Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: July 26, 2006
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 599 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
455
Mixed:
45
Negative:
99
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
CraigASOct 10, 2006
God, how I loved this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianG.Sep 30, 2006
I love this movie because how raw and real it is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindyV.Sep 29, 2006
Fantastic movie, makes you laugh, tear up, cringe and smile. Reminded me of my fun yet dysfunctional family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmirHosseinS.Sep 28, 2006
This movie was definitely the best American comedy in many years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KhoaSep 28, 2006
One of the best movies I've seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaryESep 27, 2006
Went in expecting the usual American drool however was surprised. Funny yet sad and very well acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrianT.Sep 26, 2006
Well acted and enjoys perfect casting but this movie is vastly overrated. It's funny in parts but just not all that entertaining overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DeWayneP.P.Sep 24, 2006
What a wonderful film! It starts out a bit slow, but slowly grabs you by your laughing-bug and never lets your tonsils rest!...that classic Rick James song at the end pays an unrepentant tribute to a unforgettable musical icon. It was Super What a wonderful film! It starts out a bit slow, but slowly grabs you by your laughing-bug and never lets your tonsils rest!...that classic Rick James song at the end pays an unrepentant tribute to a unforgettable musical icon. It was Super Freaky, yeah!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyZ.Sep 23, 2006
Really wonderful. I was weepy throughout, though this wasn't maudlin or sentimental. This film is filled with nice quiet touches, alternating with laugh-out-loud absurdity. A sweet, honest, brutal movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NaomiSep 22, 2006
I loved this movie. It reminded me that we all fall apart sometimes. I loved, loved, LOVED Olive! Yay, give the best actress Oscar to Abigail Breslin, not Dame Helen Mirren!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlinhosB.Sep 22, 2006
Smart, minimalist, AMAZING screenplay, get ready for the OSCARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanS.Sep 22, 2006
Saw it months ago at a screening and have been trying to convince people to see it ever since. It's rare that one might mention "Best Film of the Year" in the same breath as a comedy starring Steve Carell, but in this case, it's Saw it months ago at a screening and have been trying to convince people to see it ever since. It's rare that one might mention "Best Film of the Year" in the same breath as a comedy starring Steve Carell, but in this case, it's totally true. How I wish comedies received a fair shake from the Academy in March, but I doubt we'll see this wonderful movie get the Oscar love it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KamboL.Sep 19, 2006
Funniest movie ever! Giggle
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlanW.Sep 18, 2006
Great film, I really enjoyed it - very god acting and very funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZoeM.Sep 17, 2006
Aside from some forced plot twists, this is an unusual comedy that navigates some darkness and some sunshine, and it deftly manages to steer its way through both in an entertaining fashion. It's not one of those "I have to think about Aside from some forced plot twists, this is an unusual comedy that navigates some darkness and some sunshine, and it deftly manages to steer its way through both in an entertaining fashion. It's not one of those "I have to think about it to enjoy it" type of movies. It's entertaining merely at face value, and yet as you think on it, you remember more and more aabout the characters and their motivations. I highly recommend this movie and will definitely be buying it on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewT.Sep 16, 2006
Enjoyable "indie" style comedy, a road movie with plenty of laughs plus some rewarding insights on the human condition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.W.Sep 15, 2006
This family puts the fun in dysfunctional. Creative, out of the box, and unexpected turns in this movie had us laughing so hard we cried.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinaD.Sep 14, 2006
Unbelievable film. So smart, and capable of eliciting so many different emotions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonM.Sep 14, 2006
Superb. Charming, witty, biting, funny, moving, a film that brings redemption for a season nearly devoid of inteligent and entertaining film. A delight to watch from first scene to last.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CynS.Sep 11, 2006
Subversive and hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaubiusSep 10, 2006
I laughed out loud quite a bit. Very funny, and highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Rev.RikardSep 9, 2006
At last, a movie that redeems a very ordinary year in film. This is National Lampoons' Vacation with a ton of humanity thrown it. As we witness the agony of dreams crushed by a superficial society, we eventually arrive at the At last, a movie that redeems a very ordinary year in film. This is National Lampoons' Vacation with a ton of humanity thrown it. As we witness the agony of dreams crushed by a superficial society, we eventually arrive at the film's destination: ultimate meaning is experienced in relationships of genuine substance. This is one of the few films that allows us to experience the destruction of the insignificant and realization of the precious as we join a family in a Volkswagon Van. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheConundrumSep 8, 2006
The funniest movie I've seen in a while, and perversely touching as well. It starts out slow, but by the time they reached the "beauty pageant" at the end, I nearly bust a gut laughing. Not for small children, but intelligent adults The funniest movie I've seen in a while, and perversely touching as well. It starts out slow, but by the time they reached the "beauty pageant" at the end, I nearly bust a gut laughing. Not for small children, but intelligent adults will richly appreciate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SharonSulvasonSep 7, 2006
Laughed out loud throughout the movie! Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamSep 7, 2006
One of the best movies I've seen in years. It's a perfect and satisfying blend of bittersweet plot and stinging social commentary. Wonderful performances by everybody, especially Carell.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoeC.Sep 7, 2006
Believe the hype. My girlfriend and I haven't had this much fun at the movies in a long, long time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
staubinSep 7, 2006
I'm not one of those people who laughs out-loud in movie theaters, but this movie made me do that... over a dozen times. Awesomely funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeV.Sep 5, 2006
Absolutely great. Don't let the slow start fool you. A lot of great, funny bits and strong performances and a couple moving moments as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikSep 5, 2006
MOST PHENOMENAL MOVIE i have seen in a LONG time. I have not laughed so out loud in a theater until i saw this movie. it is so great because its got such great character development and you connect with all of them. i think this movieMOST PHENOMENAL MOVIE i have seen in a LONG time. I have not laughed so out loud in a theater until i saw this movie. it is so great because its got such great character development and you connect with all of them. i think this movie deserves ALOT of credit for doing something genuine and unique. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenGleasonSep 5, 2006
Maybe it's my love of dyfunctional family movies (makes me feel better about my own), but I thought this movies was well-acted, scripted and heartfelt...and funny. The cast works well together, and, really, is there better overallMaybe it's my love of dyfunctional family movies (makes me feel better about my own), but I thought this movies was well-acted, scripted and heartfelt...and funny. The cast works well together, and, really, is there better overall actress than Toni Collette? Paul Dano, last seen by me in the terrific L.I.E. is a revelation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottGoodwinSep 3, 2006
Alternately heart-wrenching and laugh-out-loud funny, this movie kicked ass on all levels. The cast was amazing, the writing cut to the quick and a solid movie. The only thing that kept it from getting higher marks were a couple of Alternately heart-wrenching and laugh-out-loud funny, this movie kicked ass on all levels. The cast was amazing, the writing cut to the quick and a solid movie. The only thing that kept it from getting higher marks were a couple of coincidences/contrivances that seemed overwritten--when Steve Carell's char. runs into an ex-lover at a gas station in mid-trip, then later when the door falls off the van. To the movie's credit, I was willing to overlook those flaws to keep up with the characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CBSep 3, 2006
Owen Gleiberman is retarded. This is one of the best indie comdies since Swingers. I don't know anyone that didn't love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ConradV.Sep 2, 2006
If you take this as light comedy with occasional trenchant satire to give it some depth, it's a lot of fun. If you take it too seriously and try to give it "deep meaning," it's too shallow to support that much weight. No matter; it If you take this as light comedy with occasional trenchant satire to give it some depth, it's a lot of fun. If you take it too seriously and try to give it "deep meaning," it's too shallow to support that much weight. No matter; it needn't be this year's Grand Social Indictment - do you actually KNOW anyone who's deeply involved in little-girl beauty pageants? I don't - and on its own terms it never flags and seldom sashays into cliche. As might be expected, Alan Arkin runs away with the honors, but Abigail Breslin comes awfully close, and there is no weak link anywhere in the ensemble. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NatalieP.Sep 2, 2006
hyseterical and heartbreaking at the same time. The performances are pricless.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimC.Aug 31, 2006
Little Miss Sunshine has got to be the best movie in decades. A true masterpiece in casting, acting, and cinematography. The Hoover family is THE true American family- definately far from perfect. But that is what makes them and families Little Miss Sunshine has got to be the best movie in decades. A true masterpiece in casting, acting, and cinematography. The Hoover family is THE true American family- definately far from perfect. But that is what makes them and families like them, realistic. I can't think of any other movie that portrays what a real family is, except National Lampoon's Vacation and Christmas Vacation. (Europeon and Vegas don't count) It's going to be tough to top Little Miss Sunshine for best movie of 2006. Stop reading these reviews and go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Aug 31, 2006
The big comedic scene in "Little Miss Sunshine" is unlikely; but funny, riotously so. It seems like the filmmakers got carried away with their agenda to indict the children's beauty paegant industry as a meat market at the expense of The big comedic scene in "Little Miss Sunshine" is unlikely; but funny, riotously so. It seems like the filmmakers got carried away with their agenda to indict the children's beauty paegant industry as a meat market at the expense of demonizing the grandfather as a drug-addled pedophile. As played by Alan Arkin, I do not believe he would ask his granddaughter to vamp for an audience. But it's funny. "Little Miss Sunshine" stops being a routine dysfunctional family-pic when the family arrives at their destination. Greg Kinnear's reaction shots are priceless. He's obviously trying to keep an open mind against his better judgment about the prepubescents parading across the stage instead of just flat-out cringing like the rest of us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesAug 31, 2006
Very sweet and funny. But I wonder if the filmmakers have seen "Rolling Family" (2004) by Argentinean filmmaker Pablo Trapero. It's just getting a theatrical release in North America now and people will think it's ripping off LMS, Very sweet and funny. But I wonder if the filmmakers have seen "Rolling Family" (2004) by Argentinean filmmaker Pablo Trapero. It's just getting a theatrical release in North America now and people will think it's ripping off LMS, which is too bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimN.Aug 30, 2006
Amazing film. It was at the same time funny, sad, inspirational, and most importantly of all, optimistic, with a little bit of black humour in there... [***SPOILERS***] really good message from the film (life is what you make of it--treat it Amazing film. It was at the same time funny, sad, inspirational, and most importantly of all, optimistic, with a little bit of black humour in there... [***SPOILERS***] really good message from the film (life is what you make of it--treat it like crap, and you'll live it miserably...but favour what you have, and you'll be happy for the rest of your life, no matter WHAT comes your way. Be carefree, and live life to its fullest.), and it's one of the only films where you truly feel optimistic and happy about your life to come. Also, the movie did a really good job of portraying how absolutely sick in the head America is when it comes to these child beauty pageants, and how they are totally pointless...I saw a show on it on A&E once, and I was shocked. I mean, the parents of these kids are literally insane when they do this, and it's putrid that they dress them up and make them do such things at such a young age. So, yeah...definitely the best film I've seen all year, besides Snakes on a Plane (they're two totally different films, so, you can't really compare them...). Oh, and a wonderful soundtrack to it. I must pick it up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeV.Aug 29, 2006
Unique and entertaining - I thought it was well done and very enjoyable. A welcome change from the usual "cookie cutter" and formulaic comedies that we are usually subjected to each summer. Those that gave it a low rating have missed the Unique and entertaining - I thought it was well done and very enjoyable. A welcome change from the usual "cookie cutter" and formulaic comedies that we are usually subjected to each summer. Those that gave it a low rating have missed the point entirely! Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnBartonAug 28, 2006
When is the last time you sat thru a movie where the entire audience laughed almost continously and applauded loudly at the end. That's what happened in LMS, a really fun, wholly entertaining
and uplifting movie. Anyone who
When is the last time you sat thru a movie where the entire audience laughed almost continously and applauded loudly at the end. That's what happened in LMS, a really fun, wholly entertaining
and uplifting movie. Anyone who doesn't love this film should quit going to movies. It's really good, and works on many different levels.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayK.Aug 27, 2006
Great characters,great acting (can Alan Arkin get any better?) and a very funny story. I want to see it again. Much better that most of the crap that came out this summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaM.Aug 27, 2006
Fun movie. Well worth the price of admission. Rated R for strong language but not excessive. Recommended for adults. Interesting insight of young girl beauty pagents.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Aug 26, 2006
Little Miss Sunshine was incredible. I laughed throughout the whole movie. It was so good the audience actually clapped in the end. The plot of the movie centers around a family caught in the cultural race to success but come to find their Little Miss Sunshine was incredible. I laughed throughout the whole movie. It was so good the audience actually clapped in the end. The plot of the movie centers around a family caught in the cultural race to success but come to find their sincere selves throwing off a system of rules that has dysfunctions of its own. Now this is not a movie for young children as there are adult themes and plenty of explicatives liberally sprinkled about. Don't blame the movie if you do not do your research first. Though this is not a movie for kids or prudes I found this movie to be rich in the existential issues that surround having to be alive in this world. I was prodded to think many times and I saw real spiritual change in the characters by the end of the movie. Little Miss Sunshine was no simple comedy, but had real heart. I cannot recommend this movie enough. If you like to laugh, be provoked to think, as well as to identify with something most people in this culture have to face, then this movie is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Aug 26, 2006
Exceptional. The best movie in years. Even the pace is good--starts a bit slow and picks up throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankieJ.Aug 25, 2006
Best Movie I've seen this year so far... Also the funniest. Definitely a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Aug 25, 2006
Little Miss Sunshine is what going to the movies is all about! It's like taking a time-released sunshine pill when you buy the ticket that peaks in the last 15 minutes then stays with you all day. Everyone in the ensemble is perfectly Little Miss Sunshine is what going to the movies is all about! It's like taking a time-released sunshine pill when you buy the ticket that peaks in the last 15 minutes then stays with you all day. Everyone in the ensemble is perfectly cast and at the top of their game. Alan Arkin proves that old actors don't die, they don't even fade away, they become acting Gods! The story is beautifully written, like The Royal Tanenbaums on the road, at times touching, at times hilarious, but always real. The music is pitch perfect and keeps the movie flowing along with the beautiful cinematography. In a summer of over-hyped disappointing blockbusters we finally get a little shot of "Sunshine" to remind us of why we love movies. Bravo! Encore! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GeorgeB.Aug 24, 2006
Some funny scenes with all the cast, but in total a pretty limp film. Go see but don't expect too much. Good for a few laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CablesAug 24, 2006
The bad scores seem to reflect on the fact that it's not a movie for kids. Maybe the people who voted based on that premise should have looked at the rating (R) before they took their kids to see it. This is the best American film The bad scores seem to reflect on the fact that it's not a movie for kids. Maybe the people who voted based on that premise should have looked at the rating (R) before they took their kids to see it. This is the best American film you'll see all year, hands down. Don't miss this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaclynW.Aug 23, 2006
This movie was an extremely good movie. It was a wonderful satirical movie. It was filled with touching moments, hilarious moments, and even sad moments. This movie is a must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaGAug 22, 2006
Loved every moment of it. I knew in the first 10 mins that this one would be a keeper.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolF.Aug 21, 2006
Wonderful, touching, funny, great ensemble. Best movie this year. I loved all of the extremely fallible main characters in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SusanS.Aug 21, 2006
This was an excellent time at the movies. It definitely had good timing anyway--the light-heartedness would have been lost on a serious winter-release crowd. Summer movie-goers are always more ready for simple plots, and that's what This was an excellent time at the movies. It definitely had good timing anyway--the light-heartedness would have been lost on a serious winter-release crowd. Summer movie-goers are always more ready for simple plots, and that's what this is. It's a road trip movie, simply; pretty predictable dysfunctional family bonding. But it's really, really, really funny. And contains some stupendous actors--when you've got Alan Arkin, you know you're going to have a good time. And Abigail Breslin is way too cute in those enormous glasses. I would see this in the theater, because I think some of the fun would be lost as a rental, in addition to some of the southwest cinematography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MahauM.Aug 21, 2006
An incredible film... hilarious, touching, and at times gut-wrenchingly sad. If you are expecting a hollywood ending, you will be disappointed, but it's the perfect indie film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaleM.Aug 20, 2006
This movie made me laugh so hard that my sides ached. On top of that, it had something to say about what it really means to be a winner. This movie is a winner!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SherylG.Aug 20, 2006
Loved this film, laughed out loud for the first time in ages in a theater. Steve carell was at his best comic (and understated self). also loved the young actress who played Olive, unaffected charming young child actress.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ShaunM.Aug 19, 2006
An all-around excellent movie. Hilarious and inspiring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrahamM.Aug 18, 2006
This was an excellent movie I must say. Carell was excellent. This is much better than mainstream films a lot of the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanC.Aug 18, 2006
Good stuff, understated and fun with some inspired comic moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyAug 17, 2006
The best movie I've seen in a very long time...and I'm QUITE a picky movie buff. Everything from the acting, storyline, twists, and lessons.....fabulous!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennieAug 14, 2006
Great little pic. Recognizable disfunctional family members with characters that will stay with you and ring true. Not a side splitting laugh riot a minute... that's not what it's about. But it is funny, witty and poignant... in a Great little pic. Recognizable disfunctional family members with characters that will stay with you and ring true. Not a side splitting laugh riot a minute... that's not what it's about. But it is funny, witty and poignant... in a Capraesque sort of way. Fantastic casting! Kudos to all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoseAnneS.Aug 14, 2006
You won't find a better comedy this summer, or this year, for that matter. The comedy will bring tears to your eyes and aches to your sides. You won't look at family travel the same, much less Rick James' "Kinky Girl." A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidK.Aug 14, 2006
Without question the best movie I have seen in 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Aug 13, 2006
Undoubtedly the best movie I have seen this slow summer movie season. LMS is a hilarious, heartwarming and genuine comedy that is neither pretentious nor contrived. The development of not only the characters themsevles, but also their Undoubtedly the best movie I have seen this slow summer movie season. LMS is a hilarious, heartwarming and genuine comedy that is neither pretentious nor contrived. The development of not only the characters themsevles, but also their relationships with one another is simply wonderful to witness and a worthwhile endeavor in these last days of summer. A must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoyceF.Aug 13, 2006
The best movie I've seen in quite a while. Great acting on all parts. It's been a long time since I've seen an audience appluad at the end of the movie. I still can't stop talking about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YaronS.Aug 12, 2006
Best film of the year so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaseAug 12, 2006
How refreshing this movie feelsm, after so much over hyped junk has already come out this summer. Toni Collette is incredible. Everything just comes together for some cool breezy entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Aug 12, 2006
This movie was amazing. I have not laughed this hard for a very long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaD.Aug 12, 2006
This movie is a wonderful grin! If you need one, go see it. Couldn't find one thing wrong with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinM.Aug 12, 2006
A funny, bittersweet piece with an outstanding ensemble. Extremely enjoyable and quite possibly the best film of 2006. Plenty of hilarious moments right alongside heartfelt family emotions. Highly recommended movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackG.Aug 11, 2006
Probably the best movie I have seen all summer. Great story idea, wonderful ensemble of characters and actors, hugely funny moments, and a subversive undertone that connects to the heart of what the movie is about. Great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FreshAug 10, 2006
Best movie I have seen in a few years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AustinW.Aug 9, 2006
Really fantastic. Great performances, and some great laugh out loud moments. I understand the sitcom comparisons, but there's a subversive undertone that really makes it sing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TracyB.Aug 6, 2006
Clever and enjoyable film- many twists that I did not see coming. Great cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Aug 6, 2006
The trailer made it seem like this movie was going to be some indie, high brow, artsy film but as stated it really was more like a sitcom. Fortunately the comedy though silly is never really juvenile and the drama manages to not be cheasy. The trailer made it seem like this movie was going to be some indie, high brow, artsy film but as stated it really was more like a sitcom. Fortunately the comedy though silly is never really juvenile and the drama manages to not be cheasy. Entertaining but like a sitcom episode easily forgetable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianJ.Aug 6, 2006
Includes 5 of the most wonderful minutes in film history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DWillyAug 5, 2006
While it teeters at times at the not-so-good edge, there are enough surprises and substantial quality work to make it ultimately gratify. It gets far by jolting the heart with its tried and true theme: family is an insane mess thatWhile it teeters at times at the not-so-good edge, there are enough surprises and substantial quality work to make it ultimately gratify. It gets far by jolting the heart with its tried and true theme: family is an insane mess that nonetheless sustains; the same one that's carried the Simpsons, Malcolm In The Middle, Married With Children, etc. No real standout performances, but everyone holding up their end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NancyHAug 5, 2006
Loved this movie--and I kid you not, one of the best mainstream movies I've seen all year. This quirky, dysfunctional family is not so dysfunctional after all when they come out of their own worlds to rally behind Olive, the youngest inLoved this movie--and I kid you not, one of the best mainstream movies I've seen all year. This quirky, dysfunctional family is not so dysfunctional after all when they come out of their own worlds to rally behind Olive, the youngest in her quest to win Little Miss Sunshine child pageant. The contrast between this kooky family and the pageant enthusiasts will certainly make you question what is normal? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KaseySwisherAug 4, 2006
I expected more and better. First, the good. Great performances by Paul Dano and Greg Kinner. There are some parts that are hysterical. But this is one movie where the ending saves the film as a whole. The characters are undeveloped. TheI expected more and better. First, the good. Great performances by Paul Dano and Greg Kinner. There are some parts that are hysterical. But this is one movie where the ending saves the film as a whole. The characters are undeveloped. The movies just jumps into this family with all of these problems without explanation. As a result, there are many times when the "drama" just seems like a bad episode of 'Party of Five.' In short, there are several places where it is WAY overdone. Point in case is the scene with Paul Dano's character revelation. Instead of understating the humor and the drama, a la "The Royal Tenanbaums" and "Lost in Translation," the movie went over the top both in humor and in drama. Too much slapstick. Too many problems (like the melodrama "Pay it Forward"). But the movie ended well, it didn't go too far, and it wasn't unnecessarily long. It was an enjoyable film to watch. Nonetheless, it did not reach the expectations I had given the cast and the plot. Still, go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisV.H.Aug 2, 2006
Excellent movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyRussellJul 26, 2006
Great movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulKaneJul 20, 2006
By far, the best drama/comedy I have seen this year. Everything about this was near perfect: the casting, the acting, the character arcs, the storyline, and even the score/soundtrack. I couldn't stop laughing throughout the entireBy far, the best drama/comedy I have seen this year. Everything about this was near perfect: the casting, the acting, the character arcs, the storyline, and even the score/soundtrack. I couldn't stop laughing throughout the entire movie. If you have an interest in this, you MUST see it in the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful