Samuel Goldwyn Films | Release Date: February 10, 2006
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 44 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
36
Mixed:
2
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
EricW.Feb 9, 2006
This movie is very good. I'd first like to add that I think critics are slowly, collectively starting to lose their minds, for some strange reason I can't understand. I used to agree with them 9 out of 10 times. Until, I saw This movie is very good. I'd first like to add that I think critics are slowly, collectively starting to lose their minds, for some strange reason I can't understand. I used to agree with them 9 out of 10 times. Until, I saw 'A History of Violence', how that movie was heraled is more of a mystery to me than Dakota Fanning's maturity. Secondly, I'd like to add that I am a moderately selective film-goer, so I'd like to think of my thoughts as having some weight, but while I avoid films like 'XXX' and 'Big Momma's House', I am only human. Still, this movie has some brains. I don't know how the "Onion" writer even compared it to Mamet. First of all Mamet's writing is usually of a conflicting nature, he writes more insults and jabs, than intellectual and spirtually thought-provoking talk like in 'London.' It's of a COMPLETELY different nature. See for yourself though. And hold on to your sanity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottApr 14, 2006
Don't believe the critics, they have no idea what they are talking about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SandraB.Apr 24, 2006
This movie is excellent, and I totally couldn't believe so many critics slam it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JustinA.Feb 10, 2006
look at the chap who gave this an "8". he disses 'a history of violence', essentially calls mamet shallow, and praises THIS. i'm gonna go out on a limb here and guess that he's part of hunter richards' drug-addledlook at the chap who gave this an "8". he disses 'a history of violence', essentially calls mamet shallow, and praises THIS. i'm gonna go out on a limb here and guess that he's part of hunter richards' drug-addled entourage. this film smacks of being made by a guy who thinks he's a badass for being a trustfunder with cocaine access and the ability to get his cast high enough to be in this horrible tripe. do NOT trust anyone who praises this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CaptClarkMar 5, 2006
Dont listen to the critics.....this was a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnD.Sep 13, 2006
These actors know how to pose, understand how to move: Evans crouching in torment, Statham
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Jan 1, 2007
Insipid tripe. You'll find yourself wishing for Jason or Freddy or Max Cady to show up and kill all these whiny crybabies before they launch into another vapid conversation about the meaning of life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
dmanAug 15, 2006
This movie captures the feeling of being high on coke in a thought provoking and engaging manner. Sure, the protagonist is an asshole, but he's also real. We don't have to like the main character in order to believe that the This movie captures the feeling of being high on coke in a thought provoking and engaging manner. Sure, the protagonist is an asshole, but he's also real. We don't have to like the main character in order to believe that the he's twisted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
greenplanetNov 12, 2012
I bought this film cheaply from a bargain bin and it was not even worth the five bucks I paid for it in my opinion. It contained the most usages of the word f*** I have ever heard in any film at any time and as such it deserves an all timeI bought this film cheaply from a bargain bin and it was not even worth the five bucks I paid for it in my opinion. It contained the most usages of the word f*** I have ever heard in any film at any time and as such it deserves an all time worst film award. jason Statham does not save this film from being a truly sordid experience to watch. I was surprised that jessica Biel was in this dog also since she is generally in more classy films. The film is more about drug use than anything else and that is also not much of a plot for a film to me. It tries to glamourize/normalize the issue of drug use and fails badly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
spn2winDec 10, 2012
I thought with such an interesting cast this movie would get better as I watched it. I was completely wrong. This movie is horrible! It's on par with "Cabin Boy" and at
least that movie was trying to be funny. The only thing this movie has
I thought with such an interesting cast this movie would get better as I watched it. I was completely wrong. This movie is horrible! It's on par with "Cabin Boy" and at
least that movie was trying to be funny. The only thing this movie has going for it is the actresses are extremely drop dead hot in it, but even that could save it from the horribly whiny plot. Only watch it to check out the actresses....
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews