User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 590 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    After watching the movie I'm truly speechless at these reviews. Watch for yourself, you won't know what on Earth they are talking about. I won't bother trying to defend it, go see for yourself how awesome it is.
  2. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Whats with the negative reviews? This film is a solid 10 for me. The film has a great flow. A bit of a slow beginning but the explosions and effects are fantastic and so is the acting. The storyline isn't insanely special but none the less it's a very entertaining film. The CG may be a tiny bit off here and there but that doesn't spoil it. There's also a charm of humour in it as well whichWhats with the negative reviews? This film is a solid 10 for me. The film has a great flow. A bit of a slow beginning but the explosions and effects are fantastic and so is the acting. The storyline isn't insanely special but none the less it's a very entertaining film. The CG may be a tiny bit off here and there but that doesn't spoil it. There's also a charm of humour in it as well which makes it great.

    I was entertained the whole way through. I highly recommend it!
    Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    The Lone Ranger is a great movie, and it shows what a great cast can do to go beyond the stereotypical scripts of yesteryear, and give a populist hero, and a tragic, yet funny, native American, who finally can tell the story of his friend. Great special effects, and a period dress, which is remarkable. Now I know why Johnny Depp made a fourth Pirates of the Caribbean; so, he could do aThe Lone Ranger is a great movie, and it shows what a great cast can do to go beyond the stereotypical scripts of yesteryear, and give a populist hero, and a tragic, yet funny, native American, who finally can tell the story of his friend. Great special effects, and a period dress, which is remarkable. Now I know why Johnny Depp made a fourth Pirates of the Caribbean; so, he could do a gritty movie, which they could afford to make based on the proceeds of the PotC series. I don't expect everyone to like the movie or even understand it. That is what makes it a better movie. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This is how Hollywood blockbusters should be made. Don't let the critics kill this movie. This movie takes its time developing, but it has wonderful light moments (and there are plenty of them) and some serious moments too and balances them beautifully. If you're looking for lots and lots of jumpy action shots; lots of vroom vroom bang bang boom (car chases, shootouts and explosions), youThis is how Hollywood blockbusters should be made. Don't let the critics kill this movie. This movie takes its time developing, but it has wonderful light moments (and there are plenty of them) and some serious moments too and balances them beautifully. If you're looking for lots and lots of jumpy action shots; lots of vroom vroom bang bang boom (car chases, shootouts and explosions), you get them here, but without the jumpiness, and every single one serves the plot. Depp and Hammer are great as are all the villains, and the story builds nicely to a wonderful nostalgic climax. A little slow in spots? Maybe. Some aberrant vampire bunnies? OK. But how director Gore Verbinski, the writers and editors got this one past the money men is probably a story in itself. The cinematography is gorgeous and every shot, (except for the bunnies), and every bit of spectacle serves the story. I can't remember the last time a big Hollywood movie cared about story, or characters for that matter. The only thing at fault here is the marketing campaign which gives the impression the movie is one big heartless yuck. Well it's not. And don't hold that against it. Don't let this movie die! Go see it! Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    I felt like I needed to write a review for this because of all the negative press it has been receiving. My wife and I absolutely loved this movie! We were smiling through the entire movie, and everyone applauded at the end of the movie! My wife wants to buy this movie for her dad for Christmas. We were so glad we did not worry about the "professional" reviewers and tried out thisI felt like I needed to write a review for this because of all the negative press it has been receiving. My wife and I absolutely loved this movie! We were smiling through the entire movie, and everyone applauded at the end of the movie! My wife wants to buy this movie for her dad for Christmas. We were so glad we did not worry about the "professional" reviewers and tried out this movie it was a great surprise! 10/10 Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    The Lone Ranger is a 2013 film directed by Gore Verbinski. Directed by Verbinski I liked very much. The sets are really nice and I liked the fact that they decided to take it all with real landscapes rather than create them with CGI. Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer were a great duo, both very funny, especially the character of Tonto. The action scenes were well shot and the comic scenes areThe Lone Ranger is a 2013 film directed by Gore Verbinski. Directed by Verbinski I liked very much. The sets are really nice and I liked the fact that they decided to take it all with real landscapes rather than create them with CGI. Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer were a great duo, both very funny, especially the character of Tonto. The action scenes were well shot and the comic scenes are not missed at all. The only flaw is the length of the film. I did not hear it but for such a plot 150 minutes is too long. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Johnny Depp is brilliant, the movie is excellent, the dialog is sharp, and humorous, the special effects are very good. Was it really over 2 hours! The time went so quickly. I don't know why the critics are negative...perhaps they are jealous of success. Outside of the bedroom, its the most fun you will have for 2 hours this summer, Angels, Johnny shines brightly.
  8. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    I don't understand why the critics thought it was so bad (apparently 300 don't either). It was a god movie, and I wish it didn't do so horribly at the box office. It was action packed and hilarious. Why the heck were the critics so harsh.
  9. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    The Lone Ranger is an absolutely fun summer movie starring Johnny Depp at his best it has lot of action combined with comedy that produces something enjoyable
  10. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    WTF is up with these critics. Seriously top entertainment here and they rate it an average of 3.7 These semi-intellectuals need to get their heads out of their asses and rate movies according to entertainment value. I had fun through the whole movie hence rating it a 10
  11. May 7, 2014
    10
    I loved every minute of it. The movie has a nice pace... seems many people are missing the point that is how The Lone Ranger became the legend that still is nowadays. How the story unfolds is wonderful. The climax is so amazing, that I was at the edge of my seat. A great adventure movie.
  12. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    A movie gets hated by critics by loved by me let me say the action the soundtrack and the whole style of the movie was great Johnny Depp shines a light as Tonto great with humour and Armie Hammer as the lone ranger he was good little stupid at times but still it just a movie the only downside to this is red just get her out of the film a together get if you like pirates 1 2 3 & 4 justA movie gets hated by critics by loved by me let me say the action the soundtrack and the whole style of the movie was great Johnny Depp shines a light as Tonto great with humour and Armie Hammer as the lone ranger he was good little stupid at times but still it just a movie the only downside to this is red just get her out of the film a together get if you like pirates 1 2 3 & 4 just leave this movie alone Collapse
  13. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    I can not believe the criticism about this movie was excellent mourn me laugh, and it was extremely fun the critics do not know watch movies today. they just want money
  14. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    To save this movie from the horrid reviews of critics, I felt the need to make a review myself, I promise I'll try to make it brief (this is my first review, mind you).

    Fist off, if you are an average person, then do NOT trust the critics' review on this one. The Lone Ranger is an entertaining, and action-packed adaptation from the mid-50's television show. I wouldn't say this would be
    To save this movie from the horrid reviews of critics, I felt the need to make a review myself, I promise I'll try to make it brief (this is my first review, mind you).

    Fist off, if you are an average person, then do NOT trust the critics' review on this one. The Lone Ranger is an entertaining, and action-packed adaptation from the mid-50's television show. I wouldn't say this would be a "family" movie, considering all of the brief, but disturbing content.

    I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, and couldn't be happier to go to the movies. I was, however, a bit surprised at how long the running time was (not including credits). The Lone Ranger is one of my favorite Disney movies to date. Heck, it's one of my favorite movies in general. An all-round fun and exciting movie.
    Expand
  15. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This surprised me. A wild unpredictable ride worth taking. Finally a big blockbuster that is mindful of the craft at hand and allows you to enjoy the quest while not entirely ignoring historical injustices. Enjoy!
  16. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This movie was entertaining from start to finish I laughed until I cried. In my opinion, Depp is a modern day Chaplin. It was spectacular. I am glad I did not read the critics reviews before I attended the film.
  17. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This Movie was really Good so entertaining i dont understand why critics are giving negative reviews maybe they hate being entetained Johnny Depp is Perfect as always i think it's one of his best Armie Hammer is surprisingly good the movie has some great western and action moments that it's really hard to not enjoy so if you want to have some fun go and watch it as soon as possible
  18. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    "The Lone Ranger" is a perfect summer Movie i enjoyed watching it even though screenplay wasn't that strong but the movie doesnt fail to entertain you
  19. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    What a great movie. Enjoyable time with my 13 year-old daughter.

    The media and professional movie critics wouldn't know how to be entertained if it hit them in the face.

    Fun afternoon out on a 4th of July. Take the entire family. Enjoy yourselves by seeing The Lone Ranger. Tell your friends, we did...
  20. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Love, love, LOVE it!!! Didn't want it to end. Armie stole the show, which I didn't expect. Johnny gave an amazing performance also. The audience burst into enthusiastic applause at the end. Great fun!!!
  21. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece!! Epic!! Perfection!!!! One of the best live action films ever made!!! Do not listen to anyone and watch it!!!! You will really enjoy it!!!!
  22. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Very, very entertaining film for the whole family. (Not for little tykes under 7, though.) We took our 3 boys, aged 9, 13, and 14 to see this movie and for a change, all of them enjoyed it. Not easy to find a film that appeals to this range of ages. I also loved this movie and will willingly see it again. Very good story, excellent acting, and worth the price of admission. I am gladVery, very entertaining film for the whole family. (Not for little tykes under 7, though.) We took our 3 boys, aged 9, 13, and 14 to see this movie and for a change, all of them enjoyed it. Not easy to find a film that appeals to this range of ages. I also loved this movie and will willingly see it again. Very good story, excellent acting, and worth the price of admission. I am glad though, that it's not in 3D, which is becoming a gimmick when used in films that don't need that to be visually stimulating. This film is has stunning visuals of Monument Valley. Another of the things that amazed me the most were not the explosions or the finely executed train sequences, but the amazing make up done on all the actors, from Johnny Depp's "Tonto" face paint to William Fichtner's "Butch Cavendish" split lip and stringy hair to Helena Bonham Carter's "Red" and her ivory leg (it's been in trailers, so not a spoiler, I think). This is not a comedy, nor is it a "dram-edy", but all around entertaining. The thing I noticed most about Depp's performance was that there was nothing he did that reminded me of Captain Jack in his mannerisms and I have watched the first 3 Pirate movies many times with my kids. Sure, there are nods to Pirates and even a few of Johnny's other movies if you catch the references. I caught a couple of them. As always, Depp gives a fabulous performance and I think his new Comanche family is proud of his portrayal. Tonto, though damaged, is first and foremost a warrior and is the smart one of the duo. That crow became less of a distraction as well. It wasn't just a headpiece. I also can't say enough good things about the 6'3" Armie Hammer who plays the title character. He's perfect and a good straight man to Depp's sometimes mischievous Tonto. I didn't find any of the humor to be dumbed-down or just for cheap laughs. Nice to watch a film with out any fart jokes.
    In conclusion, I am one of those people that grew up watching the TV show and I must say, this does it justice. Hi-yo, Silver! Away!
    Note: As I began my review, I had rated this an 8 and changed to to a 10 by the end.
    Expand
  23. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Went to a matinee by myself first as I wasn't expecting much based on the horrendous reviews. Wow, was I surprised: fabulous, fun-filled, entertaining film! Convinced my daughter & son-in-law to see it last night; we all had a great time. Getting a bad feeling, though, about the way the reviews for this rolled out. Many could not even claim to be informative. They were just viciousWent to a matinee by myself first as I wasn't expecting much based on the horrendous reviews. Wow, was I surprised: fabulous, fun-filled, entertaining film! Convinced my daughter & son-in-law to see it last night; we all had a great time. Getting a bad feeling, though, about the way the reviews for this rolled out. Many could not even claim to be informative. They were just vicious attacks. What's going on? Expand
  24. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    I think the critics saw the wrong movie. This is action packed, beautifully filmed with great touches of humor. Depp gracefully steps aside to let Armie and Silver steal the movie. And do they ever! Do not listen to critics, this is the best summer movie you could possibly see! Hi Ho Silver!! The bad guys are wonderful done, scenery is breathtaking, and not a moment that isn't memorable!!!I think the critics saw the wrong movie. This is action packed, beautifully filmed with great touches of humor. Depp gracefully steps aside to let Armie and Silver steal the movie. And do they ever! Do not listen to critics, this is the best summer movie you could possibly see! Hi Ho Silver!! The bad guys are wonderful done, scenery is breathtaking, and not a moment that isn't memorable!!! I am a movie lover. And this is great summer film making!!! Expand
  25. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    This movie is terrific. Very entertaining and it was not at all boring. The action, humor and scenery is fantastic. Do not let the professional reviews keep you from seeing it. I intend to see it again and buy the video. The placement of William Tell Overture was thrilling.
  26. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    Sorry don't need some critics telling me what to see and if I will like a movie or not! It was great and have seen it 3 times and will go back; thanks Disney, Jerry, Gore, Johnny and Armie for a fun 2 1/2 hours of entertainment!
  27. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    One of Johnny Depp's best movies without a doubt everything about this movie is great it's so enjoyable and fun it's easily one of my favorite movies
  28. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    LOVE LOVE LOVE this movie, and I never buy dvd's, or go to the movies twice, but I will and I did. My husband and my 10 year old loved it to. I recommend it to everyone. GREAT JOB DISNEY!!!! GREAT JOB JOHNNY DEPP, you both did something that I believe is movie making history. You educated, entertained, made me laugh, made me sad. GO SEE IT, NOW! Oh and I NEVER write reviews, but had toLOVE LOVE LOVE this movie, and I never buy dvd's, or go to the movies twice, but I will and I did. My husband and my 10 year old loved it to. I recommend it to everyone. GREAT JOB DISNEY!!!! GREAT JOB JOHNNY DEPP, you both did something that I believe is movie making history. You educated, entertained, made me laugh, made me sad. GO SEE IT, NOW! Oh and I NEVER write reviews, but had to stick up for this one. Expand
  29. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    I saw this movie on the 4th. Theater was full. I still watch reruns of the original Lone Ranger on digital TV. The new Lone Ranger is not a remake. It is a a NEW movie about the Lone Ranger, story told by Tonto. I thought that was clever. This is a Disney movie, well made, entertaining. Isn't that what movies are all about? Johnny Depp was again at his best Armie Hammer so so, butI saw this movie on the 4th. Theater was full. I still watch reruns of the original Lone Ranger on digital TV. The new Lone Ranger is not a remake. It is a a NEW movie about the Lone Ranger, story told by Tonto. I thought that was clever. This is a Disney movie, well made, entertaining. Isn't that what movies are all about? Johnny Depp was again at his best Armie Hammer so so, but very good looking I took my 4 1/2 old granddaughter and she got the humor laughed and liked Tonto. She made a comment about how this movie was like Rango. Even a 4 year old knows about the wild, wild west. Brilliant child! Lots of gunfights, yeah, people get shot and die but hello its how it happened back then. IF they didn't put it in then the critics would say it wasnt true to how it was. I don't consider it violent. I've seen cartoons where they get shot. The critics suck not the movie! They get more attention for themselves if they give a negative review. Expand
  30. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    We went to see the Lone Ranger again. I liked it more the second time. The different emotions it envokes through out the movie, is a wide range and lots of laughter.
  31. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    its a good Disney movie actually the best so far i went and thought it was going to suck but it didn't its really good its 2 hrs and 1/2 best one ive seen
  32. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    for some weird reason the critics are saying this movie is not funny and un entertaining when i went to watch this movie and there was a funny scene everyone started laughing and at the end everyone was talking about how good it was, this movie is very funny and entertaining and probably one of the better movies that are going on right now
  33. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    This was a very cool movie, an do loved it very much. I have always loved the lone ranger, and armie played him very well. Johnny depp also portrayed to to quite well. Tis movie satisfied me very well and I hope there will be a sequel equally as good.
  34. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    I've been an an avid movie goer for several decades now and usually go to see 95% of everything that gets produced by Hollywood and the Europeans even the genres I do not personally like such as rowdy teenage sex comedies and slasher movies... I have seen the Ranger two times by now and what still surprises me is this unexpected, almost involuntary delight that filled me as soon as theI've been an an avid movie goer for several decades now and usually go to see 95% of everything that gets produced by Hollywood and the Europeans even the genres I do not personally like such as rowdy teenage sex comedies and slasher movies... I have seen the Ranger two times by now and what still surprises me is this unexpected, almost involuntary delight that filled me as soon as the movie started and made me smile all the way through until the very end, on the one hand, and mass demonization of a great movie by each one of those 13.5 constipated critics, on the other hand. I can understand if you didn't like a complex message of the movie, a different image of your idol heroes, violent undertones of the background story, too much conversation vs non-stop action that we come to expect after seeing all those never ending super-action flicks, even if you secretly never liked Johhny Depp after all, but COME ON! Looking at the critics ratings on this site including, you might think it's the worst movie among those listed... Let me tell you that I HAVE seen almost all of those and in my opinion only a couple of them come close to the level of quality Ranger has. I'll tell you why. 1) Ranger was made by a talented team of Verbinski, Depp and the crew who publicly admitted it was not just one of those sequels they were aiming to produce. It was an important and challenging job for all of them and they invested their talent, skills and vision into the movie on the level they had not done for a long time. It clearly shows and powers the spiritual strength of the movie's magic atmosphere that grabs you tight and carries you through the movie making you an emotional participant in every piece of action. Audiences get so drawn in, that they talk to the characters aloud, cry out in joy and despair and regularly applaud Tinto, Ranger, Silver and hiss at Butch. Apart from kid's movies, I could not remember ever seeing such a reaction from the audience. That in itself is a characteristic of an authentic piece of art. 2) It is one of the most beautiful, heartfelt, sad, funny, smart, disconcerting, train crashing and mind-blowing movies this year. When did you see such an impossible combination last? How on earth did they do that, all I want to know. 3) It's a new look at the genre of a western, you might even say Verbinksi and Depp created a new genre, a western with multi-layered contents, funny characters and jaw dropping action scenes. As far as I could understand this is what the so-called critics found especially irritating. An unusual combination, but since when has a new take on the old model become an artistic weakness, not a strength? It works wonderfully and leaves you just amazed by the scope of the design and implementation skill. 3) It's a device of intellectual depth but it does not feel intellectual. It feels popcorn, easy-going, laugh- out-loud and gasp at the action entertainment. Which it certainly is. God bless the creators for such a unique movie going experience. Under-appreciated or not, a good movie never gets forgotten by the grateful spectators!! Expand
  35. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    The Lone Ranger...hated by critics...loved my me!
    If you like Johnny Depp you will like this movie, if you liked the Pirates of the Caribbean, you will like this movie. Granted, Johnny Depp is not Jay Silverheels and Armie Hammer is not Clayton Moore. Although I watch the TV series faithfully as a child, I believe I enjoyed Johnny Depp's adaptation of Tonto better,, his is strange,, but
    The Lone Ranger...hated by critics...loved my me!
    If you like Johnny Depp you will like this movie, if you liked the Pirates of the Caribbean, you will like this movie. Granted, Johnny Depp is not Jay Silverheels and Armie Hammer is not Clayton Moore. Although I watch the TV series faithfully as a child, I believe I enjoyed Johnny Depp's adaptation of Tonto better,, his is strange,, but he does make me laugh.
    If you want a few laughs, and perhaps some "near" tears, go check out The Lone Ranger. Forget what the critics say...give it a try.
    Expand
  36. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    What a way to politically correct a film, Amazing what came with the PG-13 rating. A fully engaging movie. I think Disney did a good job with its stars but I almost skipped the movie because of the explicit use of Jonny Depp in their movies and this looked like a what if pirates of the Caribbean meets the desert version of pirates of the Caribbean.
  37. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I and everyone I know loved this movie, no matter what their age. Some even put it in their top ten. It was funny, well acted, informative (sad to remind people that Native Americans were treated exactly like that by both the greedy 'railroad people' and the military), exciting and all around entertaining. I and the rest of the audience laughed at so much of the creative dialogue. KudosI and everyone I know loved this movie, no matter what their age. Some even put it in their top ten. It was funny, well acted, informative (sad to remind people that Native Americans were treated exactly like that by both the greedy 'railroad people' and the military), exciting and all around entertaining. I and the rest of the audience laughed at so much of the creative dialogue. Kudos to the writers. I had read about it being 'boring' mid movie. It never happened. The professional critics expected it to be the old radio or TV series rehashed. Fortunately, it is not. It was a new, wonderful, all around enjoyable movie. PLEASE let there be a sequel... Expand
  38. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    "McCabe & Mrs. Miller" was panned by some critics (most notably at first Judith Crist) and had its champions like Pauline Kael. Now, over forty years since its release, this Western was my favorite of all time. Now it is a close second. "The Lone Ranger" is that good. Why critics panned the movie, including it is too long, is beyond me. It needed the last thirty minutes. When you see it"McCabe & Mrs. Miller" was panned by some critics (most notably at first Judith Crist) and had its champions like Pauline Kael. Now, over forty years since its release, this Western was my favorite of all time. Now it is a close second. "The Lone Ranger" is that good. Why critics panned the movie, including it is too long, is beyond me. It needed the last thirty minutes. When you see it you will have no question about that.

    So it is that this marvelous imaginary Western takes its place as the story of how The Lone Ranger began. And shows again that Johnny Depp has no peer in film today. Wistful, fascinating, making the viewer wonder where the Imax version is and why after so much spent the film was not shot in Imax (maybe it was), this movie is at the top technological film making. Not one breath is wasted. Not one effect. And not one piece of humor.

    So truly authentic you can imagine if you ever heard "Hi Yo, Silver! Away!" that this was the first it was said.

    A pure 10. Do not miss this movie.
    Expand
  39. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Hate to disagree, but this movie is a finely tuned work of art. It puts together the best elements of this story and adds in some historical significance of how Native Americans were treated during that sad part of our country's history. Plus, there has been some excellent attention to details like Native American humor and Native American perspective. Of course it is a fairy tale, but itHate to disagree, but this movie is a finely tuned work of art. It puts together the best elements of this story and adds in some historical significance of how Native Americans were treated during that sad part of our country's history. Plus, there has been some excellent attention to details like Native American humor and Native American perspective. Of course it is a fairy tale, but it has all of the beauty of the best tales as well as great action, human drama, hilarious comedy, and a very good 'moral of the story'.

    Uneducated critics like Mick LaSalle have no business critiquing a fine film like this. They just don't have the knowledge or the sense to understand anything above the level of Hangover part III.
    Expand
  40. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    The Lone Ranger is an awesome movie that do what it suppose to do, entratain. Even being a 2.5 hours movie it does not feel like it as its filled with great action and fun moment. Armie Hammer has been totally underrated on his films but he does a great job as an action/humor actor.

    The lone ranger it's something like Pirates of the Caribbean on trains, only with likable characters and
    The Lone Ranger is an awesome movie that do what it suppose to do, entratain. Even being a 2.5 hours movie it does not feel like it as its filled with great action and fun moment. Armie Hammer has been totally underrated on his films but he does a great job as an action/humor actor.

    The lone ranger it's something like Pirates of the Caribbean on trains, only with likable characters and awesome comedy. You will love the three main characters (Lone Ranger, Tonto and Silver) as they do a match made in heaven. Will be waiting for the Home release of this film.
    Expand
  41. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    I genuinely really enjoyed this movie. One of the most enjoyable and touching films I have seen in a long time. Johnny Depp was spectacular. There was always something happening behind his eyes and straight from the get go, the first time you see him on screen for this film you know youll be in for a touching journey.

    Johnny Depps character shares only a few traits similiar to Jack
    I genuinely really enjoyed this movie. One of the most enjoyable and touching films I have seen in a long time. Johnny Depp was spectacular. There was always something happening behind his eyes and straight from the get go, the first time you see him on screen for this film you know youll be in for a touching journey.

    Johnny Depps character shares only a few traits similiar to Jack Sparrow but the characters are completely different.

    I liked this film so much I looked up the Johnny Depp interviews for this. That's when I noticed all the bad reviews.

    I have never seen the original Lone Ranger so I have nothing to compare this to. I believe this may be where alot of people are being swayed with how they feel.

    As seen with many Johnny Depp roles, he brings his own flavour and spice to the role. He unapologetically brings his own version of the character to life.

    I have never reviewed a movie before but I liked this movie enough that I created an account so I could write a review and have my say. The Lone Ranger is a great movie, lay down any expectations of how you want it to be like the original TV Series decades ago and sit back and enjoy a really enjoyable and touching film.

    Watch it for yourself ignore the critics and form your own opinion.
    Expand
  42. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    The Lone Ranger deserved better ratings and comments than what it got. It was funny and had a lot of action. Everyone is against the idea of Johnny Depp playing tonto here i think he did a hell of a job playing the role. JD brought humor and whit into the movie which made it watchable.
  43. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    The lone Ranger Is Great and wonderful film and the dialog is sharp, and humorous, the special effects are very good
    I don't know why the critics are negative
  44. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    i went into this film blind as I had no idea of the critical reviews or box offices losses. All I can say is that I really enjoyed this movie and it was exactly what I expected like the Mummy and Pirates and Raiders franchises. Immediately after watching it I checked to see if there were sequels in the works. I give it a ten for delivering exactly what it promised.
  45. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Critics are haters. They're like blood-thirsty vampires. They feed on negative energy. This movie was actually very good, and I loved watching Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer working together as a team. The film is not nearly as bad as critics suggest, even though I have a few objections over the cannibalism and sexual undertones the movie had, since kids might have been watching. However,Critics are haters. They're like blood-thirsty vampires. They feed on negative energy. This movie was actually very good, and I loved watching Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer working together as a team. The film is not nearly as bad as critics suggest, even though I have a few objections over the cannibalism and sexual undertones the movie had, since kids might have been watching. However, there are also some very humorous scenes between Depp and Hammer in the movie. Overall, I enjoyed this movie and hope there will be a sequel, though it seems unlikely. I would purchase this movie on DVD, as it very good.

    If you liked this review, read my other work and mark this as helpful.
    Expand
  46. woo
    Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This film is very good. It is as good as when you see Pirates of the Caribbean for the first time. The main characters are easy to relate to. The action scenes are quite amazing.and the story line keeps you going.. Perfect cinema fodder
  47. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This film was fantastic! It perfectly captured what I liked best about the old TV show. The Lone Ranger is a condescending ass that Tonto and Silver have to save time and again. It becomes and inside joke that we the audience are in on. Why do they keep helping him despite his "better than you" attitude. Because his heart is in the right place. Tonto is wise, patient and witty.This film was fantastic! It perfectly captured what I liked best about the old TV show. The Lone Ranger is a condescending ass that Tonto and Silver have to save time and again. It becomes and inside joke that we the audience are in on. Why do they keep helping him despite his "better than you" attitude. Because his heart is in the right place. Tonto is wise, patient and witty. Johnny Depp was excellent in the role. Expand
  48. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Critics are haters. They're like blood-thirsty vampires. They feed on negative energy. This movie was actually very good, and I loved watching Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer working together as a team. The film is not nearly as bad as critics suggest, even though I have a few objections over the cannibalism and sexual undertones the movie had, since kids might have been watching. However,Critics are haters. They're like blood-thirsty vampires. They feed on negative energy. This movie was actually very good, and I loved watching Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer working together as a team. The film is not nearly as bad as critics suggest, even though I have a few objections over the cannibalism and sexual undertones the movie had, since kids might have been watching. However, there are also some very humorous scenes between Depp and Hammer in the movie. Overall, I enjoyed this movie and hope there will be a sequel, though it seems unlikely. I would purchase this movie on DVD, as it very good.

    (P.S, you may have seen this review by me before under "andrewgarcia732". I can't get into my old account and have started a new one.)

    If you liked this review, read my other reviews by clicking on my name and mark this review as helpful.
    Expand
  49. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    great movie,i was smiling and laughing with the kids in the theatre all the time,some of my friends saw the negative reviews and were sceptical,but they changed their opinion after seeing it.
    this movie is definetly worth checking out!!
  50. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This movie is a tribute to childhood afternoons spent watching westerns, and then playing outside with cap guns and cowboy hats, and as such I think it succeeds perfectly. I think that it perfectly captures the spirit of those old cowboy shows, while being smart enough to also poke a bit of fun at them, but earnest enough to also capture that childhood magic. You can fully expect aThis movie is a tribute to childhood afternoons spent watching westerns, and then playing outside with cap guns and cowboy hats, and as such I think it succeeds perfectly. I think that it perfectly captures the spirit of those old cowboy shows, while being smart enough to also poke a bit of fun at them, but earnest enough to also capture that childhood magic. You can fully expect a six-shot revolver to never run out of bullets until it is dramatically convenient for it to do so, a faithful horse that will magically appear at just the right place and time when its needed (um, even if that means showing up "Santa Claus style"),villains with the blackest of hearts, and at least one overly gratuitous exploration of the "ricochet" concept. If you're looking for a "grown up", "mature" re-telling of "The Lone Ranger" then forget it; this is a celebration of childhood, of everything that was great and awful in those old cowboy shows. So put your cynical, grown-up, critic goggles away, grab a bag of peanuts, and just enjoy the show! Expand
  51. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    Çizgi filmine hem hikaye hem de ortam olarak sadık kalınmış ve ortaya uzun ama çok güzel bir film çıkmış , devamı da gelecek muhtemelen. kısacası hala izlemeyenler varsa bir şekilde izleyin tavsiye ederim.
  52. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    We Get To See A Nation of Thieves At Work! While the Lone Ranger succeeds in maintaining a great sense of humor throughout, and never takes it's self too seriously, this film is still able to convey some incredibly powerful messages that need to resonate with more people.

    This brilliant story makes it clear as crystal: the Crimes Against Humanity, otherwise known as acts of genocide,
    We Get To See A Nation of Thieves At Work! While the Lone Ranger succeeds in maintaining a great sense of humor throughout, and never takes it's self too seriously, this film is still able to convey some incredibly powerful messages that need to resonate with more people.

    This brilliant story makes it clear as crystal: the Crimes Against Humanity, otherwise known as acts of genocide, committed in the 19th century in the name of "Progress" and "Greed and/or Capitalism" continues to benefit all non-American Indians to this very day! It was a shocking revelation! I never thought of this legacy of undeserved benefit at the cost of countless innocent lives had anything to do with me!

    Our ancestors were a nation of thieves! Hello! Most Americans are descended From European cultures that practically worship property rights and most of us still do! Yet our ancestors would kill entire villages of native people without a second thought in order to steal their land and/or their natural resources! All because they knew they could get away with their crimes without ever being held the least bit accountable by anyone!

    There's several episodes of intense violence in the Lone Ranger that made me feel like bolting out the theater door! I have extensive knowledge of American history and the historically accurate violence shown in this film caught me totally off-guard! (See: "North American Indian Timeline, 1492-1999," from thelatinlibraryorg)

    What makes matters even more painful is that in various parts of the world the killing of native peoples in order to steal their land and/or natural resources is still going on today! Yes! Today! (See: Survival International, headquartered in London, England with a chapter in San Fransisco; and Cultural Survival located in Cambridge, Massachusetts.)

    This story is really about Tonto and his people the Comanche, not the Lone Ranger! Without Tonto, the Lone Ranger would have remained an easily deceived, bumbling fool!
    Expand
  53. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    The Lone Ranger seems to me very misunderstood.I love this film so much,it has great visual effects,cast and score.What more could you ask for ? Also let's not forget the very good and strong story line that absolutely keeps you invested on the movie until the very end.And the action is great too,especially one particular scene in the end that is very awesome.
    I still can't see how people
    The Lone Ranger seems to me very misunderstood.I love this film so much,it has great visual effects,cast and score.What more could you ask for ? Also let's not forget the very good and strong story line that absolutely keeps you invested on the movie until the very end.And the action is great too,especially one particular scene in the end that is very awesome.
    I still can't see how people keep on hating on this film just because it didn't make billions at Box Office.Not every movie has to be successful at making money to be considered a good movie.
    Expand
  54. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    Having seen how the critics trashed this movie I was expecting the worst. Wow did they ever get it wrong. To me it was the ultimate, thrilling Saturday morning western I remember seeing as a kid. Of course it was over the top and absurd in places it was meant to be because it was such a glorious homage to this genre. Don't be put off by over-intellectualizing critics. It's a blast.
  55. May 11, 2014
    9
    I understand why critics don't like this movie: It mixes legend with comedy. Legends are supposed to be serious, and comedy an incidental, momentary intermix if allowed at all. Another movie, also a western, that moved the needle way over to comedy was "Wild Wild West" (1999), which was criticized for many of the same reasons. More troubling for "The Lone Ranger" is that Tonto, theI understand why critics don't like this movie: It mixes legend with comedy. Legends are supposed to be serious, and comedy an incidental, momentary intermix if allowed at all. Another movie, also a western, that moved the needle way over to comedy was "Wild Wild West" (1999), which was criticized for many of the same reasons. More troubling for "The Lone Ranger" is that Tonto, the most serious and taciturn character in the original Long Ranger legend, is now the main protagonist and jokester. And on top of that is the magical conversation between an ancient Tonto and a child, which arguably was dispensable to the plot. All of this is not what the audience expected. Does that mean it's bad? Is it fundamentally flawed, the way some people feel about opera (or Broadway musicals)?

    The answer is no. You just have to lose your expectations as soon as Tonto starts messing with that kid, and sign on for the ride. From then on, it's a clever and engaging story, great characters, plenty of legendary good guys, bad guys and justice, and some spectacular action sequences, capped off by the magnificent one that begins with a full orchestra blasting that unforgettable Lone Ranger theme for a long, wild ride. As one old enough to remember being instantly mesmerized into suspension of disbelief by that theme on the radio as a kid, it lifted me right out of my chair. Hi-yo, Silver, away! I loved it.
    Expand
  56. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    Was a very good movie for sure. I think that the critics get very harsh on movies like this because they are more niche movies that won't appeal to every moviegoer but instead are very well spaced and have a good amount of humor in them.

    Obviously with Johnny Depp in this movie you see a lot of that recurring humor that you see in a lot of his movies. It is very well spaced and it
    Was a very good movie for sure. I think that the critics get very harsh on movies like this because they are more niche movies that won't appeal to every moviegoer but instead are very well spaced and have a good amount of humor in them.

    Obviously with Johnny Depp in this movie you see a lot of that recurring humor that you see in a lot of his movies. It is very well spaced and it doesn't seem like they are overdoing it.

    The acting, as stated, is very good. I believe that not enough can be said of the way Depp plays his part, and I believe that the story relating to the mistreatment of Native Americans has been very well written. The truth is we as a country were founded on hating these people and I believe it shows in this movie that they had a Native American on site to help them with historical portrayals.

    I know that my review is very spread out and might not be super informational but I just have to say that if you are a fan of Depp movies, such as Dark Shadows then you will most certainly like this movie.
    Expand
  57. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    This was just an entertaining, turn the mind off kind of movie. The acting was good, the pacing was great. Just don't think about it and enjoy the fun and you will like the movie. If you are expecting an Oscar contender don't go.
  58. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    The Lone Ranger is the best movie of 2013 (so far). If the kid inside you is still alive, just ignore all the negative critics and enjoy the great movie.
  59. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    Great movie. I swear to god reviewers are trash..if it's not Oscar-bait they call it trash and people latch on to the reviews which just aren't made for us. It's a fun, summer, action movie made Disney style and it does it's job very well. If you can't handle that then the movie isn't for you but it has lots of great action sequences, memorable characters and some very funny parts.
    You
    Great movie. I swear to god reviewers are trash..if it's not Oscar-bait they call it trash and people latch on to the reviews which just aren't made for us. It's a fun, summer, action movie made Disney style and it does it's job very well. If you can't handle that then the movie isn't for you but it has lots of great action sequences, memorable characters and some very funny parts.
    You have to take into account critics have their own individual taste for things like we all do but they do it with a gigantic oscar statue shaped plug up their butt. It's like prominent criticsjust pick and choose movies to jeer(and I think Bruckheimer is a big target for the way they make their movies) and then all smaller subsidiary review sites look at them and say the same thing for fear they're not doing their job right. I can't believe critics who hated this film are praising Pacific Rim..a wholly unoriginal concept and not a remarkably well-done movie.

    There needs to be a way where real people who like mainstream things can let our opinions be recognized more than just a user section on review sites. Make decisions for yourselves sometimes people..don't wait for artsy fartsy turds to give you their opinion..if it seems like you might like it then give it a try..I'm sure you blow money on much worse things.
    Expand
  60. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    While not the best movie ever, this movie was definitely better than the composite metacritic score. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it and my wife not being the biggest sci-fi, action, fantasy type fan said we will have to get it on dvd. It was 2-1/2 hours long and didn't seem that long, was a good story and a good popcorn flick bringing you back to the adventurous 80s style moviesWhile not the best movie ever, this movie was definitely better than the composite metacritic score. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it and my wife not being the biggest sci-fi, action, fantasy type fan said we will have to get it on dvd. It was 2-1/2 hours long and didn't seem that long, was a good story and a good popcorn flick bringing you back to the adventurous 80s style movies that was 75% action and 25% plot. Would see it again. Expand
  61. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    I actually went to a sneak preview showing last night with my wife and we both REALLY liked it. It's mostly a drama with some action and a little comedy. People go in expecting one thing and review it harshly when it doesn't deliver the movie they imagined. Well I thought the mix was enjoyable and I can't wait for a sequel. Parents with kids, a word of caution, a lot of people getI actually went to a sneak preview showing last night with my wife and we both REALLY liked it. It's mostly a drama with some action and a little comedy. People go in expecting one thing and review it harshly when it doesn't deliver the movie they imagined. Well I thought the mix was enjoyable and I can't wait for a sequel. Parents with kids, a word of caution, a lot of people get killed and there is some other gore as well. This is a more serious movie than Pirates of the Caribbean but I don't think that is a bad thing. Expand
  62. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    It's very 'Pirates' but that's not a bad thing as I was obviously highly entertained Visually there is plenty here to keep you amused and thanks to characters like Depp and Hammer you are never bored. As long as you keep reminding yourself not to take it too seriously you should enjoy this movie like I did. It is probably a little longer than it should be but other than that there isIt's very 'Pirates' but that's not a bad thing as I was obviously highly entertained Visually there is plenty here to keep you amused and thanks to characters like Depp and Hammer you are never bored. As long as you keep reminding yourself not to take it too seriously you should enjoy this movie like I did. It is probably a little longer than it should be but other than that there is little to pick on what is pretty much nothing but a fun ride of a film! Expand
  63. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Anyone who does not enjoy this movie has no appreciation for the essence of a "Summer Blockbuster". I can only assume that the critics went into it expecting a re-boot of Clayton Moore and Jay Silverheel's classic t.v. interpretation of the 1933 radio show. Clearly it is not that. The movies is the legend told through the eyes of an aging, and possibly senile, Tonto. Accept that premiseAnyone who does not enjoy this movie has no appreciation for the essence of a "Summer Blockbuster". I can only assume that the critics went into it expecting a re-boot of Clayton Moore and Jay Silverheel's classic t.v. interpretation of the 1933 radio show. Clearly it is not that. The movies is the legend told through the eyes of an aging, and possibly senile, Tonto. Accept that premise and you will thoroughly enjoy Johnny Depp's portrayal of the iconic sidekick. The critics have it wrong folks, this is a classic. Expand
  64. Jan 19, 2015
    9
    Um dos melhores filmes da Disney,Gore Verbinsky tem grandes êxitos feito,porém apenas três foram reconhecidos Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse Of The Black Pearl 2003,The Ring 2002 e Rango 2011,deveriam reconhece The Mexican 2001,Pirates of the Caribbean 2: Dead Man's Chest 2006 e The Lone Ranger embora Pirates of the Caribbean 3:At Worlds End 2007 seja ótimo também.
    Um filme
    Um dos melhores filmes da Disney,Gore Verbinsky tem grandes êxitos feito,porém apenas três foram reconhecidos Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse Of The Black Pearl 2003,The Ring 2002 e Rango 2011,deveriam reconhece The Mexican 2001,Pirates of the Caribbean 2: Dead Man's Chest 2006 e The Lone Ranger embora Pirates of the Caribbean 3:At Worlds End 2007 seja ótimo também.
    Um filme incompreendido ou "fodido" de propósito por causa das polêmicas críticas de Johnny Depp sobre os EUA.
    Confesso em certas partes o filme falha,mas é um dos filmes mais divertidos de assistir,grandes cenas de ação muito engraçado,escrito,e atuado Créditos aos brilhantes roteiristas Ted Elliot e Terry Rossio,e Créditos a atuações de Armie Hammer,Johnny Depp,William Fitchner e Tom Wilkinson.
    Excelente Filme!!!
    Expand
  65. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    Gore Verbinski, Johny Depp, Jerry Bucheimer creates the Pirates magic in West! Action packed, Entertaining and a Wonderful Journey of 2 and half hrs. Believe me, you will want for more. Johnny Depp is simply amazing!
  66. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    Great summer movie. Lots of action, very funny and beautiful visually. Depp and Hammer make a wonderful "Odd Couple." There's so much here, so many layers of meaning.
  67. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    GREAT Movie, very entertaining, highly recommend and can;t wait to see it again Acting was great, the scenery was beautiful,the music was great. The time seemed to fly by. Fun Fun Fun
  68. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    Classic comedic western with the fantastic sarcasm of johnny Depp. It was everything i had hoped. Really can't understand the bad reviews by the critics really makes you wonder if they were paid off. There is so much garbage out there, not sure why they picked on this movie. Ignore them.
  69. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Don't believe the harsh critics- this was a great summer film! Its main flaw is that it is a bit too long, but there is plenty of entertainment to carry the audience along. Armie and Johnny have great chemistry together, and it's clear they had a ball. William Fichtner is a perfect villain. Many of the reviews criticize the film for not knowing whether to be serious or funny- this isDon't believe the harsh critics- this was a great summer film! Its main flaw is that it is a bit too long, but there is plenty of entertainment to carry the audience along. Armie and Johnny have great chemistry together, and it's clear they had a ball. William Fichtner is a perfect villain. Many of the reviews criticize the film for not knowing whether to be serious or funny- this is ridiculous as it's possible to go for some laughs while carrying a more serious message underneath, and I think this film has done that brilliantly. The trailers I saw before this film are all the cookie-cutter comic book heroes and fighting robots; it's great to have an alternative with horses and trains for a change. Expand
  70. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Saw in a full theater. Audience responded with appropriate laughter, solemn attention and a round of applause at end. I loved it. Found the acting, sets, stunts, costumes amazing-the message profound. Nature will never be in balance with man present...Great film!
  71. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    My husband and I saw it yesterday and enjoyed it so much we went back and saw it again today. It's hilarious, full of action and surprise dialog (love the new definition of "kemosabe"). Some of the action gets pretty crazy like toward the end of Mel Brooks' Blazing Saddles; great fun to watch. Beautiful scenery. Though the story is in Texas, it was shot in Monument Valley, AZ; and partsMy husband and I saw it yesterday and enjoyed it so much we went back and saw it again today. It's hilarious, full of action and surprise dialog (love the new definition of "kemosabe"). Some of the action gets pretty crazy like toward the end of Mel Brooks' Blazing Saddles; great fun to watch. Beautiful scenery. Though the story is in Texas, it was shot in Monument Valley, AZ; and parts of Utah, New Mexico and California. Perhaps the actor chosen wasn't politically correct, but lighten up. It's a great fun comedy. Expand
  72. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    How could the critics get The Lone Ranger so wrong. They should hang their heads in shame. This is the most heartfelt movie of the summer and one of the most interesting films of the year. It balances action and fun with a serious, and fairly bitter commentary, of big business and the plight of native Americans something you would expect from an indie movie not a $200 million DisneyHow could the critics get The Lone Ranger so wrong. They should hang their heads in shame. This is the most heartfelt movie of the summer and one of the most interesting films of the year. It balances action and fun with a serious, and fairly bitter commentary, of big business and the plight of native Americans something you would expect from an indie movie not a $200 million Disney blockbuster. Critics have mentioned echoes of The General (and Buster Keaton is definitely an inspiration for Johnny Depp's take on Tonto) but the real touchstone is The Missouri Breaks with Depp's hero Marlon Brando another film that was panned for it's mixture of whimsy and brutality. (Tonto talking to Silver and baddie wearing bonnet are direct references to Missouri Breaks). If you want to see a summer film that is immensely entertaining but also has something on its mind then don't miss The Lone Ranger. The critics are a disgrace. Expand
  73. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed it! I feel like people made a great fuss over it being overly violent, which I was confused about, since this is Gore Verbinski, a director who typically makes very-adult children's films. I didn't think it was that violent at all.
    I think I'm a bit biased though because I am a big POTC and Johnny Depp fan and this was very much written/directed in that same style.
    But
    I really enjoyed it! I feel like people made a great fuss over it being overly violent, which I was confused about, since this is Gore Verbinski, a director who typically makes very-adult children's films. I didn't think it was that violent at all.
    I think I'm a bit biased though because I am a big POTC and Johnny Depp fan and this was very much written/directed in that same style.
    But definitely I feel like the critics are being overly harsh....
    Expand
  74. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    I was skeptic going in after reading all the critics reviews. They all need to lighten up a bit. My wife was sure she would not like it. We both enjoyed it very much. It did slow down in spots but if we are going to care about these characters we have to tell a story, it can't all be car chases and explosions. We laughed through the whole thing, very entertaining...i hope they make another.
  75. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    A very good movie with great action scenes and good buddy bonding. Johnny Depp is perfect as Tonto
    and Hammer is good as the title character, oozing goodness and naïveté but then transforming
    into a righteous man of Justice. Good supporting cast. Only criticism is that it's about 20 minutes
    to long. Don't listen to the professional critics, they're wrong.
  76. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    At first we didn't want to see The Lone Ranger because of the bad reviews. But our friends wanted to see it, so we went along. All four of us loved it! It had everything, adventure, love, good vs. evil, historical content ...but most of all humor and wit. Johnny Depp was wonderful as Tonto. All four of us loved the movie and recommend it to all. Don't listen to the critics....decideAt first we didn't want to see The Lone Ranger because of the bad reviews. But our friends wanted to see it, so we went along. All four of us loved it! It had everything, adventure, love, good vs. evil, historical content ...but most of all humor and wit. Johnny Depp was wonderful as Tonto. All four of us loved the movie and recommend it to all. Don't listen to the critics....decide for yourself! Expand
  77. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    I can't understand why this movie got so many rotten critic reviews. Because of those reviews, I had to have my arm twisted in order to see it, and, boy am I glad I saw it! It is a truly clever and funny movie, it never drags, and it has a strong ending. Easily my favorite movie of the year so far.
  78. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    This movie is funny and good.I can't believe the critics hate this movie I mean this movie is great especially If Johnny Depp is in the movie.
  79. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    This film was absolutely fantastic! Not only did the film appeal to children but to all audiences by its great use of mild gore, adventurous action and tasteful humor. From thrilling fight scenes to sad death scenes, the film has you feel a great range of emotions.

    This film is wrongly criticized by many critics, I cannot believe anyone has rated this film bellow an 8! it is a must
    This film was absolutely fantastic! Not only did the film appeal to children but to all audiences by its great use of mild gore, adventurous action and tasteful humor. From thrilling fight scenes to sad death scenes, the film has you feel a great range of emotions.

    This film is wrongly criticized by many critics, I cannot believe anyone has rated this film bellow an 8!

    it is a must watch film

    GO AND WATCH IT!
    Expand
  80. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    All though this movie was not perfect it certainly did not deserve to get banged up by a lot of critics and others who I feel are somewhat close minded.This is the kind of movie that appeals to people with a capability for abstract thinking and can accept entertainment which presents the unexpected.No, the Lone Ranger is not an Instant Hero and Tonto is not his servant.The plot does notAll though this movie was not perfect it certainly did not deserve to get banged up by a lot of critics and others who I feel are somewhat close minded.This is the kind of movie that appeals to people with a capability for abstract thinking and can accept entertainment which presents the unexpected.No, the Lone Ranger is not an Instant Hero and Tonto is not his servant.The plot does not always follow the linear direction that you would think.And the story told by the old Tonto is possibly that in his own mind just a story.But these are the things I liked about the movie and thoroughly enjoyed watching it at The Family Drive-in in Stephens City,VA with my wonderful wife,my awesome 5 month old son (who fell asleep on my chest before the movie even started) and a sky full of stars overhead.Add this one to my list of all time revisionist westerns and I am looking for more like it from this creative team. Expand
  81. Jan 21, 2014
    9
    How is this a bad movie? It is a great movie with action, humor and more. Johnny DEPP! That explains that it is a great movie. It is epic. Will beat dick sucking movies like HER>
  82. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    I sat down to watch this movie and said "ok let's see why the critics gave this movie such bad reviews" and at the end, I still didn't know why it got ripped apart. This movie is fantastic. The story is gripping and provides a lot of depth. Disney utilizes the 2.5hrs the way they should be. If this movie was an hour shorter, it would feel like a rushed and muddled mess but it takes it'sI sat down to watch this movie and said "ok let's see why the critics gave this movie such bad reviews" and at the end, I still didn't know why it got ripped apart. This movie is fantastic. The story is gripping and provides a lot of depth. Disney utilizes the 2.5hrs the way they should be. If this movie was an hour shorter, it would feel like a rushed and muddled mess but it takes it's time and at no points in this movie did I say "this is boring". I am a sucker for movies with well written stories and this one delivers. Every actor and actress is perfect for their role and the story doesn't take a back seat to a shoehorned in love story (which is always refreshing). The only reason I give this a 9 instead of 10 is because I think it would have been marginally better if the kid in the fair thing wasn't in there but The Lone Ranger in no way is a bad movie. Expand
  83. Jul 13, 2015
    9
    ....................................................Super Subestimado......................................... Pelos críticos ......... Imbecis................................. E fudido na blilheteria .............................. Pelo públicos imbecis ................. e ingratos
  84. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. Though it is no high-end film, by any stretch of the imagination, it's a whole lot of fun. The actors play their roles very well, and have excellent timing. Depp is utterly hilarious as Tonto, and plays off the more serious Ranger excellently. Go see it. It's exactly what a summer movie should be; fun, exciting, with laughs and gasps abound.
  85. Dec 9, 2014
    8
    Great entertainment. Not sure what the critics were looking for here, giving such low grades. Action, wonderful filming, love, Indians, guns, trains ... great pace and rhythm. Of course, if you are having a "deep" night, you better take a book or choose a different genre, that's all.
  86. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    Much like with his first Pirates of the Caribbean film, Gore Verbinski has roved that he is a master of both spectacle and story as The Lone Ranger is an unconventional yet exhilarating tale of reinvention and revenge. While returning home John Reid (Armie Hammer) meets Tonto (Johnny Depp) during a daring train jailbreak. When John is left for dead Tonto saves him and encourages him toMuch like with his first Pirates of the Caribbean film, Gore Verbinski has roved that he is a master of both spectacle and story as The Lone Ranger is an unconventional yet exhilarating tale of reinvention and revenge. While returning home John Reid (Armie Hammer) meets Tonto (Johnny Depp) during a daring train jailbreak. When John is left for dead Tonto saves him and encourages him to become something outside the law, to become a Lone Ranger. Much like Verbinski's previous effort Rango, The Lone Ranger is a twist on the conventional western and doesn't quite feel like a western at all. The Lone Ranger feels like a remarkably smart kids film as almost everything in the film happens for the sake of comedy as the film rockets along with a light hearted tone. However the film does have some disturbing moments that give John and Tonto their justifications for their vendetta meaning there are moments when the film doesn't feel like a 12A at all but a 15 meaning there are moments that may not be suitable for children, especially a rather twisted torture scene early on in the film. It's a courageous film that goes against the stereotypical western formula to become its own beast, a fast paced revenge thriller that boasts more comedy than the average buddy comedy and still has room for exploding trains, gunfights and romance. A film that is trying to be spectacular and look incredible and despite a slow opening it pretty much achieves everything it sets out to do and more. Expand
  87. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    This is a summer popcorn movie, the kind best seen as a matinee or, like I did, at the drive in. Deep plot? No. But that's not what this movie is about. It's about a good guy looking to see justice done, and the adventures he and his friend go through.
  88. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Although most people underrated the movie it is worth it to watch. The cast had many good actors if not close to great, just to mention few there was Johnny Depp, Armie Hammer, William Fichtner, Helena Bonham Carter. The movie is a typically action movie with a little bit weak story line. Yes it dose include some boring parts which add to the length of the movie. Generally it is aAlthough most people underrated the movie it is worth it to watch. The cast had many good actors if not close to great, just to mention few there was Johnny Depp, Armie Hammer, William Fichtner, Helena Bonham Carter. The movie is a typically action movie with a little bit weak story line. Yes it dose include some boring parts which add to the length of the movie. Generally it is a enjoyable movie which chance that a person will watch it 1-2 times. Expand
  89. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    This movie has a nice atmosphere and characters. The storyline is decent though the movie length is overextended, it could be shorter. The movie is somewhat violent at times (I expected it to be more child-oriented-like). The movie is totally worth watching. If you doubt to watch it or not, just read about the filming process and the amount of work put into it it's really admirable.
  90. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    Critics don't seem to understand the term "popcorn" movie. Luckily, Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer do. My family and I enjoyed this re-imaging of the Lone Ranger story. Depp does a great job, as does William Fichtner in the role of the villanous Butch Cavendish. Armie Hammer holds is own against Depp. The story has its quirky moments, especially with the ongoing bit of "nature out ofCritics don't seem to understand the term "popcorn" movie. Luckily, Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer do. My family and I enjoyed this re-imaging of the Lone Ranger story. Depp does a great job, as does William Fichtner in the role of the villanous Butch Cavendish. Armie Hammer holds is own against Depp. The story has its quirky moments, especially with the ongoing bit of "nature out of balance", which only adds to the fun. The only aspect that I would pick on would be the extensive use of CGI in the action scenes. The critics are haters, this is one enjoyable popcorn movie. Expand
  91. Apr 26, 2014
    8
    Critics are being way to hard on this movie. I thought it was pretty good. At first it looks like it might be to silly, but for the most part it`s serious.I was even surprised to see some of the violence in a Disney movie.It`s a great adventure.
  92. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not understand the negative reviews of this film--it is very good--it does take its time to get to the main action, but it is an origins film for both Tonto and the Lone Ranger. It is full of magic realism, an economic critique of progress in the 19th century, and an elegy for a lost world of First Nations and the environment I would recommend this film to anyone. It even taps into the original series musically, the modified theme. It even ends with a Heigh-ho Silver--great effects--the horse leaping from the roof of the barn to the earth is great, and it even has echoes of LOTR: TTT, the Comanche attack. Go see it! Expand
  93. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    This movie is why you should never listen to reviewers.movie was really funny!!! 80!!!! Not your grandfather/grandmothers Lone Ranger More violent than most Disney movies
  94. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    Really, the movie isn't bad. I am sure that you have read critics tearing this movie down, but I wouldn't agree with other users here who feel that critics simply didn't get it or couldn't enjoy a bit of summer fun. Moreover, every critique you have heard is valid. The thing is, while all those bits detract from the movie a bit they do not by any means ruin it. It's still well done andReally, the movie isn't bad. I am sure that you have read critics tearing this movie down, but I wouldn't agree with other users here who feel that critics simply didn't get it or couldn't enjoy a bit of summer fun. Moreover, every critique you have heard is valid. The thing is, while all those bits detract from the movie a bit they do not by any means ruin it. It's still well done and great summer fun. I don't expect it will do well at the box office though, because even if you ignore bad reviews the Lone Ranger a movie you'd expect to pander to every demographic will repel more than a few who would otherwise have loved it with it's body count and brutality. Expand
  95. Apr 21, 2014
    8
    The Lone Ranger is a much better movie than the critics give it credit for. (As it's also indicated by a solid user score) Let's get the negative out of the way first. The first hour and a half was just a bloated setup. It could have been done in half that time. That's where the 2 points I knocked off came from. The final 45 minutes though are as entertaining a movie can get. It wasThe Lone Ranger is a much better movie than the critics give it credit for. (As it's also indicated by a solid user score) Let's get the negative out of the way first. The first hour and a half was just a bloated setup. It could have been done in half that time. That's where the 2 points I knocked off came from. The final 45 minutes though are as entertaining a movie can get. It was fun and funny. I would give this a 10 if they trimmed the first 90 minutes into 45-60 minutes and then leave the final 45 minutes as is and you have a classic on your hands. I highly recommend this movie! Expand
  96. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    My husband and I really enjoyed this movie! We are admittedly Depp fans, but this was not Pirates of teh Carribean. This is a pretty heavy drama/action movie with a goodly amount of comic relief. There is more gore than I would prefer, but the dialog and story are good. I am glad the campy nod to the TV series with the William Tell overture playing was at the end and short. It is not theMy husband and I really enjoyed this movie! We are admittedly Depp fans, but this was not Pirates of teh Carribean. This is a pretty heavy drama/action movie with a goodly amount of comic relief. There is more gore than I would prefer, but the dialog and story are good. I am glad the campy nod to the TV series with the William Tell overture playing was at the end and short. It is not the old series, no more than the Batman movies were the original comic book version of the story. I thought the way the story was told was spot on, and the scenery and effects very good. I wish the trailers had left more surprises for you, many of the best scenes are already partially revealed. Some people may be bothered by what I thought were serious political overtones to the Indian/settlers/railroad/cavalry relationships but i was glad that was brought out. Depp is brilliant, Hammer was very good in his quirky clean-cut straight role, I thought they were an excellent juxtaposition. relax- I don't like most 4 star movies anyway because they are rarely any fun! Enjoy and don't be so serious! Expand
  97. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    It might be overly long and weird (the rabbits...still doesn't make any sense), but the film is still entertaining. Johnny Depp is the best in the film and he makes the film entertaining. Without his presence the film gets overly boring. I felt as if the main character was a baby- he just whined the whole time and never really did anything SUPER heroic. No wonder why they put JohnnyIt might be overly long and weird (the rabbits...still doesn't make any sense), but the film is still entertaining. Johnny Depp is the best in the film and he makes the film entertaining. Without his presence the film gets overly boring. I felt as if the main character was a baby- he just whined the whole time and never really did anything SUPER heroic. No wonder why they put Johnny Depp's name all over it. Johnny saves the movie with his fantastic acting and comedic performance. The films music (by fantastic composer Hans Zimmer) is perfect and the action is awesome along with its eye popping visual effects. This film is weird, but entertainingly good. Expand
  98. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    I would see it again My boys are running around pretending to be the Lone Ranger and Tonto. The action was great and the characters comical. Johnny Depp is always entertaining in anything he does. Disney did not disappoint in this BIG time old fashioned family fun movie we all enjoyed!
  99. Aug 10, 2013
    8
    I went to see this film with pretty low expectations, thanks to the panning Lone Ranger has had from the critics. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the film. I mean, yes it's a bit predictable at times, and it is a long film (although I didn't really notice that during the film I think if I were to watch it again it would feel too long and overly padded). But it is also reallyI went to see this film with pretty low expectations, thanks to the panning Lone Ranger has had from the critics. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the film. I mean, yes it's a bit predictable at times, and it is a long film (although I didn't really notice that during the film I think if I were to watch it again it would feel too long and overly padded). But it is also really entertaining. My friends and I laughed a lot during the film and we all came out of the cinema having enjoyed the film. I'd recommend it to anyone who isn't going to take the plot too seriously but just wants to have fun for a couple of hours. Expand
  100. Jun 3, 2015
    8
    critics naturally get paid to critizise stuff. so a critic who would say "hmk 264th movie of johnny depp is still great" would do a bad job. instead a good job does the critic who critizes against all odds. what else should he do? still a great movie. but i have to admit johnny depp really saves the day.
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 45
  2. Negative: 14 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Aug 8, 2013
    40
    The Lone Ranger is content to simply pull another western trope out of the bag – the honky-tonk whorehouse, the ranch raid, the cavalry charge – give it a CGI spit-and-polish, and chuck it in the general direction of the audience. The result is frustrating, lazy and lifeless.
  2. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Aug 5, 2013
    80
    Talk about a pleasant surprise! Real storytelling, well thought-out and beautifully, at times insanely, executed, with excitement, laughs and fun to make you feel seven years old again.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Mueller
    Jul 29, 2013
    40
    Ultimately, it’s not as awful as "Wild Wild West." But we’ll hazard a guess that Pirates 5 can’t come quick enough for Bruckheimer or Depp.