retirement home for sleeping around Grandpa. Arkin does a terrific job with this role. He brings not only the character's written personality to life, but adds his own flare as well with his great facial expressions that only fuels the entertaining hoopla presented in 'Little Miss Sunshine'. The hilarity doesn't seem to stop even when death tries to darken the movie's comedic stance. Grandpa's rantings alone make the movie worth seeing. The irony that Olive's dad, Richard, is a motivational speaker who day in, day out informs people about how to achieve their goals, yet he himself can't accomplish anything is just of the several added bonuses. After changing my mind three times; first deciding to see 'The Illusionist', then again to 'The Black Dahlia', and finally agreeing upon 'Little Miss Sunshine' I'm really glad I did. There's not a funnier or better cast film out right now. The bottom line is 'Little Miss Sunshine' is an absolute winner and one of the few must-see films of the year. The only reason not to see it would be because it's no longer playing at your theater. In which case you then find another theater in your area that is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexMOct 17, 2006
One of the best movies I've seen this year! Love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoePDec 27, 2006
I have to say this movie was quite entertaining. Seven year old Olive (Abigail Breslin) is a nerdy girl trying to compete for Little Miss Sunshine against California young beauty queens. She and her whole family head from New Mexico head off I have to say this movie was quite entertaining. Seven year old Olive (Abigail Breslin) is a nerdy girl trying to compete for Little Miss Sunshine against California young beauty queens. She and her whole family head from New Mexico head off to California to compete. She teaches her elders an important lesson.. Greg Kinnear is the father who thinks there is no such thing as second place. The whole family is dysfunctional. The Dad is a motivational speaker that has a meltdown, the son won't talk, grandfather is a heroin snorting junkie , and Steve Carrell is the very funny mothers brother who just got out of a mental institution after his teenage boyfriend dumped him. All in all, Little Miss Sunshine provided a different refreshing twist to a very quirky, yet funny comedy that is a very enjoyable movie to watch for the whole family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackG.Aug 11, 2006
Probably the best movie I have seen all summer. Great story idea, wonderful ensemble of characters and actors, hugely funny moments, and a subversive undertone that connects to the heart of what the movie is about. Great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaseAug 12, 2006
How refreshing this movie feelsm, after so much over hyped junk has already come out this summer. Toni Collette is incredible. Everything just comes together for some cool breezy entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoyceF.Aug 13, 2006
The best movie I've seen in quite a while. Great acting on all parts. It's been a long time since I've seen an audience appluad at the end of the movie. I still can't stop talking about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Aug 13, 2006
Undoubtedly the best movie I have seen this slow summer movie season. LMS is a hilarious, heartwarming and genuine comedy that is neither pretentious nor contrived. The development of not only the characters themsevles, but also their Undoubtedly the best movie I have seen this slow summer movie season. LMS is a hilarious, heartwarming and genuine comedy that is neither pretentious nor contrived. The development of not only the characters themsevles, but also their relationships with one another is simply wonderful to witness and a worthwhile endeavor in these last days of summer. A must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoseAnneS.Aug 14, 2006
You won't find a better comedy this summer, or this year, for that matter. The comedy will bring tears to your eyes and aches to your sides. You won't look at family travel the same, much less Rick James' "Kinky Girl." A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyAug 17, 2006
The best movie I've seen in a very long time...and I'm QUITE a picky movie buff. Everything from the acting, storyline, twists, and lessons.....fabulous!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrahamM.Aug 18, 2006
This was an excellent movie I must say. Carell was excellent. This is much better than mainstream films a lot of the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MahauM.Aug 21, 2006
An incredible film... hilarious, touching, and at times gut-wrenchingly sad. If you are expecting a hollywood ending, you will be disappointed, but it's the perfect indie film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisV.H.Aug 2, 2006
Excellent movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaGAug 22, 2006
Loved every moment of it. I knew in the first 10 mins that this one would be a keeper.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GeorgeB.Aug 24, 2006
Some funny scenes with all the cast, but in total a pretty limp film. Go see but don't expect too much. Good for a few laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CablesAug 24, 2006
The bad scores seem to reflect on the fact that it's not a movie for kids. Maybe the people who voted based on that premise should have looked at the rating (R) before they took their kids to see it. This is the best American film The bad scores seem to reflect on the fact that it's not a movie for kids. Maybe the people who voted based on that premise should have looked at the rating (R) before they took their kids to see it. This is the best American film you'll see all year, hands down. Don't miss this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Aug 26, 2006
Exceptional. The best movie in years. Even the pace is good--starts a bit slow and picks up throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnBartonAug 28, 2006
When is the last time you sat thru a movie where the entire audience laughed almost continously and applauded loudly at the end. That's what happened in LMS, a really fun, wholly entertaining
and uplifting movie. Anyone who
When is the last time you sat thru a movie where the entire audience laughed almost continously and applauded loudly at the end. That's what happened in LMS, a really fun, wholly entertaining
and uplifting movie. Anyone who doesn't love this film should quit going to movies. It's really good, and works on many different levels.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeV.Aug 29, 2006
Unique and entertaining - I thought it was well done and very enjoyable. A welcome change from the usual "cookie cutter" and formulaic comedies that we are usually subjected to each summer. Those that gave it a low rating have missed the Unique and entertaining - I thought it was well done and very enjoyable. A welcome change from the usual "cookie cutter" and formulaic comedies that we are usually subjected to each summer. Those that gave it a low rating have missed the point entirely! Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Aug 31, 2006
The big comedic scene in "Little Miss Sunshine" is unlikely; but funny, riotously so. It seems like the filmmakers got carried away with their agenda to indict the children's beauty paegant industry as a meat market at the expense of The big comedic scene in "Little Miss Sunshine" is unlikely; but funny, riotously so. It seems like the filmmakers got carried away with their agenda to indict the children's beauty paegant industry as a meat market at the expense of demonizing the grandfather as a drug-addled pedophile. As played by Alan Arkin, I do not believe he would ask his granddaughter to vamp for an audience. But it's funny. "Little Miss Sunshine" stops being a routine dysfunctional family-pic when the family arrives at their destination. Greg Kinnear's reaction shots are priceless. He's obviously trying to keep an open mind against his better judgment about the prepubescents parading across the stage instead of just flat-out cringing like the rest of us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimN.Aug 30, 2006
Amazing film. It was at the same time funny, sad, inspirational, and most importantly of all, optimistic, with a little bit of black humour in there... [***SPOILERS***] really good message from the film (life is what you make of it--treat it Amazing film. It was at the same time funny, sad, inspirational, and most importantly of all, optimistic, with a little bit of black humour in there... [***SPOILERS***] really good message from the film (life is what you make of it--treat it like crap, and you'll live it miserably...but favour what you have, and you'll be happy for the rest of your life, no matter WHAT comes your way. Be carefree, and live life to its fullest.), and it's one of the only films where you truly feel optimistic and happy about your life to come. Also, the movie did a really good job of portraying how absolutely sick in the head America is when it comes to these child beauty pageants, and how they are totally pointless...I saw a show on it on A&E once, and I was shocked. I mean, the parents of these kids are literally insane when they do this, and it's putrid that they dress them up and make them do such things at such a young age. So, yeah...definitely the best film I've seen all year, besides Snakes on a Plane (they're two totally different films, so, you can't really compare them...). Oh, and a wonderful soundtrack to it. I must pick it up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KaseySwisherAug 4, 2006
I expected more and better. First, the good. Great performances by Paul Dano and Greg Kinner. There are some parts that are hysterical. But this is one movie where the ending saves the film as a whole. The characters are undeveloped. TheI expected more and better. First, the good. Great performances by Paul Dano and Greg Kinner. There are some parts that are hysterical. But this is one movie where the ending saves the film as a whole. The characters are undeveloped. The movies just jumps into this family with all of these problems without explanation. As a result, there are many times when the "drama" just seems like a bad episode of 'Party of Five.' In short, there are several places where it is WAY overdone. Point in case is the scene with Paul Dano's character revelation. Instead of understating the humor and the drama, a la "The Royal Tenanbaums" and "Lost in Translation," the movie went over the top both in humor and in drama. Too much slapstick. Too many problems (like the melodrama "Pay it Forward"). But the movie ended well, it didn't go too far, and it wasn't unnecessarily long. It was an enjoyable film to watch. Nonetheless, it did not reach the expectations I had given the cast and the plot. Still, go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CynS.Sep 11, 2006
Subversive and hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlanW.Sep 18, 2006
Great film, I really enjoyed it - very god acting and very funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanS.Sep 22, 2006
Saw it months ago at a screening and have been trying to convince people to see it ever since. It's rare that one might mention "Best Film of the Year" in the same breath as a comedy starring Steve Carell, but in this case, it's Saw it months ago at a screening and have been trying to convince people to see it ever since. It's rare that one might mention "Best Film of the Year" in the same breath as a comedy starring Steve Carell, but in this case, it's totally true. How I wish comedies received a fair shake from the Academy in March, but I doubt we'll see this wonderful movie get the Oscar love it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DeWayneP.P.Sep 24, 2006
What a wonderful film! It starts out a bit slow, but slowly grabs you by your laughing-bug and never lets your tonsils rest!...that classic Rick James song at the end pays an unrepentant tribute to a unforgettable musical icon. It was Super What a wonderful film! It starts out a bit slow, but slowly grabs you by your laughing-bug and never lets your tonsils rest!...that classic Rick James song at the end pays an unrepentant tribute to a unforgettable musical icon. It was Super Freaky, yeah!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmirHosseinS.Sep 28, 2006
This movie was definitely the best American comedy in many years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindyV.Sep 29, 2006
Fantastic movie, makes you laugh, tear up, cringe and smile. Reminded me of my fun yet dysfunctional family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottGoodwinSep 3, 2006
Alternately heart-wrenching and laugh-out-loud funny, this movie kicked ass on all levels. The cast was amazing, the writing cut to the quick and a solid movie. The only thing that kept it from getting higher marks were a couple of Alternately heart-wrenching and laugh-out-loud funny, this movie kicked ass on all levels. The cast was amazing, the writing cut to the quick and a solid movie. The only thing that kept it from getting higher marks were a couple of coincidences/contrivances that seemed overwritten--when Steve Carell's char. runs into an ex-lover at a gas station in mid-trip, then later when the door falls off the van. To the movie's credit, I was willing to overlook those flaws to keep up with the characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeV.Sep 5, 2006
Absolutely great. Don't let the slow start fool you. A lot of great, funny bits and strong performances and a couple moving moments as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SharonSulvasonSep 7, 2006
Laughed out loud throughout the movie! Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheConundrumSep 8, 2006
The funniest movie I've seen in a while, and perversely touching as well. It starts out slow, but by the time they reached the "beauty pageant" at the end, I nearly bust a gut laughing. Not for small children, but intelligent adults The funniest movie I've seen in a while, and perversely touching as well. It starts out slow, but by the time they reached the "beauty pageant" at the end, I nearly bust a gut laughing. Not for small children, but intelligent adults will richly appreciate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanB.Jan 14, 2007
Pretty funny. Pretty clever. Grandpa's the best and he dies, but, still. Oh and, is it me or does Greg Kinnear seem to always be in movies that are good? Either he or someone working for him knows how to choose scripts, or something.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaredC.Dec 15, 2007
Michael Arndt's screenplay for the stellar comedy Little Miss Sunshine is tightly constructed, and full of the kinds of characters talented actors kill to portray a pudgy, bespectacled seven-year-old, Olive (Abigail Breslin), voices her Michael Arndt's screenplay for the stellar comedy Little Miss Sunshine is tightly constructed, and full of the kinds of characters talented actors kill to portray a pudgy, bespectacled seven-year-old, Olive (Abigail Breslin), voices her desire to take home the coveted Little Miss Sunshine crown at an upcoming beauty pageant, her wildly dysfunctional family sets out on an interstate road trip to ensure her a clear shot at realizing her dreams in former music video directorial team Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris' quirky feature debut, starring Greg Kinnear, Steve Carell, and Toni Collette. Despite early career success as an outspoken motivational speaker, family patriarch Richard (Kinnear) continues to cling to his "Refuse to Lose" philosophy, much to the chagrin of his increasingly annoyed spouse, Sheryl (Collette). Add into the mix a Nietzsche-reading teenage son (Paul Dano) who has taken a vow of silence until he finds his fate as a fighter pilot; a horny, heroin-happy grandfather (Alan Arkin) with a penchant for creative profanity; and a suicidal genius (Carell) and Proust scholar still reeling about losing both his male lover and his MacArthur Foundation genius grant -- and the stage is set for a road trip in which sanity is sure to take the back seat. All of the characters and themes are economically but patiently set up in a funny 20-minute dinner sequence that opens the movie. Throughout the film, characters perform what seem to be throwaway actions that actually pay off later in the film. The fact that first-time directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris know when to keep the story moving and when to slow down for the first-rate character stuff helps make it one of the great debuts of the year. However, it is the actors who make Little Miss Sunshine one of the best films of 2006. These characters, from the suicidal Proust scholar to the heroin-addicted grandfather to the silent, sullen teenager to the failed motivational speaker (a comedy concept worthy of an award in and of itself), could all be played so grandly that the film would collapse. However, everybody stays on the same page emotionally, making them seem like a real family and like real individuals. About a third of the way into Little Miss Sunshine, Steve Carell and Alan Arkin play a simple scene in which Arkin's character makes a frank request that gets a laugh from Carell's character. The scene is unusual because very rarely does anyone actually laugh onscreen in a comedy. Carell's laugh feels utterly genuine and entirely in character, making the conversation one of the moments that best exemplifies the humanism and the humor in the thoroughly entertaining Little Miss Sunshine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KEND.Jan 22, 2007
Very good little picture. Good acting, & direction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimJan 22, 2007
Very good movie, not slapstick funny but the kind of funny that sticks with you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronL.Jan 23, 2007
Allan and Ethan have NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT. This is a splendid dark comedy, whose characters offer endless smiles both through there words and actions. If you are looking for the 40 year old virgin, look else where. Yet, if you Allan and Ethan have NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT. This is a splendid dark comedy, whose characters offer endless smiles both through there words and actions. If you are looking for the 40 year old virgin, look else where. Yet, if you are looking for You, me, and everyone we know, you will enjoy this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
Imagine a comedy in which each of the main characters has to confront losing his or her dream. Now, picture that comedy taking place mostly in a little yellow van that has a character all its own, and you have
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThereseJan 31, 2007
Sometimes we just live our lives in our own little worlds and forget just how much diversity is out there. This film has captured a family that has its quirks and is different; but aren't we all? Beneath the challenges each family Sometimes we just live our lives in our own little worlds and forget just how much diversity is out there. This film has captured a family that has its quirks and is different; but aren't we all? Beneath the challenges each family member faces, remains strength, love, patience, guidance and acceptance--not a bad lot to have in life. Every family has its own, ah, uniqueness, and this is a family to be cherished for all it has to offer each other and those viewing the film. Great cast and wonderful acting--give in to it and you will enjoy not only the experience but perhaps appreciate your own family, warts and all, just a little bit more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MathewH.Jan 30, 2007
I loved this movie. It's irreverence as survivability, sarcasm as honesty, with the quirks and spasms of a lifetime condensed into a few days journey. Believable? Nah. But why should anyone care. Take the ride. It's carnival faire I loved this movie. It's irreverence as survivability, sarcasm as honesty, with the quirks and spasms of a lifetime condensed into a few days journey. Believable? Nah. But why should anyone care. Take the ride. It's carnival faire to be sure. But a warning. If you take yourself or anyone or anything seriously, this isn't for you. Just read the negative reviews if you have any doubts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful