Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Apr 12, 2012
    38
    Enjoy it, in moderation. It's your recommended weekly allowance of schlock.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Apr 12, 2012
    38
    A putrid film that comes dead-weighted with hammy one-liners and a plot so silly it borders on comedy?
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 12, 2012
    38
    Lockout is painful. Not painful in the way Uwe Boll or "Sex and the City" movies are painful. But painful enough that I kept waiting for Nicolas Cage to show up. Or Katherine Heigl. Or, god forbid, both.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 12, 2012
    25
    The aftereffects of watching Lockout include an inability to focus or to complete a simple declarative sentence without an ill-timed cutaway in the middle.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 12, 2012
    20
    Directors James Mather and Stephen St. Leger stage a few good action set pieces, but unlike the 1981 midnight movie classic it imitates, the blandly titled Lockout never busts out of its cheesy concept.
  6. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 13, 2012
    12
    Besson co-wrote and produced this cheesy mash-up of elements from James Bond and "Battlestar Galactica."
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    2
    the hunger games was better... ok but seriously my score equals the amount of time it took for the main character to get to the space stationthe hunger games was better... ok but seriously my score equals the amount of time it took for the main character to get to the space station and meet the president's daughter. It was one of the fastest paced movies I've ever seen. Overall was terrible. No character development. No back story. Plot holes (why would the US spend trillions and trillions of dollars on a space station for prisoners when they could kill them at the cost of one bullet?). Would only recommend if it was on netflix and you had nothing else to do. Full Review »
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    This is no Fight Club or Braveheart but a VERY GOOD film all the same, if you have been getting sick of all the BADLY made movies lately youThis is no Fight Club or Braveheart but a VERY GOOD film all the same, if you have been getting sick of all the BADLY made movies lately you should see this movie. I don't understand where this bad rating or coming from......maybe people started liking bad movies like Transformers,Battleship or the like. Full Review »
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    4
    All I can say is this movie was entertaining enough to keep me watching until the end. Other than that, there is nothing special about it.All I can say is this movie was entertaining enough to keep me watching until the end. Other than that, there is nothing special about it. It's one of those movies that you will probably watch on cable TV some Saturday afternoon when nothing else is on and you don't have anything else to do.

    The story is interesting enough, but the pure cheesy rots through towards the end. I don't want to spoil anything so I will not go into that but let's just say the "love" interest part is totally predictable. The action is good and the special effects are on par with today's movies.

    My gripe would be the acting, mainly from the support characters. The 2 leads are okay, and that is about it. The rest of the cast pretty much mulls their way through their lines and shows no real character while doing so. The main villain is not at all convincing as a psycho.

    In all, I thought this movie was exactly what I thought it was going to be: a movie I would watch, be satisfied that I didn't waste 2 hours and then forget about until I see it on TV some time later.
    Full Review »