Lone Survivor

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 325
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    "Lone Survivor" based on a true story of 4 navy seals on a mission to capture the Taliban leader. This movie was fantastic from the start! This movie was well made and well acted. I just wished there was more character depth to feel very bad for the men that died in the film. The film was extremely spectacular, when it came to the action it was so intense and very well done! It was super"Lone Survivor" based on a true story of 4 navy seals on a mission to capture the Taliban leader. This movie was fantastic from the start! This movie was well made and well acted. I just wished there was more character depth to feel very bad for the men that died in the film. The film was extremely spectacular, when it came to the action it was so intense and very well done! It was super realistic, there were a couple of scenes that can make your stomach turn. Overall this film was very good and showed how much courage these men had, It was way better then what I expected! 10 out of 10 Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    8
    After seeing this incredible true story, it really made me wonder what director Peter Berg was thinking when he did the mediocre "Battleship." This film was a great example of war movies done right, like "Saving Private Ryan" and "Black Hawk Down." The acting from the four Navy SEALS was exceptional! Mark Wahlberg was great as usual! "Battleship" star Taylor Kitsch also gave another greatAfter seeing this incredible true story, it really made me wonder what director Peter Berg was thinking when he did the mediocre "Battleship." This film was a great example of war movies done right, like "Saving Private Ryan" and "Black Hawk Down." The acting from the four Navy SEALS was exceptional! Mark Wahlberg was great as usual! "Battleship" star Taylor Kitsch also gave another great performance. Emile Hirsch was really good, as was the highly underrated Ben Foster. The story was really well done and the action was intense and delivered! So overall, this is one war film that's definitely worth checking out, as it portrays the true courage of those SEALS that died that day, as well as all SEALS in general. Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    I thought this was an excellent movie. Reading some of the critics reviews here can be misleading. It is evident that those critics who thought negatively about this film we're viewing it through their own political and moral lens. Take in this film objectively and it is a thought provoking, high energy account of what happened. I also suggest you read the book first, I appreciated theI thought this was an excellent movie. Reading some of the critics reviews here can be misleading. It is evident that those critics who thought negatively about this film we're viewing it through their own political and moral lens. Take in this film objectively and it is a thought provoking, high energy account of what happened. I also suggest you read the book first, I appreciated the additional context it provided. That being said, the film does a pretty good job condensing the book while maintaining its moral and political dilemmas as well as it's heart-felt sentiments. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    This movie was a brutally beautiful tribute to the men killed during Operation Red Wing. Having read the book multiple times I knew I wasn't going to be surprised by anything in the movie but I was still moved by actually seeing what these men endured. Peter Berg did a great job telling this story. Marcus Luttrell did an awesome job keeping it honest. Thank God for our military and theirThis movie was a brutally beautiful tribute to the men killed during Operation Red Wing. Having read the book multiple times I knew I wasn't going to be surprised by anything in the movie but I was still moved by actually seeing what these men endured. Peter Berg did a great job telling this story. Marcus Luttrell did an awesome job keeping it honest. Thank God for our military and their willingness to serve selflessly. Expand
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie, it was a great tribute to the men that gave their lives in Operation Red Wings. You can tell that they had Marcus Luttrell guiding them and making sure things were not blown out of proportion just to meet Hollywood standards. Was a great birthday present from my wife and I will definitely buy it once it is released on DVD, hell I even made an account just so I couldI loved this movie, it was a great tribute to the men that gave their lives in Operation Red Wings. You can tell that they had Marcus Luttrell guiding them and making sure things were not blown out of proportion just to meet Hollywood standards. Was a great birthday present from my wife and I will definitely buy it once it is released on DVD, hell I even made an account just so I could rate it being a veteran I am very picky about military movies but this was one of the best up there with Saving Private Ryan and We Were Soldiers. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    A film that truly surprised me, in regards to how the cast was going to hold up. I have no doubt with Peter Berg has ability to create a sense of true American realism, as seen in Friday Night Lights and his respective series. The cast was great, however, I felt that we could of saw a little more of them because I didn't feel the emotional connection I thought I should as they fell oneA film that truly surprised me, in regards to how the cast was going to hold up. I have no doubt with Peter Berg has ability to create a sense of true American realism, as seen in Friday Night Lights and his respective series. The cast was great, however, I felt that we could of saw a little more of them because I didn't feel the emotional connection I thought I should as they fell one by one. But, as I say this, the ending of the movie was the most emotional part of the movie. That, along with the rendition of We Can Be Heroes, was, I can't express how I felt. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This movie is brutal. There were parts that made me cringe. This movie had me hooked the whole way through. When the fighting begins, it doesn't end until the end of the movie. I didn't think I could have been any prouder of the US Military but after watching this film, I was wrong. It made me remember that there are people out there serving this country, making decisions that puts theirsThis movie is brutal. There were parts that made me cringe. This movie had me hooked the whole way through. When the fighting begins, it doesn't end until the end of the movie. I didn't think I could have been any prouder of the US Military but after watching this film, I was wrong. It made me remember that there are people out there serving this country, making decisions that puts theirs lives in harms way so I can sit here and write a review based on my opinion about a movie that i wasn't sure I was going to like. I loved it. It is one of those movies you watch and it impacts you.

    The only change I would make is the title. I don't think it does this movie justice. I would have gone with the mission name instead.
    Expand
  8. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    i felt compelled to write a review after seeing some of the absurd reviews written by the professional critics. This is a painful & beautiful & honorable film filled with spirit. From Mr. Berg, to the cast, all the way through even the effects of Greg Nicotero, the passion is clear and palpable. This film conveys core elements of the human experience in so many complex, unlikely, andi felt compelled to write a review after seeing some of the absurd reviews written by the professional critics. This is a painful & beautiful & honorable film filled with spirit. From Mr. Berg, to the cast, all the way through even the effects of Greg Nicotero, the passion is clear and palpable. This film conveys core elements of the human experience in so many complex, unlikely, and ultimately honest ways. And that's what we want from a great movie isn't it? Expand
  9. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    Lone Survivor is brutal and intensely violent. It'll break your heart. I absolutely love and respect this movie, and it has given me a newfound appreciation and respect for the sacrifices our military makes so that we can live in peace here at home. It's so shockingly realistic and gritty that you'll wince every time one of the main quarter cast gets shot or injured.
  10. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, from the looks of it most of the "Top reviewers" are in some way retarded. This isn't supposed to be some action flick with lots of violence. It's a depiction of real events; if telling the truth is propaganda as the reviewers claim, then DEVGRU really is a modern day Hercules. It'd take a few minutes to fact check the details in the movie to the actual events and they'd realize how dumb they sound.

    Three men did die on that mountain, Lt Murphy did sacrifice himself to call for help, a Chinook was shot down, an Afghan man did save Lutrell's life. It baffles me that some people would call any of that propaganda (it tells you something, when the book has near perfect reviews that hollywood reviewers are trash).
    Expand
  11. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    Most compelling characters with true dedication towards their nation and duty. Not matter what critics say, this movie is going to win the heart of every living human being.
  12. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    This movie shows the kind of hell the military has o go through at times, sad sorry of these courageous soldiers that never give up and put their teams interests above their own lives.
  13. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    I don't give out a lot of tens and from a cinematic perspective I guess this one isn't but you'll never see a more intense war depiction than Lone Survivor. Marcus Luttrell has stated he is 85% satisfied with how it turned out. For Hollywood depicting a true story those are pretty high marks in my experience. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone sensitive to graphic violence but if you wantI don't give out a lot of tens and from a cinematic perspective I guess this one isn't but you'll never see a more intense war depiction than Lone Survivor. Marcus Luttrell has stated he is 85% satisfied with how it turned out. For Hollywood depicting a true story those are pretty high marks in my experience. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone sensitive to graphic violence but if you want to experience heroism and courage without politics this is the film for you. Expand
  14. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    First I have to say I rarely write reviews. Just left the theater and I was compelled to give my opinion of this movie. First and foremost the movie kept my interest from the second it started until the ending credits and beyond...Almost didn't want to leave the theater....one of the most moving movies I've seen in some time. I've read some of the reviews and agreed with most, its as goodFirst I have to say I rarely write reviews. Just left the theater and I was compelled to give my opinion of this movie. First and foremost the movie kept my interest from the second it started until the ending credits and beyond...Almost didn't want to leave the theater....one of the most moving movies I've seen in some time. I've read some of the reviews and agreed with most, its as good as a war film with true emotion as ur going to get. In my humble opinion it was as good as Saving private Ryan! Not as meticulous as a Spielberg film but just as enjoyable...I'm not a military guy but after seeing this movie I have a renewed respect for these guys. I almost wished I was younger to join such a Nobel cause....These guys albeit mostly in danger are truly living. Sorry getting off course...acting was very believable and loved the back ground music...Peter Berg did a fine job off telling this unbelievable story of our real life super heroes. However I left the theater hating the enemy and loving the fact that I am an American!!! Although there is a bit of a twist towards the end that gives us food for thought. Sometimes not everyone who we think are our enemies are...I highly recommend this movie! Expand
  15. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    There are some flaws. But overall this is a gripping and entertaining movie. I am not an avid movie lover because I usually get bored with the tired stories. However, I was pleasantly surprised by this film. I very much enjoyed it, and highly recommend it. Be warned, the firefight scenes are intense. It is hard to watch at times, not because it isn't good, but because of the intensity.
  16. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    Berg's film is adeptly crafted but without much soul. Bookending it with actual footage of the Navy SEALs contextualizes it as a tribute rather than a dramatic exploration. Which is acceptable young people with hours of Call of Duty under their belts need to see the war games played out in reality. But as a fully formed feature, Lone Survivor prioritizes respect over honesty. Ultimately,Berg's film is adeptly crafted but without much soul. Bookending it with actual footage of the Navy SEALs contextualizes it as a tribute rather than a dramatic exploration. Which is acceptable young people with hours of Call of Duty under their belts need to see the war games played out in reality. But as a fully formed feature, Lone Survivor prioritizes respect over honesty. Ultimately, it can't achieve either. Lone Survivor director Peter Berg puts the emphasis on action and veneration rather than dramatic exploration and nuance in this fact-based Navy SEALs film. Expand
  17. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Action.. patriotism...pride...compassion...and appreciation are all you need to know about this movie.
    Plots.. sub-plots... acting...dialogue.. etc.. don't really cross your mind when you are watching this movie.
    its simply a good time at the movie. You will leave the theater feeling enormous pride to live under the same airspace as our military men and women that risk their lives day in
    Action.. patriotism...pride...compassion...and appreciation are all you need to know about this movie.
    Plots.. sub-plots... acting...dialogue.. etc.. don't really cross your mind when you are watching this movie.
    its simply a good time at the movie. You will leave the theater feeling enormous pride to live under the same airspace as our military men and women that risk their lives day in and day out
    Expand
  18. Jan 15, 2014
    1
    This film takes the generally gruesome and at times utterly horrific slaughter of a small group of US soliders and civilians and uses it as a platform to promote that US military. Jingoistic overtones of patroitism, home and country try unsuccessfully to pave over the blood, gore and misery of young men with wives, babies and small children killed in Afganistan to support the imperialistThis film takes the generally gruesome and at times utterly horrific slaughter of a small group of US soliders and civilians and uses it as a platform to promote that US military. Jingoistic overtones of patroitism, home and country try unsuccessfully to pave over the blood, gore and misery of young men with wives, babies and small children killed in Afganistan to support the imperialist asperations of corrupt US elites.

    I was left feeling saddened and in no small way nausiated. To make matters worse at the end we get to see these people in happier times with wives and the part that really upset me small babies and children.

    Just as bad in one sense too was the films compulsion to exaggerate the specifics surrounding the actual death of these men as if the truth somehow detracted from their bravery. The enemy multiplied from the true number of 10 combatants to over 200 or more. To make these people seem more less worthy and more villianous they were presented as Taliban which was strictly not the case. They were aligned with the Taliban but then show me a Afgan combatant who does not at least have a passing relationship with them.

    If this films sends a message to US voters as it did to me it would be get rid of your two main parties and find some decent ethical people to vote for. The current mob are an elitist immoral disgrace who worship death and conquest at any cost over simple human decency and respect for life.
    Expand
  19. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    This story is the very definition of Hero, Pain, Love, Brotherhood, Family, Spirit and Humanity coming together regardless of cultures and backgrounds. It put things into perspective for me. These men have families, wives, little ones and yet they volunteer to put there lives on the line for what they believe most. Our freedom. My Wife broke down at the end of the movie and I almostThis story is the very definition of Hero, Pain, Love, Brotherhood, Family, Spirit and Humanity coming together regardless of cultures and backgrounds. It put things into perspective for me. These men have families, wives, little ones and yet they volunteer to put there lives on the line for what they believe most. Our freedom. My Wife broke down at the end of the movie and I almost lost my nerves. You FEEL everything in this movie. Best War movie since Saving Private Ryan. Expand
  20. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    It is hard for me to write on this subject. We all know how this film ends before we see it. Only one men survived to tell this true story. To keep things short i gave this movie a ten, because we all need to know that this is dedicated to the men who lost their lives. FOR HONOR AND GLORY
  21. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    This brutal war epic delivers through its action sequences and heart-pounding story. Its suspense keeps the movie going and even have the audience guessing even if they don't anything about the real-life story. One big issue to me was that there wasn't enough character development (mainly between the supporting roles played by Taylor Kitsch, Emile Hirsch and Ben Foster) other than thatThis brutal war epic delivers through its action sequences and heart-pounding story. Its suspense keeps the movie going and even have the audience guessing even if they don't anything about the real-life story. One big issue to me was that there wasn't enough character development (mainly between the supporting roles played by Taylor Kitsch, Emile Hirsch and Ben Foster) other than that "Lone Survivor" is a gripping and intense war film surprisingly directed by the guy that brought us "Battleship", but I won't hold that against him. Overall, this is a good movie to check this month. I give it an A-! Expand
  22. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    I'm usually not a fan of flag-waving war movies. But this one had a lot of nice elements. What carried the narrative along, so that it wasn't just a shoot out, (although one of those scenes went on too long for my taste), was careful editing, back and forth between two or three narratives. And what carried the day, was not patriotism, but the the band of men, fighting together. The fourI'm usually not a fan of flag-waving war movies. But this one had a lot of nice elements. What carried the narrative along, so that it wasn't just a shoot out, (although one of those scenes went on too long for my taste), was careful editing, back and forth between two or three narratives. And what carried the day, was not patriotism, but the the band of men, fighting together. The four men, were admirable, although I wasn't completely happy with either Mark Wahlberg's character or acting, I'm not sure why, I seemed to have the sense that he wasn't in the fight as much as the other men, as if the star needs to be saved at the end, and I dislike having to say that, because I am sure the real life hero fought as bravely as the others. The script and dialog were tight. The film showed war at its bloodiest, most fatal, hand-to-had combat. And also had an interesting plot twist at the end showing the humanity of a culture other than our own. Interspersed with the fighting shots were wide angle natural beauty: supposed to be a mountainous range in Afghanistan; the film was shot in New Mexico. The film's credits at beginning and end - stay all the way to the end - nicely framed the picture in our real country's heroes. The entire theater audience with whom I saw the picture, applauded the film at the end, and at the end of the credits. Films don't often get that kind of praise. Expand
  23. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This movie like most movies has a message to send. It was compelling and moving the way the four actors captured each of their roles, showing the lighter side things, the pride in serving your country as dark as the times may have been. But the movie was amazing on many different levels. For one it's inspiring, showing us that we should always look for the good in people and learn how toThis movie like most movies has a message to send. It was compelling and moving the way the four actors captured each of their roles, showing the lighter side things, the pride in serving your country as dark as the times may have been. But the movie was amazing on many different levels. For one it's inspiring, showing us that we should always look for the good in people and learn how to trust someone even when all seems lost. I really enjoyed this movie for the action, the dialogue, the comedic aspect of the conversations between characters, as well as the camera angles and ideas executed. Expand
  24. Mar 28, 2014
    0
    While the action scenes are ok, mind you those don't start until you are an hour into the two hour film, there is no emotion what so ever. It's hard to care about the characters, based on real soldiers in a real situation, when the plot and dialogue is so incredibly shallow and generic. Needless subplots and no character development killed this movie in my opinion. It's not worth watching.
  25. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    A story foremost about the brotherhood of fighting for one's country and for one another. This film is a very tough film to watch, but a fantastic film no less. A
  26. Jan 8, 2014
    8
    These so-called 'professional critics' of some are pathetic. To give Lone Survivor a zero or very low score shows that some people think they know it all and they do not. Many movie critics find every way they can to knock a movie and they rarely EVER give mid to high scores. So, F- them.
    This movie gets 'a pass' bc Berg had the job of re-creating a real true honest story. They go out
    These so-called 'professional critics' of some are pathetic. To give Lone Survivor a zero or very low score shows that some people think they know it all and they do not. Many movie critics find every way they can to knock a movie and they rarely EVER give mid to high scores. So, F- them.
    This movie gets 'a pass' bc Berg had the job of re-creating a real true honest story. They go out of their way to re-invent the actual true events and that can be hard. So cut them a break. This movie makes you FEEL. It gives us 'undeserving' a chance to get as close to the action of war as possible. To catch a glimpse of real horrible warfare where U.S. soldiers die fighting to protect our freedom which most people take for granted daily. Seriously, start reading the news, watch you tube videos of live war, real fear, disaster, dead soldiers...get educated about our war history and why our soldiers do what they do to maintain or reduce our enemies/terrorsists from mounting up against us from a far. This is a moving, touching, patriotic movie that deserves respect to the real men and woman who died for you and me during this operation. And so-called 'pro-critics'...who think you are...Go critique fiction and keep your mouths shut! Because we don't want to hear your ignorant thoughts about this movie.
    Expand
  27. Jan 8, 2014
    0
    The warfare and battle genre is depicted quite flashy and irrelevant these days, be it as it may in Lone Survivor, there is actual emotion in there. Within the realms of hollow characters and dull editing, Mark Wahlberg's big movie to kick off a year where is in something bigger in the oncoming train wreck of Transformers, he has just set the bar. Clearly trying to emote somethingThe warfare and battle genre is depicted quite flashy and irrelevant these days, be it as it may in Lone Survivor, there is actual emotion in there. Within the realms of hollow characters and dull editing, Mark Wahlberg's big movie to kick off a year where is in something bigger in the oncoming train wreck of Transformers, he has just set the bar. Clearly trying to emote something heartfelt and crushing here, it falls to the depths of boredom without a doubt. Sometimes these movies fly high, but most crash the surface of dry sand with no penetration, I couldn't care less about this dribble. Expand
  28. Jan 14, 2014
    8
    It's obvious from the title that most of the men don't survive, but the operation is what matters. Four Navy SEALs set out to kill a Taliban leader in Afghanistan, but the mission goes horribly wrong. The film takes some time to set up, but once the action kicks in, it's a gripping ordeal (especially those remarkable tumbles down the rocks). Director Peter Berg has crammed the skirmishesIt's obvious from the title that most of the men don't survive, but the operation is what matters. Four Navy SEALs set out to kill a Taliban leader in Afghanistan, but the mission goes horribly wrong. The film takes some time to set up, but once the action kicks in, it's a gripping ordeal (especially those remarkable tumbles down the rocks). Director Peter Berg has crammed the skirmishes with confusion, astounding kills and high-tension pacing. These are some of the best battles in recent filmmaking. The cast is strong (in both senses of the word), while miming moments of emotion. A brutal, well-crafted and stirring tribute. Expand
  29. Jun 14, 2014
    9
    A brutal and emotional movie that is only amplified by the fact that it is serving as a tribute to real people and events. The cast is fantastic. Every single one of the actors here bring their best and really sell the horror and pain of the events. It's one of the best war movies I've ever seen, not because it glorifies the violence, but rather shows the horror of it. This is one of theA brutal and emotional movie that is only amplified by the fact that it is serving as a tribute to real people and events. The cast is fantastic. Every single one of the actors here bring their best and really sell the horror and pain of the events. It's one of the best war movies I've ever seen, not because it glorifies the violence, but rather shows the horror of it. This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time, and I recommend you put it at the top of your must-watch list. I give it a 9.8/10=Amazing. Expand
  30. Jan 13, 2014
    6
    This movie is based on real events in 2005 in Afghanistan and on a book with the same name written by a Navy SEAL Marcus Luttrell who was the only survivor in a battle with Taliban.

    Combat scenes are done exceptionally well. There is real footage in the beginning of the movie of some training that SEALs have to go through. And pictures of fallen soldiers and officers who lost their
    This movie is based on real events in 2005 in Afghanistan and on a book with the same name written by a Navy SEAL Marcus Luttrell who was the only survivor in a battle with Taliban.

    Combat scenes are done exceptionally well. There is real footage in the beginning of the movie of some training that SEALs have to go through. And pictures of fallen soldiers and officers who lost their lives in that fight were shown at the end of the movie. All that adds to the authenticity of it. In those pictures soldiers were surrounded with their families. That makes you think of the utmost sacrifice of those men and the horrible loss their families endured.

    As a piece of art this movie did not engage me with exception of the very last part.
    But as a tribute to soldiers who risk their lives to protect our freedom this movie is great.
    Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Jan 29, 2014
    60
    The direction pummels and the cast impress, yet Berg’s war movie promises more than it delivers. Memories of Battleship are sunk, but that Oscar buzz may be a bit premature.
  2. Reviewed by: Ashley Clark
    Jan 28, 2014
    60
    Neither an anti-war tract nor a jingoistic rallying cry, the brutal but humane Lone Survivor instead registers as a howl of despair for so many young men and women lost in war.
  3. Reviewed by: James Dyer
    Jan 27, 2014
    60
    A severe portrait of fortitude under extreme pressure, somewhat marred by blinkered politics.