Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Sep 1, 2011
    80
    McLaughlin, who has a good eye for the minimal, manages to bring out the haunting beauty of empty places littered with the discards of forgotten lives.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Oct 6, 2011
    75
    They're not looking to say anything grand. What they do say - and what we see - is smart and true.
  3. Reviewed by: David Lewis
    Sep 8, 2011
    75
    Littlerock could easily be described as the flip side of "Lost in Translation": Instead of Americans struggling to communicate in Japan, it's the Japanese who are out of the loop when they get stranded in the outer, outer fringes of the Los Angeles area.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Sep 7, 2011
    75
    Not often have I been more certain of the direction a movie is heading, or more wrong. Littlerock, a sensitive indie feature by Mike Ott, plays fair. I was misled only by my own cynicism.
  5. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Aug 12, 2011
    75
    Not until the film's surprisingly touching finale do we learn the source of that friction, in a delicately handled sequence that retroactively floods the story with satisfying context.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Weber
    Aug 8, 2011
    75
    Confronting the concept of alienness in a California desert town, this modest tapestry finds equivalent dignity in history-conscious travelers and natives weighed down by roots or inertia.
  7. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Sep 8, 2011
    70
    This is affecting and thematically pointed but much more pat than the situation that precedes it, in which two different realities must coexist uneasily on the same screen.
  8. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Aug 11, 2011
    70
    It's significantly smaller and more casual than "Mystery Train" or "Lost in Translation," movies its premise calls to mind, but in some ways it's more layered and complex.
  9. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Aug 9, 2011
    70
    Atsuko the character doesn't speak English; Atsuko the actress, speaking mostly un-subtitled Japanese when she speaks at all, gives a performance that's a marvel of nonverbal reaction.
  10. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Aug 10, 2011
    60
    The ugly Americanism gets piled on thick - racists, dickwads and ignoramuses, oh my! - but there's a melancholy to this indie's cross-cultural explorations and communication breakdowns that compensates for the broader swipes.
  11. Reviewed by: Sara Schieron
    Aug 8, 2011
    60
    The message is nearly as slight as the presentation and just as hard to pin down, but even when tackling something as sharp edged and soft bellied as exclusion Littlerock is not without its pleasures.
  12. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Aug 12, 2011
    50
    Rambling, mildly engaging micro-budgeted indie.
  13. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Aug 8, 2011
    50
    Well-crafted picture has a nice sense of place and rudderless youth, though in the end, simply too little happens for the story to have much resonance.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Aug 14, 2011
    7
    I happened to like this film very much. It is somewhat in line with recent New American Realism -- films like "The Exploding Girl," "InI happened to like this film very much. It is somewhat in line with recent New American Realism -- films like "The Exploding Girl," "In Between Days" and "Wendy and Lucy" -- but then, apart from focusing on character over action, those films don't have much in common. "Littlerock" is primarily about encountering the everyday world from a very different perspective, a global one. Here is my review: http://tinyurl.com/4yf4c54 Full Review »