User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 303

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 28, 2014
    3
    This movie was based on a true story, and it is extremely sad what happened to the SEAL team. But sadly, the movie was a complete snooze. It is two hours long and an hour and a half of it is pretty dull dialogue. The movie is action-packed for the last 30 or so minutes, but even that wasn't all that good. It was not shot well, and Mark Whalberg's cheesy southwestern accent was comical. NotThis movie was based on a true story, and it is extremely sad what happened to the SEAL team. But sadly, the movie was a complete snooze. It is two hours long and an hour and a half of it is pretty dull dialogue. The movie is action-packed for the last 30 or so minutes, but even that wasn't all that good. It was not shot well, and Mark Whalberg's cheesy southwestern accent was comical. Not worth seeing. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    This movie is one of the more solid war films in recent memory. It obvious that we know what happens considering the title but there is still an element of shock factor to this. Its nice to see some movies based on the war in Iraq now that the conflict has calmed down a bit. Now we get to hear about all the heroes that emerged over the time of the conflict.
  3. Lyn
    Nov 22, 2014
    6
    I'm surprised at the reviews calling the film "too patriotic" or even "jingoistic." I found it to be well-acted and notably lacking in what some might call flag-waving or in politics of any sort. These guys are heroic to be true to themselves and strong for their "brothers." They don't care who's president or defense secretary. Unfortunately, the script and film are NOT lacking in cliches.I'm surprised at the reviews calling the film "too patriotic" or even "jingoistic." I found it to be well-acted and notably lacking in what some might call flag-waving or in politics of any sort. These guys are heroic to be true to themselves and strong for their "brothers." They don't care who's president or defense secretary. Unfortunately, the script and film are NOT lacking in cliches. You've seen 'em all and will see them again. It also does a poor job of helping us establish emotional connections with the men who (obviously) are going to lose their lives. Violence of all sorts is extremely brutal and I had to look away at times ... but that's one of the points of a fact-based war movie, right -- that those who lived it did not have the option to look away? Expand
  4. WJS
    Nov 8, 2014
    6
    This movie is what my sister and her girlfriends would call a “Dick Flick”, which is, of course, a play on the term “Chick Flick”. It oozes so much testosterone that is literally drips off of the screen. I have never been a fan of war movies, especially American ones. In fact the last American war film I actually appreciated was “The Hurt Locker”, which was much better directed than thisThis movie is what my sister and her girlfriends would call a “Dick Flick”, which is, of course, a play on the term “Chick Flick”. It oozes so much testosterone that is literally drips off of the screen. I have never been a fan of war movies, especially American ones. In fact the last American war film I actually appreciated was “The Hurt Locker”, which was much better directed than this blood bath. I mean, this film is well acted and the photography is wonderful, but the direction is not up to great standards and the script is kind of uneven and lacks a sense of humor which a film like this really does need. The film works best when it briefly explores the relationship between Wahlberg and some villagers. Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2014
    6
    Sadly, the director has created a hagiographic film that gives little attention to the more interesting aspects of the story. When will Americans stop ramming the bravery and American-ness of their armed forces, especially the special forces, down our throats? It really lets the film down as it pushes everything else into the background. Chalk this one up to another Peter Berg miss.
  6. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    A well made, heavy and ultimately satisfying war movie. Lone survivor takes a little time to rally get revved up, but once it does, your eyes are stuck onto the screen, watching these guys get brutally hurt in an attempt to complete their mission.
  7. Sep 2, 2014
    6
    Occasionally heavy on patriotism and brutality, but certainly a strong addition to the Peter Berg collection. Boy, does it hit home and it sure hits us hard.
  8. Aug 26, 2014
    5
    Lone Survivor is another war porn film of brotherhood and the sacrifices our soldiers make during war. Entertaining, but no man could have survived how many times they jumped off cliffs and lived.
  9. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    Miraculous, intense, and patriotic. This movie was outstanding and beyond. Full of compassion and showed the true face of what our soldiers can go through and what they have. It is a celebration of sacrifice and triumph. Excellent film making made sure that it was as accurate as possible. I highly recommend this movie to those who have a true interest in war movies. Defiantly the bestMiraculous, intense, and patriotic. This movie was outstanding and beyond. Full of compassion and showed the true face of what our soldiers can go through and what they have. It is a celebration of sacrifice and triumph. Excellent film making made sure that it was as accurate as possible. I highly recommend this movie to those who have a true interest in war movies. Defiantly the best since Saving Private Ryan and the TV series Band of Brothers. Expand
  10. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    This one surprised me. I thought it was going to be another gung-ho jar head movie. It feels like it at the beginning with the harsh troop training scenes. However, it makes sense and has meaning this time. Whalberg does a good job.
  11. chw
    Jul 19, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lone Survivor was a very good film, the best war film since Saving Private Ryan, like people are saying. But it's almost like the second This is the End because the amount of deaths... Expand
  12. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    bravo! to all involved! i had to see this movie today! it is true to life. a masterpiece! the afghan war, the iraq war, the vietnam war, are all fought without public understanding, approval, and, most terrible of all for soldiers, backing! they gave their all! i feel good to be an american again! i am grateful to these men for being able to sleep in my own bed tonight. i went to the zoobravo! to all involved! i had to see this movie today! it is true to life. a masterpiece! the afghan war, the iraq war, the vietnam war, are all fought without public understanding, approval, and, most terrible of all for soldiers, backing! they gave their all! i feel good to be an american again! i am grateful to these men for being able to sleep in my own bed tonight. i went to the zoo today. when did the iraqis, saudis, vietnamese, afghans, go to the zoo? you use the word "zoo" around them, and, you will get a blank! this is oscar material, gentlemen!! this movie, "lone survivor", was written with blood still on this soldier's hands! this is war! this is the way it is! this is why we need to see these movies every time they come out. Expand
  13. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Definitely my favourite 2014 movie so far.This is a good emotional movie about four soldiers in big trouble.The action scenes are realistic and the characters(based on real soldiers)are really credible.
  14. LTR
    Jul 4, 2014
    9
    This movie is a great tribute to the men who passed away during Operation Red Wing. It's emotional, the action is good and shows the true terror of war.
  15. Jun 30, 2014
    6
    I was very surprised that I liked this movie as much as I did. For what it is, it is very enjoyable. There is not much of a story, but they did try. I do not think they had all that much to work with.
  16. Jun 28, 2014
    8
    Brutal, immersive and compeling, the Lone Survior delivered in almost every way you want a war film to, with great onscreen chemistry between the characters and with Taylor Kitsch's most profound performance to date.
  17. Jun 21, 2014
    8
    I'm surprised with the metascore. This movie is pretty awesome, very entertaining and well acted. It kept my attention from the beginning to the end. I really recommend to see it!
  18. Jun 15, 2014
    9
    Lone Survivor is exhilarating, intense, gritty, and heartbreaking. It's an incredible war film. There's really no other way I can put it. Knowing that the story is true adds an extra layer of authenticity to an already hyper immersive experience. Those criticizing it for honoring the fallen heroes of war have some serious issues. A nearly flawlessly directed, elegantly simple,Lone Survivor is exhilarating, intense, gritty, and heartbreaking. It's an incredible war film. There's really no other way I can put it. Knowing that the story is true adds an extra layer of authenticity to an already hyper immersive experience. Those criticizing it for honoring the fallen heroes of war have some serious issues. A nearly flawlessly directed, elegantly simple, shockingly engaging movie. Expand
  19. Jun 14, 2014
    9
    A brutal and emotional movie that is only amplified by the fact that it is serving as a tribute to real people and events. The cast is fantastic. Every single one of the actors here bring their best and really sell the horror and pain of the events. It's one of the best war movies I've ever seen, not because it glorifies the violence, but rather shows the horror of it. This is one of theA brutal and emotional movie that is only amplified by the fact that it is serving as a tribute to real people and events. The cast is fantastic. Every single one of the actors here bring their best and really sell the horror and pain of the events. It's one of the best war movies I've ever seen, not because it glorifies the violence, but rather shows the horror of it. This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time, and I recommend you put it at the top of your must-watch list. I give it a 9.8/10=Amazing. Expand
  20. Jun 8, 2014
    8
    This movie effectively conveys the horrific events that led to the deaths of three Navy Seals on an Afghani mountain and shows the complexity of a pivotal decision that precipitated the firefight. However, it takes perplexing liberties in the final minutes while conveying the events that led to the survival of Marcus Luttrell, whose story is dramatic enough without the need for aThis movie effectively conveys the horrific events that led to the deaths of three Navy Seals on an Afghani mountain and shows the complexity of a pivotal decision that precipitated the firefight. However, it takes perplexing liberties in the final minutes while conveying the events that led to the survival of Marcus Luttrell, whose story is dramatic enough without the need for a fictionalized Taliban attack on his protectors. That's the only disappointing aspect of a film that should be seen to understand the harsh reality of war in the 21st Century. Expand
  21. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    This movie is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. The movie is very intense and has a great sense of patriotism. It is a very graphic movie so it might not be the best for kids and there is a lot of harsh language.
  22. May 26, 2014
    9
    A true heroic brutally war masterpiece based on a true story .. This movie is very emotionally gripping to watch and that's makes it intense... might be one of the best war movies in recent memory for me
  23. May 25, 2014
    7
    Lone Survivor is a war movie about the true story of four Navy Seals team members set out to kill a taliban war leader Ahmad Shahd. While the movie lacks solid character biulding it surpasses in its action and realism. Some of the fire fights they get into are brutally intense thats were the realism takes it to another level. The cast was great for the film Mark Wahlberg, Ben Foster, EricLone Survivor is a war movie about the true story of four Navy Seals team members set out to kill a taliban war leader Ahmad Shahd. While the movie lacks solid character biulding it surpasses in its action and realism. Some of the fire fights they get into are brutally intense thats were the realism takes it to another level. The cast was great for the film Mark Wahlberg, Ben Foster, Eric Bana, Emile Hirsch, Taylor Kitsch all did amazing jobs for thier portrayal as the soldiers. Its a very emotional movie seeing the team try and try again to get saved but only to fail again and again also i think will shock some people when they watch it because of the realism style. Peter Berg really surprised me with this one his past couple movies i didnt really care for and seeing that the last movie i liked of his was The Kingdom another war based film it seems he can do this genre pretty well.

    Overall i give it a 7.5
    Expand
  24. May 24, 2014
    5
    I was mildly entertained by this movie. Another movie called Murph came out prior to this being movie being released to rent which showed who Murph was...and I have to say, that one was far better. Look, I'm not going play down a movie showing heroic men acting heroic in a situation I couldn't even fathom being in and I do like Mark Walhberg's movies but this one left me glancing at myI was mildly entertained by this movie. Another movie called Murph came out prior to this being movie being released to rent which showed who Murph was...and I have to say, that one was far better. Look, I'm not going play down a movie showing heroic men acting heroic in a situation I couldn't even fathom being in and I do like Mark Walhberg's movies but this one left me glancing at my watch. To the brave men and women who put their lives on the line, I will always give kudos but I felt this rendition of the story was disjointed and lukewarm. Expand
  25. Apr 2, 2014
    5
    This movie is average at best. The title and the way it started let me know how this is gonna play out thus making me not care for characters outside of Marky Mark. The way the characters act are typical for a modern war movie. You have your everyman, leader, tech-guy, trigger happy guy and it's the trigger happy guy I found myself agreeing with the most. He wants to kill 3 people cause heThis movie is average at best. The title and the way it started let me know how this is gonna play out thus making me not care for characters outside of Marky Mark. The way the characters act are typical for a modern war movie. You have your everyman, leader, tech-guy, trigger happy guy and it's the trigger happy guy I found myself agreeing with the most. He wants to kill 3 people cause he knows they'll tell the Taliban in the area their whereabouts. If they had done that they would have avoided their real fate. If this movie taught me anything it's that the Geneva Convention is out dated and doesn't apply to war in the 21st century. The action is good, realistic and will make you cringe at some points, but the story is cliche' and honestly a little dull. It's okay at best but it won't make much of an impression on you. Expand
  26. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    'Lone Survivor' tells the true story of a US navy SEAL team and their failed mission called Operation Red Wings during the Afghanistan war. As the title says there's nothing to hide or secrets behind characters, only one survive from a team of four soldiers. How it all going to happen unfolded in an unbelievable manner.

    It was Mark Wahlberg's show, though Taylor Kitsch, Eric Bana and
    'Lone Survivor' tells the true story of a US navy SEAL team and their failed mission called Operation Red Wings during the Afghanistan war. As the title says there's nothing to hide or secrets behind characters, only one survive from a team of four soldiers. How it all going to happen unfolded in an unbelievable manner.

    It was Mark Wahlberg's show, though Taylor Kitsch, Eric Bana and others appearance gave strong grip to the story. This movie takes place mainly in three locations, one from US navy base, two from mountain range and the third one from a small village. The US navy base was okay, but the mountain range and Afghan village were looked clearly fake. Failed to recreate those middle-east atmospheres where the movie was shot (in Mexico), but the movie was breathtaking by the story and performances make you forget the technical side flaws.

    In a few areas, it makes you to feel it was overdone. Especially after soldiers were wounded by multiple bullet shots. But then it was clearly explained in the opening scene itself like the soldiers were trained to stand tall in any given harsh situations. The director of 'The Kingdom' crafted this movie awesomely in a similar fashion to that. One of the Oscars talked movie, but did not do well, though got good responds from the movie goers around the world. It is like this year's 'Zero Dark Thrity' based on US war against Talibans. Knowing truth is always good for knowledge and if it comes through a movie, then it will be a thrilling entertainment.
    Expand
  27. Mar 28, 2014
    0
    While the action scenes are ok, mind you those don't start until you are an hour into the two hour film, there is no emotion what so ever. It's hard to care about the characters, based on real soldiers in a real situation, when the plot and dialogue is so incredibly shallow and generic. Needless subplots and no character development killed this movie in my opinion. It's not worth watching.
  28. Mar 6, 2014
    3
    this is something that is not that cool Mark Whalberg was better in ted . i there is not enough gore and i do not like this it stunk major . this sucks and it is not good enough to be one of my favorite film
  29. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    this movie is a retelling of the events of operation red wing in the afgan mauntains and tells a deep and emotional story as the charrecters die 1 by 1 mark walberge and the rest of the other actors did an excellent job at potraying there charecters the visuals and camara angles are amazing this movie does the book and real life event justice i hear that there were a lot of inacuracys withthis movie is a retelling of the events of operation red wing in the afgan mauntains and tells a deep and emotional story as the charrecters die 1 by 1 mark walberge and the rest of the other actors did an excellent job at potraying there charecters the visuals and camara angles are amazing this movie does the book and real life event justice i hear that there were a lot of inacuracys with this movie but all around is an amazing film a must watch Expand
  30. Feb 24, 2014
    5
    Although the battle scenes are incredibly intense, there are some serious flaws in this movie that ultimately disappoint. Firstly, if you read the book, you will be disappointed that the protagonists experience is seriously abridged, with a considerable amount of incredible hardship and storyline omitted. Secondly, the film begins in a cliched almost fawning way, with the (what seems nowAlthough the battle scenes are incredibly intense, there are some serious flaws in this movie that ultimately disappoint. Firstly, if you read the book, you will be disappointed that the protagonists experience is seriously abridged, with a considerable amount of incredible hardship and storyline omitted. Secondly, the film begins in a cliched almost fawning way, with the (what seems now standard) portrayal of Seals as warm hearted,, cuddly, lovely guys who are just doing a job. Whether it's true or not, this seems to be the standard way such movies start these days, with a kind of implication that special forces soldiers are societies moral exemplars, and it's getting really boring. Thirdly, the ending is the standard "cavalry arrives in a nick of time" conclusion that is very disappointing and cliched, and had nothing to do with the book. I don't believe the protagonist died and was revived in real life either. And it's a shame that the movie excluded Lutrell's glowing account and recommendation of the use of raw opium as an analgesic. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Jan 29, 2014
    60
    The direction pummels and the cast impress, yet Berg’s war movie promises more than it delivers. Memories of Battleship are sunk, but that Oscar buzz may be a bit premature.
  2. Reviewed by: Ashley Clark
    Jan 28, 2014
    60
    Neither an anti-war tract nor a jingoistic rallying cry, the brutal but humane Lone Survivor instead registers as a howl of despair for so many young men and women lost in war.
  3. Reviewed by: James Dyer
    Jan 27, 2014
    60
    A severe portrait of fortitude under extreme pressure, somewhat marred by blinkered politics.