Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: July 26, 2006
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 596 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
453
Mixed:
44
Negative:
99
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
PetitBikiniOct 29, 2016
"Little Miss Sunshine" is a great road-trip ensemble comedy. It made me smile, laugh, cheer, cringe and just happy. It may not be the best film ever, but a great film nevertheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
night4Jul 10, 2016
It's about a dysfunctional family you'd want to be a part of because at least it's more interesting than yours.

This is also a movie that could make even the most cynical person root for the little girl and and end up smiling at the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeMay 7, 2016
Why does the sun shine yellow every single day? Is that question easy to explain or is it a question no one seems to care about? Why am I asking all of these questions to you? Because Little Miss Sunshine seems to be a hilarious dramaticWhy does the sun shine yellow every single day? Is that question easy to explain or is it a question no one seems to care about? Why am I asking all of these questions to you? Because Little Miss Sunshine seems to be a hilarious dramatic piece of history on the road that actually takes a gut out to make you laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
johnslegersJan 3, 2016
Little Miss Sunshine seems to be a film with very polarized opinion considering most people seem to either love it or hate it. Well, I belong to that small remaining category of people who appreciated this film but expected more out of it.Little Miss Sunshine seems to be a film with very polarized opinion considering most people seem to either love it or hate it. Well, I belong to that small remaining category of people who appreciated this film but expected more out of it.

The film has an interesting message and once they arrive in California this message is worked out really well, however the road trip it takes to get there isn't as interesting as I expected. The events that occur aren't that compelling nor are they that funny, making an actual road trip far more interesting than watching this family doing theirs. I believe it's a missed opportunity here, although I nevertheless think the ending saves this film from being forgettable. With a different ending, I would probably have rated it a 6 at most.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Oct 21, 2015
An unabashed love letter to the modern American family dynamic, "Little Miss Sunshine's" heart and humor elevate into the heights of cinematic brilliance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
geedupMar 31, 2015
Used to like this movie a bunch. The quirky characters, the disfunctional family all united on a mission to get the youngest to a pageant in Cali. On the surface a very simple movie but developed very slowly. If you're impatient you can missUsed to like this movie a bunch. The quirky characters, the disfunctional family all united on a mission to get the youngest to a pageant in Cali. On the surface a very simple movie but developed very slowly. If you're impatient you can miss what is worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
A unique road movie with a whole lot of heart and soul. Michael Arndt writes one exceptional screenplay to support this ensemble of incredibly talented actors. Yes, Alan Arkin and Abigail Breslin are brilliant, but so are Steve Carell, ToniA unique road movie with a whole lot of heart and soul. Michael Arndt writes one exceptional screenplay to support this ensemble of incredibly talented actors. Yes, Alan Arkin and Abigail Breslin are brilliant, but so are Steve Carell, Toni Collette and Greg Kinnear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jools123Aug 4, 2014
This film is darkly comic and has a great acting and character development. It some cheesy scenes though. This multiple academy award winning movie deserves it's awards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VictorBuenoJul 28, 2014
Although few realize, is a movie nothing obvious that uses metaphors to talk about life, the stereotype and conformism. Is much more than a story about winning or losing, is a story about living, try, fall, and after push our van to the rightAlthough few realize, is a movie nothing obvious that uses metaphors to talk about life, the stereotype and conformism. Is much more than a story about winning or losing, is a story about living, try, fall, and after push our van to the right path. It's delicious, is complex and is unforgettable. A movie to never forget. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GurolgeJun 3, 2014
I do not know what makes Little Miss Sunshine a comedy; it is a pure drama with great acting and heartwarming performances with a cute tone. On the other hand, I think people are over-impressed by this production - the changes the extremeI do not know what makes Little Miss Sunshine a comedy; it is a pure drama with great acting and heartwarming performances with a cute tone. On the other hand, I think people are over-impressed by this production - the changes the extreme characters go through are admirable however I do not think this is justified - all problematic members of a group going through the same story arch and getting healed by the process is kind of impossible if they are characterized that way (I am not talking about their mood but their characterization based on a life experience). I like the presence of a bigger picture based on the small events and characters in the writing; subtle and effective; but if you really think about it the movie has almost no context so I doubt that it is something that has to be watched again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ingie44Mar 29, 2014
This is a beautiful film. A lovely message, really inspiring. The acting is fantastic, unusually good for some young actors. Steve Carell gives an excellent performance, making me wish he was in more serious films. Fantastic film. Really.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFAug 17, 2013
It's not too often that family films tug so endlessly on the heart strings, or a film which offers real and genuinely funny moments, characters and adventures all on a road trip to the most unlikely of places for the most unlikely of people.It's not too often that family films tug so endlessly on the heart strings, or a film which offers real and genuinely funny moments, characters and adventures all on a road trip to the most unlikely of places for the most unlikely of people. The film is a true example of how it's the simple things which change the rules entirely, and Little Miss Sunshine offers a range of characters all with different dreams, hopes and outlooks in life, and they all come from the same family.
The comedy road trip is a cunning and daring attempt to break from the clutches of similar scenarios and situations, we have some of the most interesting characters to grace the screen who all embrace their part and set the standard, we have the mother, Sheryl (Toni Collette) who struggles to look after her two children and her depressed brother Frank (Steve Carell) who recently attempted to commit suicide, her work-oriented husband Richard (Greg Kinnear), a motivational speaker who simply cannot catch a break, Edwin, played by Alan Arkin, the sharp-tongued grandfather who is very close to one of the children, Olive (Abigail Breslin), who is the little girl with big dreams and who truly lights up the screen in every possible way. She has been accepted into a beauty pageant 800 miles away and the whole family reluctantly agree to take the trip to support the young girl.
Paul Dano plays the other child, a 17 year old who broods and speaks very little during the film as he is having a vow of silence until he fulfils his dream of being a test pilot. Each member of the family have their own grievances which come into play as the film unfolds, and they realise just how much they need each other. The film holds many messages of family values but its underlying themes really hit home the most, it categorises everything in life into simple reactions from other people, preparation, dreams, routine and perseverance, but also despair. Its at these moments that realisation can hit, whether something may not be for you or if you simply don't fit in, its not down to anybody else to say otherwise, being yourself is the most important part and the point of it all.
Much like the job of Richard, the film is subtle and light-hearted life lesson from the excellent writing of Michael Arndt, who holds the equally brilliant Toy Story 3 credit to his name, he manages to use various situations that can be summed up through equal means, Olive is the little girl who lets nothing get her down, and Abigail Breslin simply fits the role like a shoe. Steve Carell plays a character who has seen it all and simply isn't happy with it, and needs his dysfunctional family around him. Greg Kinnear delivers a riveting performance of a man who doesn't seem to pay close attention to his family, but this the exact reason why he struggles through, to support his family and not be seen as a failure. There to bring a realisitc approach to their situations is Alan Arkin, who tells it as it is and nothing more.
A masterful yet subtle film that weaves in and out of every detail of a simple problem and lays it all out on the table to try and work out, with fantastic performances from each cast member who offer various explanations from their characters perspective that make this a must see show for a bit of comic relief and to get a lesson in being yourself.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Luke_McLaughlinJul 27, 2013
Little Miss Sunshine, winner of the Sundance Film Festival in 2006, is a dark comedy about life, love, and finding purpose in life. It is delightfully simple, funny, and heartwarming. It will make you laugh, make you angry, and possibly causeLittle Miss Sunshine, winner of the Sundance Film Festival in 2006, is a dark comedy about life, love, and finding purpose in life. It is delightfully simple, funny, and heartwarming. It will make you laugh, make you angry, and possibly cause you to shed a few tears. If you are into the indie genre Little Miss Sunshine is not only a must see, but a must purchase for your personal collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JmsbppJul 16, 2013
Excelente actuacion por parte de todos destacando el trabajo de Abigail Breslin, la pelicula ronda como una familia totalmente separada de lo que es una familia buena y comun, todo estaba destrozado todo el mundo por su lado, una pelicula queExcelente actuacion por parte de todos destacando el trabajo de Abigail Breslin, la pelicula ronda como una familia totalmente separada de lo que es una familia buena y comun, todo estaba destrozado todo el mundo por su lado, una pelicula que deja mucho que pensar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonJul 7, 2013
The Hoovers have dreams. Dad Richard imagines himself becoming the next Tony Robbins. Mom Sheryl dreams of a big happy family. Grandpa wants to go out in a blaze of glory. Uncle Frank longs to be recognized as the nation's pre-eminent ProustThe Hoovers have dreams. Dad Richard imagines himself becoming the next Tony Robbins. Mom Sheryl dreams of a big happy family. Grandpa wants to go out in a blaze of glory. Uncle Frank longs to be recognized as the nation's pre-eminent Proust scholar. Brother Dwayne wants to be a fighter pilot. And then there's Olive. The pudgy, bespectacled 7-year-old wants to be Miss America. Put all of these dreams in an old VW van and send them to Southern California for a beauty pageant, and you get Little Miss Sunshine. This is the first feature-length project for the husband and wife directorial duo of Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris, both highly respected for their work in the music video world. Perhaps nicknamed the "Little Movie That Could," Little Miss Sunshine took five years to make and, thanks to its warm reception at 2006's Sundance Film Festival, is finally seeing a U.S. release—albeit in limited theaters. As its Sundance pedigree might suggest, Little Miss Sunshine has an eccentric veneer, but don't let that fool you. The script is far more conventional than its indie pop soundtrack (DeVotchKa and Sufjan Stevens provide the highlights) would have you believe, right down to unfortunate blips on the narrative radar involving porn magazines and state troopers that could have come straight from Super Troopers and a moment of sibling bonding that's all but gift wrapped. This said, there is a zany ethos to Little Miss Sunshine that, despite its most clichéd moments, stokes a lovely poignancy in this look at family life and the capacity for hope in the face of absurdity and calamity. Much of the absurdity is provided by the Little Miss Sunshine contest—the attempt to get there and the pageant itself. The garish makeup and skimpy dresses on the pre-pubescent contestants is all the more jarring after spending much of the movie with the gawky Olive. Indeed, her presence at the pageant and her cringe-inducing "talent" are a sort of defacto exposé on the darkness that lies just beneath the sparkly sequins. Each of the family members is, in one way or another, grappling with darkness in their own lives. Indeed, the script does a commendable job of presenting distinct characters—each person a universe of motivations and morals unto themselves—instead of presenting them as one griping and moaning familial mass. As such, different viewers are likely to resonate with different characters. And yet, the bond forged by their proximity to each other—by the fact they're family—is undeniable. I don't think it's a coincidence that the broken down VW van eventually requires a group effort to get in gear. The cast is universally strong. Toni Collette doesn't seem to be physically capable of turning in a poor performance, as I have yet to see her do so since she burst onto the scene in 1994's critically acclaimed Muriel's Wedding. As a suicidal academic, Steve Carell proves his acting mettle extends far beyond his comedic turns in TV's "The Office" and last year's blockbuster The 40-Year-Old Virgin. Greg Kinnear, as Richard, uses his innate likeability to make even the most annoying of characters sympathetic. Thankfully, Richard's desperate need to be a winner is road kill on this trip. As is Grandpa. Alan Arkin's a dirty old man with a heart of gold (or at least silver). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
This dysfunctional family may at first seem unbelievable. As the film progresses, they become so familiar! And loveable! You cannot help but laugh with the little (and outrageous) things that occur in their lives! Although issues like drugThis dysfunctional family may at first seem unbelievable. As the film progresses, they become so familiar! And loveable! You cannot help but laugh with the little (and outrageous) things that occur in their lives! Although issues like drug addiction and suicide are touched upon, it is done in a sensitive matter. By the end of the film you feel euphoric and uplifted!!! PS Excellent acting from all!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 26, 2013
Really funny and heartwarming film as the family turns it around. All of the actors did well, the script was really well done and the directors did an awesome job. Deserves the accolades and acclaim its received.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LonePiperMay 21, 2013
I really enjoyed this movie as living in a country saturated by US culture, I appreciated how slyly this film managed to satirise it.

On top of that, the characters were beautifully rich, all of them with fatal flaws yet lovable all the
I really enjoyed this movie as living in a country saturated by US culture, I appreciated how slyly this film managed to satirise it.

On top of that, the characters were beautifully rich, all of them with fatal flaws yet lovable all the same, and there were a number of beautiful comedy moments.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 11, 2013
It provides some of thee best performances in film hiistory, Little Miss Sunshine is fun to watch not only as a crazy family comedy but also as a serious and thoughtful drama as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Little Miss Sunshine transcends the family road movie, and though it feels a little incomplete when the end roles around, we still had a great time all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Sep 1, 2012
A pleasant film that is not as good as everybody says. There is nothing wrong with the film, but to say it is worthy of a best picture nominee is a stretch. How the hell did that old guy win best supporting actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
charlieW24Jul 8, 2012
Absolutely brilliant. These are the sort of films that should always be made, feel good and heart-warming. We start with a family torn apart but by the end, brought together by their daughter, Abigail Breslin. Breslin is brilliant atAbsolutely brilliant. These are the sort of films that should always be made, feel good and heart-warming. We start with a family torn apart but by the end, brought together by their daughter, Abigail Breslin. Breslin is brilliant at embodying the feeling of childhood and how at that age we all have a dream. Alan Arkin is even better, gibing a short but memorable performance as the heroine taking grandfather, every scene he steals with his kind but foul mouthed ways. Steve Carrell gives a performance also which should have given him an Oscar nod. But, the best part of this film is the script, not many films have a script that give a sense of realism and humour (the scenes where the family push the van our by far the best), and give a chance for all actors to shine. It is such a simplistic formula, but the writers take advantage by adding side stories and real depths to these characters so it feel like they themselves our telling the story as if we know them. The movie as a whole is superb with at the most one flaw, everything just seems to work perfectly and put all the good things you need in a film together what do you get? Little Miss Sunshine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
charliew1820Jun 23, 2012
Absolutely brilliant. These are the sort of films that should always be made, feel good and heart warming. We start with a family torn apart but by the end, brought together by there daughter, Abigail Breslin. breslin is brilliant at embodingAbsolutely brilliant. These are the sort of films that should always be made, feel good and heart warming. We start with a family torn apart but by the end, brought together by there daughter, Abigail Breslin. breslin is brilliant at emboding the feeling of childhood and how at that age we all have a dream. Alan Arkin is even better, gibing a short but memorable performance as the heroine taking grandfather, every scene he steals with his kind but foul mouthed ways. Steve Carrell gives a performance also which should hve guven him an oscar nod. But, the best part of this film is the script, not many films have a script that give a sense of realism and humour (the scenes where the family push the van our by far the best), and give a chance for all actors to shine. It is such a simplistic formula, but the writers take advantage by adding side stories and real depths to these characters so it feel like they themselves our telling the story as if we know them. The movie as a whole is superb with at the most one flaw, everything just seems to work perfectly and put all the good things you need in a film together what do you get? Little Miss Sunshine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
katelynmccJun 17, 2012
This film was an excellent treat. The cast was superb, with strong performances from the youngest to the smallest Hoover. The movie offered up tear-jerking moments galore, but the humor never failed to peak through. The balance was just rightThis film was an excellent treat. The cast was superb, with strong performances from the youngest to the smallest Hoover. The movie offered up tear-jerking moments galore, but the humor never failed to peak through. The balance was just right to present a truly entertaining movie that still provided a deeply engaging human element. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Mar 31, 2012
It should be called a little piece of garbage. The characters are unappealing and classless add on top they were annoying. No idea why the grandfather won supporting actor. The story wasn't interesting at all and wasn't funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Ips207Mar 14, 2012
Little Miss Sunshine is one of those movies that you could keep watching over and over again and not get bored. It's an Heart Felt movie about the importance of "family together can beat the odds". It delivers brilliant performances by AlanLittle Miss Sunshine is one of those movies that you could keep watching over and over again and not get bored. It's an Heart Felt movie about the importance of "family together can beat the odds". It delivers brilliant performances by Alan Arkin, Steve Carell, Greg Kinnear and little Abigail Breslin. Toni Collette is the mother who holds the whole family together, and Paul Dano delivers a solid performance as the Color-Blinded Dwayne who dreams of becoming a jet pilot. It's a shame that many don't like it, but it's definitely a 'Solid A' Movie which is beautifully directed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pinkscreenFeb 20, 2012
it's a classic. It's a refreshing movie with good actosr. It's a dark in some ways but you feel good after seing it. The atmosphere, the colors are perfect. Jason Reitman made one of his best movie with '' Little Miss sushine '' .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
debjyotinsecJan 26, 2012
story is just awesome
direction=no complex..simply go on according the story
message is just fantastic...learnable comedy with laughs.
so i like it
i like it
i like it
v
i like it
i like it
i like it

i like it

i like it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hoops2448Oct 24, 2011
Little Miss Sunshine revels in the fact its cleverer than you are and that is not an insult. This highly intelligent black comedy is so fast paced, hilarious and bizarre that not only will you laugh pretty much the entire 90 minutes but youLittle Miss Sunshine revels in the fact its cleverer than you are and that is not an insult. This highly intelligent black comedy is so fast paced, hilarious and bizarre that not only will you laugh pretty much the entire 90 minutes but you will struggle to keep up. The story tells the tale of Olive (Abigail Breslin) who has qualified for a beauty pageant in California so her parents (Greg Kinnear and Toni Collette) decide to go on a trip in their old camper van across the country. They are joined by Oliveâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Oct 16, 2011
The journey of a dysfunctional family to their youngest child stardom leads us into a satirical, poignant and really funny adventure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 30, 2011
"Little Miss Sunshine" is a heart-warm movie. It's well written script delivers that supporting each other as a family, everything is possible. And yes, it is one of the best movies of the year.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
Spielberg00Sep 30, 2011
LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE is an independent film, humorous in its own dark little way. Though the film comes across mostly a drama, it has its funny moments, and all of the humor is either subtle, clever, depressing, or a combination of the three.LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE is an independent film, humorous in its own dark little way. Though the film comes across mostly a drama, it has its funny moments, and all of the humor is either subtle, clever, depressing, or a combination of the three. Though Steve Carrell, now known for his wittingly hilarious role in TV's comedy THE OFFICE, appears as one of the more major characters, Alan Arkin (if any cast member) seems to be the one who draws the most audience laughs. In fact, Carrell delivers most likely the least humorous role. Though he does definitely still have his humor, with a big nod to the scene at the dinner table near the beginning. Other than that, LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE is a heartwarming, sometimes weepy, and ultimately feel-good film. I highly doubt there has been one road movie as good and unpredictable as this since NATIONAL LAMPOON'S VACATION. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
EnanAug 23, 2010
At heart of such a familiar story are characters that shine above their own archetypal conception. The progression of the narrative is fluid enough, but the performances ensure the films distinction. The characters would not be believable, orAt heart of such a familiar story are characters that shine above their own archetypal conception. The progression of the narrative is fluid enough, but the performances ensure the films distinction. The characters would not be believable, or nearly as compelling, were it not for their unwitting dependence on one another. The family is mutually deceiving, but each with the best of intentions. Road trip films are nearly classified as there own genre with such a distinctive structure and pay off. Comedian, Mitch Hedberg said, Im sick of following my dreams. I am just going to ask where they are going and meet up with them later. In Little Miss Sunshine, dreams both guide and antagonize the six people trapped in the yellow VW bus.

A lack of control haunts the actions of the family. In one of the more focused scenes in the film, the son Dwaye, played aptly by Paul Dano, acknowledges his own limitations with poignant vocalization. Dwayne craves autonomy more than any other in the film and is grounded by a new found genetic disadvantage. In attempting to blame his family, from afar, it only provokes his sister closer. She is unaffected by his sentiments because his true nature contrasts the outburst in her mind. It is her intimate knowledge of Dwayne that enables the film to move on.

In this sense, the movie can be viewed as an interpersonal puzzle. Alone, each character is indistinguishable of something whole. It is only when pushing on together that they get anywhere. The goals of each individual become dwarfed by the sense of unity birthed from their 800 mile adventure. Significantly, it is young Olives naive hope to be Little Miss Sunshine that creates a consciously shared and cherished moment between all characters, dead and alive. Olives determination destroys her fathers notion of winners and losers. Surrounded by people in denial about themselves, Olive embraces the contradictions, consequently providing a metaphoric mirror for the rest.

The film celebrates failure. Within the winning film, are desperate losers. Steve Carells, Uncle Frank, discusses the necessity of suffering. Being introduced to him after a failed suicide attempt, Franks words seem genuine despite their irony. The diverse talent of Carell is most acutely witnessed as he reacquaints himself with the family at the dinner table. The intrusion of Frank into his sisters family plays as a blessing in a family needing of fresh, albeit fatalistic, perspective.

Little Miss Sunshine depicts family as an undefinable ideal. The movie grows much the way a family does; not often in expected directions, but forever adapting to inevitable change. It isnt until the family sees the path they have taken, before they realize they have a home to return.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MargaretL.Feb 16, 2010
Abigail Breslin is pitch-perfect as the eternal optimist in a family that's almost completely messed up. Anyone could enjoy the film simply based on her performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
joehJan 7, 2010
While it's obvious many people feel this movie succeeds in its humorous antics, I can only find myself cringing. This is one of those films that's all about personal taste, my palete having grown accustomed to a decidedly different While it's obvious many people feel this movie succeeds in its humorous antics, I can only find myself cringing. This is one of those films that's all about personal taste, my palete having grown accustomed to a decidedly different sort of entertainment. I can say with certainty, however, that awarding it with Best Picture would have been similar to awarding the Nobel Prize to the individual who invented the Slap Chop: both amusing and utterly ridiculous. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichaelT.Aug 9, 2009
I am amazed by some of the reviews here. If anyone here trusts user-submitted reviews, I beg you you to ignore any that are full of finger-shaking hyperbole and excessive use of first-year university words. This film is heartwarming, funny I am amazed by some of the reviews here. If anyone here trusts user-submitted reviews, I beg you you to ignore any that are full of finger-shaking hyperbole and excessive use of first-year university words. This film is heartwarming, funny and charming. It's one of the few films I will watch when I want to be cheered up. It's Disney for tax-payers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FrancisC.Jul 11, 2009
Although the movie has some good points, there was too much shouting, and the ending was very poor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SHaneMApr 17, 2009
Epic Film! Pretty funny considering the characters are all like sad!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TroelsJ.Oct 19, 2008
I mainly love this movie because of the ending. Besides the characters (and the kind of chilled, anticute atmosphere) it's actually pretty much like any other comedy/drama all the way through the movie. But in the end, it just changes - I mainly love this movie because of the ending. Besides the characters (and the kind of chilled, anticute atmosphere) it's actually pretty much like any other comedy/drama all the way through the movie. But in the end, it just changes - and instead of just being a fairly entertaining movie, it ends up having a great message. Greater than most messages in movies nowadays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaFromAustraliaAug 8, 2008
I loved this movie. A simple message effectively delivered. If you like REAL families then you'll love these people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelM.Aug 8, 2008
Some people think they are good critics like Tania and especially Jasper below because they vomit their extended vocabulary on to the computer screen, but they're not. Simply because it is easy to determine a character's Some people think they are good critics like Tania and especially Jasper below because they vomit their extended vocabulary on to the computer screen, but they're not. Simply because it is easy to determine a character's personality or psychological state does not mean they are one dimensional or cliched. Acting, cinematography, music, direction in general is all great. Most normal people like this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshP.May 26, 2008
This film captures everything a family's about. Dysfunctional and sometimes very strange but always honest. I feel sorry for you if you can't enjoy this film, it's the best light hearted comedy I've seen in years. This film captures everything a family's about. Dysfunctional and sometimes very strange but always honest. I feel sorry for you if you can't enjoy this film, it's the best light hearted comedy I've seen in years. Especially since it came out of America. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlfyT.Apr 29, 2008
Wonderful film and good film. I have not seen film like this. I liked Olive very much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OpalJ.Apr 20, 2008
This is my all-time favorite movie. The acting is great, the storyline is touching and hilarious, and the characters are hilarious though realistic. Yes, you might not find a family like this in the real world, but it's a MOVIE. And a This is my all-time favorite movie. The acting is great, the storyline is touching and hilarious, and the characters are hilarious though realistic. Yes, you might not find a family like this in the real world, but it's a MOVIE. And a great one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TaniaApr 16, 2008
Mystifyingly bad. Oh, how I wanted to like it. Cliched characters assembled on a screenwriters factory line, with nary a breath of life in them (save Breslin, lovable without ever being cloying), a plot creakingly contrived from start to Mystifyingly bad. Oh, how I wanted to like it. Cliched characters assembled on a screenwriters factory line, with nary a breath of life in them (save Breslin, lovable without ever being cloying), a plot creakingly contrived from start to finish. Not one moment of this film rang true (ok, one - the sweet scene where Alan Arkin's 'foulmouthed grandpa' - i imagine this is what he was dubbed in the screenplay - assures Breslin's wannabe beauty queen that she is beautiful. Really - and this is the film at its most touching.), nevermind tickled the funny bone. Replete with gaping holes in character motivation/ development you could drive a truck through (the son wants to be a fighter pilot, so he took a vow of silence. This leads us conveniently to 'funny,' furious scribbling in a notepad, ' i hate everyone'. Teenage angst has never been so subtle!). Even the supposedly laugh-out loud finale felt heavy-handed and like a desperate, mean, and inexplicable ploy for laughs. Finally, it just felt so slight - at film's end, a great big shrug is all I could muster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RickWMar 16, 2008
There was little humor in this film, in my opinion. I'm all for suspending some disbelief, but how did the daughter's "talent presentation" qualify her for some regional pageant? And how am I supposed to warm up to a family where There was little humor in this film, in my opinion. I'm all for suspending some disbelief, but how did the daughter's "talent presentation" qualify her for some regional pageant? And how am I supposed to warm up to a family where the parents are so unbelievably (literal use here--I couldn't believe it for a second) that they left her in the hands of the vulgar and inappropriate grandfather, or that they failed to shut the old coot up or even react to his profane rants? If that's a "best picture" candidate, somebody hand me a novel -- quick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BernardFeb 10, 2008
That was a pretty bad movie. Humor is overly camp and it was a waste of time. Straightforward and predictable, I am surprised they even got nominated for any awards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FloR.Jan 29, 2008
It was a great feel-good film that has that amazing indie-movie feeling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ArthurXJan 21, 2008
Watching this movie is the cinematic equivalent of spend 100 minutes with the most irritating people on Earth. The humor is overly camp and the gimmicks are lowbrow and extraordinarily unentertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasperV.Dec 29, 2007
Wow. I'm stunned. Every once in a while a movie comes along that is jaw-droppingly horrible to the point that it leaves your mouth hanging open. I lack sufficient terms to express how trite and repellent I find this simpering movie. Wow. I'm stunned. Every once in a while a movie comes along that is jaw-droppingly horrible to the point that it leaves your mouth hanging open. I lack sufficient terms to express how trite and repellent I find this simpering movie. It's an exhausted "human spirit" movie so cloying that it needs to be taken off life support. From the first time I saw the TV commercial which featured the hackneyed ruse of getting the whole family in one vehicle for the duration of a movie, I suspected the script would have difficulty making that premise believable. It certainly fails there, but that's the least of its problems. But still, the wealth of good reviews drew me to buy a ticket. My initial reservations were right. This script is an inept piece of garbage long before you evaluate it on moral grounds, where it collapses spectacularly. The family here is a mix of characters so drippy and dense that they never realize their dumpy, uncoordinated, bespectacled daughter isn't the Junior Miss type. It takes them exactly one pageant (following a needless cross country trip) to figure that out. The same family doesn't realize that a heroin-snorting, horndog grandfather shouldn't be the one teaching their adolescent daughter her beauty pageant dance number. Why not go all the way and include a "funny scene" of grandpa molesting her? The setup is practically there; a scene so distasteful feels like it's just off-screen (or on the cutting room floor) in this wholly objectionable movie. Long after a ridiculously unbelievable "chance meeting" in a gas station, long after paper-deep villains have been thrown at the screen, long after the annoying Murphy's Law plot line is exhausted, comes the most sick, saccharine, crappy moment in all of film history which involves a family attempting to redeem their seven-year old daughters failed, inappropriate talent routine (a strip tease) by joining her on stage. Sexualizing a seven year old girl without her being developmentally able to understand it... mmm, that's comedy gold. This "edgy material" is about as palatable as a cup of bleach. I'm not one to look for messages but here we've got something like "Let's all support each other as we swim up the cr*p river of life!" I'm sure it's supporters think I've missed the point and that the humor is just dark. It's not dark. Making a dark comedy is an art. This comedy has no edge in it's delivery. It's filmed straight. It's acted and presented ineptly. It's about as edgy as a smutty episode of Seventh Heaven. This is the rotten family-values homily to end them all. Drawing big saccharine payoffs to support a family values theme also places this squarely in mainstream whitebread entertainment. It makes perfect sense that idiotic Hollywood would nominate this tripe for a bunch of Oscars, but I can't believe I respect people who like this atrocity. The Oscars have become so gratingly self-impressed, and the nominees so limp, that all you can really do anymore is root against films you don't want to have any further influence on the culture. I am so glad it lost the Best Picture award ; Now it starts a long descent to the bottom of time's toilet, exactly where it belongs, where it will be forgotten. Collapse
1 of 6 users found this helpful
9
JaredC.Dec 15, 2007
Michael Arndt's screenplay for the stellar comedy Little Miss Sunshine is tightly constructed, and full of the kinds of characters talented actors kill to portray a pudgy, bespectacled seven-year-old, Olive (Abigail Breslin), voices her Michael Arndt's screenplay for the stellar comedy Little Miss Sunshine is tightly constructed, and full of the kinds of characters talented actors kill to portray a pudgy, bespectacled seven-year-old, Olive (Abigail Breslin), voices her desire to take home the coveted Little Miss Sunshine crown at an upcoming beauty pageant, her wildly dysfunctional family sets out on an interstate road trip to ensure her a clear shot at realizing her dreams in former music video directorial team Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris' quirky feature debut, starring Greg Kinnear, Steve Carell, and Toni Collette. Despite early career success as an outspoken motivational speaker, family patriarch Richard (Kinnear) continues to cling to his "Refuse to Lose" philosophy, much to the chagrin of his increasingly annoyed spouse, Sheryl (Collette). Add into the mix a Nietzsche-reading teenage son (Paul Dano) who has taken a vow of silence until he finds his fate as a fighter pilot; a horny, heroin-happy grandfather (Alan Arkin) with a penchant for creative profanity; and a suicidal genius (Carell) and Proust scholar still reeling about losing both his male lover and his MacArthur Foundation genius grant -- and the stage is set for a road trip in which sanity is sure to take the back seat. All of the characters and themes are economically but patiently set up in a funny 20-minute dinner sequence that opens the movie. Throughout the film, characters perform what seem to be throwaway actions that actually pay off later in the film. The fact that first-time directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris know when to keep the story moving and when to slow down for the first-rate character stuff helps make it one of the great debuts of the year. However, it is the actors who make Little Miss Sunshine one of the best films of 2006. These characters, from the suicidal Proust scholar to the heroin-addicted grandfather to the silent, sullen teenager to the failed motivational speaker (a comedy concept worthy of an award in and of itself), could all be played so grandly that the film would collapse. However, everybody stays on the same page emotionally, making them seem like a real family and like real individuals. About a third of the way into Little Miss Sunshine, Steve Carell and Alan Arkin play a simple scene in which Arkin's character makes a frank request that gets a laugh from Carell's character. The scene is unusual because very rarely does anyone actually laugh onscreen in a comedy. Carell's laugh feels utterly genuine and entirely in character, making the conversation one of the moments that best exemplifies the humanism and the humor in the thoroughly entertaining Little Miss Sunshine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenB.Nov 30, 2007
While this movie does have flaws, they are not enough to compensate for the 7.4 this movie earns under User Score. This movie is dry, amusing, inane yet endearing, and just plain fun. I do not know a single person who disliked this film, and While this movie does have flaws, they are not enough to compensate for the 7.4 this movie earns under User Score. This movie is dry, amusing, inane yet endearing, and just plain fun. I do not know a single person who disliked this film, and the conclusion is genuinely funny, heartwarming, and moving. The main criticism users seem to have for this movie was that it was nominated while their favorite movies weren't. Please, if you like a movie, then comment on it as opposed to ranting about your (generally wrong) opinions up here. This movie is a rewarding experience, and well worth the price of either a DVD rental or a theater ticket. In the future, let's please leave the Oscar nominating up to the professionals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BM.Oct 2, 2007
What a refreshing burst of fresh air in the comedy/drama genre. There is not a moment in this movie where the comedy seems forced or the acting overdone. Every ridiculously funny part of this movie is completely believable. Even the script What a refreshing burst of fresh air in the comedy/drama genre. There is not a moment in this movie where the comedy seems forced or the acting overdone. Every ridiculously funny part of this movie is completely believable. Even the script is written and delivered in that rough unpolished way that makes you think these are 'real' people and we are a fly on the wall in there insane lives. Everyone involved in this movie deserves a very big pat on the back. We need more real comedies like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrianK.Aug 30, 2007
Little Miss Sunshine just wasn't funny enough to compensate for its straightforward, predictable plot. The only redeeming quality of this film was that the character development was well done. Basically, I am amazed that this movie got Little Miss Sunshine just wasn't funny enough to compensate for its straightforward, predictable plot. The only redeeming quality of this film was that the character development was well done. Basically, I am amazed that this movie got a nomination for best picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
YowazupAug 19, 2007
Little Miss Sunshine is a dry, slow movie that reaches for quirky and only manages to grab on to pain. In fact, this movie seems to be about how unfair life is and if we all go on stage and show up all the stuck up people that we can dance Little Miss Sunshine is a dry, slow movie that reaches for quirky and only manages to grab on to pain. In fact, this movie seems to be about how unfair life is and if we all go on stage and show up all the stuck up people that we can dance like a stripper, then we have made something of ourselves. This movie isn't different, its just a complete rehash of old screwball comedy. It wants to find humor in the awkward but comes up with nothing short of inane. The characters are all unlikable, except the two children, and this seems to be done purposely as if to show the old idea of ignorance being bliss. Its situations are terribly staged, and the only thing that works is that the actors all can act. But that does not matter because the characters they're playing are flat and shallow. Sure its trying be true to our world full of social decay, but who cares if all your characters do is decay more(one actually quite literally). This movie gets nominated for best picture while a movie like Children of Men is forgotten. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SophieJul 31, 2007
Wonderful movie. I have never laughed so hard at an ending in my life :) This film gives you a warm fuzzy feeling in your stomach: it truly makes you happy inside, even though there are some moments which get you grabbing the tissues. Great humour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaimepJul 10, 2007
Um good job jess calling a little kid fat. your real nice. i thought this movie was awesome. i believe the people who are looking for genius in the camera or technical things are missing out on why this movie is so great. it gives you a Um good job jess calling a little kid fat. your real nice. i thought this movie was awesome. i believe the people who are looking for genius in the camera or technical things are missing out on why this movie is so great. it gives you a feeling of happiness. isn't that what movie are about? how they make you feel when you stop watching them. I loved it and i think the characters were amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.Jun 29, 2007
'Little Miss Sunshine' is the kind of movie that sticks with you long after it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TristanJ.Jun 5, 2007
Some great acting accompanies a good script with some awesome characters. Only let downs are the predictable nature of the plot, and the cliche ending. That said, it gives you the warm fuzzys you don't expect; there's a bit of Some great acting accompanies a good script with some awesome characters. Only let downs are the predictable nature of the plot, and the cliche ending. That said, it gives you the warm fuzzys you don't expect; there's a bit of everyone's family in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BorisH.May 31, 2007
Charming, with lots of genuine laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesV.Apr 25, 2007
Perfect balance of insight, character and humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
J.D.Apr 13, 2007
It's rubbish, nothing about it is funny, its just 6 losers with sad boring lives, even when i think about them it makes me depressed. the characters are shallow and the individuals stories are boring and the me against the world It's rubbish, nothing about it is funny, its just 6 losers with sad boring lives, even when i think about them it makes me depressed. the characters are shallow and the individuals stories are boring and the me against the world attitude of this film is a big steaming pile of the brown stuff!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TedJ.Mar 25, 2007
i hate this movie. wow, the family is a bunch of fucked-up losers! they have quirks! how HONEST and REAL. how about trite? plus, the message of the film lacked any subtlety or nuance, a staple of today's lackluster cinema. it's justi hate this movie. wow, the family is a bunch of fucked-up losers! they have quirks! how HONEST and REAL. how about trite? plus, the message of the film lacked any subtlety or nuance, a staple of today's lackluster cinema. it's just in-your-face, film-as-prozac film-making at it's... best? yes, the girl is very cute and does an excellent job in her role. but i especially hated alan arkin's performance and character. ooh, this grandpa is so badass, he doesn't give a fuck, and he curses and talks about having sex and shoots smack. that's really hilarious and profound. i am not surprised that mr. arkin won an oscar because his role is typical academy fodder: bullshit. it reminds me of why i also hated american beauty. suburban angst, nuclear family dysfunction, broken (american) dreams... that's all fine subject matter, but if that's your interest, you're better off seeing Little Children or Happiness, because little miss sunshine, like crash, affects genuine feeling, but, really, just bashes your skull in with its cloying sentimentality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanM.Mar 21, 2007
Heartfelt, satirical and entertaining movie. a masterpiece, no, but it has worth from the dialogue, timing and developed characters. worth seeing but not something to completely wrap your mind around. just a neat little nice movie. as for Heartfelt, satirical and entertaining movie. a masterpiece, no, but it has worth from the dialogue, timing and developed characters. worth seeing but not something to completely wrap your mind around. just a neat little nice movie. as for the bad reviews here, i'd be interested to see how many are men and what age they may be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChristopherJ.Mar 17, 2007
A film that I love because it asked interesting questions, like, "After your singular dream is shattered into a trillion pieces... then what??" How fascinating a question is that? Most dreamers think the question shouldn't even be A film that I love because it asked interesting questions, like, "After your singular dream is shattered into a trillion pieces... then what??" How fascinating a question is that? Most dreamers think the question shouldn't even be asked, but reality is taken head on in this film. I didn't love the grampa; his attitude was ridiculous to me, but the rest of the film was inspiring and had a ring of exciting truth in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CaseyF.Mar 2, 2007
I wanted to like this movie, I really did. The film is not bad, yet it is terribly overrated. It kept my eyes pointed toward the screen, but not much more. The characters are very much "end of the spectrum" types: the motivational speaker I wanted to like this movie, I really did. The film is not bad, yet it is terribly overrated. It kept my eyes pointed toward the screen, but not much more. The characters are very much "end of the spectrum" types: the motivational speaker dad is extra anal about motivation, the angst-filled teenager is extra angsty, etc. etc. I waited for the meaningful moments, the lessons about life to show up, but they stayed home. This film is rather predictable and bland from beginning to end, which I found to be surprising, given how promising it looked from the trailer. This film getting a best picture nomination by the "Academy" really pushes home the message that there must be back-scratching and such favors going on when it comes time to pick nominees. Again, it's not bad, just a rather generic ups-and-downs dysfunctional family film with a fuzzy happy ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimW.Feb 28, 2007
A movie about six nutty people caged within a dysfunctional family and a clapped-out van. I loved it. And if you liked Sideways then you might love it too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaniS.Feb 23, 2007
I loved this movie. It was a movie that I would describe as refreshing. It was unlike most movies and it made me laugh!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SabrinaD.Feb 23, 2007
Just because you leave the theater with a smile on your face doesn't mean it's a good movie. It means you like to see awkward little girls prosper and enjoy their childhood. Who doesn't? But everything leading up to these few Just because you leave the theater with a smile on your face doesn't mean it's a good movie. It means you like to see awkward little girls prosper and enjoy their childhood. Who doesn't? But everything leading up to these few minutes of Breslin enjoyment are painful to sit through and show no signs of humor at all. A for effort from Abigail but everything else failed miserably. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveK.Feb 22, 2007
You can't just wait for a movie to "wow" you to appreciate it. LMS is a revelation through a family that is as dysfunctional as it gets but pulls it together enough to love each other when they need it most. It is funny and You can't just wait for a movie to "wow" you to appreciate it. LMS is a revelation through a family that is as dysfunctional as it gets but pulls it together enough to love each other when they need it most. It is funny and heartwarming, especially when you start with the worst and then you see the best. Out of Departed, Babel, and LMS, this movie is by far the most entertaining movie that leaves you with a smile on your face, not leaving the theater being depressed and feeling like the world is one big craphole (like Babel and the Departed do). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JackB.Feb 21, 2007
The film had its moments, but overall it had this annoying, unsubtle sense of self-importance and preciousness that just didn't sell me. Maybe it was too much DeVotchka and Sufjan and wistful facial expressions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WalkerR.Feb 20, 2007
Can you say "overrated". I kept waiting for something to surprise me and win me over...not! Oh, and I guessed the ending from the very beginning. It'll probbaly win best picture too. What a joke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
OsloN.Feb 18, 2007
I am stunned this movie was nominated for best picture. I don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NadieFeb 11, 2007
Americans doing what they do best, laughing at themselves. Simple and well acted, this movie reminds us that you can find beauty in low budget films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradenR.Feb 7, 2007
Classic! It's going to be the next movie that every college kid has on DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyT.Feb 7, 2007
Loved the movie. Could have done without all of the F-bombs. I loved the ending of the pagent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JessFeb 6, 2007
Just how did this made-for-TV movie make it into theaters? If I make a video of my fat little sister dancing in front of a televised beauty pageant with my cliched grandparent swearing in the background, can I go to Sundance too?
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JimmyH.Feb 6, 2007
Loved the movie. It captures a certain feeling that is timely. I found it to be original and hilarious. Great cast. Each member had an endearing quality (even grandpa!). Frankly I don't understand all of the zeros being given to this Loved the movie. It captures a certain feeling that is timely. I found it to be original and hilarious. Great cast. Each member had an endearing quality (even grandpa!). Frankly I don't understand all of the zeros being given to this movie. I don't know what people expect from a good film. Maybe they're more into your Armageddon-type movie. Who knows. Well to each his own, but I loved this flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelH.Feb 5, 2007
I loved it! No, nothing blows up and nobody winds up getting hacked to death but that's half of the appeal of this film. All of us know the wanna-be successful dad. All of us know the chain-smoking mom in denial, pretending that if she I loved it! No, nothing blows up and nobody winds up getting hacked to death but that's half of the appeal of this film. All of us know the wanna-be successful dad. All of us know the chain-smoking mom in denial, pretending that if she doesn't acknowledge that her husband is a failure, her brother is suicidal and her daughter has no chance of winning the pageant that it all doesn't exist. Excellent job by Michael Arndt, the producers and directors. Best of luck to LMS as Best Picture of 2006! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MobiusFeb 5, 2007
Motivation husband, depressed teenager, coke sniffing grandad, frumpy kid, and a uncle that tried to kill himself, with these charactors stuck in a VW van for a 800 mile journey it sounds like a great idea for a movie, WRONG!!! I can see why Motivation husband, depressed teenager, coke sniffing grandad, frumpy kid, and a uncle that tried to kill himself, with these charactors stuck in a VW van for a 800 mile journey it sounds like a great idea for a movie, WRONG!!! I can see why some people may find this a good film but for me it felt that the film just didn't go anywhere. Personally if you want a film that captures the plain goofyness of various charactors then I suggest watching Napolean Dynamite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElliotP.Feb 4, 2007
A fun movie, well-done, even though the plot has been little over-done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulioM.Feb 4, 2007
At the end of this movie I felt warmth in my heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AL.Feb 4, 2007
This movie is wretched. The characters are unappealing and classless. I couldn't root for any of them. Just gross. Who would let their kid act in this junk?
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
BobFeb 3, 2007
Awful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
rogerT.Feb 3, 2007
To my mind i think this film is good but not exceptionnal, i don't understand when i see 100/100 or good marks like that! if you see this movie you'll pass a good moment but you'll forget it quickly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyRussellFeb 3, 2007
Great movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ryanjonasFeb 2, 2007
when the movie ended, i immediatly packed it up and sold it to the local Game Stop......i had to get this peice of crap out of my home
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousMCFeb 2, 2007
horrible, simply horrible, it had the wit of an elementary schooler, and the filth of a pervert
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Feb 1, 2007
Good show, almost great. So delicious that one tends to ignore the spillage when it goes over the top. As entertainment that rings true it's immediately gratifying, but the contrivances linger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NickM.Jan 31, 2007
im sorry, i just cannot understand the huge attraction to this movie. there was maybe one or two funny moments, but that was it....the jokes were stupid, and the whole thing was boring....at the end it seemed like they would end the movie im sorry, i just cannot understand the huge attraction to this movie. there was maybe one or two funny moments, but that was it....the jokes were stupid, and the whole thing was boring....at the end it seemed like they would end the movie with a good message, but then the movie disappointed me again, it couldnt even end on a good note....I WANT MY MONEY BACK! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThereseJan 31, 2007
Sometimes we just live our lives in our own little worlds and forget just how much diversity is out there. This film has captured a family that has its quirks and is different; but aren't we all? Beneath the challenges each family Sometimes we just live our lives in our own little worlds and forget just how much diversity is out there. This film has captured a family that has its quirks and is different; but aren't we all? Beneath the challenges each family member faces, remains strength, love, patience, guidance and acceptance--not a bad lot to have in life. Every family has its own, ah, uniqueness, and this is a family to be cherished for all it has to offer each other and those viewing the film. Great cast and wonderful acting--give in to it and you will enjoy not only the experience but perhaps appreciate your own family, warts and all, just a little bit more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ReeceS.Jan 31, 2007
They tricked me, and stole my money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MathewH.Jan 30, 2007
I loved this movie. It's irreverence as survivability, sarcasm as honesty, with the quirks and spasms of a lifetime condensed into a few days journey. Believable? Nah. But why should anyone care. Take the ride. It's carnival faire I loved this movie. It's irreverence as survivability, sarcasm as honesty, with the quirks and spasms of a lifetime condensed into a few days journey. Believable? Nah. But why should anyone care. Take the ride. It's carnival faire to be sure. But a warning. If you take yourself or anyone or anything seriously, this isn't for you. Just read the negative reviews if you have any doubts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EugeniaJan 30, 2007
I had to vote cause I thought the movie stank! I walked out of the film before the old man died--probably only the second or third film I've ever walked out of. This film Did Not Work! "Harold and maude" (a quirky independent film about I had to vote cause I thought the movie stank! I walked out of the film before the old man died--probably only the second or third film I've ever walked out of. This film Did Not Work! "Harold and maude" (a quirky independent film about disfunctional folks) worked. This film did not! It's absolutely pathetic it's been nominated for anything. Ensemble? Please. Thank God Altman (the great ensemble director) is dead. It's a sham. I thought it was big in Santa Cruz because someone local was a director (or something). I suppose when "Crash" beat out "Good Night and Good Luck" last year it was time to give it all a rest. The little was cute--let's hope her career lives through this experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Evieb.Jan 30, 2007
I felt totally conned by this movie. I can just imagine the Fox poeple at Sundance thinking, "Those arty blue-staters LOVE quirky indie comedies like this, with their ironically suburban aesthetics and implausible motel sets that mimic I felt totally conned by this movie. I can just imagine the Fox poeple at Sundance thinking, "Those arty blue-staters LOVE quirky indie comedies like this, with their ironically suburban aesthetics and implausible motel sets that mimic 'Wallpaper' spreads from 1999!" The script was total garbage; I could hear its rusty gears creaking throughout, especially during the exposition scenes when the writer had to contrive a way for the entire family to agree to take the road trip. I think Little Miss Sunshine might be my least favorite movie of all time. No doubt it will win best original screenplay at this year's Oscars. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
GlennS.Jan 29, 2007
Possibly the worst movie I have ever seen. Shocked at all the good reviews. Never cracked a smile once neither did the other 3 people I saw it with. Awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
N.F.Jan 28, 2007
This was a great move. It was funny-at times- but I was much more pleased with the great characters like the Grandpa(Alan Arkin) and the fabulous preformance by Steve carrel. All in all, I loved it, and I would totally reccomend it. I just This was a great move. It was funny-at times- but I was much more pleased with the great characters like the Grandpa(Alan Arkin) and the fabulous preformance by Steve carrel. All in all, I loved it, and I would totally reccomend it. I just don't understand why it's getting 1's and 0's, it was a really fun movie to watch. Rent it, watch it, love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BurrrT.Jan 28, 2007
The people who rated this movie lowly either didn't finish watching the film or went in expecting one thing and can't forgive the directors for giving them something else. Yes there were small holes in the plot but each performance The people who rated this movie lowly either didn't finish watching the film or went in expecting one thing and can't forgive the directors for giving them something else. Yes there were small holes in the plot but each performance was excellent, nothing was crammed down your throat, and the ending was one of the funniest in recent memory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidR.Jan 28, 2007
How about putting this in bold font across the top of the DVD box, "The Most Overrated Film of the Decade." Look I know a good movie when I see one and never let the hype get to me. I thought Sideways and Lost in Translation were well How about putting this in bold font across the top of the DVD box, "The Most Overrated Film of the Decade." Look I know a good movie when I see one and never let the hype get to me. I thought Sideways and Lost in Translation were well deserving of their praise when they came out and were nominated for Best Picture but this was a joke. Let's go over a few of the stand-out scenes **Spoiler**: Alan Arkin uses countless expletives for no reason at all until he finally dies, Carell mispronounces Proust about fifteen times, Paul Dano mopes around for two hours then turns into the grandfather and curses uncontrollably for no reason, and finally the movie climaxes with a so-quirky-she's-cute kid stripping in a beauty pageant. Chevy Chase must be rolling in his grave right now thinking about this poor attempt at remaking his comedy classic. And can we talk about Steve Carell's underacting? It seems he went into a coma sometime around the start of production and hasn't come out of character since. You can watch his eyes in the film carefully read over the cue cards off screen while trying not to fall asleep. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
Imagine a comedy in which each of the main characters has to confront losing his or her dream. Now, picture that comedy taking place mostly in a little yellow van that has a character all its own, and you have
0 of 0 users found this helpful