Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 544 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 45
  2. Negative: 14 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jul 3, 2013
    88
    For all its miscalculations, this is a personal picture, violent and sweet, clever and goofy. It's as obsessive and overbearing as Steven Spielberg's "1941" — and, I'll bet, as likely to be re-evaluated twenty years from now, and described as "misunderstood."
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    Though the story is mostly faithful to the established origin of the character, it's not until the last 15 minutes, when "The William Tell Overture" arrives in its full glory, that this starts to feel a little like The Lone Ranger. But that's too little, too late. And when The Ranger (played here by Armie Hammer) finally shouts "Hi-yo Silver," the moment is spoiled by turning it into a joke.
  3. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Jul 1, 2013
    55
    The fact that Johnny Depp alone gets top billing above the title, The Lone Ranger, despite not playing said character sums up the generally misguided approach taken by Depp and the creative crew behind the “Pirates of the Caribbean” franchise in bringing last century’s radio and TV hero back to the big screen in a big way.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 1, 2013
    40
    The Lone Ranger is a frustrating exercise in overkill, a kind-of, sort-of interesting idea buried in summer-movie excess.
  5. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Jul 12, 2013
    40
    The spirits fly in and out of The Lone Ranger at random. It's nice to see them come and go. I just wish they'd stay for longer.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 2, 2013
    38
    The greater embarrassment is that so many millions of dollars have been wasted on an entertainment that feels so smug, so pointless, and so thunderously empty.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 2, 2013
    0
    It represents 2 1/2 of the longest hours on record, a jumbled botch that is so confused in its purpose and so charmless in its effect that it must be seen to be believed, but better yet, no. Don't see it, don't believe it, not unless a case of restless leg syndrome sounds like a fun time at the movies.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 188
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I and everyone I know loved this movie, no matter what their age. Some even put it in their top ten. It was funny, well acted, informative (sad to remind people that Native Americans were treated exactly like that by both the greedy 'railroad people' and the military), exciting and all around entertaining. I and the rest of the audience laughed at so much of the creative dialogue. Kudos to the writers. I had read about it being 'boring' mid movie. It never happened. The professional critics expected it to be the old radio or TV series rehashed. Fortunately, it is not. It was a new, wonderful, all around enjoyable movie. PLEASE let there be a sequel... Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Critics are haters. They're like blood-thirsty vampires. They feed on negative energy. This movie was actually very good, and I loved watching Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer working together as a team. The film is not nearly as bad as critics suggest, even though I have a few objections over the cannibalism and sexual undertones the movie had, since kids might have been watching. However, there are also some very humorous scenes between Depp and Hammer in the movie. Overall, I enjoyed this movie and hope there will be a sequel, though it seems unlikely. I would purchase this movie on DVD, as it very good.

    If you liked this review, read my other work and mark this as helpful.
    Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    I felt like I needed to write a review for this because of all the negative press it has been receiving. My wife and I absolutely loved this movie! We were smiling through the entire movie, and everyone applauded at the end of the movie! My wife wants to buy this movie for her dad for Christmas. We were so glad we did not worry about the "professional" reviewers and tried out this movie it was a great surprise! 10/10 Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    8
    My wife and I, who both grew up in the 50s with the TV series, absolutely loved this movie. We are admittedly Johnny Depp fans and knew from the expert reviews that we would most probably love this movie, as we rarely agree with the stiff collared professional hacks. The movie had obvious flaws like dangling plots, corny puns and character deviations from it's puritanical routes of the radio series but succeeded in it's primary goal of pure entertainment. Lighten up folks this movie will be a cult classic. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2013
    6
    Yet another modern adaptation that details the creation of the myth (and sets us up for sequels). This time, a city-slicker prosecutor (Armie Hammer) dons the famous mask to team up with a multi-layered Tonto (would you expect anything less from Johnny Depp?). The plot revolves around the advancement of the railroad in the Old West and so do all 3 of the action sequences, which are full of daring do and spectacular stunts. The rest of the time is dialogue in the dessert…a lot of it.,,too much (this is 2.5 hrs). And it's often in jarring modern slang. While the leads are both OK and the movie never bores, it never captures the imagination or thrills the spirit. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    4
    While I do not hate The Lone Ranger as much as the critics do I still did not love it. The movie had some good laughs, fun scenes, and a nice performance by Johnny Depp; but the interesting characters and story along with an unnecessary 2 hour running time prevent me from recommending this film to anyone. If you wind up seeing this movie though it is not terrible but at the same time there are more entertaining movies out right now that you could be seeing like Despicable Me 2 (which I have softened up a bit on), Monsters University (which made me smile a lot), and Pacific Rim & World War Z (which I have heard are really good). Or you could save up your money for the Wolverine. Again not a terrible movie I mean it is watchable but you can afford to skip this one. Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    0
    Born in 1966 I was privileged to grow up watching the Lone Ranger on TV, I was unable to catch the movie in the theaters and was anxious to see it on DVD, I can honestly say the critics got this one correct. This movie was awful and I am offended that they made the Lone Ranger character out to be this buffoon and the Tonto character a bumbling idiot. I figured the whole story out 30 minutes into it and was exhausted and stun afterwards I only sat through it because of my kids and I explained to them that this movie was a farce, it should have never been made. I am normally not hard on movies but considering myself a serious movie buff, I am completely appalled. Disney was wondering why the critics dogged it because like me they remember the Lone Ranger as a smart, charismatic man of truth and justice with a keen mind and sense of valor with his trusty sidekick ready to assist and keen as well. I think I am done now, this movie was simply bad. Expand

See all 188 User Reviews

Trailers