User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 597 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    1
    I would not recomend this movie to anyone, I found it to be redundent in it's continued attack on white people. I also think that there is nothing wrong with progress and it seemed to me that progress was attacked. There is something wrong with the Lone Ranger being portrayed as a bumbling boob that needs the guidance of Tonto to put on his gun belt. I bet the makers of this movie won'tI would not recomend this movie to anyone, I found it to be redundent in it's continued attack on white people. I also think that there is nothing wrong with progress and it seemed to me that progress was attacked. There is something wrong with the Lone Ranger being portrayed as a bumbling boob that needs the guidance of Tonto to put on his gun belt. I bet the makers of this movie won't give any of the world wide profits to any of the Indian Nations tht they so happly exploited in this stinker. Don't let your children watch this POS. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    0
    This would have been the worst movie Ive seen in years. Depp, you should be ashamed of yourself. No continuity, no real story line, and I left before the movie was even 3/4 through.
    Not anything could have saved it.
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    1
    I know what the late Clayton Moore would have said about this travesty: "I served with Tonto. I knew Tonto. Tonto was a friend of mine. Whoever you think you are, you're no Tonto."

    More campy revisionism. What a damn shame.
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    3
    I'm sure there's a reason there hasn't been a Lone Ranger film for about thirty years. After seeing this, I know the reason why. Though Depp and Hammer are acceptable as leads and have some good chemistry between them and Tom Wilkinson is fitting as a villain, that isn't enough to save this film from bland and boring acting, a garbage script and storyline, numerous plot holes and CGII'm sure there's a reason there hasn't been a Lone Ranger film for about thirty years. After seeing this, I know the reason why. Though Depp and Hammer are acceptable as leads and have some good chemistry between them and Tom Wilkinson is fitting as a villain, that isn't enough to save this film from bland and boring acting, a garbage script and storyline, numerous plot holes and CGI that's laughable at best. All we know is, due to the rather poor box office earnings of this film, we won't be seeing a Lone Ranger for another thirty years, and I'm quite happy for that. Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2013
    1
    This is a horrendous movie and it's relatively poor box office return reflects that. The main problem is the poor storyline, which tries to cover so many bases, that it has no structure and is total nonsense. This film could have either been a comic buddy story, such as Starsky and Hutch, or a more profound story looking at the interaction between Native Americans and settlers through theThis is a horrendous movie and it's relatively poor box office return reflects that. The main problem is the poor storyline, which tries to cover so many bases, that it has no structure and is total nonsense. This film could have either been a comic buddy story, such as Starsky and Hutch, or a more profound story looking at the interaction between Native Americans and settlers through the relationship of the Lone Ranger and Tonto. The fact it tries to cover both and more leads to confusion. The lead performances are not great. Armie Hammer lacks presence and comic sensibility as the Lone Ranger, whereas Johnny Depp is unintelligible as a mumbling, halting version of Jack Sparrow. However, the support cast, in particular Tom Wilkinson and Helena Bonham-Carter, are good. I suspect, there will be no sequel, but I also think there will be no reboot, certainly not in the near future. Who thought that the world was waiting for $215mn Lone Ranger blockbuster? Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    1
    The movie was very boring, it has no story, what is the massage of it, too long and on the top of all that it looks like it is a big mess. i really think that people give this movie a good rating because they feel sorry for it.
  7. Aug 1, 2013
    3
    The Lone Ranger has good moments, but overall it is a film chalk full of pacing problems, blatant racism, and confusing flashbacks. The film starts off hot with an unbelievably cool train action scene. I found myself wondering why the critics had been so harsh on the pacing of the film, and then the next hour and twenty minutes occurred. In blatant terms, it was slow. The movie ends withThe Lone Ranger has good moments, but overall it is a film chalk full of pacing problems, blatant racism, and confusing flashbacks. The film starts off hot with an unbelievably cool train action scene. I found myself wondering why the critics had been so harsh on the pacing of the film, and then the next hour and twenty minutes occurred. In blatant terms, it was slow. The movie ends with another amazing action scene, but the middle drags on for an overwhelming length. Johnny Depp does not produce his best work here. Instead of portraying Tonto correctly, intelligent with a hint of crazy, he played him at times idiotic and down right stupid. Depp made the entirety of the Native American people look dumb, and because of it came across racist. Lastly, what were the flashbacks about? Why did we need to see Tonto as an old man, and what was the symbolism at the end? I missed it completely... The Lone Ranger will go down as one of the biggest box office flops of the summer, and after viewing it is understandable. Expand
  8. Jul 29, 2013
    2
    All the character are competent and capable when they need to be but then there drooling idiots later Story is bad the Lone Ranger is a sad disappointment
  9. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    At some point there was this one scene where Armie Hammer's persona was being dragged through horse fecal matter. That's exactly how it felt watching this putrid excuse of entertainment.
  10. Jul 18, 2013
    1
    The tone veers from comedy to drama, with both genres badly written in another example of why Johnny Depp should work with directors than can say no. Depp's claims of presenting a positive representation of a Native American Indian character seem absurd on reflection, when he has delivered nothing more than a blackface performance that borders on racism. Verbinski's direction is straightThe tone veers from comedy to drama, with both genres badly written in another example of why Johnny Depp should work with directors than can say no. Depp's claims of presenting a positive representation of a Native American Indian character seem absurd on reflection, when he has delivered nothing more than a blackface performance that borders on racism. Verbinski's direction is straight out of parts two and three of the Pirates franchise and the assumption must be that Disney execs will soon lose their jobs with another bomb to follow John Carter. The only redeeming feature is Silver the horse, who deserves his own spin off series. The Lone Ranger himself is reduced to being a feeble joke figure with which the hapless Hammer can do nothing. The worst kind of Hollywood filmmaking. Expand
  11. Jul 25, 2013
    0
    Johnny Depp has been all downhill since 21 Jump Street. He's not a good actor, he just plays the same quirky weirdo in every movie. I just don't think the Lone Ranger resonates with many people these days. Horses, trains, what? I did enjoy Armie Hammer though.
  12. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    Having seen the critics give it a good bashing, I figured "heck it couldn't be that bad", especially with Johnny Depp at the helm. Sadly, It was actually worst than what critics made it out to be. I couldn't even get past the first 20 minutes of it. The acting is simply laughable, Depp's role as Tonto was just god awful and easily the worst part of the film. And it doesn't really help thatHaving seen the critics give it a good bashing, I figured "heck it couldn't be that bad", especially with Johnny Depp at the helm. Sadly, It was actually worst than what critics made it out to be. I couldn't even get past the first 20 minutes of it. The acting is simply laughable, Depp's role as Tonto was just god awful and easily the worst part of the film. And it doesn't really help that Depp/Tonto was pushed into the star role ahead of Hammer/Lone Ranger either.

    Also, Wasn't this suppose to be a film aimed towards children? I mean it's by Disney and the people behind Pirates so you figured it'd be aimed to be more of a family film instead of a flat out action film filled with terrible jokes that were stale as hell! Instead we have the fun of witnessing 3 people brutally murdered in the beginning of the film. Not to mention people getting guns pushed into their face every 5 god damn seconds. This is NOT the kind of movie that you would take your young children to.

    Overall, It was simply a joke of a film. I am so disappointed. I expected far better based off the trailers and this was simply garbage. I would be upset if I had actually wasted money to watch it.
    Expand
  13. Jul 8, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Worst movie I have seen in the recent past. Johnny Depp brings us Captain Jack Sparrow from Pirates and basically trades the leather pirate hat for a crow hat. He plays the same character with just a different name...no originality.
    I was a Lone Ranger TV fan, and hate this movie. The Lone Ranger in this movie did not use a gun, but in the tv show he used guns with silver bullets. You can't think of the Lone Ranger without hearing that famous music...but in the movie it is not even played until the last 15 minutes of this 2hr and 15 mins movie (awful). At the end the Lone Ranger finally rears his horse and starts to say his famous line..."Hi-Ho Silver!! Away!" but Tonto cuts him off and says "never do that again". The Lone Ranger was not awkward on TV and was not the side kick of Tonto. They didn't use what made the Lone Ranger iconic and the movie falls flat for me because of it.
    This movie was so bad that the best part of the movie is when the Lone Ranger and Tonto are sitting around a camp fire roasting a rabbit. Other rabbits start to gather around at the smell, Tonto tosses a piece of rabbit and the 20 gathered rabbits show their fang teeth and fight each other for the cooked rabbit. That got the most laughs from the audience...and is the sad truth about this movie. People wanted to like it, wanted to laugh, and looked for anything to laugh at or enjoy but there was nothing. Don't even rent this at Red Box when it comes out. I wouldn't watch this movie again if you paid for my ticket and popcorn. It was that bad.
    Expand
  14. Jul 16, 2013
    3
    The thing that made this movie so bad for me was the depressing contstant stream of good people getting killed by the bad guys, before they finally get their comeuppance in the end, including a whole village of Indians. When they show the bad guy slapping a little kid, that was the end for me. Meanwhile Tonto is some deranged mental case with a crow on his head, and the Lone Ranger isThe thing that made this movie so bad for me was the depressing contstant stream of good people getting killed by the bad guys, before they finally get their comeuppance in the end, including a whole village of Indians. When they show the bad guy slapping a little kid, that was the end for me. Meanwhile Tonto is some deranged mental case with a crow on his head, and the Lone Ranger is played stupidly like the main character in Green Hornet, which toatlly ruined that movie. Thumbs down! Expand
  15. Jul 8, 2013
    2
    Saw this movie on a whim and have regretted spending money of this train wreck ever since. People who are giving this movie 10s are either Depp fans where he can do no wrong or Disney fans thinking the same. This movie suffers from a far to long running time this movie would probably be a good popcorn flick if they cut it down, but with the length it is at it just becomes a slog of theSaw this movie on a whim and have regretted spending money of this train wreck ever since. People who are giving this movie 10s are either Depp fans where he can do no wrong or Disney fans thinking the same. This movie suffers from a far to long running time this movie would probably be a good popcorn flick if they cut it down, but with the length it is at it just becomes a slog of the same ole same ole. I like Depp as an actor but again in this movie he plays what he has been playing since POTC he plays jack sparrow, but now more native American. This movie just became confused for what it wanted to be after a while did it want to be a comedy but its throwing a ton of "deep" thoughts in there but instead of meshing perfectly this movie just comes off a confused and mixed up movie who has no idea whats going on. Expand
  16. Jul 9, 2013
    0
    Terrible. Wow, I don't think I have ever been so disappointed in a movie that I did not have any previous connection too. Trailers looked good, looked fun and packed with historic relevance, no suck luck. Well, it was packed with hisorically relevance that was quickly turned into a joke. "Hey we just made an emotional impact about how the Native Americans were killed by the white man. HereTerrible. Wow, I don't think I have ever been so disappointed in a movie that I did not have any previous connection too. Trailers looked good, looked fun and packed with historic relevance, no suck luck. Well, it was packed with hisorically relevance that was quickly turned into a joke. "Hey we just made an emotional impact about how the Native Americans were killed by the white man. Here is a horse in a hat, in a tree to lighten the mood two seconds later... oh and hey let's play the tacky but nostalgic theme music for twenty minutes straight in what could have been an awesome action scene if not for the music..." Tasteless and Soulless. Almost walked out. To quote Tonto, "Never Do that Again..." Expand
  17. Jul 7, 2013
    0
    I have to laugh at all the "10" reviews by accounts with no other reviews ever. Shill marketing at its finest and a dead giveaway this is one to avoid.
  18. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    The movie showed good potential at the beginning, and I was somewhat enjoying myself.
    However, this soon changed, and it turned into quite the mess. The ending was so fantastical and unbelievable, that I completely lost interest, and subsequently stopped caring about it. The scene where silver (the horse) jumps off a building and onto the train, was so stupid that I completely dropped my
    The movie showed good potential at the beginning, and I was somewhat enjoying myself.
    However, this soon changed, and it turned into quite the mess. The ending was so fantastical and unbelievable, that I completely lost interest, and subsequently stopped caring about it. The scene where silver (the horse) jumps off a building and onto the train, was so stupid that I completely dropped my jaw onto the dirty cinema floor. I am wondering if I can sue Disney for ruining one of my childhood heroes, as well as the germs that infected me from the whole jaw dropping on the floor thing...
    Expand
  19. Jul 9, 2013
    2
    The Lone Ranger is a film that had much potential to be solid summer fun that unforgettably transformed into a lengthy, drooling two and a half hour explosion-fest gut bus.
  20. Jul 31, 2013
    1
    Another disney film with a star studded cast. It tries to bring back some of the companies glory days but fails miserably. But has some good humor in it.
  21. Jul 23, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. How any one could give this movie positive reviews is beyond me, at least the box office receipts and word of mouth show the truth about this movie and not the opinion of people who are entertained by a man walking around with a dead bird on his head.

    Well there was one silver bullet, and did I see him ride a horse on top of and through a moving train?
    Expand
  22. Jul 7, 2013
    0
    Pointless, dull, and repetitive. The acting was disappointing and the movie was the first in several years I walked out of after 50 minutes. I would add forgettable, but its one I will remember as a fail on the level of the Star Wars Holiday special...
  23. Jul 4, 2013
    0
    I can't believe how insanity boring all these explosions and train-wrecks can be! This movie makes me feel nothing but disdain for Johnny Depp's portrayal of a Native American. How insensitive is this? What year is this that they can't find a proper actor to play this role? Are big Hollywood stars the only thing that people care about anymore? Depp was basically Capt. Jack in thisI can't believe how insanity boring all these explosions and train-wrecks can be! This movie makes me feel nothing but disdain for Johnny Depp's portrayal of a Native American. How insensitive is this? What year is this that they can't find a proper actor to play this role? Are big Hollywood stars the only thing that people care about anymore? Depp was basically Capt. Jack in this silly soulless film that had no redeeming qualities (unless you are a fan of overdone CG). Expand
  24. Jul 3, 2013
    0
    How anyone rated this anywhere positive is stunning. This is a huge piece of trash wrapped in a REALLY BIG BOW! Filled with explosions, CGI, special effects, and no content close to what the Lone Ranger is all about. Why they didnt title this "Over the Top Tonto and his shoot first sidekick" I'll never know. Worst movie fo the year so far and another big failure. First Pirates was good,How anyone rated this anywhere positive is stunning. This is a huge piece of trash wrapped in a REALLY BIG BOW! Filled with explosions, CGI, special effects, and no content close to what the Lone Ranger is all about. Why they didnt title this "Over the Top Tonto and his shoot first sidekick" I'll never know. Worst movie fo the year so far and another big failure. First Pirates was good, second was average, third and fourth were terrible and now this. Jerry, Disney, and Depp need to Break up for good. Expand
  25. Jul 4, 2013
    3
    the movie is filled with a lot of great action sequences but not a lot of story. You never get to know or car about the lone ranger and Tonto. Jonny Depp and Armie Hammer a great and seem to be having fun in the movie, but all they di is jump around a lot of fights the don't do a lot of acting, and that do a great job of that. My advice to people would be, don't expect a lot for thisthe movie is filled with a lot of great action sequences but not a lot of story. You never get to know or car about the lone ranger and Tonto. Jonny Depp and Armie Hammer a great and seem to be having fun in the movie, but all they di is jump around a lot of fights the don't do a lot of acting, and that do a great job of that. My advice to people would be, don't expect a lot for this movie just injoy the ride. This is mindless summer fun that's all. I have to confess I did enjoy the ride. Although the movie could have been 45 minutes shorter. Expand
  26. Jul 6, 2013
    0
    no need to explain
    just suck
    i don't know what's wrong with Gore Verbinski ,
    he supposed to direct cool movies like he did before, not just this piece of !
    Also, even with those stars like Johnny Depp they still can't save the film
  27. Jul 8, 2013
    0
    Sleeping inducing stunts, CGI blurring the line between reality and caring about the story, muddied plot.

    I am not sure if I was more offended by the racism of a white kid playing Tonto or the middle-school-play level of acting and dialog. It is really a tossup! Do yourself a favor and skip this tribute to ignorance from Hollywood.
  28. Jul 5, 2013
    1
    If not for the beautiful scenery and the familiar Lone Ranger theme song at the end I would give this film a zero. LONG action scenes and attempts to use every "trick" in the book, could not save this. the acting was horrendous and Johnny Depp is a mere stupid character of himself As one viewer said- "popcorn movie"- WELL it was too long and plodding even for that title. I keptIf not for the beautiful scenery and the familiar Lone Ranger theme song at the end I would give this film a zero. LONG action scenes and attempts to use every "trick" in the book, could not save this. the acting was horrendous and Johnny Depp is a mere stupid character of himself As one viewer said- "popcorn movie"- WELL it was too long and plodding even for that title. I kept wishing it would end and then voila- another shoot-out, another train crash..........Plainly irritating and definitely NOT suitable for young kids. if you want to see a great story about the railroads, old west and lawmen- check out the AMC show "Hell on Wheels"! Collapse
  29. Jul 5, 2013
    3
    Honestly, this movie would have been much better if it didn't drag on way too long. Unfortunately, it does and grows quite stale very quickly. True, it takes time to develop characters but when the movie is only 7 minutes shorter than The Shawshank Redemption, it better have some characters I am truly emotionally invested in. Unfortunately, it does not.
  30. Jul 6, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Johnny Depp did the best job possible given the circumstances. Armie Hammer? Who is he, anyway? He was by far the most bland, boring lead character I've ever witnessed in a movie. And he can't be killed? Bummer! This movie could have been so good. Instead Bruckheimer turned it into a witless, cookie-cutter, formulaic piece of typical Hollywood shlock. The plot was predictable from the get-go. The love interest barely more than a required female role so they could say they had a woman in the movie. At the end, the Lone Ranger tells Rebecca, "I can't stay." Guess what her reply is? "I know" Really? Can't she say, "What do you mean you're leaving me, a widow with a 9 year old kid alone here in the desert with all these disreputable men just waiting to find me alone?!!" One scene, Rebecca (Ruth Wilson) is working on a fence with a ranch hand; her son who is at least 9 years old, is playing in the river with the dog. In 1869, that kid would be fully employed working his butt off on the fence! The complete lack of any attention to details makes it clear this entire movie was just an afterthought and that the people making could care less what worthless cr---p they foist off on the movie going public. JB should be ashamed to have his name associated with this dog! Expand
  31. Jul 3, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its a slapstick comedy, a somber tale of discrimination and abuse, a tale of revenge, of forbidden love, of mystical creatures, of lost idealism, of greed......in short its a bit of a dizzying mess. Expand
  32. Jul 4, 2013
    3
    "The Lone Ranger," cool right!? Not in this case no. To be honest, the movie's a mess. The script is not great, the execution is all over the place, and even the guy who plays "The Lone Ranger," Armie Hammer didn't act well. The movie is full of coincidences and plot holes. Skip this crap.
  33. Dec 20, 2013
    0
    Born in 1966 I was privileged to grow up watching the Lone Ranger on TV, I was unable to catch the movie in the theaters and was anxious to see it on DVD, I can honestly say the critics got this one correct. This movie was awful and I am offended that they made the Lone Ranger character out to be this buffoon and the Tonto character a bumbling idiot. I figured the whole story out 30Born in 1966 I was privileged to grow up watching the Lone Ranger on TV, I was unable to catch the movie in the theaters and was anxious to see it on DVD, I can honestly say the critics got this one correct. This movie was awful and I am offended that they made the Lone Ranger character out to be this buffoon and the Tonto character a bumbling idiot. I figured the whole story out 30 minutes into it and was exhausted and stun afterwards I only sat through it because of my kids and I explained to them that this movie was a farce, it should have never been made. I am normally not hard on movies but considering myself a serious movie buff, I am completely appalled. Disney was wondering why the critics dogged it because like me they remember the Lone Ranger as a smart, charismatic man of truth and justice with a keen mind and sense of valor with his trusty sidekick ready to assist and keen as well. I think I am done now, this movie was simply bad. Expand
  34. Dec 20, 2013
    3
    Two and a half hours of nothing. There is very little character development and by the end you care about no one. It's not one of the worst movies of 2013 only because it's fairly well made but the length makes it unwatchable. D+
  35. Oct 31, 2013
    2
    The Lone Ranger is flawed in many ways. It seems that a wrong strategy has been applied from the beginning of the production. Combining the elements of comedy and fantasy with a very bitter and realistic story has chocked the movie. Unless the first and last sequences, the film's dramatic background doesn’t allow the inclusion of elements of parody, and the Mr. Verbinsky's efforts, who hasThe Lone Ranger is flawed in many ways. It seems that a wrong strategy has been applied from the beginning of the production. Combining the elements of comedy and fantasy with a very bitter and realistic story has chocked the movie. Unless the first and last sequences, the film's dramatic background doesn’t allow the inclusion of elements of parody, and the Mr. Verbinsky's efforts, who has already succeeded to make a perfect parody of western movies (Rango), fails. At the center (in the core) of The Lone Ranger lies a western in classical form, devoid of fantasy or Humorous arrays, that in current shape is buried beneath a mass of unfunny jokes, inappropriate special effects, undeveloped relationships between characters and numerous and futile Occurrences. Expand
  36. Sep 3, 2014
    0
    Bar none, the second worst movie I have ever seen. Like "The Amazing Spiderman 2", it tries to be funny and serious at the same time and fails miserably at both. I forced myself to watch it to the end just to make sure the awefulness would continue up to the last scene. It did.
  37. Jan 30, 2014
    1
    The DVD came out and I thought, "Well, maybe this movie has been over-reviewed and it simply cannot be as bad as it has been reviewed." It is! Throughout the entire forty minutes I could stand watching this thing I could just here the writers and actors and crew laughing together and saying, "This is really funny." It isn't!
  38. Oct 19, 2013
    3
    Instead of making it a comedy they should of made it an action/western that would of been better than this thing. The main actor has no personality what so ever and other characters aren't much different. I don't know didn't like it at all.
  39. Oct 14, 2013
    3
    I'm a little late with 'The Lone Ranger', but better never than late! Not only did the movie fail to examine themes of greed and racism (issues that were tailored for this kind of material), it failed at telling a good story, period. I thought the story was poorly framed. The constant back and forth between Tonto’s (Johnny Depp's character) retelling of the tale of the Lone Ranger to aI'm a little late with 'The Lone Ranger', but better never than late! Not only did the movie fail to examine themes of greed and racism (issues that were tailored for this kind of material), it failed at telling a good story, period. I thought the story was poorly framed. The constant back and forth between Tonto’s (Johnny Depp's character) retelling of the tale of the Lone Ranger to a precocious boy, always drew us out of the main story line. Johnny Depp's heavy makeup and oddball shtick is getting tired now; and the chemistry with Army Hammer’s Lone Ranger fell flat. As we've seen with the Pirates of the Caribbean movies, Gore Verbinski is no stranger to staging elaborate action sequences; but here, the action feels even more implausible and spans for way too long. This brings to the length of this movie, which has no business being 150 minutes! A leaner runtime and tighter narrative would have definitely lightened my eyelids. The only thing I truly admired about 'The Lone Ranger' was the quality of the production value. The character-centric costumes, production designs and sound designs gave it a top-notch quality that you've come to expect from big budget studio films such as this. Too bad the brain doesn't match the muscles. This dud will only be remembered for being one of 2013's biggest flops. Expand
  40. Dec 13, 2014
    3
    Another unique character portrayed brilliantly by Johnny Depp. In this case though the character is placed inside a world and story that lacks any real impact. All the characters around him are scapegoats who are just there for presence. It's a film that is easily forgettable despite fresh innovations. Don't watch this one in a hurry.
  41. Nov 22, 2013
    3
    Dramatic scenes mixed with poor humour (e.g. brave Indian warriors are decimated by the army machine guns and then we see Tonto wondering how his horse climbed on a tree), Depp playing like a wooden totem, fights which look more like a circus show, needless scenes (such as the search in the brothel) and a ridiculous hero (he acts like an idiot or follows lunatic Tonto) ‘Lone Ranger’ wasDramatic scenes mixed with poor humour (e.g. brave Indian warriors are decimated by the army machine guns and then we see Tonto wondering how his horse climbed on a tree), Depp playing like a wooden totem, fights which look more like a circus show, needless scenes (such as the search in the brothel) and a ridiculous hero (he acts like an idiot or follows lunatic Tonto) ‘Lone Ranger’ was almost painful. Besides, it’s idiotic that the protagonist claims to be an atheist and at the same time he is a fan of John Locke’s work: doesn’t he know that Locke’s philosophy is based on the idea that the human being is created by God? That’s why it has an immense value, objectively, and to protect and honour that value the human rights exist. It’s no coincidence that only Christian societies invented constitutions that treated people with dignity (and then other societies followed their example).
    The only good things of this movie are its presentation and some concepts borrowed from ‘Once upon a time in the west’, like the wait in the train station, the ambitious railway tycoon or the watch which reminds Tonto of his painful past.
    argonautis.eu
    Expand
  42. Dec 29, 2013
    1
    I must take exception to some of the reviews posted by my fellow cinema goers. As someone who has enjoyed Johnny Depp in everything I had seen previously, love westerns, and grew up watching The Lone Ranger, I was eager to love this film. However, its just a mess. Worse western Ive seen since the remake of 3:10 to Yuma and thats saying a lot.....
  43. Jan 31, 2014
    1
    Lead actor was by far the worst lead actor I've ever watched. Johnny Depp was in his usual quirky self. Which is becoming a bore to me. The only thing that fit in this movie, is the villain. Everything else is just forgettable.
  44. May 16, 2014
    2
    must say i didn't like it at all!!!! so boring it was and Johnny Depp's performance was so disappointing!!!!
    (he still is one of my favourite actors ever!!!)
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 45
  2. Negative: 14 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Aug 8, 2013
    40
    The Lone Ranger is content to simply pull another western trope out of the bag – the honky-tonk whorehouse, the ranch raid, the cavalry charge – give it a CGI spit-and-polish, and chuck it in the general direction of the audience. The result is frustrating, lazy and lifeless.
  2. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Aug 5, 2013
    80
    Talk about a pleasant surprise! Real storytelling, well thought-out and beautifully, at times insanely, executed, with excitement, laughs and fun to make you feel seven years old again.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Mueller
    Jul 29, 2013
    40
    Ultimately, it’s not as awful as "Wild Wild West." But we’ll hazard a guess that Pirates 5 can’t come quick enough for Bruckheimer or Depp.