User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 347 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 347
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    O Terceiro melhor na minha opinião,na verdade é um empate com Duro De Matar 88,e Duro De Matar 3:A Vingança 95. Um clássico filme que mostra McClane no século 21,com alta temática de espionagem e foco no que a internet é capaz de fazer. Com cenas de tirar o fôlego,muita comédia e ininterruptas cenas de primeira linha de ação. Com super atuações de Bruce Willis,Mary Elizabeth Winstead eO Terceiro melhor na minha opinião,na verdade é um empate com Duro De Matar 88,e Duro De Matar 3:A Vingança 95. Um clássico filme que mostra McClane no século 21,com alta temática de espionagem e foco no que a internet é capaz de fazer. Com cenas de tirar o fôlego,muita comédia e ininterruptas cenas de primeira linha de ação. Com super atuações de Bruce Willis,Mary Elizabeth Winstead e Justin Long. Uma ótima e original sequência... Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2014
    9
    Okay, I don't know how, but they did it again. This was actually the first Die Hard I saw before I became familiar with the series. It goes down as my personal favorite as far as action movies are concerned. In the modern age, when everything is run on a computer, a crazy smart computer hacker maniac has no one to stop him should he ever decided to oh, I don't know, dissolve the wholeOkay, I don't know how, but they did it again. This was actually the first Die Hard I saw before I became familiar with the series. It goes down as my personal favorite as far as action movies are concerned. In the modern age, when everything is run on a computer, a crazy smart computer hacker maniac has no one to stop him should he ever decided to oh, I don't know, dissolve the whole system...right? Wrong. The good old hard hitting cop, John McClane is obviously aged but no less fierce and heroic. It was a bold far-fetched plot but maybe not too far fetched. McClane had to commission a nerd to help him which proved a great move considering their dialogue and character differences. Then you throw in the Taken angle where McClane is trying to repair his relationship with his daughter, and this is just an awesome movie. Sure the stakes are as high as they get and so are the stunts, but even when he went up against pretty impossible odds i didn't think anything stepped too far out of bounds considering what happens in other action movies. Bruce Willis played within himself. They brought in a few attractive women. They made sure the bad guys were plain bad guys. This got a higher score because it proved it could remain a rock solid action film even when they downplayed the blood and foul language comparative to the others. Well done. Worth a watch. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Of the last three "Die Hard"s as of September 27, 2013, this one is definitely the best. It brings back why we fell in love with the first Die Hard,: jokes, explosions, and well-played out scenes. The storyline to this one is especially exceptional, as it feels very real (the third movies seemed like a stretch). If you like movies in general, you will like Live Free.
  4. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    John McClane has arrived in the 21. century and still knows the moves to kill all gangsters with a minium effort. The story: amazing, Brucie. stunning, the action: mindblowing. It's not a normal film and when the White House explodes on TV, there is no more tension to create. Best action film of the year!!!
  5. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Bruce willis was the best person for the lead role inthis movie. if you want action this is the movie to see. the most action i have seen in a long time. i know i'm a little late for the review but still a must see.
  6. MatthewW.
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    Die Hard prevails (again) with it's heart pumping action scenes with a taste of comedy, Bruce Willis is perfect in (almost) every way.
  7. benjy
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    Its not believable' so? It's a summer blockbuster and it's good fun to watch thats all that should really matter. People moan about these films but they really shouldn't. Sure he's a bit more of a super hero but he still gets half beaten to death he doesn't come out flying he comes out with a bullet in him. Thats not superman!
  8. JaredB.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Being a fan of the entire "Die Hard" series, I went into this one expecting it to be as entertaining as the others. I was not disappointed. I found that I was actually MORE entertained by "Live free or Die Hard" than any of the other films. Bruce Willis returns as John McClane, who is no longer on the force and is given the job of escorting a computer hacker accused of some cybercrimes. Being a fan of the entire "Die Hard" series, I went into this one expecting it to be as entertaining as the others. I was not disappointed. I found that I was actually MORE entertained by "Live free or Die Hard" than any of the other films. Bruce Willis returns as John McClane, who is no longer on the force and is given the job of escorting a computer hacker accused of some cybercrimes. Complicating matters, McClane's daughter, Lucy, is kidnapped by a gang of, you guessed it, cyberhackers who are planning a terrorist attack on the Capital Building in Washington, D.C. McClane enlists the hackers help. What follows is a series of chase scenes and special effects that can only be described in one word: awesome. I especially liked the scene where a car and a helicopter collide in midair. As I stated before, I am a fan of the entire series. I preferred this one over the others for two reasons. First of all, the villains, especially Timothy Olyphant's character, were some of the best in the entire series. Secondly, while this film does contain some language, we finally go through the entire movie without hearing the mother of all cusswords. For me, this was a welcome change. If you like action films, I can't recommend this film highly enough. Yippee-ki-yay, indeed. Expand
  9. G-RadA.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Sweet intense action, hilarious side effects, and best of the Die Hard series.
  10. NickB.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    Amazing action filled adrenaline rush movie!
  11. GatsbyJ.
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    -It's strange how the reviews for this movie are either very high or very low: there doesn't seem to be much of a middle to it. Now let's be serious, those who gave this movie a high score didn't rate it so because it was a deep and thoughtful movie: they just liked the action and the pacing, etc. Those who gave it a low score had their own reasons. -I went into the -It's strange how the reviews for this movie are either very high or very low: there doesn't seem to be much of a middle to it. Now let's be serious, those who gave this movie a high score didn't rate it so because it was a deep and thoughtful movie: they just liked the action and the pacing, etc. Those who gave it a low score had their own reasons. -I went into the theatre thinking it was going to be stupid to the max, but my friend wanted to go so I agreed. I even made fun of the when I saw the commercials, like the absurd title. But both my friend and I thought the movie was awesome. The action sequences (which everyone went to see this movie for, I'm sure, and not for any semblance of plot) were as amazing as they were relentless. I wasn't bored for a single second, and this is coming from someone who expects every movie he sees to have a plot. Yeah, MOST of the plot was totally nonsensical, from the super-hackers to the saving the world in less than 24 hours, and the action scenes were ridiculous, but for some reason I was entertained. I've seen a lot of movies this summer and this was definitely one of the best experiences I had: it was so loud that the music and explosions drowned out the voices of those annoying audience members who like to shout when they see anything interesting on screen. Expand
  12. DanishX.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    masterful piece of action entertainment!Fast paced, funny, and excellent!very satisfying!,the best action blockbuster i have ever seen!full of action from beginning to end, it was really awesome! Really loved it!
  13. VanessaR.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Best action movie I've seen in a long long time, some people may think that some of the action is a bit unrealistic but that's why we go and see it in the movies right? This movie has jam packed full of action from beginning to end, it was really exhilarating! Really loved it!
  14. ShaunnaW.
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Classic action flick. Highly recommend it. Spread the word. This thing has legs.
  15. RB
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    If you don't mind ridiculously unrealistic action you will love this movie.
  16. JaredC
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Awesome action and extremely thrilling.
  17. BiffW
    Jul 17, 2007
    9
    Excellent. Back to the classic action film we grew up with. Lives up to the original. For those who don't like it because the action stunts seem improbable - get real, that's what makes it fun. I suppose you also hate Superhero movies, because it's improbable. With that attitude you'd better just stick to documentaries.
  18. James
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    Surprisingly this movie was very entertaining. The Action scenes weren't as over the top as i thought they would be. I give it a 9 mostly because i came into this movie with low expectations.
  19. Shane
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    This movie replaces Die Hard 1 as my favourite movie of all time. It is non-stop action. It just doesn't stop, I was lucky enough to go to the bathroom for about 1 minute when there was nothing happen and the second I got back things started blowing up again. If you want to see awsome action..then this is your movie.
  20. Sam
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Live Free or Die Hard Being the fourth part of a series believed to die long ago, there was much skepticism over Live Free or Die Hard. Fans of the original were worried it would be a dry, tired, ridiculous, and a hopeful end to the series. The PG-13 rating didn
  21. BillB
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    Yippee-Ki-Yay! this is a great movie. The stunts were so awesomely outrageous that they made me laugh.
  22. GarethC.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    Brilliant entertainment. Possibly the best of the lot. If you're a Die Hard fan you will not be dissapointed. Bruce still enough to be convincing in the role, and the rest of the cast are also great. Not one to miss - see this on the big screen!
  23. Bukkarooo
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Just saw Live Free or Die Hard.... and it was amazing!!! My adrenaline was pumping almost every second! The main story is about a man who used to work for the government, suggested they streagthen their security, then was publicly humiliated by them. So, to show them how vulnerable it is, he attempts a "fire sale". That is, shutting down everything run by computers. Water, power, phones, Just saw Live Free or Die Hard.... and it was amazing!!! My adrenaline was pumping almost every second! The main story is about a man who used to work for the government, suggested they streagthen their security, then was publicly humiliated by them. So, to show them how vulnerable it is, he attempts a "fire sale". That is, shutting down everything run by computers. Water, power, phones, everything. John McClaine, a detective for the NYPD (main character in this and every other Die Hard) had a fight with his daughter, then is sent to pick up a hacker, Matthew Farrel, and bring him to DC as a suspect for the hacking attempt on the white house. On the way, the fire sail spreads, and they figure out the people behind it are trying to kill Farrel. When they get into DC, the traffic lights are hacked to create mass chaos, there is an anthrax scare, and a video is put up on TV with a message, with each word/phrase from video clips from our presidents, Bush and Nixon and the like. I don't want to give to much away, so I'll stop now. I highly reccomend this to any fan of the Die Hard movies, action movies, or anyone looking for an adrenaline filled way to pass the time. * * * * * 5 Stars Expand
  24. BenjaminB.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    When you like the other "die hard"-movies, you will love this one.
  25. KipM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    Slightly below "Die Hard with a Vengeance" but above "Die Harder" by a longshot.
  26. RichH
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    Throughly entertaining. I wasn't expecting much going into the cinema but I enjoyed every moment. Recommended.
  27. RayG
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    For an action movie its great its more than u expect, unbelievable stunts combined with McClain's old school fighting techniques,wow.Plus the whole idea is original , a hacker trying to take over the country with all his high tech equipment and fire power real nice .But They should have taken in consideration the kind of unrealistic scenes like when John took over the jet plane and For an action movie its great its more than u expect, unbelievable stunts combined with McClain's old school fighting techniques,wow.Plus the whole idea is original , a hacker trying to take over the country with all his high tech equipment and fire power real nice .But They should have taken in consideration the kind of unrealistic scenes like when John took over the jet plane and the truck ways of climbing the broken bridge, except that it was a delight!!! Expand
  28. ZachC.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    This movie was totally awesome from beginning to end. Hardcore Die Hard fans will absolutely love Bruce Willis' bad-ass one liners. One of the most fun movie-going experiences I've had ever.
  29. JohnS.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    Live Free or Die Hard is represents a true old school action movie. This is on the same level as the original Die Hard. The Die Hard mythology is alive an well. I'm glad the director did not get caught up in CGI and slow motion shots. Bruce Willis is the only man that can play John McClane.
  30. Fantasy
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    Bruce Willis, playing why of course, Bruce Willis puts this flick over the top with his macho movie star persona shining very brightly. The storyline is cartoonish but that doesn't mean that a good time will not be had by one and all. It's a very good popcorn action movie and Bruce appears to be having fun and letting the audience in on it. Go and enjoy.
  31. JoeyK.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    Another sequel to an old action series? Ridiculous trailers drenched in attempted patriotism? I was ready and expecting for this movie to fail in at least one aspect, but it didn't. Not in the least. Expect typical action film fare: ie one liners, fairly familiar story, ridiculous physical feats, etc. But all around, It's one of the best Action films in ages, which is the best Another sequel to an old action series? Ridiculous trailers drenched in attempted patriotism? I was ready and expecting for this movie to fail in at least one aspect, but it didn't. Not in the least. Expect typical action film fare: ie one liners, fairly familiar story, ridiculous physical feats, etc. But all around, It's one of the best Action films in ages, which is the best you can expect from Die Hard. Expand
  32. TomC
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    This was a great movie for a sequel. I read the user ratings and believe me they are more accurate then the critics. How some critics gave this movie a low score is beyond me. Being a critic must be the easiest job in the world, useless too. Because 80% of the time they are completely off. Some critics should realize most people out there don't give a rats ass about a movie other This was a great movie for a sequel. I read the user ratings and believe me they are more accurate then the critics. How some critics gave this movie a low score is beyond me. Being a critic must be the easiest job in the world, useless too. Because 80% of the time they are completely off. Some critics should realize most people out there don't give a rats ass about a movie other then its entertainment value. Expand
  33. SerajT
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    You would think that a Die Hard movie cant rock a PG-13. I would say this movie was almost on the same level as the first one, if not its on the same level. This movie does a great job for PH-13 limitations, meaning it has its fair share of Explosions, Cursing, and beating women. Some of the stunts are a bt over the top but damn its just way to cool. Great movie. Bruce, you are still the man.
  34. WilliamB.
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    Fast paced, funny, and totally awesome. Bruce Willis still shines, just enjoy the show.
  35. ArthurC
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    Wow! This is the one sequel other than Fantastic Four I had the least faith in being good. I was wrong. They certainly captured the energy and fun of the Die Hard series. It went above and beyond With a Vengence. John McClane still rocks. The only thing that kept it from being as good as the original was a pretty poorly conceived father/daughter subplot. Other than that, this may be the Wow! This is the one sequel other than Fantastic Four I had the least faith in being good. I was wrong. They certainly captured the energy and fun of the Die Hard series. It went above and beyond With a Vengence. John McClane still rocks. The only thing that kept it from being as good as the original was a pretty poorly conceived father/daughter subplot. Other than that, this may be the most fun movie of the summer so far. Expand
  36. AdnyA.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    in a time when CGI heroes fills our movie screen, this is just the right ingredient to bring things back to the way action movies used to be. This is Die Hard reborn for our modern day. With the large scale threat, slick dialog, and heavy action we've come to know from the series, I guess it would only take Bruce Willis to bring things back to basic fun film making. and thank god in a time when CGI heroes fills our movie screen, this is just the right ingredient to bring things back to the way action movies used to be. This is Die Hard reborn for our modern day. With the large scale threat, slick dialog, and heavy action we've come to know from the series, I guess it would only take Bruce Willis to bring things back to basic fun film making. and thank god he's not 3D. Im off to have a beer in honor of Bruce Willis...the man who saved my summer of 2007. This has been the only movie i walked out of (so far) without any major disappointments. instead i walked out with my jaw still dropped from 95% of the action i've witnessed in the film. Expand
  37. RubenN.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Though a non-believer at first, now I'm hoping for a 5th movie! I don't know how it happened, but it just did. Don't miss it, the Die Hards are templates for action movies around the world.
  38. RonRonron
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Absolutely awesome 2 hours. Willis rules, and this was the best Die Hard yet. Sure the action was over the top, but who cares. Some of the best bad-guy deaths in recent movie memory are in LFODH.
  39. RatchetB.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    For an action movie to keep up with todays standards and not loose itself in flash and excess perversion to entertain the audience, Live Free Or Die Hard will go down as not only one of the best of the Die Hard series, but most definitely one of the true great action movies of 2007.
  40. AndreT.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    For me the best was the third. But this one is extremely tight for an action movie. It is funny, the effects are amazing and of course, this is over the top in terms of unrealistic action. The story is quite technical because it revolved around computer terminology. But in my view it's a very good story for that type of movie. The actors are very convincing, even the new ones. A good For me the best was the third. But this one is extremely tight for an action movie. It is funny, the effects are amazing and of course, this is over the top in terms of unrealistic action. The story is quite technical because it revolved around computer terminology. But in my view it's a very good story for that type of movie. The actors are very convincing, even the new ones. A good entertainment and I hope there will be another one. Expand
  41. EvanA.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    While it may not have been the best movie of all time. Most of the people going to see this move got exactly what they wanted. Another great Die Hard Movie. While the plot and character development suffer a little from the non-stop action, the movie excites
  42. filmfan
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Awesome flick. great acting, great story, great action sequences. what else could you ask for in a summer movie. Great Popcorn Fun flick.
  43. IdaH.
    Jun 30, 2007
    9
    Two hours of engaging escapism and thoroughly entertaining.
  44. JulianM.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Great and creative action sequences for another great addition to the Die Hard series.
  45. PaulKotsamanes
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    There isn't a score high enough for how good this movie is. Sure there are dumb villains, unbelievable stunts, and an invincible aging Bruce Willis, but that's what makes it so good. Is it the best action movie ever, maybe, I can't remember the last movie that was this much fun to watch.
  46. ChrisW.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Pure Hollywood Gold! So much action that I felt like the theatre was going to collapse. The sound of this movie alone will give you an adrenaline rush. Bruce Willis was great and the writing is decent. If you want to see the best Action movie this summer... this is it! If you want Sci-fi, then go see transformers. If you want real American action... then it's time for you to "Live Pure Hollywood Gold! So much action that I felt like the theatre was going to collapse. The sound of this movie alone will give you an adrenaline rush. Bruce Willis was great and the writing is decent. If you want to see the best Action movie this summer... this is it! If you want Sci-fi, then go see transformers. If you want real American action... then it's time for you to "Live Free or Die Hard!" Expand
  47. JimW.
    Jun 30, 2007
    9
    Held my interest from minute one. Action from start to finish. At this rate, this franchise can go on for many more.
  48. IsaiahM.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Best movie I've seen in a long time. Who needs a super hero when you've got John McClane?
  49. JA.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Best action Movie on a long time, just as funny - but not as corny - as the first. Best use of computers in a main stream action movie - it wasn't too made up, over simplified, or overly wrong.
  50. AC.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Great Action, leave your brain at the door and just enjoy the outrageous thrill ride.
  51. JoeD.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    If you went to this movie expecting anything better than a great action flick, you were kidding yourself. Based upon these expectations, I thought it was great!
  52. ColinG.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Movies like this are what downloader pirates to the theater. A good "Die Hard" movie can only be truly appreciated in a Big Screen setting. Check your cynicism at the door folks and have some fun. Easily the best DH since the first and I LOVED DH2. Forget mistakes like "Bandits" and Striking Distance." You can even forget his roles in "Pulp Fiction" and "Sixth Sense." Because Willis was Movies like this are what downloader pirates to the theater. A good "Die Hard" movie can only be truly appreciated in a Big Screen setting. Check your cynicism at the door folks and have some fun. Easily the best DH since the first and I LOVED DH2. Forget mistakes like "Bandits" and Striking Distance." You can even forget his roles in "Pulp Fiction" and "Sixth Sense." Because Willis was born to play the action hero and he's still the best. NO FOOLING. Expand
  53. AaronD
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Sure, if you look to this movie as anything but a straight up action flick, you might be a bit disappointed. If, however, you're looking for some crazy, over-the-top action with some solid acting by all the major players, especially Bruce Willis, then you can't do much better than this.
  54. DebbieG
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    A perfect Die Hard movie. If you love those movies, a must see!
  55. EmilyK.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Totally insane thrill ride all the way through. Just nearly from the get-go the action began, and between near-misses, laughs, oos and awes, this movie makes you leave the theater wanting more. Definitely a must see.
  56. Isaac
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    Everything I wanted to see in an action movie. A must see on the big screen...Awesome!
  57. [Anonymous]
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Everything you want in a summer action blockbuster.
  58. MarcusC.
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    Hilarious when not violent. At times ridiculously unrealistic but that's what, generally, movies are about.
  59. E.B.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    I was in a theater packed with laughs and claps the whole way through. Live Free or Die Hard really was surprisingly GREAT!
  60. AndrewT
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    This movie, while a bit over the top, definitely kept the die hard series on track. It was easily the 2nd best movie in the series, and Bruce Willis was awesome in it!
  61. JordanA.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    This movie was awesome. Highly recommended if you like action movies. It was also very, very funny. Everyone should go and see this movie.
  62. RosemaryB.
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    I loved it. Of course, some of the action was unrealistic, inasmuch as I can't believe any human body could take some of the blows we see and keep on tickin, but at least it's not slick and computerized. Great humor, realism (yeah I know what I just said, so..all that notwithstanding), and plenty of cheer-out-loud moments.
  63. Carsonblah!
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    This movie was great! Very quick paced and keeps you interested. A must see.
  64. AaronS.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    This is the best movie I've seen this year so far. God Bless John McClane for saving America and saving my summer. From some few others who saw it with me said they felt there was too much. In the age of CGI too much action rarely happens. Every person was believable in their role. Bruce Willis definitely does not act his age. Great movie. Action fans will not be disappointed.
  65. EdwardC.
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    Saw this at the 1201 am 1st showing....Very well done, especially considering the pg-13 rating. Justin long does a remarkable job and the stunts are amazing.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. It's simply old-school stunts and movie magic.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    The sheer quantity of often outrageous stunts should help overcome franchise mustiness to entertain.
  3. Reviewed by: Jessica Reaves
    75
    Early in LFODH, a villain taunts our hero, calling him "a Timex in a digital world"; McClane, characteristically, takes the dig as a compliment. Two hours, countless butt-kickings and hairbreadth escapes later, we know why.