User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 298 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 298

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    This movie was a brutally beautiful tribute to the men killed during Operation Red Wing. Having read the book multiple times I knew I wasn't going to be surprised by anything in the movie but I was still moved by actually seeing what these men endured. Peter Berg did a great job telling this story. Marcus Luttrell did an awesome job keeping it honest. Thank God for our military and their willingness to serve selflessly. Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    i felt compelled to write a review after seeing some of the absurd reviews written by the professional critics. This is a painful & beautiful & honorable film filled with spirit. From Mr. Berg, to the cast, all the way through even the effects of Greg Nicotero, the passion is clear and palpable. This film conveys core elements of the human experience in so many complex, unlikely, and ultimately honest ways. And that's what we want from a great movie isn't it? Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    Lone Survivor is brutal and intensely violent. It'll break your heart. I absolutely love and respect this movie, and it has given me a newfound appreciation and respect for the sacrifices our military makes so that we can live in peace here at home. It's so shockingly realistic and gritty that you'll wince every time one of the main quarter cast gets shot or injured.
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This movie is brutal. There were parts that made me cringe. This movie had me hooked the whole way through. When the fighting begins, it doesn't end until the end of the movie. I didn't think I could have been any prouder of the US Military but after watching this film, I was wrong. It made me remember that there are people out there serving this country, making decisions that puts theirs lives in harms way so I can sit here and write a review based on my opinion about a movie that i wasn't sure I was going to like. I loved it. It is one of those movies you watch and it impacts you.

    The only change I would make is the title. I don't think it does this movie justice. I would have gone with the mission name instead.
    Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    "Lone Survivor" based on a true story of 4 navy seals on a mission to capture the Taliban leader. This movie was fantastic from the start! This movie was well made and well acted. I just wished there was more character depth to feel very bad for the men that died in the film. The film was extremely spectacular, when it came to the action it was so intense and very well done! It was super realistic, there were a couple of scenes that can make your stomach turn. Overall this film was very good and showed how much courage these men had, It was way better then what I expected! 10 out of 10 Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. So, from the looks of it most of the "Top reviewers" are in some way retarded. This isn't supposed to be some action flick with lots of violence. It's a depiction of real events; if telling the truth is propaganda as the reviewers claim, then DEVGRU really is a modern day Hercules. It'd take a few minutes to fact check the details in the movie to the actual events and they'd realize how dumb they sound.

    Three men did die on that mountain, Lt Murphy did sacrifice himself to call for help, a Chinook was shot down, an Afghan man did save Lutrell's life. It baffles me that some people would call any of that propaganda (it tells you something, when the book has near perfect reviews that hollywood reviewers are trash).
    Collapse
  7. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    Most compelling characters with true dedication towards their nation and duty. Not matter what critics say, this movie is going to win the heart of every living human being.
  8. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie, it was a great tribute to the men that gave their lives in Operation Red Wings. You can tell that they had Marcus Luttrell guiding them and making sure things were not blown out of proportion just to meet Hollywood standards. Was a great birthday present from my wife and I will definitely buy it once it is released on DVD, hell I even made an account just so I could rate it being a veteran I am very picky about military movies but this was one of the best up there with Saving Private Ryan and We Were Soldiers. Expand
  9. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    This movie shows the kind of hell the military has o go through at times, sad sorry of these courageous soldiers that never give up and put their teams interests above their own lives.
  10. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    I don't give out a lot of tens and from a cinematic perspective I guess this one isn't but you'll never see a more intense war depiction than Lone Survivor. Marcus Luttrell has stated he is 85% satisfied with how it turned out. For Hollywood depicting a true story those are pretty high marks in my experience. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone sensitive to graphic violence but if you want to experience heroism and courage without politics this is the film for you. Expand
  11. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    This story is the very definition of Hero, Pain, Love, Brotherhood, Family, Spirit and Humanity coming together regardless of cultures and backgrounds. It put things into perspective for me. These men have families, wives, little ones and yet they volunteer to put there lives on the line for what they believe most. Our freedom. My Wife broke down at the end of the movie and I almost lost my nerves. You FEEL everything in this movie. Best War movie since Saving Private Ryan. Expand
  12. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    First I have to say I rarely write reviews. Just left the theater and I was compelled to give my opinion of this movie. First and foremost the movie kept my interest from the second it started until the ending credits and beyond...Almost didn't want to leave the theater....one of the most moving movies I've seen in some time. I've read some of the reviews and agreed with most, its as good as a war film with true emotion as ur going to get. In my humble opinion it was as good as Saving private Ryan! Not as meticulous as a Spielberg film but just as enjoyable...I'm not a military guy but after seeing this movie I have a renewed respect for these guys. I almost wished I was younger to join such a Nobel cause....These guys albeit mostly in danger are truly living. Sorry getting off course...acting was very believable and loved the back ground music...Peter Berg did a fine job off telling this unbelievable story of our real life super heroes. However I left the theater hating the enemy and loving the fact that I am an American!!! Although there is a bit of a twist towards the end that gives us food for thought. Sometimes not everyone who we think are our enemies are...I highly recommend this movie! Expand
  13. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    A story foremost about the brotherhood of fighting for one's country and for one another. This film is a very tough film to watch, but a fantastic film no less. A
  14. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    It is hard for me to write on this subject. We all know how this film ends before we see it. Only one men survived to tell this true story. To keep things short i gave this movie a ten, because we all need to know that this is dedicated to the men who lost their lives. FOR HONOR AND GLORY
  15. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    There are some flaws. But overall this is a gripping and entertaining movie. I am not an avid movie lover because I usually get bored with the tired stories. However, I was pleasantly surprised by this film. I very much enjoyed it, and highly recommend it. Be warned, the firefight scenes are intense. It is hard to watch at times, not because it isn't good, but because of the intensity.
  16. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    I'm usually not a fan of flag-waving war movies. But this one had a lot of nice elements. What carried the narrative along, so that it wasn't just a shoot out, (although one of those scenes went on too long for my taste), was careful editing, back and forth between two or three narratives. And what carried the day, was not patriotism, but the the band of men, fighting together. The four men, were admirable, although I wasn't completely happy with either Mark Wahlberg's character or acting, I'm not sure why, I seemed to have the sense that he wasn't in the fight as much as the other men, as if the star needs to be saved at the end, and I dislike having to say that, because I am sure the real life hero fought as bravely as the others. The script and dialog were tight. The film showed war at its bloodiest, most fatal, hand-to-had combat. And also had an interesting plot twist at the end showing the humanity of a culture other than our own. Interspersed with the fighting shots were wide angle natural beauty: supposed to be a mountainous range in Afghanistan; the film was shot in New Mexico. The film's credits at beginning and end - stay all the way to the end - nicely framed the picture in our real country's heroes. The entire theater audience with whom I saw the picture, applauded the film at the end, and at the end of the credits. Films don't often get that kind of praise. Expand
  17. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This movie like most movies has a message to send. It was compelling and moving the way the four actors captured each of their roles, showing the lighter side things, the pride in serving your country as dark as the times may have been. But the movie was amazing on many different levels. For one it's inspiring, showing us that we should always look for the good in people and learn how to trust someone even when all seems lost. I really enjoyed this movie for the action, the dialogue, the comedic aspect of the conversations between characters, as well as the camera angles and ideas executed. Expand
  18. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    I thought this was an excellent movie. Reading some of the critics reviews here can be misleading. It is evident that those critics who thought negatively about this film we're viewing it through their own political and moral lens. Take in this film objectively and it is a thought provoking, high energy account of what happened. I also suggest you read the book first, I appreciated the additional context it provided. That being said, the film does a pretty good job condensing the book while maintaining its moral and political dilemmas as well as it's heart-felt sentiments. Expand
  19. Jun 14, 2014
    9
    A brutal and emotional movie that is only amplified by the fact that it is serving as a tribute to real people and events. The cast is fantastic. Every single one of the actors here bring their best and really sell the horror and pain of the events. It's one of the best war movies I've ever seen, not because it glorifies the violence, but rather shows the horror of it. This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time, and I recommend you put it at the top of your must-watch list. I give it a 9.8/10=Amazing. Expand
  20. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    This is a really good movie, it stays very true to the events that happened. There was an amazing tribute at the end that showed everyone that died. Very brutal, and bloody.
  21. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    "Lone Survivor" thrives heartily through Peter Berg's welcomed return to dramatic storytelling, the hefty pathos that comes from the film's impressively devoted cast, and the unmistakably remarkable true story cemented in the film's emotional center.
  22. Jun 15, 2014
    9
    Lone Survivor is exhilarating, intense, gritty, and heartbreaking. It's an incredible war film. There's really no other way I can put it. Knowing that the story is true adds an extra layer of authenticity to an already hyper immersive experience. Those criticizing it for honoring the fallen heroes of war have some serious issues. A nearly flawlessly directed, elegantly simple, shockingly engaging movie. Expand
  23. LTR
    Jul 4, 2014
    9
    This movie is a great tribute to the men who passed away during Operation Red Wing. It's emotional, the action is good and shows the true terror of war.
  24. Feb 13, 2014
    9
    This was my favorite war movie since "Saving Private Ryan." I saw it with my wife and sister in law. The movie does an excellent job of portraying the training that these men had to go through in order to be in the Seals. It also does a great job of portraying how they talk to each other and the common banter among them. The movie was great, stayed very true to the history, and tugged on the heartstrings as well. It is very gruesome but that is to be expected. I'd recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
  25. May 26, 2014
    9
    A true heroic brutally war masterpiece based on a true story .. This movie is very emotionally gripping to watch and that's makes it intense... might be one of the best war movies in recent memory for me
  26. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    This is war. This movie tells the story of war and death as truly as I have ever seen. Any "professional critic" that bashed this movie is naive and not qualified to criticize this movie. It is not meant to entertain, it is meant to tell a story. This is as real as it gets. Nevermind some of the critics that gave this movie a bad rating... It's not about entertainment or Oscars as these fools stated, it is about telling a story and this movie is now a living legacy of these men that lost their lives. Have some respect and while you're at it, get a real job, because "professional movie critic" isn't in your deck of cards. Go see this movie everyone, and be prepared for violence, but also for an honest look at what war is like. It's very enlightening. Expand
  27. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    One of the most compelling movies i have ever seen. I was hooked from the very beginning. It was a very revealing movie and I give my upmost respect to those who lost there lives.
  28. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    Lone Survivor is my favourite film by Peter Berg, the film just felt so realistic to me, the sound department did their part to perfection, i really enjoyed this film, and it doesn't just show you the typical one sided view of Afghans, it shows more than that, it shows you people who are against the Taliban and i loved that aspect about the film, the little details like that make Lone Survivor great and different. If you haven't seen this film yet please for the love of god see this film. Expand
  29. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    After leaving the movie I was overcome with emotion and respect for our soldiers. This movie ranks up with other favorites like 'We Were Soldiers', and 'Saving Private Ryan' for me.
  30. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    this movie is a retelling of the events of operation red wing in the afgan mauntains and tells a deep and emotional story as the charrecters die 1 by 1 mark walberge and the rest of the other actors did an excellent job at potraying there charecters the visuals and camara angles are amazing this movie does the book and real life event justice i hear that there were a lot of inacuracys with this movie but all around is an amazing film a must watch Expand
  31. chw
    Jul 19, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lone Survivor was a very good film, the best war film since Saving Private Ryan, like people are saying. But it's almost like the second This is the End because the amount of deaths... Expand
  32. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Definitely my favourite 2014 movie so far.This is a good emotional movie about four soldiers in big trouble.The action scenes are realistic and the characters(based on real soldiers)are really credible.
  33. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    This movie is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. The movie is very intense and has a great sense of patriotism. It is a very graphic movie so it might not be the best for kids and there is a lot of harsh language.
  34. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    bravo! to all involved! i had to see this movie today! it is true to life. a masterpiece! the afghan war, the iraq war, the vietnam war, are all fought without public understanding, approval, and, most terrible of all for soldiers, backing! they gave their all! i feel good to be an american again! i am grateful to these men for being able to sleep in my own bed tonight. i went to the zoo today. when did the iraqis, saudis, vietnamese, afghans, go to the zoo? you use the word "zoo" around them, and, you will get a blank! this is oscar material, gentlemen!! this movie, "lone survivor", was written with blood still on this soldier's hands! this is war! this is the way it is! this is why we need to see these movies every time they come out. Expand
  35. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    Miraculous, intense, and patriotic. This movie was outstanding and beyond. Full of compassion and showed the true face of what our soldiers can go through and what they have. It is a celebration of sacrifice and triumph. Excellent film making made sure that it was as accurate as possible. I highly recommend this movie to those who have a true interest in war movies. Defiantly the best since Saving Private Ryan and the TV series Band of Brothers. Expand
  36. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    A well made, heavy and ultimately satisfying war movie. Lone survivor takes a little time to rally get revved up, but once it does, your eyes are stuck onto the screen, watching these guys get brutally hurt in an attempt to complete their mission.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Jan 29, 2014
    60
    The direction pummels and the cast impress, yet Berg’s war movie promises more than it delivers. Memories of Battleship are sunk, but that Oscar buzz may be a bit premature.
  2. Reviewed by: Ashley Clark
    Jan 28, 2014
    60
    Neither an anti-war tract nor a jingoistic rallying cry, the brutal but humane Lone Survivor instead registers as a howl of despair for so many young men and women lost in war.
  3. Reviewed by: James Dyer
    Jan 27, 2014
    60
    A severe portrait of fortitude under extreme pressure, somewhat marred by blinkered politics.