Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 511 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Little Miss Sunshine is an American family road comedy that shatters the mold. Brazenly satirical and yet deeply human, the film introduces audiences to one of the most endearingly fractured families in recent cinema history: the Hoovers, whose trip to a pre-pubescent beauty pageant results not only in comic mayhem but in death, transformation and a moving look at the surprising rewards of being losers in a winning-crazed culture. (Fox Searchlight Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 90
    A raucously entertaining slice of slapstick dressed up as domestic satire.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    It has been a while since we've seen such a consistently funny and entertaining road movie.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    80
    Pic's distinguished by a flawless cast, a gentle spirit of rebellion and a smart script by first-time screenwriter Michael Arndt that knows never to push its character quirks too hard.
  4. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    80
    Little Miss Sunshine is an enchanting anthem to loserdom -- a dark comedy that piles on setback after setback and yet never loses its helium.
  5. 75
    It's "National Lampoon's Family Vacation" with soul.
  6. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    40
    Like the shambling VW van its hapless characters steer from Albuquerque to Redondo Beach, Little Miss Sunshine is a rickety vehicle that travels mostly downhill.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 249
  1. RoseAnneS.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    You won't find a better comedy this summer, or this year, for that matter. The comedy will bring tears to your eyes and aches to your sides. You won't look at family travel the same, much less Rick James' "Kinky Girl." A must see! Expand
  2. Matt
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Best movie of the year and one of my new favorites. It's almost a quest story really, involving a trouble-plagued journy and each character facing their own demons. Expand
  3. Sam
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    One of the best movies I've seen in years. It's a perfect and satisfying blend of bittersweet plot and stinging social commentary. Wonderful performances by everybody, especially Carell. Expand
  4. SusanS.
    Aug 21, 2006
    9
    This was an excellent time at the movies. It definitely had good timing anyway--the light-heartedness would have been lost on a serious winter-release crowd. Summer movie-goers are always more ready for simple plots, and that's what this is. It's a road trip movie, simply; pretty predictable dysfunctional family bonding. But it's really, really, really funny. And contains some stupendous actors--when you've got Alan Arkin, you know you're going to have a good time. And Abigail Breslin is way too cute in those enormous glasses. I would see this in the theater, because I think some of the fun would be lost as a rental, in addition to some of the southwest cinematography. Expand
  5. DeWayneP.P.
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    What a wonderful film! It starts out a bit slow, but slowly grabs you by your laughing-bug and never lets your tonsils rest!...that classic Rick James song at the end pays an unrepentant tribute to a unforgettable musical icon. It was Super Freaky, yeah!!! Expand
  6. rogerT.
    Feb 3, 2007
    5
    To my mind i think this film is good but not exceptionnal, i don't understand when i see 100/100 or good marks like that! if you see this movie you'll pass a good moment but you'll forget it quickly. Expand
  7. DeanaM.
    Aug 18, 2006
    0
    We walked out!

See all 249 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990

    The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990 Image
    Published: February 22, 2011
    With this year's Oscars rapidly approaching, we look back at ten best picture winners from the past two decades that seem like questionable choices today, and see which great films were snubbed as a result.
  2. Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: November 3, 2010
    Friday's new comedy "Due Date" is only the latest example of one of Hollywood's favorite genres. Join us as we journey through three decades of road movies, from "Vacation" to "Sideways."
  3. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.