Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Set in the near future, Lockout follows a falsely convicted ex-government agent, whose one chance at obtaining freedom lies in the dangerous mission of rescuing the President’s daughter from rioting convicts at an outer space maximum-security prison.(Open Road Films)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Apr 11, 2012
    80
    Lockout isn't high art, but it's ridiculous fun.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 11, 2012
    75
    More than any masculine heroics, Pearce's primary job is maintaining the tone: smug, irreverent, and giddily punch-drunk.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 11, 2012
    63
    The idea of the president's daughter being held captive isn't blindingly original (it's an alarmingly dangerous occupation), but placing the story on a space station is a masterstroke, since we're about filled up to here with prison movies set on Earth.
  4. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    Most of the time Lockout is pleasant enough, not something to recommend to a friend, but enjoyable in the moment. Guy Pearce has a lot to do with that, as the most impervious action star imaginable.
  5. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Apr 22, 2012
    40
    It's just not quite as much fun as it should be, despite Pearce's best efforts and some good chemistry with Grace. Unusually for an action thriller, this could have benefited from being just a little longer.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 11, 2012
    40
    Movies like this are supposed to be ridiculous on some level. It's part of the fun. But, dang. Falling through space, popping your parachute and landing on the one empty stretch of freeway in some bustling future city? C'mon. We all have our limits.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 13, 2012
    12
    Besson co-wrote and produced this cheesy mash-up of elements from James Bond and "Battlestar Galactica."

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 42
  2. Negative: 7 out of 42
  1. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    This is no Fight Club or Braveheart but a VERY GOOD film all the same, if you have been getting sick of all the BADLY made movies lately you should see this movie. I don't understand where this bad rating or coming from......maybe people started liking bad movies like Transformers,Battleship or the like. Expand
  2. May 9, 2012
    8
    First off, I would give lockout a 9 out of 10. It's just a great action film for all people wanting a good adventure. Story all right. Acting is also descent as well. Nice sound, and action throughout the move. You really should see this. Overall, this is a fun action film. It's not amazing but, still fun film. Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I saw the trailer for Lockout back in 2012, I thought, "oh, here we go again. Another CGI, messy, violent action movie with one liners and bad acting." Lockout proved a little bit of that to be true, but still exceeded my expectations.

    Lockout is a fun movie for a party night or a couple of bros hanging out, but its not one to take your girlfriend to---- unless she can take that kind of stuff!--- and is not for your grandma either. It mixes a smart, but somewhat sluggish script, with a surprisingly well-thought out story line, and gets a solid B Actioner; but this movie thinks too highly of itself for what it is. Sometimes, it caves into itself, overstepping its boundaries, and the product is an adrenaline rush: the bad kind. More like a kid running around after having too much candy. Again, this is only at parts of it. Most of the movie is decent.

    As awesome as ever, this movie has Guy Pierce, who has proved his talents as a character actor over and over again. From playing a geeky, by-the-books cop in L.A. Confidential, to an Irish evil-doer who wants to destroy the world in Iron Man 3. Now, he plays a bad-ass, flirty, lets-get-this-over-with man who was wrongfully convicted of Espionage against the U.S. He also needs a shave He's offered his freedom by rescuing the president's daughter from a prison she was visiting that got taken over by the prisoners. Trouble arises when he gets there, obviously, since this is a MOVIE, and nothing is simple and/or seems to go right.

    I did, in fact, very much like one of the final scenes where they explained what happened to the whereabouts of the "package" that contained valuable information; the thing that got him arrested in the first place. I'm not gonna spoil it too much, but the way the writers played up the scene and its symbols was very creative. To find out what the hell I'm talking about, you'll have to see the movie (if you haven't already)! Overall, this movie is definitely worth a watch. Oh, and did I mention it takes place in 2079?

    HandHStudios Rating: 6.3/10

    Oblivion (2013/I)
    Visually Stunning,But With Some Flaws, 6 May 2013
    5/10

    *** This review may contain spoilers ***

    I debated whether seeing oblivion or Iron Man 3 the weekend I saw it. I regret my decision.

    Even though Oblivion isn't that bad with its beautiful cinematography and visually stunning images Iron Man would beat it any day, and it just seems kind of mainstream.

    Story was decent enough I guess, but there were some flaws in it and logic had to be suspended. In fact, at some scenes, i thought i was sitting in Inception! So, some of the flaws include: Morgan Freeman's character. This is the first (and hopefully last) time i will say this... Morgan Freeman was not right for this role, even though he did a good job.

    Plot holes.

    Too many silence scenes; no enough action scenes.

    and finally, illogical scenes and bad editing.

    Overall, this was a slightly too long movie that tried to be more than it was, with a mainstream story line, but very visually stunning cinematography.
    Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the later part of the 21st-century the worst criminals the planet has to offer are kept safely away from public in stasis aboard an orbiting prison known as MS: One. Although it is never explained in the film, it does not take a rocket scientist to guess that â Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2013
    5
    Snort some drugs, and watch Lockout- and you will think its the best movie ever made.
    Guy Pearce does the best he can with what he's given,
    but Lockout is ultimately too derivative and shallow to build on the many sci-fi thrillers it borrows from. Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    5
    It's close to the definition of an average film. Pearce is terrific in his highly original and refreshing role - for him - but the "bad guys" weren't nearly interesting or threatening enough to make it work. It could have been more like a Die Hard film with better-drawn characters. And was one of the early car chases supposed to look like a videogame cut-scene? Did they just not have the budget to film that one? Very interesting. It's great seeing Maggie Grace again, but she doesn't bring enough to rescue the film into the green (recommended) territory. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2012
    1
    Had potential then jettisoned it self into DEEP SPACE. Went to this movie not expecting much but was looking forward to just kicking back and watching an action flick. The only positive thing about this movie is Guy Pearce's peformance. The (lack) of action, "quality" special effects, and peformances by the supporting cast make The Expendables look like it should have one best picture at the Oscars. I constantly found myself along with my buddies laugh at the movie at all of the cheesy moments it had. The pace was ridiculous and the villian's were laughable and half retarded. Two monkey's covered in sh!t could have provided more meanigful performances. The graphics.....lol video games in the mid 90's had better graphics then this. I would have to be borderline blackout drunk to watch this movie again and I would definitely try and pass out immediately after Pearce's interrogation becasue that was the only funny part in the entire movie. Good Talk Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers